Rocketman

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.98 / 5

User rating: 3.98

Based on 346 votes and 122 reviews


  • User rating: 3.98 61.76%
  • User rating: 3.98 12.35%
  • User rating: 3.98 2.94%
  • User rating: 3.98 7.65%
  • User rating: 3.98 15.29%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 122

User review rating: 1 October 09, 2019

A poor mans Bohemian Rhapsody, try's to make you feel sad for a very rich person,

User review rating: 1 October 09, 2019

rather depressing

User review rating: 4 September 18, 2019

First heard Elton John in summer of 1971 when his hit, Your Song, hit the air waves. Saw Elton evolve over the years along with his music. Had no idea his life was so rough until I saw this film. Taron Egerton played Elton very well and his covers of the songs were good enough. There was too much emphasis on the gay sex and substance abuse but otherwise liked the film. However not as uplifting and enjoyable as Yesterday which I saw the weekend after.

User review rating: 1 September 10, 2019

songs are great,,, other than that,,,

User review rating: 5 September 01, 2019

Not quite what I expected but a fun trip all the same.Taron Egerton really captured Elton John as the fans know him.Well worth the wait,and the money.

User review rating: 5 August 31, 2019

I really enjoyed the scenes between "Elton" and "Bernie" in the film. Made me understand how the partnership between them had worked for so long. Also, I actually saw Elton at the Troubadour, so seeing how they portrayed it in the film versus in real life was particularly interesting. (Of course, watching any film trying to portray the clothing and makeup from the late 60's and early 70's is always a hoot- nobody ever gets it quite right and the film was also just a bit off; a bit too glitzy. But Taron was outstanding, Oscar quality. I did a double take when I realized that the character of John Reid was portrayed by the same actor who played Prince Charming the most recent Kenneth Branagh Cinderella remake! And it was fascinating comparing Reid's character as played here with him it was portrayed in 'Bohemian Rhapsody.' Went to the film with 2 much younger male friends; they had a more difficult time with the love scene than I did. Overall, I rate it ad one of the best movies I have seen in the first 9 months of 2019!!!

User review rating: 5 August 31, 2019

I loved it ,the actor was incredible ..oscar worthy .music of course great .Elton an icon was represented respectfully, !!**!!!

User review rating: 5 August 31, 2019

I disliked nothing. I thought it was brilliantly done, spectacularly acted, Taron's cover of Elton songs is nothing short of amazing. Elton handpicked him for this role. Is a very humble young man with an astounding future before him. With Elton John as his Touchstone making sure Taron doesn't repeat Elton's mistakes, I only see success in this young man's future. His voice is absolutely beautiful whatever he sings it being poppy songs, rock and roll or Welsh Tunes. The world is a better place and brighter because of Elton John intera Edgerton

User review rating: 5 August 31, 2019

5!!!! Wonderful Movie-This movie is all about ELTON JOHN'S LIFE AS A LITTLE BOY-TIL HE BECAME FAMOUS-HIS LOVE-LIFE-DRUGS&HOW HE ALMOST KILLS HIMSELF-IF I WERE A GAY MAN,MY ASS WOULD BE FIGHTING HIS HUBBY AS WE SPEAK,LOL!!!😂THIS MOVIE WILL PUT TEARS IN UR EYES TOO...I KNOW I WOULD'VE BEAT THE DOGSHI..😝😣OUT OF THAT MAN THAT USED HIM-IT'S AWFUL TOO...HE WAS A SORRY ASS MAN DO DO HIM LIKE THAT TOO!!😞?I LISTEN TO HIS MUSIC ONLY...&NOTHING ELSE-LOVE U SIR ELTON JOHN,KCLEE K.

User review rating: 5 August 31, 2019

Saw it 3 times this month. Wonderful acting by Taron, music is great..Loved it, going to get the DVD today. Taron should get an Oscar!!

User review rating: 5 August 26, 2019

Seeing the songwriting partnership of Elton and Bernie made this movie what it was for me. What a pair these two are. Taron Egerton is excellent in the role of Elton. I came away with uber respect for Elton for having come through the trappings of fame and knowing how he's used his voice and his $$ for the greater good ever since. He's a really good guy and such a talent.

User review rating: 4 August 24, 2019

It was one hell of a movie I always listened to Elton John’s music but never really understood it until I saw this movie very good seen it 3 times in theatres can’t wait to buy the blue ray

User review rating: 2 July 30, 2019

boring if it wasn't for his music my wife and I would have left after the first hour very disjointed movie go see Yesterday or Bohemian Rhapsody

User review rating: 5 July 29, 2019

Loved every minute of it! I hope it wins many awards! Especially Best Actor for Taron Egerton! Only complaint: music played too loudly!

User review rating: 2 July 28, 2019

Sound in the theater was way too loud, it was deafening. However, it made me feel like running out to shop for the Beatles greatest hits!

User review rating: 5 July 20, 2019

Lifelong fan...outstanding.

User review rating: 5 July 19, 2019

Thoroughly entertaining. Music was fantastic, excellent acting. Elton’s life story is heart-wrenching. Highly recommend.

User review rating: 5 July 17, 2019

Good acting very authentic. Presented a good representation of John s life

User review rating: 4 July 13, 2019

I was first introduced to Reginald "Elton John" Dwight in the summer of 1971 when my cousin purchased "11-17-70", a live album recorded in NYC. Well, my love of REJD's music was set in stone and continued through the end of 1973 when "Goodbye Yellow Brick Road" was released. Due to the commercialism of his music, my interest in his post-1973 melodies dissipated. All I have to say is "God Bless REJD." Little did I know how deeply involved the piano wizard was with the hardcore rock lifestyle. The movie pointed out the many songs which were based on the effects of living life in the very fast lane. It is absolutely refreshing to see a movie about a musical genius who survived beyond his nine lives and is still with us today. The only disappointing area of the movie was the insertion of the musical aspect where background dancers sang along with the main character. I truly enjoyed the movie. Thank you Bernie and REJD for the great songs.

User review rating: 5 July 12, 2019

Grew up listening to Elton John but never really knew much about him. This movie made me love the man behind the music and gave me an appreciation I didn’t have before. As a mother now, I can’t imagine how a young boy could go through what he did and still come out on top. Inspiring and heartbreaking and truly an amazing life.

User review rating: 5 July 12, 2019

I enjoyed it very much. I think Taron has a great voice and did an outstanding job as Elton John. I loved the story behind the man and the wonderful music Elton John wrote, sang and gave to the world. Loved this movie.

User review rating: 5 July 09, 2019

Very pleasurable musical and visual trip

User review rating: 5 July 09, 2019

Loved everything about the movie ...the actor that played Elton was amazing...and the story well presented..i saw it 3 times and thinking of going again.

User review rating: 5 July 09, 2019

Everything about the movie especially how taron sounds so much like elton.

User review rating: 0 July 08, 2019

Excellent movie... the actor that played Elton John was amazing.

User review rating: 2 July 07, 2019

Liked the music but overall I was disappointed in the movie. Why did it just focus on the drugs and sex? I found a lot of it disgusting.

User review rating: 5 July 06, 2019

Amazingly wonderful life story of a truly talented and successful musician with a very rare happy ending. Elton John overcame his extremely poor and love lacking upbringing. What a great example. I loved this movie! Very well done!

User review rating: 5 July 05, 2019

Simply awesome! I have loved Elton and Bernie since they started and I can't stop listening to the music and I'm now reading his biography by David Buckley and pre-ordered his autobiography. I see lots of people comparing it to Bohemian Rhapsody - we tried that movie and it bored us so much that we stopped half way through.

User review rating: 5 July 01, 2019

Loved the whole movie.

User review rating: 4 July 01, 2019

I'm a real Elton John fan.I thought this was a good movie,but I thought it was going to be a regular movie,not a musical.The lead actor was excellent. The gay sex scene was way overhyped,not explicit as it was portrayed in the press.The movie didn't need it&it probably deterred a lot of viewers.

User review rating: 5 June 30, 2019

Liked everything! Wonderful movie to. Great actor who played Elton John.

User review rating: 5 June 29, 2019

Absolutely loved this film. Actor who portrayed Elton was fantastic!

User review rating: 5 June 28, 2019

We loved it and we’re going to see it again tomorrow; the audience clapped at the end. Actually we remembered Elton being more outrageous, and accomplishing more. Wish they had mentioned his honors, his Sir Elton title, and Diana’s Candle in the Wind; could have been longer! Loved it!

User review rating: 5 June 28, 2019

The acting and musical arrangements are superb. One of the best I've seen in a very long time.

User review rating: 1 June 28, 2019

Unlike the outstanding Queen movie that focused on the life of a man who was gay, Rocketman's central focus was primarily about Elton John's sexual orientation and gave little attention to the details of his life. The movie had such potential but to be candid, I was bored.

User review rating: 4 June 28, 2019

Great acting and an interesting portrayal of a genius with horrible parents.

User review rating: 5 June 27, 2019

Honest.Displayed the struggles of fame.And being true to yourself .

User review rating: 4 June 26, 2019

Good film, good story, well done. A bit self serving in that they wanted you to feel sorry for Elton with all his money and glory, but overall a good film.

User review rating: 5 June 25, 2019

Loved this movie. Taron Egerton did a fine job as Elton--loved how seamlessly he worked through Elton's life. The special effects were great; I especially loved the underwater scene. And the music was fabulous--after all, most of it was by Elton John and Bernie Taupin! A nice throwback to the 60's and later.

User review rating: 4 June 24, 2019

very well done interesting early life.very good music and cinematography

User review rating: 2 June 23, 2019

The original with Harland Williams was a quirky, fun-filled journey to the stars; this reboot loses much of the charm and whimsy and has far less to offer. 2/5

User review rating: 4 June 23, 2019

Very entertaining and insightful of this musical legends life story

User review rating: 1 June 23, 2019

What a shit movie do not waste your money or time this is the worst rendition of Reginald Kenneth Dwight that I have ever seen go see bohemian rhapsody you will have a better time !!

User review rating: 5 June 23, 2019

Good movie

User review rating: 5 June 22, 2019

Loved everything!!

User review rating: 5 June 22, 2019

I think the end moral of the story, to take responsibility for your own life's success and failures, resonated so much with me. I know only a little about Elton John's life but I thought this movie was genius in interweaving his story with spectacular music and artisic cinematic glam. The only downside is you will have his songs playing in your head for days after. Terrific film.

User review rating: 5 June 21, 2019

5 stars! Excellent movie!

User review rating: 5 June 21, 2019

There is so much symbolism and every time I've seen it I get more and more out of it. Love all that were in this film. EXCELLANT. I went and brought the soundtrack.

User review rating: 5 June 21, 2019

This was a great movie about his life. I grew up with his music. The man who played the part did a excellent job. I could go see it again

User review rating: 5 June 21, 2019

I applaud Elton for overcoming his addictions and for a!l of the good he has done with his charities. It takes an extraordinary person to acknowledge his faults and then allows the world to see. Best movie ever.

Change Location