They Shall Not Grow Old

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.62 / 5

User rating: 4.62

Based on 74 votes and 25 reviews


  • User rating: 4.62 89.19%
  • User rating: 4.62 0.00%
  • User rating: 4.62 2.70%
  • User rating: 4.62 0.00%
  • User rating: 4.62 8.11%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 25 of 25

User review rating: 5 March 09, 2019

A stunning tribute to the English servicemen who fought and gave their lives in the Great War. 'They shall not grow old' honors all those who should never be forgotten. A must see for anyone who values the lessons of history.

User review rating: 5 March 08, 2019

A movie that stays with you, make sure you watch the making of the movie in the end. They had to hire people who read lips and spoke with the same accent as the characters in the documentary to get as close as the actual spoken words from silent movie footages...

User review rating: 5 March 02, 2019

Real people in real story. Shows you the hellish life experience this was in matter of fact presentation. Stay for the trailer on how the movie was created.

User review rating: 5 February 17, 2019

Visually stunning and emotionally draining. All middle and high school children should watch this movie. Remeberance Day has a more pronounced meaning for our family now.

User review rating: 5 February 12, 2019

OUTSTANDING, What a experience, especially in 3D. The directors explanation of how they made this movie was also educational. Putting the sound track in by using lip readers etc showed the care they had in putting this together.

User review rating: 5 February 10, 2019

A documentary, to be sure, but unlike any I've ever seen in capturing the reality of the Great War. A brilliantly executed project.

User review rating: 5 February 09, 2019

Fantastic - the amount of intricate work required to create this film must have been enormous.

User review rating: 5 February 07, 2019

Hopefully Hollywood will take note of the success of this film. After 100 years it is shocking the anniversary of WW1 went by with less attention than Groundhog's day. This film is well done and thankfully did not move at a stupid rapid pace simply to meet the needs of people with no attention span. I don't wish to include spoilers but recommend this film-especially to young people between 10 to 15 years of age.

User review rating: 5 February 06, 2019

I had a great uncle over there who was gassed. Wish I could ask him now what it was like for him. Definitely stay after the credits.

User review rating: 5 February 03, 2019

I became intrigued the moment I began reading of the various processes involved in producing this documentary. I had seen vintage black and white photography colourized but never moving pictures. The result is amazing, especially when coupled with synchronizing the film to a modern speed. Forensic lip readers also provide clues to actual dialogue. Mr. Jackson and his crew deserve a great deal of credit for bringing century old clips to stunning life!

User review rating: 5 February 01, 2019

Should be compulsory for History class. Amazing ! Restoration, soundtrack so well thought out. Stay for the next 30 minutes to see what went into this documentary. Pull up your ancestry!! So proud I did.

User review rating: 5 February 01, 2019

This is fascinating. The care that went into restoring the film and creating the soundtrack is one of the finest pieces of film work I have ever seen. Some of the images are just haunting.

User review rating: 1 February 01, 2019

Slow, slow and slower, no plot, the same pictures for 2 hours. That's 2 hours wasted I will never get back

User review rating: 1 January 28, 2019

This movie should be mandatory viewing for every school child.

User review rating: 5 January 22, 2019

Loved everything about it

User review rating: 5 January 22, 2019

amazing! we need to acknowledge what happened and never forget.

User review rating: 5 January 19, 2019

I went to see the non 3D movie it’s so good I plan to go back to see The 3D movie this week.

User review rating: 5 December 30, 2018

This film was the best film I have ever seen and I cannot wait to see it again. It was visceral, engaging, and honest.

User review rating: 5 December 28, 2018

Very impressive film . The colorization process really brings the footage to life in very graphic detail . It's uncomfortable to watch some of the footage but , the veterans of ww1 lived through those terrible times of war .The least we can do is witness it and honor them .

User review rating: 5 December 27, 2018

Very graphic. A great compilation. As a boy I know an oldtimer veteran of WWI ..and he told me how very horrible it was. This film used awesome colorising and all narration was of original voices recorded and some actually on the front lines in Flanders fields " where the poppies grow".

User review rating: 0 December 27, 2018

Great film. Historically reverent, respectful and authentic. A Herculean effort to put together.

User review rating: 5 December 27, 2018

I am blown away at this incredible movie! This is what the world has been waiting for...a comprehensive historical review of the war that was suppose to “end all wars”!! I saw it in Charleston two weeks ago and even my daughter in law loved it...it is in color and it’s amazing!!!

User review rating: 5 December 27, 2018

It was incredibly well done and while they didn't have sound back then had you not realized it when you watched the movie you wouldn't have known that it wasn't authentic. I find it interesting that someone would "rate" a movie that they haven't seen. It is being shown at different times in different areas. If you see it, do yourself a favor and stay till the bitter end. It's too late now for Island 16, but hopefully this movie shall be shown elsewhere. It was truly remarkable.

User review rating: 5 December 27, 2018

A simple google search reveals they used forensic lip readers to determine what the soldiers were saying and then hired voice actors from the particular regiment's region to voice the words over the authentic footage. It further adds to the life that is given to the film by the frame rate adjustments and colorization.

User review rating: 3 December 21, 2018

They didn't have sound in the films back then, so I tend to doubt the authenticity of the movie.

Change Location