Thank you for rating this theatre!

User rating: 3.84 Read Reviews | Rate Theatre

1014 KING STREET WEST, Hamilton, ON L8S 1L4

905-522-7173 | View Map


3.84 / 5

User rating: 3.84

Based on 31 votes and 27 reviews



  • General Experience User rating: 3.90322580645161
  • Concession User rating: 3.58620689655172
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3.68965517241379
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3.90322580645161
  • Customer Service User rating: 4.1

 

Please rate this theatre

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theatre Presentation

  • Customer Service



Theatre Reviews

Showing 1 to 27 of 27

Love the movies shown here

October 18, 2016

For the most part, this is a wonderful theatre. The concession stand makes okay popcorn and the drinks could be colder, but I go for the movies, not the concession items. Also, if you are older or physically challenged, the washrooms are down a set of stairs.

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

Love the vintage theatre

June 30, 2016

It's a blast to sit and watch new release films in such a vintage setting. Just wish they could get an ice machine!

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Best movies anywhere

June 11, 2016

From "salmon Fishing in the Yemen" to "What We Did On Our Holiday", there is often 'a movie everyone should see' playing at the Westdale. These shows are often far more meaningful than what's playing at the larger venues.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User rating: 0
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 0

A rare gem. Only reptertory theatre in Hamilton, great films, theatre and people serving and watching

February 23, 2016

This is one of Hamilton's best features at a great price. It compensates for about the single advantage Toronto has over Hamilton, in having a wider selection of "non-standard" films. I have been watching films here over a ten year period. It shows films often are shown at no other theatres in Hamilton. It has a great wide screen and has never been crowded. Ten years ago I recall one older man working there who was a little censorious when I appeared late but who cares? Otherwise I have regularly found the staff to be friendly, low-key and to have a good sense of humour. I certainly have never noticed any dirt or smell. Certainly you are never irritated by loud or inconsiderate fellow-viewers. some people find the sound quality poorer than other theatres. But in multiplexes the sound often leaks from other theatres and you can find sticky floors.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Last of the oldtime theatres

February 09, 2016

I have been attending this wonderful oasis since 1952 as a kid and continue to do so.This is how movie theatres used to be and should be -not those ridiculous overpriced mall theatres which blast your ears off.Long may it last. Two negatives: they take cash only and the seats badly need refurbishing.Please do something about that!!! Otherwise top marks.I have been attending there since 1952 DOUG L.

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

Admission

January 21, 2016

Can't believe they don't take Visa or Debit? Since they want cash only they should be charging less than $10. A regular movie is only $11.99 and on Tuesday I can get the movie for half price. Should get with the program and give people the option to pay other than cash.

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User rating: 0
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

the best art movies in the city

December 06, 2015

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

like stepping into the past.....

August 30, 2015

Great, authentic feeling in this original neighbourhood theatre.......it hasn't changed much over the years.....brings back a lot of memories. Only problem is some of the seats are in desperate need of repair.....time to upgrade them. They are the only part of theatre that have not stood the test of time.

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

A throwback to the grander times of cinema

May 15, 2015

I will declare my bias right at the start and that as a cinephile I prefer the subtleties of the cinema experience and that is what the Westdale is all about. The theatre building itself retains the feel of times long past but is kept in reasonable condition to make the experience a comfortable one while allowing one to feel like they could still be back in the 40s or 50s watching what would soon be film classics. Their film selections vary from quaint indie films and documentaries to more mainstream commercial offerings and on occasion retro classics. The lads who run the theatre are always friendly, helpful and, while I know that they would like greater attendances at times, the smaller audiences allow for a cozier environment for sitting back and enjoying "real" cinema.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

A hidden gem

February 06, 2015

Thank God for the Westdale Theater!! It is an oasis in the turbulent seas of modern theaters, which are overcrowded, overpriced commercial slums packed with some of the rudest scum imaginable. The ambience, great staff and lack of commercials are just a few of the Westdales charms, and their decision to run some of the best in indie movies is unmatched. I just pray that it survives so folks can see what a REAL theater is supposed to be like. Long may she run.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5
Change Location