The Post

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.84 / 5

User rating: 3.84

Based on 106 votes and 40 reviews


  • User rating: 3.84 62.00%
  • User rating: 3.84 8.00%
  • User rating: 3.84 4.00%
  • User rating: 3.84 4.00%
  • User rating: 3.84 22.00%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 40 of 40

User review rating: 5 January 20, 2018

Excellent movie

User review rating: 5 January 20, 2018

One of the best movies of the year. There will be an Oscar for this movie

User review rating: 5 January 20, 2018

Excellent portrait of historical events. I lived through that time.

User review rating: 5 January 20, 2018

So well done and very informative.

User review rating: 5 January 20, 2018

So relevant to 2018 that everyone should see it. Meryl Streep is moving and magnificent as Katherine Graham.

User review rating: 4 January 20, 2018

Best movie I have seen in a long time, especially in light of the parallels we see today. A great springboard for intelligent discussion about the freedom of the press, the dangers of executive powers unchecked, and the struggle women experienced as they moved into positions of power. Streep and Hanks were fantastic. Highly recommend.

User review rating: 4 January 19, 2018

Interesting, always knew the US should not have been in Viet Nam for years, heartbreaking for American families that lost loved ones in this war. Great acting.

User review rating: 1 January 19, 2018

Streep and Hanks are horrible people and no one should waste their hard earned money to see this movie! Loud mouthed Hollywood activists need to be put in their place now! They think they are important and special, and know everything, but all they ever do is memorize lines for a movie! That’s it!

User review rating: 1 January 19, 2018

Trash!!!!

User review rating: 3 January 18, 2018

An important movie like "All The Presidents Men" was back in the 1970's. The first hour is a bit boring. But later it gets rolling into the importance of the press in a free society and the drama builds. Will she publish or not ?! Best scenes are the restaurant meetings, editorial meetings and the press room when it finally gets rolling. Good stuff. You'll learn new info and have better insights into what happens when a government runs amuck . It applies to the present day.

User review rating: 5 January 18, 2018

Entertaining and relevant.

User review rating: 1 January 18, 2018

Will not see the movie, but anything Meryl Streep is in would be a si-fi with no truth in it. Hope enough people quit going to her movies so she disappears. They have ruined all the awards shows with there agendas no longer will watch them which is a shame to the profession. How a few un-Americans can ruin it for others

User review rating: 5 January 17, 2018

Outstanding portrayal of a major historical event, and a vivid reminder of the patriarchy of a few decades ago . . . 92/100 . . . guru bob

User review rating: 3 January 16, 2018

Boring as heck until Meryl Streep's character finally grew a pair and made a brave decision, one that could have had dire consequences. It angered me that American governments are so frivolous with people's lives.

User review rating: 5 January 16, 2018

Great telling of newspaper courage -- a companion-piece to "Spotlight". The audience applauded.

User review rating: 5 January 16, 2018

If you like history watch this movie. This is not a story, it really happened. The freedom of the press is the base of the story. What made this movie interesting to me is that after WWII the Truman administration paid the French to fight the beginning of the Vietnam war. Every President afterward backed the war for 30 years. The New Times and Katherine Graham’s Washington Post put their news paper’s reputation on the chopping block. Graham and others faced prison if they lost the judgement. She banked her trust on the Supreme Court and the 4 amendment. The Post and NY Times won that battle of that day but powers that be today may win out this time. What was Spielberg message to viewers? Not sure only time will tell. He showed how women of that day were locked out of most business decisions. Get coffee, type a memo, stand behind closed doors that what women jobs are but certainly do not stand up to attorneys and board members or the President. Many news publishers along with their neighbors children were overseas fighting that war. I was up for the draft and my older brother and young men we knew were serving in the military at that time. Everyday I would read the news paper to see how many boys were killed and hoping for the safety of my brother. The only real issue to me at the time was the draft. Today I’m 65 and able to see that The Post brings forth many more issues. I say it’s a thinking mans/woman’s movie.

User review rating: 5 January 16, 2018

I watched the movie Saturday the 13th. I was graduating from high school when the Washington Post and New York Times took on President Nixon. Afterwards the Post broke open the Water Gate break in story which ended Nixon’s Presidentcy. Similar events are taking place today. Only this country will never be the same whether Trump survives his term or gets impeached. I highly recommend younger people watch this movie. The roller coaster ride begins

User review rating: 5 January 16, 2018

I went to the first showing on Friday and was surprised to find the theater nearly sold out. Overall a great story well told. Until this I did not realize what courage it took for Ms. Graham to publish these papers. I doubt today's Supreme Court will role as they did then.

User review rating: 5 January 15, 2018

I really liked the movie about the Viet Nam papers. Tom Hanks and Meryl Streep always good. There was language but it fit the scenes. It was part of my time in history. People even clapped after some scenes. Seats were comfortable. Bathrooms were clean, as always. Always plenty of parking.

User review rating: 5 January 15, 2018

An Interesting and absorbing background story on an important piece of history. A story still so relevant to our time. Nicely placed, with, as one has come to expect from these two artists, (Streep and Hanks), a very fine delivery.

User review rating: 5 January 15, 2018

Beautifully done, casting great, costumes, settings, all of it lst class and I remember it as a college student and how much freedom of the press still means so much in a digital world.

User review rating: 5 January 14, 2018

fabulous, near perfect film...great acting...incredibly well done

User review rating: 5 January 14, 2018

First of all. Anyone who trashes or criticizes this film has insufficient information to even pass an opinion on what happened. I was 21 years old in 1971and demonstrated against the war and filed for a conscientious objection status because I knew the Vietnnam War was a big mistake. McNamara knew we could not win the war and so did Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson and Nixon. The Pentagon lied and mislead all of these presidents in order to avoid the image that we would lose the war which we did. However, Nixon was the worst. He not only lied but tried to cover up his lies, tried to discredit the press and broke many laws to hide his lies and his disgusting plot to destroy any evidence. Nixon deserved to be impeached but he also deserved to be put in jail which is exactly what will happen with Trump. Just wait and see. This film was well scripted, directed, filmed and acted. Anyone who attacks Meryl Streep or this film is, quite honestly, totally misinformed if not stupid!

User review rating: 1 January 14, 2018

MY ONLY CHOICE! 1 STAR..BEYOND TRITE, NOT ONLY THE STORY, BUT THE ACTORS

User review rating: 5 January 14, 2018

As mentioned in another review “we should have withdrawn” but it was happening in1963 and helped get a President assassinated. Bell helicopter was virtually bankrupt and see how they turned arround in ‘65-‘67. This is the story of brave people using the only option available.

User review rating: 5 January 14, 2018

Simply fabulous! Timely - historic - intellectual!

User review rating: 5 January 13, 2018

Excellent film. Spielberg is a pro and clearly he wants to champion people who do the right thing, even if it puts them in danger. Mrs. Graham was a visionary publisher! And Ben Bradlee was an astute editor. and Streep and Hanks are professionals...they make acting look easy!

User review rating: 5 January 13, 2018

Excellent historical story .

User review rating: 2 January 13, 2018

Stealing classified docs during Vietnam era is the most tension you'll get in this snoozer. The point of Vietnam was the DRAFT. The film misses that and the audience looses sympathy. Sorry. Not real good in spite of seasoned actors.

User review rating: 5 January 13, 2018

Lived through the time frame...So many friends killed...Was very painful to learn at the time that we not only should not have entered that War, but we should have withdrawn almost immediately...The acting and portrayals were spot on...

User review rating: 5 January 13, 2018

To the reviewer who recommends watching "The Paper" thank you, I will look for it at the library. To the reviewer who "liked the content of this movie" me too.

User review rating: 5 January 13, 2018

I am giving this movie a five star. I am Canadian and probably because of my age I did not know there was such a long drawn out war in Vietnam. This movie gave me some insight into what happened in this dark period of history. The US knew they could not win the war but still kept their troops there for a long time. I could debate the political issues but I won't. Just love the movie for the info and content.

User review rating: 0 January 13, 2018

Unamerican actors hoping for a flop

User review rating: 1 January 12, 2018

Would not even rate this movie. Meryl Streep trashes our president the first chance she gets. She's a discrace to our country. It's to bad because I like Tom Hanks. Would not support a movie with her in it.

User review rating: 5 January 12, 2018

I plan to see the movie soon (I had to rate the movie to submit my comment here). I worked in the newsroom (now called "information center") at the D&C. Watch "The Paper" directed by Ron Howard -- available from the library or Netflix. To me, it's a pretty good look at a newsroom in action.

User review rating: 0 January 10, 2018

The unofficial 4th branch of government both in the US and Canada is the media and the media once upon a time was suppose to be non profit, non partisan, and a checks and balances on gov't. Now media entities are either owned and controlled by gov't (CBC) or controlled by public controlled / traded stocks. Anybody that actually believes that the media reports stories without an ulterior motive or political partisan bias is gravely mistaken!!! EX: CBC - liberal gov't propaganda

User review rating: 5 January 10, 2018

Great portrayal of an important part of US history. Our current President should watch it and note that, per the Supreme Court, the press is here to serve the governed, not the governors.

User review rating: 5 January 01, 2018

So far, not many viewers have commented on this movie. I wonder if this is because for the way the movie presents itself it seems one has to know something about the times (e.g. 1963 - 1974). And one has to know some things about Ms. Kay Graham's background (some things about the woman, the person). The night that I was in the theater to watch this movie much of the crowd was an older crowd. They seemed to get what the movie was showing. This movie is about Ms. Graham being thrusted into a role that is a powerful role especially for a woman of the times when (1) she initially lacked self confidence in herself in that role, (2) at a time also when women did not hold powerful positions over a company and/or over men, and on top of that (3) it was a newspaper an organization that could be used (cultivated) to achieve political ends by the power players (the powerful men) of the times. Keeping in mind, newspaper reports could and did play a role in public perception of the Vietnam war. Even bigger, then came the Pentagon Papers, and Watergate which culminated with the Supreme Court decision that Freedom of the Press (and in regards to public figures) is a protection guaranteed under the First Amendment of the U.S. Constitution. The movie does not come out and say but correctly eludes to the rise in Ms. Graham's confidence growing with the rise of the gender equality movement, thus the scenes of women standing in support of Ms. Graham outside the Court after the Supreme Court decision at the end. I really liked the newspaper back office scenes depicting what it took to get a paper to press, off the press, and delivered to the public. This is a really good movie.

User review rating: 5 December 27, 2017

I love journalism. I love this movie.

User review rating: 1 December 27, 2017

This movie is trash.

Change Location