Rocketman

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.88 / 5

User rating: 3.88

Based on 230 votes and 83 reviews


  • User rating: 3.88 58.41%
  • User rating: 3.88 12.39%
  • User rating: 3.88 4.42%
  • User rating: 3.88 7.96%
  • User rating: 3.88 16.81%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 83

User review rating: 4 June 24, 2019

very well done interesting early life.very good music and cinematography

User review rating: 2 June 23, 2019

The original with Harland Williams was a quirky, fun-filled journey to the stars; this reboot loses much of the charm and whimsy and has far less to offer. 2/5

User review rating: 4 June 23, 2019

Very entertaining and insightful of this musical legends life story

User review rating: 1 June 23, 2019

What a shit movie do not waste your money or time this is the worst rendition of Reginald Kenneth Dwight that I have ever seen go see bohemian rhapsody you will have a better time !!

User review rating: 5 June 23, 2019

Good movie

User review rating: 5 June 22, 2019

Loved everything!!

User review rating: 5 June 22, 2019

I think the end moral of the story, to take responsibility for your own life's success and failures, resonated so much with me. I know only a little about Elton John's life but I thought this movie was genius in interweaving his story with spectacular music and artisic cinematic glam. The only downside is you will have his songs playing in your head for days after. Terrific film.

User review rating: 5 June 21, 2019

5 stars! Excellent movie!

User review rating: 5 June 21, 2019

There is so much symbolism and every time I've seen it I get more and more out of it. Love all that were in this film. EXCELLANT. I went and brought the soundtrack.

User review rating: 5 June 21, 2019

This was a great movie about his life. I grew up with his music. The man who played the part did a excellent job. I could go see it again

User review rating: 5 June 21, 2019

I applaud Elton for overcoming his addictions and for a!l of the good he has done with his charities. It takes an extraordinary person to acknowledge his faults and then allows the world to see. Best movie ever.

User review rating: 5 June 21, 2019

Awesome

User review rating: 5 June 21, 2019

Loved this movie. Would go see it again.

User review rating: 5 June 20, 2019

Not a huge Elton John fan, but loved how this was done. Extremely creative. Loved the recovery perspective, with flashbacks. And Taron Edgerton was fantastic Relationship between Elton and Bernie Taupin was portrayed very well...so much talent.

User review rating: 3 June 20, 2019

The only thing I didn't like was the graphic sex scene between Elton John and another man. Made me cringe. The actor played a good "Elton". The movie gave me an understanding of the lack of love and nurturing from his father who rejected him and a loose mother who also gave him no love, could draw him to drugs and men.

User review rating: 2 June 18, 2019

Musical fantasy. Never was a fan. This did not change my mind. Not biographical. Nor musical. Added nothing to my knowledge or desire to learn. Only for this most rabid fan and then...so what?

User review rating: 5 June 17, 2019

Watched this three times since it’s release! Wonderful mix of biopic and musical fantasy! Taron Egerton does a fabulous job as Elton John!

User review rating: 1 June 17, 2019

Waste of money. Was not expecting a musical fantasy, but something along the lines of Bohemian Rhapsody. Certainly was not.

User review rating: 5 June 17, 2019

It was well written. It had great acting, an interesting plot with excellent music

User review rating: 5 June 16, 2019

A very interesting biopic on Elton John

User review rating: 5 June 16, 2019

Well done. I’m not a really big Elton John fan but he told you about his life and was it very good. Would see it again

User review rating: 4 June 16, 2019

Very entertaining movie. Knowing how his parents treated him you can see why he was a bit messed up in the head. But his Nan was always there for him.

User review rating: 5 June 15, 2019

Greatest movie ever

User review rating: 5 June 15, 2019

I loved the movie and the music. They all did a great job and I am going to see it again.

User review rating: 4 June 15, 2019

an incredible musical prodigy

User review rating: 5 June 14, 2019

Great movie. Music is great.

User review rating: 5 June 14, 2019

I love Elton John's music and I loved this movie! For those trying to compare it to Bohemian Rhapsody it is totally different and there is not comparison. Both were 5 star movies in my opinion. Rocketman is much more comparable to Mamma Mia as a musical. While Mamma Mia is based on fiction, Rocketman is based on Elton's life. It is different, it is artistic, I loved the music and I loved the performance of the leading man.

User review rating: 5 June 13, 2019

I wasn’t sure what to expect, after reading such conflicting reviews. I actually loved it. Yes, it’s kind of a musical - but his music is great, so the music was great. It definitely explains why he turned to drugs and alcohol. The storyline is touching. There is a sex scene, but it’s R rated, so shouldn’t really surprise anyone. Overall, the music is excellent, story is interesting, acting is outstanding.

User review rating: 5 June 13, 2019

It was informative, nostalgic, and entertaining! The script and acting were outstanding! What more do you want from a movie?

User review rating: 1 June 12, 2019

Way to dark. Only showed the failures in Elton’s relationships, drug use and Alcohol. Nothing about his years of sobriety and other factors of his life. Ranks as one of the the 3 worst movies I have ever seen.

User review rating: 5 June 12, 2019

Loved the Movie, and the Music give it a 5 star.

User review rating: 5 June 11, 2019

Absolutely brilliant. The song chronology may not match the timeline, but the musical selection matched the various moods and temperaments as Elton progressed, grew, and seemed to come to life. An unvarnished musical biography.

User review rating: 1 June 11, 2019

Not nearly enough music, ABSOLUTELY NO COMPARISON AT ALL TO BOHEMIAN which was an absolute Masterpiece, Elton is very talented, why not emphasize this instead of focusing on his gay influence? Go see it and judge for your yourself!

User review rating: 5 June 11, 2019

Brilliant.

User review rating: 5 June 10, 2019

Not sure why everyone's trying to compare this to Bohemian Rhapsody or Queen. This is a totally different movie, folks. It's got Elton performing in front of crowds on stage, plus, sometimes as he's telling his story, it's in song and it sort of turns into a musical. It's pretty cool all around, and if I had to pick which movie I liked better, I couldn't. They're different, not comparable. But I have to say, Taron was amazing and so was Jamie Bell. Worth seeing for their performances alone, but the entire film was great, it had me smiling, laughing and brought a tear to my eyes as well.

User review rating: 0 June 10, 2019

Was a stupid movie. Didn`t come close to Queen`s life story.

User review rating: 4 June 10, 2019

Very well done a very good biography

User review rating: 4 June 09, 2019

Liked it, more of a musical than anything!

User review rating: 1 June 08, 2019

Awful. I gave Borap 5 stars, this? 1. Save your money.

User review rating: 1 June 08, 2019

Stupid. Breaks into song just like Glee. If wanting more realistic story, stay home. Disappointed.

User review rating: 4 June 08, 2019

The sex scene was tastefully done and relevant to the story. Happy Pride Month!!

User review rating: 4 June 08, 2019

Don't go necessarily expecting a standard bio-pic, a la 'Bohemian Rhapsody'. 'Rocketman' adheres to the timeline of Elton's life, but not his music - many songs from different periods are transposed to help move the narrative forward. It is an excellent example of a 'musical fantasy'. I was most impressed that the production did not attempt to sanitize his life for public appeal - the man was gay, and he had sex with men. He was an addict, and he is depicted taking drugs and drinking alcohol to excess. Nobody should walk into this R-rated movie expecting anything less. Would not be surprised to see Taron Egerton among the lists of acting nominees for this year. Overall very entertaining and definitely worth seeing in the theatre!

User review rating: 5 June 07, 2019

Loved it. Will see it again. Acting was perfect.

User review rating: 1 June 06, 2019

Junk.....what is this with making movies about self indulgent musicians and their deviant life styles.

User review rating: 1 June 06, 2019

I expected more songs. that's why I went. I didn't expect the biggest part was watching Elton drink stupid, do drugs up his nose and up close and too personal sex with him and another guy. I usually avoid R movies but I was thinking the raunchines would turn around to music and fun again. Didnt happen.. 1 last minute of redemption when it showed the now Elton John. Does he really want every person going to know what an ugly way he lived for years.

User review rating: 1 June 06, 2019

This movie seems to be EJ's way of promoting himself and his lifestyle while enriching himself in the process. This mess might work on Broadway (that's probably next) but comes across as disjointed and forced on film. I actually was unaware it was a "musical" until it became apparent while viewing the film. I understand it under-performed on opening weekend - now I understand why.

User review rating: 5 June 05, 2019

Loved it! Taron Egerton was excellent

User review rating: 5 June 05, 2019

The entire story and how it was portrayed through an AA meeting

User review rating: 1 June 05, 2019

Only about 25% was actually sort of ok. For the most part it was FILTH!! I know He has a lifestyle that I do not approve of, however, seeing this portrayed on screen was absolutely sickening. Had this been evident in the trailers that were shown I would have never wasted my money or time. The young man that played Elton did a good job. Also disgusting was the fact that young boy was using foul language in early scene was also in extremely poor taste for both director and PARENTS. No excuse for it. If it were possible to rate a minus one, that would be my vote.

User review rating: 5 June 04, 2019

I admit I was not expecting a musical, yet this movie provided such an incredible portrayal of Reggie/Elton’s life. The EJ songs I’ve listened to since the ‘70’s now have their meanings explained. A tribute to a resilient man!

Change Location