The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey

Thank you for rating this movie!

The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey Movie Poster

4.38 / 5

User rating: 4.38

Based on 276 votes and 85 reviews


  • User rating: 4.38 72.93%
  • User rating: 4.38 9.02%
  • User rating: 4.38 8.27%
  • User rating: 4.38 2.26%
  • User rating: 4.38 7.52%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 51 to 85 of 85

User review rating: 3 December 18, 2012

Great movie, but TOTALLY UNESSASAIRLY DRAGGED ON. And to think there will be TWO more movies on The Hobbit. It shouldn't take 2 more movies to finish the Hobbit. Got too boring, not because its a children's book or what most people complain about it's because it was just dragged on. Filming Children of Huren or something else from Tolkien's lore would of been a better bet.

User review rating: 5 December 18, 2012

Much better than RETURN OF THE KING. Martin Freeman seems assured of another Oscar nomination for his fine work here.

User review rating: 1 December 17, 2012

So bad I left the theatre. It was so boring, the cinematography was cheap, bad story and acting terrible. It looks like a movie for cable. Sorry but I loved the LOTR movies but this is garbage compare to it. I just wasted $17 for 3D AVX.

User review rating: 3 December 17, 2012

The movie was good. It wasn't horrible but it wasn't amazing. It was just good; watchable. Richard Armitage was my favourite in the movie. Bilbo was annoying and it was a bit slow moving and some parts dragged on too long. But worth watching and the graphics were good.

User review rating: 1 December 17, 2012

Waste of time. Best thing was the popcorn.

User review rating: 5 December 17, 2012

Amazing movie, people who gave 3 or less stars are all crazy lol

User review rating: 0 December 17, 2012

The effects are amazing, especially Smaug, the most ferocious, most believable movie dragon since REIGN OF FIRE. 5/5

User review rating: 0 December 17, 2012

Suneagle's review cont.... You need a certain look to up keep the original feeling music and flow from the master peices of LOTR. Anyhow that being said the movie still held fantastic scenery and fantastic battle scenes and is still one heck of a fantastic Fantasy flick. Enjoy. Avx 3D no high frame. 48frms for a different movie no problem but it was used completely incorrectly sorry Peter. Love ya bud Thx for the experience though :)

User review rating: 4 December 17, 2012

Suneagle's Review 4*'s. sorry I rate LOTR 5/5 but Hobbit took too many unnecessary risks. From shooting in 35mm FILM in LOTR to now in digital 48frms and 3D was too much of a leap into a new vision for audiences to adjust too. 3D was a good choice but 48frames was so pristine crisp that movies are still way to far back to make anything look that good. The graphics and detail of the movie needed to be beyond 100% to handle 48frms and not to mention the acting my god the acting. Once the film switched to its original 24frms it faired MUCH MUCH better and once Golem who is the best actor in the film came to play it started to look believable other than fake, phony, and funny B rated style. You

User review rating: 5 December 16, 2012

Excellant!!!!

User review rating: 1 December 16, 2012

Boring as hell I love the first trilogy

User review rating: 5 December 16, 2012

Thought the movie was great. It did a great job on tying into the LOTR trilogy. Flow was good, lots of action, good battle scenes, etc.

User review rating: 5 December 16, 2012

Unforgettable. Must see.

User review rating: 5 December 15, 2012

don't know what everyone is whining about. overall it's a good movie. and of course it *can't* be as good as the ones 10 years ago. all of middle earth isn't neck deep in horror yet people, so it will of course be a little less epic. still good though. I was impressed.

User review rating: 5 December 15, 2012

If you liked LOTR this will not dissapoint

User review rating: 5 December 15, 2012

A tremendous journey into nerdom. This movie does not disappoint. A lot of Tolkiens original dialogue was used.

User review rating: 3 December 15, 2012

Good, but not great.

User review rating: 3 December 15, 2012

It was a good movie, but it was not a great movie. I had not read the book first so I found the movie a little disjointed. The book may have helped.

User review rating: 4 December 14, 2012

4.5 stars, beginning was a bit slow then it went into overdrive. So glad they introduced new characters and cut out the cheesy love story. Gollum, as always, just tugs at your heart strings.

User review rating: 5 December 14, 2012

Absolutely stunning. The movie of the year hands down. Epic battle scenes, spectacular cinematography and unforgettable heart wrenching moments. Ahh, I will see at least 5 times before it comes out of theaters.

User review rating: 0 December 14, 2012

Can't wait for the Extended Cut!

User review rating: 5 December 14, 2012

Saw it last night in 3D IMAX, and LOVED it! Yes there were parts that were a bit blurry, but overall the only way to see this movie is in 3D. Just my opinion of course. Yes it is a long movie, but in the end it didn't seem long enough.

User review rating: 5 December 09, 2012

One of the year's ten best.

User review rating: 5 December 08, 2012

To the person who asked why people are giving five stars to a movie that hasn't been released yet: why aren't YOU giving this movie ANY stars at all?!

User review rating: 0 December 07, 2012

Why are people giving ratings to a movie that hasn't been released yet? "I'm waiting to see it" - 5 stars - ridiculous! Lincoln - 5 stars!

User review rating: 5 December 05, 2012

One of the three best films in THE HOBBIT trilogy.

User review rating: 0 December 04, 2012

Ummm.... you mean "The first of three final LOTR films" lol. Jackson is milking this as much as he can. And you fanboys are drinking whatever comes out of his lactating greed.

User review rating: 0 October 28, 2012

Let's hope that Warner Bros. doesn't drag out the home release with a DVD, then the extended version, the the Blue-ray and finally the extended Blue-ray. My most anticipated movie release of the year next to 007.

User review rating: 0 September 25, 2012

the final film in the hobbit trilogy sets up the events to come in the first lord of the rings movie.

User review rating: 5 September 20, 2012

going to be an awesome film

User review rating: 0 April 25, 2012

i love lord of the rings. my top fave character gandalf!

User review rating: 5 January 27, 2012

part 2 is called "there and back again".

User review rating: 4 January 04, 2012

My only concern is why isn't the movie being called by it's proper name; "The Hobbit; There & Back Again"? An Unexpected Journey makes it sound childish & corny... thoughts?

User review rating: 0 January 04, 2012

I am extremely excited about seeing "An Unexpected Journey". I was thrilled with the theatre performance of "TLOTRs" in Toronto and I can't wait to return to middle earth and see Gandolf again. I know this movie will be wonderful!!!

User review rating: 5 December 24, 2011

I've been waiting for 9 years. Can't wait to see middle earth again

Change Location