The Vatican Deception

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.52 / 5

User rating: 4.52

Based on 4016 votes and 43 reviews


  • User rating: 4.52 87.00%
  • User rating: 4.52 1.33%
  • User rating: 4.52 0.00%
  • User rating: 4.52 0.00%
  • User rating: 4.52 11.67%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 43 of 43

User review rating: 4 February 26, 2018

I thought the movie was a very good overview of the cover up in the Vatican of the contents of the third secret of Fatima and the request of the Blessed Virgin Mary for the consecration of Russia to her Immaculate Heart in order to bring about world peace. I have read a lot about the Fatima message, and while the movie tells the controversial part of the story, there is a lot more that could have been added if you wanted to make a 3 hour documentary about the entire Fatima message - and there are few who would want to watch something so long. To some people, the request for the consecration of Russia to the Immaculate Heart of Mary by the Pope and all the world's bishops at the same time may sound silly. However, if it's such a simple request that costs nothing, why are there prelates in the Vatican that refuse to perform the consecration, and who go even further to suppress or hide the third secret that was supposed to be publicly released by 1960? If such a consecration could bring about world peace, what have they got to lose? The world is threatened by terrorism, nuclear weapons, threats of more wars, etc. Why doesn't the Pope obey the request from Heaven? It certainly can't hurt anything. There's nothing to lose but so much to gain if world peace would, indeed, be obtained. Whether you are Catholic or not, the visual images in this film are so interesting to look at. On another note, I read some of the reviews so far and would like to clear up a bit of misinformation. I met Father Gruner and he was not a member of the Society of St. Pius X. He was an independent priest. Father didn't hate anyone. He wanted everyone to be converted back to God (no matter their background) and His church, and he wanted the prelates in the Vatican who were opposing the Fatima message to change their hearts as well. He spent his life promoting the Fatima message since the Catholic Church refused to do so. Father Gruner did say and promote the traditional Latin Mass and he supporte

User review rating: 5 February 18, 2018

Rarely does a documentary gain access to an institution and then use that privileged status to interview executives who claim that their institution is falling apart. The Vatican Deception accomplishes this rare goal of documentary filmmaking by revealing corruption within the ranks of the Catholic Church over a crisis in faith from within. This might not sound like a big deal, but faith is the stock and trade of any religion and the Catholic Church is the foundational faith of all Christianity. When you find out what is at the centre of the controversy you will be perplexed at what seems like an easy fix, but an issue that nonetheless seems to have split the Church in two. I don't know if the filmmaker Paul Stark took this film on as a passion project - he doesn't seem to have any previous documentary credits - but if this film is any indication of what he's capable of, we have a new Michael Moore here. Hopefully he'll take on other issues. I'd love to see his take on gun control.

User review rating: 1 February 12, 2018

absolute trash fire of a film.

User review rating: 5 February 04, 2018

I love a good documentary film, and ‘The Vatican Conspiracy’ had me glued to it from the beginning. The interesting thing about documentaries, is that you never know what sort of extraneous information will pop up in the telling of a story, and this one doesn’t disappoint. It provides an immense amount of information, regarding the fascinating miracle of ‘Fatima’, the inner workings of the Catholic Church, and eye-opening historical facts. The documents, details, photos and footage that Director, Paul Stark, assembled in the making of this film are impressive. He even found an eye-witness, and a chilling photo from January of 1938, depicting Hitler’s reaction to witnessing ‘the bright red glow in the sky’, that the Virgin Mary foretold would appear, as warning of the bloodshed and horrors soon to follow. If the Virgin Mary appears to people on earth, with a message for all, I want to hear it, and heed it. I find any accounts of visitations from the Blessed Virgin, totally riveting, but none as much as the several encounters that took place between Mary, and the 3 children from Fatima, Portugal, between May and October, of 1917, culminating in over 70,000 people witnessing the sun ‘dancing around in the sky’. ‘The Vatican Conspiracy’ asks: Why the Catholic Church hasn’t shared all the messages given to the children at Fatima? Why the direct instruction to consecrate Russia in 1960 has yet to be carried out by the Pope and all the bishops? How would history have been altered if Russia had been consecrated? Would WWII have been prevented? When will today’s Catholic Church, finally reveal all the messages and consecrate Russia? ‘The Vatican Conspiracy’ examines the path of the late ‘Father Nicholas Gruner’, who, for 37 years, tried to have all the messages given to the 3 children at Fatima, shared with the world, and his dealings with the church. Viewers of the film will be asking if WWIII can be prevented, if Russia is consecrated? I ask: What is the prob

User review rating: 5 February 04, 2018

The Vatican Deception will leave you in awe. Easily one of the most important documentaries of the year.

User review rating: 5 February 03, 2018

Excellent movie!

User review rating: 5 February 02, 2018

I loved this movie! Thank you to Mr. Stark for giving Father Gruner a voice even though he has left this world. Yes, Father Gruner did not like the Jews. He also didn't like the Muslims, the homosexuals, the transsexuals, and all the other freaks of nature in this world. Because he was a man of principle! I am a member of the SSPX faith and will not accept any of these people into my life. I hope Mr. Stark continues to make movies and that Father Gruner continues to speak through him.

User review rating: 5 January 31, 2018

Absolutely worth seeing!!

User review rating: 5 January 31, 2018

Thank you to StarkProductions for making this film!!

User review rating: 5 January 31, 2018

I saw it twice and discovered something new the second time around. The documentary is packed with information but is easy to follow. I was impressed! Go see this film.

User review rating: 5 January 31, 2018

I was so impressed by this documentary!! It was very thought provoking and well done. The director had access to unique footage which made the film very interesting! Well done! worth seeing!

User review rating: 5 January 31, 2018

I am so happy I got to see this film. I always wondered why the world is so backwards these days. It is about time someone stood up and made a story about this, and I hope it will get the attention of the people in the higher ranks of the Vatican. I am amazed about the contrast between those that loved the film and those that really hate it. Those that loved it, as I did, have nothing but positive things to say. Whereas those that say negative things speak with hate and make slanderous remarks about people they don’t even know. Makes you wonder. I suppose it is a fitting conclusion that those that loved the film left the theater with hope and feelings of joy, but those that hated the film left the theater feeling angry, filled with hate and resentfulness of the truth and reality we are faced with today.

User review rating: 5 January 30, 2018

One of the best documentaries I have seen in over a year. I am very surprised by the negative responses towards Father Gruner and the SSPX. It shows how little they know considering all the fabricated lies they are posting here. If a film like The Vatican Deception is causing this much controversy, it must be a successful. Excellent work!

User review rating: 5 January 30, 2018

Loved it!!! Take your family and friends! Thought provoking and well researched! Made me question why the Vatican doesn't just do what the prophecy wants it to!

User review rating: 5 January 30, 2018

Awesome documentary....run, don't walk, to go see it!!

User review rating: 5 January 30, 2018

Excellent look at the inside workings of the Vatican. This film shows you the result of seven years of work. A true masterpiece of documentary filmmaking. I hope Mr. Stark is making another film and one I won’t have to wait as long for!

User review rating: 5 January 30, 2018

I was so impressed with this documentary. It was well researched and contains a clear message for all. Friends and aquaintances couldn't stop talking about the content. There is clearly diabolical disorientation in the hiarchy but there is also hope. Father Gruner kept the Fatima message alive. Our Lady of Fatima, pray for us

User review rating: 5 January 30, 2018

Not being of the Catholic faith, I wasn't sure what to expect in regards to this documentary - that said...I was not disappointed at all! I found The Vatican Deception to be extremely well researched and the content fascinating and interesting. I highly recommend this to everyone and anyone - go...learn...ask questions later - it ultimately affects us all!

User review rating: 1 January 30, 2018

Nicholas Gruner was not a Catholic. He was in communion with the apostate Vatican II sect. He was known to run in the same circles as neo-Nazis, white supremacists and other anti-Semites. Gruner is dead and to give him a voice today is pure evil. Good luck with this movie.

User review rating: 1 January 30, 2018

Complete rubbish!! Father Gruner aka the modern-day Adolf Hitler. The evil cult that calls itself Society of Saint Pius X. Need I say more???

User review rating: 5 January 30, 2018

Putting aside religious beliefs for a moment, this is a deep and thorough investigation into an institution showing how its members can undermine its best intentions. The conflict of whether or not to follow the instructions of an apparition of Mary from 100 years ago is contested from within and after a century we are still trying to figure out why there is such dissension among the ranks over what seems to be a core belief of the institution. Paul Stark's exhaustive research excellently illuminates this crisis, but unfortunately, cannot offer a resolution. Perhaps if the executive branch of the Vatican watch this film, they will be able to come together one way or another.

User review rating: 1 January 30, 2018

It sickens me that Canadian theatres are showing such trash. Father Nicholas Gruner was a well-known anti-Semite and belonged to the Society of Saint Pius X. The members of Society of Saint Pius X are radical traditionalists that spew hatred towards Jewish people, as well as many other groups of people. The last thing the world needs right now are more people spreading hate!!!!

User review rating: 0 January 30, 2018

I attended the premier in Toronto and was truly looking forward to it. However, I was sadly disappointed, not so much with this subject ( essentially Fr. Gruner, whom I knew personally) but truly disappointed with the lack of understanding and insight into this entire period in Church history and the implications for the faithful by the producer the director and by the onstage presenter.The question period after the showing was very, very difficult to watch and listen to. It was apparent that though the producers had spent 7 years working on this documentary they truly failed to understand what is really at stake here not only for Catholics but for all people.The producers truly need to speak to someone that has an understanding of the history of this entire period in the Catholic Church.They need to understand the historical significance of the date October 13 ( not just as the final apparition of Our Lady of Fatima in 1917 wherein the dancing of the sun was witnessed by over 70,000 people on site and thousands at a distance from the actual site) prior to these events. Oct 13, 1884, is the date of the vision experienced by Pope Leo XIII following his morning mass wherein those present at the mass saw the pope virtually collapse.After these events (that took place exactly 33 years prior to the events of Oct 13, 2017, 33 years is significant given that Jesus was physically on earth for 33 years.) So what is the vision of Pope Leo XIII and why is it related to the events of Fatima?After Mass on Oct 13, 1884, Pope Leo XIII heard voices coming from the general vicinity of the tabernacle. He understood these voices to be the voices of Our Lord Jesus Christ and Satan.The demon boasted that if he was to be given 100 years he could destroy the "Catholic Church". In addition to time, he required additional power "a greater influence over those who give themselves to my service".Our Lord Jesus Christ, reportedly replied: "you will be given the time and the power".It was up

User review rating: 5 January 30, 2018

I am in awe of the moviemaker for having an incredible amount of patience, dedication and commitment to this project. Just from that standpoint alone, I highly recommend that everyone goes to watch this movie. The documentary is incredibly well researched, thought-out and is simply pointing out the facts. I was not familiar with this topic before I went to watch the movie and came out with much more understanding and knowledge on the topic. I have immense respect for this documentary and all the behind-the-scenes efforts it must have taken to get it out for the public to see. I hope everyone goes out to see it. Beautifully written and directed. The subject is heavy and intense and you can sense the writer's passion in every shot of this documentary. Excellent work!

User review rating: 1 January 30, 2018

It sucked.

User review rating: 5 January 29, 2018

I've been aware of the Fatima prophecies for many years now, and about the problems in the church and the warnings about them. This documentary validates all of it with impressive detail and structure. Obviously well researched. My wife and I are still talking about it even days after we saw it. I hope this film will be seen by everyone.

User review rating: 5 January 29, 2018

Great documentary! Great research! Great story!

User review rating: 5 January 29, 2018

One of the best and most thought-provoking documentaries I've seen in a long time!

User review rating: 5 January 29, 2018

There are some disturbing things going on in the Vatican that are explained in this film. The news is not pleasant, but I'd rather be aware of it. Thanks to the makers of this doc for helping us to understand!

User review rating: 5 January 29, 2018

Thought provoking and well put together.

User review rating: 4 January 28, 2018

I admire anyone that has the fortitude to go through the great amount of effort it takes pull together the actual facts of a story over a good number of years, do relevant research, actually film all this and open our minds to a different and closed world. It opened a small window for me to view some of today's events that are happening politically in another way. Maybe it is all connected, who knows?

User review rating: 5 January 28, 2018

Continued... For those that walked out of the theater in the middle of the film, I cannot judge them. They have to work out their own salvation as we all do. I take the reaction as a positive effect since it is a difficult truth for some to accept, as long as it tugs away at their heart. But for all those whom are a majority that stayed, had nothing but praises and positive comments. The reaction is quite similar to the premier of Stravinsky’s “The Right of Spring” on May 29, 1913 in Paris. For many, it was scandalous and offensive even to the point that riots broke out on the streets. Stravinsky was recognized by Time magazine as the most influential composer of the Twentieth Century.

User review rating: 5 January 28, 2018

The Vatican Deception is a well researched documentary and it is relevant for our times. I am most impressed with the attention to detail the information is presented. There is no doubt about the internal struggle taking place inside the Vatican and the coverup with regards to the Third Secret of Fatima. The film is well researched and I can attest to the fact that what it contains is true. My personal life can attest to the accuracy of this film as I was once in a religious order, lived at the Vatican for a few months, and subject to all the controversies mentioned in this film. The reality is simple: Either you see the truth, or you don’t. What is happening in the Catholic Church today is so polarizing that either a schism will occur in the near future, or the Catholic Church and the world will be chastised by the hand of God. For those who are not aware, it has been reported that since Vatican II, there is an increase of demonic possession around the world. People are losing their faith and no longer receiving graces from God. Not everyone will agree with this film, but it vital to keep an open heart and let the light of truth enter in. Many have been lead to follow the path of darkness and I fear so many souls are in jeopardy. We all know that the road to heaven is narrow and the highway to hell is wide. When the days comes, and we stand in front of the gates of heaven, we cannot use the excuse that we were ignorant and did not know. Our salvation requires that we ask questions, and seek answers. This documentary does both. Unlike any other film, this documentary is based on actual events that are still occurring today. Leaving the theater, we continue to live and experience this extraordinary story. When the events unfold before our eyes, we will be able to say we were part of it, providing that we are still around to tell someone. For those that walked out of the theater in the middle of the film, I cannot judge them. They have to work out their

User review rating: 4 January 28, 2018

Wow who knew all of this was going on? People of a certain generation were fully aware of the apparitions and were eagerly awaiting the final secret. The film does a great job of recapping the series of events leading to the mystery, interviewed key people who witnessed it's existence and proved that the Vatican does not want it acknowledged in modern day teachings. The film is worth seeing.

User review rating: 5 January 28, 2018

Incredibly comprehensive documentary, and gripping from beginning to end. I've read some of the comments below and the most venomous criticisms seem unfair and uneducated. The film is well put together with great production value and an impressive list of factual and historical references that can easily be verified. Probably the critics have never heard of Google. I checked some of the details myself and couldn't believe that the evidence presented is accurate, and the statements quoted by key historical figures, including popes, don't lie. Love it or hate it, this movie will open your eyes and is definitely worth a look.

User review rating: 5 January 28, 2018

Great film! One of the best overviews of what's going on in Rome that I've seen. Lots of information conveyed in a kind of story like format. I highly recommend that everyone take a look at this documentary.

User review rating: 0 January 28, 2018

Most troubling is the fact the the principal character in this film Father Gruner was a well know holocaust sceptic (he didn’t say it didn’t happen he just had trouble with the numbers) and an anti-semite. The Fatima Centre has apparently published articles stating the Jews are trying to undermine the Church at the behest of Satan and other such hateful nonsense. I suppose if you believe in miracles and conspiracies this film might be right up your ally. Spoiler alert: Basically if Russia is properly consecrated the world will be saved and so far the Vatican for unknown but nefarious reasons won’t consecrate Russia. There are so many reasons not to see this film.

User review rating: 5 January 28, 2018

Very interesting and revealing. Raises alot of questions.

User review rating: 5 January 28, 2018

This is a heavy film with tons of information to ingest. It is very well researched and provides historical relevance to support recent events. Almost need to see it a second time to fully interpret all the details that it provided!

User review rating: 5 January 28, 2018

I am not Catholic but enjoyed the film as I was not familiar with the apparitions in Fatima or the messages that they revealed. Whether or not one chooses to believe in them, this film clearly proves that the Vatican is trying to cover up the final secret. I was left wondering why?

User review rating: 5 January 28, 2018

I was captivated from the beginning to end. The forensic research produced in this film was impressive, with access to people closest to the Fatima secrets, revealing the inner turmoil in the Vatican on this mater. It will surely stir the emotions of those who are strongly opinionated about about the direction of the Catholic faith. For those not passionate about the story, it's still a captivating political drama.

User review rating: 1 January 27, 2018

I gave it a star because no stars is not an option. A ridiculous right wing conspiracy cult film. Yes Vatican ll happened because lots of communists went under cover during the 40s and 50s. Oh yes and world peace can’t happen until Russia is properly consecrated. The guy who made the film wasted 7 years of his life on this deranged screed. Luckily I only wasted 2 hours. Frankly I am pissed at Hot Docs for allowing this crap in their cinema.

User review rating: 1 January 26, 2018

This movie was so boring and ridiculous that if I hadn't been sitting in the middle of the row I would have walked out, like many other people I saw doing.

Change Location