Green Book

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.73 / 5

User rating: 4.73

Based on 200 votes and 77 reviews


  • User rating: 4.73 89.69%
  • User rating: 4.73 4.12%
  • User rating: 4.73 1.03%
  • User rating: 4.73 0.00%
  • User rating: 4.73 5.15%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 77

User review rating: 5 January 17, 2019

Life of a black pianist in the south is depicted

User review rating: 5 January 17, 2019

Excellent from beginning to end.

User review rating: 5 January 16, 2019

This is the best movie we have seen in ages, it's funny, lets people see how things really were years ago and how far we've come, it's heart warming.

User review rating: 5 January 15, 2019

It was funny at moments, touching at moments. Go with an open mind, it's a beautiful story. I loved it.

User review rating: 5 January 15, 2019

The actors were brilliant, especially Viggo Mortensen. There's lots of humor, some suspense and a joy to watch. Don't pay attention to the nay-sayers who are saying the story isn't true. Who cares? It's a well-acted, entertaining film. Enjoy it.

User review rating: 5 January 15, 2019

20 years from now film students will study this picture. The screenplay is solid. The performances are impeccable. The direction is confident. The cinematography is sublime. Everything works in this film. I was reminded how emotionally powerful cinema can be. So rare are these films to arrive in our theatres and into our lives. Peter Farrelly has given us a classic for the ages. We thank you for this deeply moving masterpiece.

User review rating: 5 January 11, 2019

I wanted to watch it again before it was even over. This is a captivating piercing human story of two men, who have had completely different influences and experiences in the world. Their experiences have defined them. As they share an 8-week road trip together, they not only share new experiences in this slice of 1962 America, but they learn new truths, gain understanding and empathy, and come to new definitions of what is most important in life. This is a layered, character-driven story, excellently acted, told and shown on the screen.

User review rating: 5 January 08, 2019

Must see to understand where were from and where we are going.

User review rating: 4 January 08, 2019

very entertaining and enjoyable - tough to imagine the way black persons were treated back then.

User review rating: 5 January 08, 2019

Best movie I have seen Saw it three times already. Loved it. Urging family and friends to see this.

User review rating: 5 January 07, 2019

A very powerful movie on racism. Acting was perfection. I loved the combined drama and comedy. Being of Italian decent, I could relate to the Italian comments and mannerisms. Well worthy of an Academy Award.

User review rating: 5 January 07, 2019

Fantastic movie. We knew it would win best Golden Globe award. It was real to life and the acting was Great. Best movie of the year.

User review rating: 5 January 06, 2019

Fantastic, so funny. Best movie I have seen in a long time!

User review rating: 5 January 06, 2019

Just beautiful, loved it !! Vigo is excellent as always.

User review rating: 5 January 05, 2019

WOW! Great movie, fantastic performances and a better message.

User review rating: 5 January 03, 2019

The entire movie was excellent. I may go see it again.

User review rating: 5 January 03, 2019

Absolutely everything!

User review rating: 5 January 01, 2019

Arguably, the year's best. Excellent performances. An unusual road buddy biopic. Suspenseful, funny, heartwarming.

User review rating: 5 January 01, 2019

Excellent movie! great acting, great story, very well developed. the movie moves at a very good pace to keep you very interested in the events. I definitely want to see it again. I read a lot of good reviews about this movie which made me want to go see it for myself, and now that I did, I can say I agree, it was a great movie to watch. The auditorium was almost completely full! the movie appears to be very popular, and for a good reason.

User review rating: 5 December 31, 2018

Very good movie!! Oscar worthy!!

User review rating: 5 December 29, 2018

I've seen this movie twice and plan on seeing it again in the coming days. The acting was amazing and the music of Dr. Shirley a historical fact I am embarrassed I knew nothing about. I have since ordered his music, and just received a copy of The Negro Travelers' Green Book because I plan to include it in my planning for coming semesters in my classroom. The film and the Green Book are a great springboard for conversation among all of us as we exist in this time of renewed racism and ethnocentrism. The humor in the movie adds to its appeal as entertainment, but doesn't detract from the importance of the story and the depiction of the era--that's a tricky thing to do. I can't remember the last film I saw that ended in applause by the audience, but this one did (both times). Kudos to the creators, producers, actors, and the families of the two main characters who decided their friendship might serve us all. This story leaves me hopeful that each of us has within us the possibility of evolving beyond what we are and toward what we might become.

User review rating: 5 December 27, 2018

Vigo Mortensen, what a breakout performance. To take on a story which was basically the unknown or taboo subject was very courageous. I hope this movie is rewarded and praised for the screenplay and acting.

User review rating: 5 December 23, 2018

Perfect Little Movie that recreates interest in and emotional connection to a subject and time many Americans would like to ignore or think has been overly done. Why, perfect? It has: suspense, humor, surprises, characters you love or hate, relevancy to today's issues, good music, good pacing,and a good ending. Never boring.

User review rating: 5 December 23, 2018

very good! I already want to see it again.

User review rating: 0 December 23, 2018

Loved it. It covered every facet of emotion from tears to laughter. Hope it gets an Oscar - touched the heart with a lesson for all.

User review rating: 5 December 23, 2018

Best movie of 2018! Humanity at its best and superior acting.

User review rating: 5 December 20, 2018

just fantistic

User review rating: 5 December 20, 2018

A great movie. Best movie I've seen in awhile. It was very funny but sad to see how the blacks were treated in the south.

User review rating: 3 December 19, 2018

Enjoyed Driving Miss Daisy? Then this film Green Book could strike a cord right up your alley. Oscar worthy? Perhaps... Check this out for yourself

User review rating: 5 December 19, 2018

A good movie. They do not make so many of them, therefore a must to go out and see it. The acting is outstanding.

User review rating: 5 December 19, 2018

Excellent movie, wonderful acting and story. Best I've seen in a while.

User review rating: 5 December 18, 2018

This was an excellent movie. Wish there were more films of this caliber.

User review rating: 5 December 18, 2018

Absolutely smart, talented and brilliant. Loved it.

User review rating: 5 December 14, 2018

excellent true story and great acting

User review rating: 5 December 13, 2018

Drama not too intense, funny, fast moving, based on true story. Acting is superb. Best Picture of the Year!

User review rating: 4 December 12, 2018

Best movie of the year. I loved it.

User review rating: 5 December 10, 2018

This is THE BEST MOVIE that I have seen in a long time. I actually left the theater feeling so good and as a result of this film, having a renewed faith in humanity. Both men benefitted from their relationship by learning to appreciate their diverse points of view. How refreshing in this era of divisiveness to see how people can change for the better by listening to and learning from each other. The film and the actors deserve Academy Awards for their efforts.

User review rating: 5 December 10, 2018

True story and one of the best movies I've seen this year. No, actually THE best; and I have broad tastes and watch a lot of movies. Makes you laugh, cry, and angry, and happy. When I saw this there was a brief pause as the credits began to roll, and then the audience began to applaud. I was one of them.

User review rating: 5 December 09, 2018

Excellent. In the sea of garbage that pases for cinema today this story based on a true story is a very human story, with a historical perspective as well. Not often do you see two male characters from different socioeconomic cultures come to develop an understanding and friendship for each other. Very NYC in a way. . You do not have to be the same anything to be friends, something that has been forgotten.today. Some of the viewers call this movie slow moving or preachy? I found it filled with difficulties, humor & humaneness of the human experience.....not to mention gorgeous retro cars.....and excellent actors.

User review rating: 4 December 09, 2018

Great story. Movie was slow for a reason.

User review rating: 5 December 08, 2018

It's not often one can see a movie that depicts the past racial attitudes and behaviors of our history with such accuracy and class. We have come a long way and we should be proud. The acting was great and I'm sure Oscars will be awarded.

User review rating: 5 December 08, 2018

Best Movie of The Year!!!

User review rating: 5 December 07, 2018

Best movie I’ve seen this year.

User review rating: 5 December 07, 2018

Wonderful movie. The story is based on true events. The person who gave it one star apparently didn't stay and watch the credits.

User review rating: 5 December 07, 2018

One of the best movies I have seen in a very long time. Inspirational, moving, thought provoking and thank God, induced with a lot of humor. I highly recommend this one!

User review rating: 5 December 07, 2018

The relationship which develops between the two major characters is touching. Difficult to stomach the injustices weighed against people of colour even though it's set in 1962. Unfortunately, we haven't learned from those mistakes. Well worth seeing.

User review rating: 5 December 05, 2018

Very touching to watch how the two main characters become friends over the time spent on the road!

User review rating: 5 December 05, 2018

A must see for everyone!! . Superb role modeling of courageous confrontation of systemic racism and homophobia as well as the accompanying and necessary alliance building.

User review rating: 5 December 04, 2018

This is a must see movie! My husband& I both enjoyed it very much! This deserves to be nominated for Best Picture at Awards time!

User review rating: 5 December 03, 2018

This movie shows how accomplished AFRO AMERICANS are during and after segregation

Change Location