Green Book

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.78 / 5

User rating: 4.78

Based on 436 votes and 149 reviews


  • User rating: 4.78 90.48%
  • User rating: 4.78 4.29%
  • User rating: 4.78 1.43%
  • User rating: 4.78 0.00%
  • User rating: 4.78 3.81%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 149

User review rating: 5 March 20, 2019

"Green Book" is a great movie in everyway! Ultimately, it will become a classic! It is great because it captures the true life story of Dr. Donald Shirley and Tony Vallelonga! The script is great! Masterfully crafted to the real life story of Dr. Shirley and Tony Vallelonga! The acting is great! Believable! Not just from the stand point of preeminent performances rendered by Mahershala Ali and Viggo Mortensen. But, by Linda Cardellini, to other actors...to the extras in the movie! Peter Ferrell direction of this movie, is equated to greatest painters and sculptures in history! His directing of this film was simply awesome! Kris Bowers also deserves the banner of awesome! His interpretation of and implementation of Dr. Donald Shirley's music and his tutoring of Mahershala Ali was ingenious! Huge kudos to Octavia Spencer for recognizing the great importance of this story and producing it! I have seen "Green Book" in movie theaters several times! I own the DVD. Yet, each time I see it, it gets better and better and better!!! Go see it!! Purchase it!! I love "Green Book!" You will love it too!

User review rating: 5 March 19, 2019

Went to see 2 times ..great movie !

User review rating: 5 March 17, 2019

Fantastic movie. I did not expect that amazing everything. Congratulation to all. More Oscar should be won.

User review rating: 5 March 15, 2019

Best movie I have seen in a long time!

User review rating: 5 March 14, 2019

Viggo Mortensen and Mahershala Ali shine beautifully together, each playing to their own unique strengths. Mortensen’s Tony Lip is both rough around the edges and believable. A street guy with a penchant for tough crowds and even tougher places Tony Lip is comfortable in his wiseguy persona. And yet...even old dogs can learn to be nice...sometimes. His ability to learn to appreciate the finer value of what it means to be “cultured” takes him on a tour of the country he never really knew, allowing him a firsthand glimpse into a world where colour and race means everything to everybody, forcing him to grow in ways he never thought possible. An outstanding performance. Mahershala Ali’s “Dr. Shirley” is both striking in his enigmatic magnetism as well as stoic charm. An impeccably well-mannered gentleman Dr. Shirley is both the pair’s saving grace as well as a walking disruptor, though by no fault of his own. There are strong tones of value where colour and class of yesteryear are concerned and the movie plays well upon those themes, often to a very real and very satisfying degree. The narrative is both incredibly well versed as well as poignant in its delivery especially when it comes to those little moments of high tension. It is direction like this that really take the movie and make it leap from the screen and touch our hearts in many ways. Ways that we, as movie lovers never see coming until we feel it tugging at our coattails. The settings are rich, real and offer a realistic look into the life of a travelling duo of mixed colour in the 1960’s. The music, coupled with both the vibrant settings of the American South and the magnetic, soulful culture of Dr. Shirley’s Chopin is simply beautiful. A great movie by all accounts! 5 Stars! I love this movie!

User review rating: 5 March 13, 2019

Fantastic movie ... very moving Great story ...acting was phenomenal ... 5 strong stars

User review rating: 5 March 13, 2019

Scenery, genuine acting, surprises, humor, no nudity, no vulgarity, no continuous violence, sweet, touched my heart with a moral to the story and a good ending!

User review rating: 5 March 12, 2019

Excellent movie, superb acting, accurate portrayal of attitudes in the US South of 50s. Historically correct. Oscar quality performance by the actors. Great music.

User review rating: 4 March 12, 2019

Entertaining, feel good movie, we enjoyed it!

User review rating: 5 March 12, 2019

''' FIVE GOLD STAR'S.''' GO SEE IT.!!!! GO SEE IT.!!!! GO SEE IT.!!!! It was GREAT & I MEAN, GREAT.!!!!!! BETTER YET, IT WAS SUPER GREAT.!!! DO YOU WANT TO LAUGH, SMILE & SEE TWO MEN, HELP EACH OTHER & WORK TOGETHER. DO YOU WANT TO HEAR, SENATOR ROBERT F. KENNEDY'S, SEMI- ANGRY VOICE, TALKING TO THE GOVERNOR, SHAKING IN HIS BOOTS.?? YOU WILL LAUGH & YOU WILL SMILE.!!!!!!!! WONDERFUL ROLE PLAYING, BY BOTH MEN. BOTH ACTORS, DID A PRETTY, PRETTY, DARN, SUPER JOB. GO SEE IT, GO SEE IT. GO SEE IT.!!!!!! AMERICA IS GETTING BETTER. THINK OF THE DREAM OF NOT ONE, BUT, THREE OR FOUR OR A DOZEN'S OF MEN. YET, TWO GREAT AMERICANS, WORKING TOGETHER & BOTH WERE KILLED, TRYING TO HELP, MAKE AMERICA KINDER, MORE LOVING, FORGIVING & SLOWLY, MAYBE, MORE NOBLE IN GODS EYES. CHANGE COMES TO ALL WHO PRAY, FOR FREEDOM & JUSTICE, IN A GOOD POSITIVE WAY.!!! NEGATIVE WAYS, DESTROYS PEOPLE. PEOPLE MUST WORK, SIDE BY SIDE & TALK & COMMUNICATE. RACE RELATIONS INSTRUCTOR. CPT SCOTT.

User review rating: 5 March 11, 2019

Excellent portrayal of racism in our country which stilll exists. A powerful message of how love, Brotherhood and understanding can change the most ingrain monster ideologies. Personally, as a musician, I experienced the same intolerance, so I was able to relate to the intensity of its message.

User review rating: 5 March 09, 2019

Loved it. This movie gives you a realistic view of a side of life you may not think about. A "put yourself in his shoes" movie. I also like the message "when you do something, do it 100%." That is exactly what the driver in this movie did--regardless of hardships along the way.

User review rating: 3 March 09, 2019

It was a good movie, not a great movie. I don’t know how it won best picture at the Oscars, Bohemian Rhapsody was much better.

User review rating: 5 March 07, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed the synopsis, and era depicted in this film.

User review rating: 5 March 05, 2019

funny, professionally done, everyone should see it

User review rating: 5 March 05, 2019

Great movie...great acting..great everything.

User review rating: 5 March 04, 2019

Truly wonderful movie! Actors are superlative and both deserve Oscars. Bronx humor was laugh-out-loud funny and the road trip/tour never disappointed as it presented both poignant and charming segments. Loved it! More of these kinds of movies. Thank you Peter Farrelly.

User review rating: 4 March 04, 2019

It was very entertaining, but the first part with the Italians just being themselves was boring cold have skipped that part, or made it shorter

User review rating: 5 March 02, 2019

Great movie with great true story. Never heard of the Nat King Cole incident in 1956 prior to watching this film. Both true characters learned from each other. Recommend highly and it is deserving of it's Academy Award. Sad to see how African Americans were treated at the time.

User review rating: 5 March 02, 2019

Best picture for sure. I couldn’t take my eyes off the screen. Ones senses are disturbed at how African American people were treated. Being pulled over by the police for no reason and being beaten. Wow very powerful. True story indeed.

User review rating: 5 March 01, 2019

We knew someone who had used the green book. Great Story

User review rating: 5 March 01, 2019

Loved it! Two different people, cultures and lives come together and teach and refine each other in life, manners, wisdom. Going again to see. Based on a true story and thy are still friends till this day.

User review rating: 5 February 26, 2019

It brought me back to my days growing up in the Bronx in the 50's and 60' A great time in my life . Awesome movie. D.D.

User review rating: 4 February 26, 2019

A feel good, but not in the Right way ! Wonderful performances. NOT Best Picture.

User review rating: 5 February 26, 2019

I loved it. It gives hope that love and friendship can overcome anything.

User review rating: 5 February 26, 2019

I there is not a thing wrong with the movie! I love Viggo!!

User review rating: 5 February 20, 2019

Excellent story and acting.

User review rating: 5 February 19, 2019

Well done, thought provoking and I learned! Great story line. One I'll buy when it comes out.

User review rating: 5 February 18, 2019

Excellent movie....loved every minute of it. Both of the lead actors did amazing job.

User review rating: 5 February 18, 2019

The only issue I had was the language. I realize it was the Sixty's and people swore much like today but it still offends me when I hear writers and directors using God's name in vain! --- dammit it is a sinn and I dislike hearing that along with the F word. Unnecessary in my mind to the story! thanks You. Blessings...loved the friendship between Tony and Dr. Don, hard & sad times for the black people. A rich story in friendship and Tony learned many lessons being with Doc.

User review rating: 5 February 17, 2019

So realistic, a classic

User review rating: 5 February 17, 2019

This is the best movie my husband & I have seen in years. You will laugh, cry, be astonished, heartbroken and angry that such prejudice existed and still does. I have rarely ever heard grown men laugh watching a movie. My husband was one of them. A must see. Should clean up at the Oscars.

User review rating: 5 February 17, 2019

Such an amazing film.

User review rating: 5 February 17, 2019

We both liked it was a great movie.

User review rating: 5 February 16, 2019

by far the best movie of the year.....excellent acting

User review rating: 5 February 16, 2019

Enjoyable, funny, reasonably accurate look back at a time in history.

User review rating: 5 February 15, 2019

Viggo Mortenson is hilarious in this. Just a good interesting enjoyable funny movie, even if you ignore the historical aspect of it.

User review rating: 5 February 13, 2019

Terrific movie. But it's only a tiny window into what minorities have endured in this country. In the time setting of this movie, a true story, the depiction of the treatment blacks suffered at that time wasn't very far removed from slavery itself. Horrible, just horrible, and disgraceful. And it's not much better now. Will mankind ever learn? Today most kids are going to school with kids of numerous other races. There they play at recess; they make friends; they do school projects; they play sports, all without consideration of ethnicity or religion, or anything else. Babies come into this world free of animosity toward other people who aren't exactly like them, or for any reason, yet there are still parents teaching children to hate. If parents themselves didn't discriminate and hate people who are different from them, children wouldn't hate. If parents wouldn't turn away from people who have diffefrent skin color, or who speak a different language, or who dress differently, children wouldn't grow to turn away. And no matter what any individual "thinks" about humankind, there's something he should "know" about mankind. WE ARE ALL THE SAME.

User review rating: 5 February 11, 2019

GREEN BOOK - excellent! True story. Afraid it will be taken down soon due to too poor a showing at the box office - so don't delay! Time frame/location: Early 60's in America's deep south. Viggo Mortensen (who must have taken steroids for this role so he could appear the part, as was almost unrecognizable) plays the equivalent of "Driving Miss Daisy" only he is a white tough guy from NYC who works for a high class night club that (when his hotel employer closes down for 2 months renovations) reluctantly takes on a 2-month assignment to be the driver for a world class pianist (who is black, and his 2 cello accompanists, who are white) while he does a whirlwind tour of America's deep south who perceive themselves as 'upper white crust' establishments, but who aren't really interested in classical music, so the pianist accommodates their low brow music instead, all while being refused either dining in these establishments where he is playing, or being allowed to be a guest. The pianist doesn't belong in either world - black or white due to his upbringing; the film shows he needs to come down off his pedestal a little, and his (soon to be) street-savvy protector learns to develop DIGNITY/INTEGRITY during their sojourn together. They learn about each other's attributes and faults, then come to appreciate each other for the TRUTH of their characters throughout the tour, little by little as the nuances in this film are SO wonderful. The movie's title is a green (a paperback) book required for blacks who had to travel interstate, and the green book told them of locations of motels that would accommodate black people in these states. Still - being the deep south, the viewer knows it won't be easy. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! Pics at the end show each of the characters, both still alive, and both still friends.

User review rating: 5 February 10, 2019

So many wonderful moments in this story and lessons to be learned. I was entranced by the range of emotions, a must see.

User review rating: 5 February 09, 2019

Stunning! Haven't seen a movie like this in a long time!

User review rating: 5 February 09, 2019

acting is superior and oscar-winning worthy for Mortensen.

User review rating: 5 February 07, 2019

A very good movie that everyone should see. A good true story (well at least by Hollywood standards), well told with good casting that reminds us of the racial discrimination, injustice and hate in our past incurred by African Americans...... that needs to end......

User review rating: 5 February 06, 2019

Unexpectedly interesting and engaging

User review rating: 5 February 06, 2019

Awesome movie

User review rating: 5 February 05, 2019

We need to be reminded of how it was in the south and how it still is to some degree. A wonderful film!

User review rating: 5 February 05, 2019

I loved this movie! Go see it! Wonderful characters and a wonderful story! Best movie I've seen in a long time!

User review rating: 5 February 05, 2019

Really enjoyed this film. Great story and well played on both sides of “not really knowing” the other side. Our teen son enjoyed it too.

User review rating: 5 February 04, 2019

Beautiful story & wonderful message. They helped each other. Just loved loved loved this movie.

User review rating: 5 February 03, 2019

Wonderful performances in a beautiful story.

Change Location