Mary Poppins Returns

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.84 / 5

User rating: 3.84

Based on 254 votes and 89 reviews


  • User rating: 3.84 55.17%
  • User rating: 3.84 10.34%
  • User rating: 3.84 9.48%
  • User rating: 3.84 13.79%
  • User rating: 3.84 11.21%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 89

User review rating: 1 March 16, 2019

This movie was made by the devil. Literally way too much sexual inmuendo for a kids movie and it's horrible in every other possible way too. Don't bring your kids.

User review rating: 5 March 09, 2019

Great movie for kids wish they can make Mary poppins 3

User review rating: 3 February 17, 2019

It was a good movie for children but tired of remake movies. Can’t usually improve on the original movie that was super great.

User review rating: 4 February 17, 2019

Nice try to duplicate the concept of the original one but there seems to be something missing. Musical numbers were like watching a broadway play sometimes seems not relevant to the story but don't get me wrong they were good though. Well if the kids enjoyed this movie then that's what really matter.

User review rating: 5 February 15, 2019

I loved it - the story, the cast, the music, the dancing, EVERYTHING!

User review rating: 1 February 04, 2019

Ugh...horrid songs, pouty Poppins, boring story. Enough said.

User review rating: 5 February 02, 2019

Excellent! Great Family movie ... Phenomenal Acting/Singing/Performances

User review rating: 5 February 01, 2019

Great movie!

User review rating: 1 January 27, 2019

Song were to long, got los in the story line and the music was too bland. The original was a hundred times better. Love the costumes but that was about it.

User review rating: 4 January 25, 2019

Great movie, disappointed I didn’t see Dick Van Dyke’s cameo

User review rating: 5 January 25, 2019

Deeeelightfully refreshing!!!

User review rating: 4 January 24, 2019

Okay but at times felt like a shadow of the original. Saw it in an empty theatre and it felt like it was something great but in today’s world was missed, like the past. The actors and actresses did an amazing job and the Movie is great unfortunately the events on the world isn’t so we have a missed mark. To the future it is a watcher.

User review rating: 2 January 22, 2019

Disappointing. Actors with great voices but didn’t really get to show them off. Songs were mediocre at best.

User review rating: 5 January 22, 2019

I loved this movie the lead actress was great the singing was wonderful great for the whole family!

User review rating: 5 January 22, 2019

My daughter and I loved this movie. The memories of the past Mary Poppins were so vivid, we both had tears in our eyes.

User review rating: 5 January 20, 2019

Absolutely loved this movie, it brought back such memories, and the connection between the 1st Mary Poppins and this one is wonderful.

User review rating: 1 January 19, 2019

Bad music bad cinematography bad connection between the actors . Most of the children were sound asleep in the theater

User review rating: 2 January 16, 2019

It didn't have the same dash and verve as the original. The best characters were portrayed by the children, Dick Van Dyke, Angela Lansbury, and Meryl Streep. Blunts performance of Mary Poppins gave the character a self important air. None of the music stayed with me when we left . Kudos to the costume designer and most of the choreography.

User review rating: 3 January 16, 2019

It was disjointed. And we didnt come away singing any of the music. Disappointing movie.

User review rating: 4 January 16, 2019

I actually didn't like the old one, I thought it was pretty hokey. Even when I was a kid. The only thing I liked about it was the kids and the era it was set in. But this one was good. Better than the original. Has the same old-timey feel. Emily Blunt was good. Not as sweet as Julie Andrews, but still good in her own right.

User review rating: 3 January 15, 2019

It's a cute film, and Emily Blunt does a good job. I remember the original Mary Poppins. Mary Poppins Returns has no spark, no magic, nothing exciting. The best thing was when Dick Van Dyke made a brief appearance. However, it's a clean, decent movie for kids, but I'm not sure what age group.

User review rating: 5 January 14, 2019

In Mary Poppins words, It's perfect in every way. Loved this movie.

User review rating: 2 January 14, 2019

Most of the movie was painful to watch. If Walt was alive, he would have done it right.

User review rating: 3 January 13, 2019

it was ok. My granddaughter loved it, but i found it was a boring at times. I was a little disappointed with the movie.

User review rating: 1 January 13, 2019

Walked out And got my our money back 30 minutes into it

User review rating: 2 January 12, 2019

Poor remake. Blunt is boring

User review rating: 5 January 12, 2019

Loved it

User review rating: 3 January 11, 2019

Somewhat entertaining, but also very slow in bits....Disney's good at this sort of thing though.....just not paced well.

User review rating: 3 January 11, 2019

I thought it would be fun to see. M.P. #1.. I would see over and over. This version.... "Been there, done that."

User review rating: 3 January 10, 2019

It was okay. A song and dance every 15 minutes. Much like the original. Cute, not riveting, lots of other good movies to go see, in fact, Aqua-man, for me, was one of the best to see this season. Emily Blunt is as good as the original Mary Poppins. But, that being said, watching it on a DVD would satisfy the majority. I find it hard to believe it holds the interest of today's audiences anyway.

User review rating: 5 January 10, 2019

Oscar worthy= EMILY BLUNT

User review rating: 4 January 10, 2019

GREAT movie!! Loved song "where the lost things go"

User review rating: 4 January 08, 2019

Magical and happy!!l

User review rating: 5 January 08, 2019

Well done! I saw the first at 8 years of age.

User review rating: 3 January 08, 2019

Ok, could have been better, felt like they took lots of shortcuts.

User review rating: 5 January 06, 2019

I went went with a friend of mine and her sister we had liked the movie, we had a good laugh

User review rating: 5 January 05, 2019

I really enjoyed this movie .

User review rating: 2 January 05, 2019

The sound was so loud at Showplace 12 in Edwardsville that I had to put my fingers in my ears through about half the movie.

User review rating: 5 January 05, 2019

It was magical...I loved it??

User review rating: 5 January 05, 2019

Mary Poppins has more magick than Moina Mathers.Overall a great film though political correctness at times was annoying as Disney must have felt it was necessary to star many African Americans in a story set in London in 1900! Obviously this had nothing to do with getting the look and feel of the setting correct. It would almost be like making a movie about the Zulu nation and having many of the Zulus in the film as a bunch of white guys without explanation. However, despite such absurdities the film was a great evolution of the orginal right from the opening mat paintings to the end. The song and dance numbers were great-especially the kids bath scene and ending 'No Where to go but up'. This is a delightful movie and a great tribute to the original. Emily Blunt is a perfect Mary Poppins, putting her own stamp the the iconic character though the actor who played the father of the Banks children was a huge disappointment. Perhaps the greatest accomplishment was a film being made that is so different from the films being made today and it was nice to see a film about a straight, white middle class family with happy children and members in traditional roles without an education in political correctness. One can only hope others in Hollywood will take note of it's success and what people what to see. Finally a hats of to the new actresses and actors playing the Banks children-they were delightful and spot on in their roles.

User review rating: 5 January 05, 2019

Haters are going to hate. From the looks of the reviews, there is a very small minority that wouldn't know a good, entertaining movie if it kicked them in the side of the head. Emily Blunt will win every award she's nominated in this year. The movie will win every award it's nominated in. And one song, The Place Where Lost Things Go, will also dominate. If you went to this movie thinking it was going to be a remake, then you didn't do your homework. This one is arguably as good, or maybe better, than the original - and that's all on Blunt's portrayal of Poppins. Pretty sure there will be record sales of the DVD when it comes available.

User review rating: 5 January 04, 2019

If you listen very carefully, the music of the 1st movie is threaded into the scenes as background. It was masterfully done. I actually applauded for one particularly fantastic number.

User review rating: 5 January 04, 2019

If you listen very carefully, the music of the 1st movie is threaded into the scenes as background. It was masterfully done. I actually applauded for one particularly fantastic number.

User review rating: 5 January 04, 2019

A perfectly seamless blend of the 1st Mary Poppins and this new Mary Poppins. Everything was wonderfully done. Meryl Streep was great in the upside down house, Dick Van Dyke saved the day, big Ben helped. The sets were great, the dancers reminiscent of Gene Kelly.

User review rating: 5 January 04, 2019

It was Supercalifagilousexpialidosous.? Perfect ????? Superb ????? Beautiful ?????

User review rating: 5 January 04, 2019

This is a wonderful movie! I did not know how they would make a sequel to the original that would compare, but from the opening credits and overture they kept the feeling of the old movie. The cast was excellent, as was the dancing and the music. We will definitely be adding this one to our home collection!

User review rating: 4 January 04, 2019

This isn't my type of movie, and 20 minutes in I considered jumping to another theater. But it got better--a LOT better. The "Trip the Light Fantastic" dance scene in as good as anything I've seen. For me, better that the original. Emily Blunt is PERFECT!! Miranda is a tremendousy charismatic Jack...….Guru Bob...………….83/100 Will lose the Golden Globe to "Vice," though.

User review rating: 4 January 03, 2019

Wonderful movie!! Emily Blunt is a perfect "Mary Poppins" Enjoyed all the song and dance!!!

User review rating: 5 January 03, 2019

Great music. Love Emily blunt.

User review rating: 0 January 03, 2019

one of the worst movies I have ever stayed to watch the stars of the movie even looked bored with this inane waste of time

Change Location