Roma

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.00 / 5

User rating: 4

Based on 30 votes and 11 reviews


  • User rating: 4 46.67%
  • User rating: 4 20.00%
  • User rating: 4 20.00%
  • User rating: 4 13.33%
  • User rating: 4 0.00%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 11 of 11

User review rating: 5 March 08, 2019

A cinematic masterpiece!! Not to be missed!! It must be seen on the large screen to get the full meaning of the film. Excellent cinematography! The acting is subtle and nuanced, the acting is so wonderful!! This is a movie that will be remembered for a long time! It won a lot of awards, best foriegn film and best director from the Academy Awards, just to name two!!

User review rating: 4 February 26, 2019

Director of photography was brilliant, sound design unreal. A Must see.

User review rating: 2 February 26, 2019

I wanted to love this movie, I really did. But I found it lacking. I didn't find the characters authentic, and frankly, throughout the entire film all I could think was "here is another melodramatic pretentious film in black and white with sparse dialogue and a snails pace" that the even more pretentious film critics will love. It feels incomplete and barren - and maybe that was the point. Personally, I prefer dialogue that is well written and forms a tapestry around the events - not my favourite film.

User review rating: 3 February 10, 2019

to add to my review below i forgot to mention Yalitza Aparicio playing Cleo i like how she had that motherly like bond with the kids that really make your heart warm up specially with some sadness, as i love that in the movie beautiful cinematography film Roma

User review rating: 3 February 10, 2019

cinematography was one of the best i seen in movies up to today and love the black and white as alfonso cuarón pulls it off, but with a few issues that i think the movie could do with out like dog heads on the wall really weird and close up of dog business, and other thing i cat think off, but it was really well done as i would see it again but with the sad moments it hard to want to see it right away, but glad i saw it specially at the tiff light box in 4k but their one thing for sure is i really wouldn't want to travel to mexico and this film just stamp my decision to do so

User review rating: 5 January 08, 2019

Loved every aspect of this film! Visually beautiful which compliments the story, and the sound!! Really liked the relationship between the family and their help, refreshing as it's not the same old employer mean/employee abused treatment. I'd watch it again for sure.

User review rating: 4 January 01, 2019

While I do not appreciate black and white film, it does reflect the despair felt by both female protagonists. This film has heart, and draws on yours to elicit empathy for Cleo. The birth scene is heart wrenching. Water is a recurrent theme. I do not feel the film adequately explores Cleo's emotional state. Also, a deceitful cliche is used to briefly explain abandonment.

User review rating: 3 December 29, 2018

Great cinematography. However, very superficial treatment of class and gender issues. Very overrated.

User review rating: 5 December 17, 2018

It's a masterpiece--has the depth and integrity of the great silent films. Must see and hear on the big screen with surround sound.

User review rating: 5 December 09, 2018

Saw it today down at TIFF. Excellent movie! Really worth seeing it on the big screen for the sound alone.

User review rating: 5 December 07, 2018

Masterpiece

Change Location