Good Boys

Thank you for rating this movie!

2.91 / 5

User rating: 2.91

Based on 228 votes and 79 reviews


  • User rating: 2.91 26.80%
  • User rating: 2.91 14.43%
  • User rating: 2.91 13.40%
  • User rating: 2.91 13.40%
  • User rating: 2.91 31.96%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 79

User review rating: 5 September 14, 2019

Did the haters watch the traiel or just go to a movie they know nothing about one of the biggest box office movies of the summer need I say more

User review rating: 1 September 11, 2019

Nothing funny whatsoever about 6th graders talking and acting this way. Something is so foul about a movie that little kids can act in but aren't allowed to actually go see in a theater in person. (R-Rating). You know that kids are for sure gonna go see this because it is a movie about kids their age. We are dropping the ball on parenting and don't even know it, if this is considered funny or entertainment. I protest this movie values.

User review rating: 4 September 11, 2019

The most controversial film of the Summer and the second biggest box office hit. Love it or hate it it is a window into the world of 6th grade in 2019 America. This is not the America where most of us grew up in - in this comedy it is a multi-cultural world of drones, potheads, bad language and the kids are a night mare from the 1930's 30 rascals to the lost boys of 2019. Even the look is kind of creepy with mean Gary Coleman character leering back at you and yet, strangely enough it works at times and you can't help but keep watching. This film is just too raw to be reviewed in 2019. It will have to be set aside a decade or so to truly rate it. When the Bad News Bears came out in the 70's many people were horrified but by the 80's it was truly beloved. Expect people to be firmly divided on this picture which is it's draw- people want to see the film that is either getting the 4 stars or the 1 star. The controversy could have only been greater if these actors were retelling The Rocky Horror Picture Show.

User review rating: 1 September 10, 2019

I left the movie around an hour into it for too many reasons to list here. Young kids constant swearing ... degenerate parents who leave a sex doll and sex toys where the kids have access to them ... date rape drugs ... crossing traffic across the busiest freeways .... on and on .... really perverted and sick.

User review rating: 5 September 09, 2019

Best comedy / adventure movie I've saw in years. Yes, it DOES have a storyline and flows quite well. And yes, boys this age DO swear when not around their parents, just like in this movie. If you can't laugh, then don't go see this movie. If you want a good laugh, which most of us could use, it's a must see! For the critics: No, these kids aren't continually dropping f bombs. This movie's rated R for some of the adult props used, not a f bomb here or there. And at least the kids in this movie are riding bikes and moving, not just sitting at home playing video games, visiting social media, youtubing, or texting. That would be a boring but true movie of today's youth.

User review rating: 1 September 08, 2019

I absolutely hated every single thing about this movie. From young boys dropping the F bomb every 20 seconds to the poor acting, it was atrocious. The very sad scenario of having garbage movies such as this is that eventually, it will be available for kids to somehow watch. Even though it's R rated, they will somehow see it. We wanted to leave, but thought it would surely get better. We also wanted to give it a fair review. It just kept getting worse. I would give it a minus 10 if it was an option.

User review rating: 4 September 06, 2019

Very entertaining, really liked it

User review rating: 5 September 04, 2019

Funniness movie of the year everybody was laughing i saw it twice and part of it a third time and still enjoyed it and was laughing got to see this one it you remember when you were a boy lol

User review rating: 5 September 04, 2019

This brings back so many memories of school! They got it EXACTLY right!

User review rating: 4 September 04, 2019

Loved it, many laughs. Warning Coarse language.

User review rating: 3 September 03, 2019

Remarkably, what hurt this film the most was language. I recall being in 7th grade and we did use crude language but not to this degree. The overuse of the bad language became a crutch where funnier humor could have been tried as situational comedy during these years would be easy to come by. This film could have been a Summer five star blockbuster if more cleverly done. Real boys at this age doing things that real boys do at this age would be comedy enough - one doesn't need an elaborate construction. Finally, casting was poor. Tremblay was ok but his sidekicks were terrible especially the one kid who looked like an evil version of Gary Coleman - what a disaster in that choice.

User review rating: 1 September 03, 2019

No child actor should be subject to the type of vocabulary used in this film. The producer, writers and director should be held accountable.

User review rating: 5 September 03, 2019

Hilarious

User review rating: 3 September 02, 2019

it was ok but not great

User review rating: 5 September 02, 2019

Great movie. Probably gonna buy it when it comes out. Might go see it again.

User review rating: 3 September 02, 2019

This movie wasn’t as funny as I thought it would be. A few good moments.

User review rating: 1 September 01, 2019

Pretty simple looking at the ratings...you will either love it or hate it. I did not like it nor would I recommend it...especially to non adults.

User review rating: 1 September 01, 2019

Very good movie; but too much cussing. Kids, believe it or not don’t cuss that much:

User review rating: 5 September 01, 2019

Excellent! Brought back memories! Lots to laugh about.

User review rating: 4 August 31, 2019

Refreshing. Loved the interaction between the 3 boys & their different levels of maturity. Loved Lucas! Good summer fun!

User review rating: 3 August 31, 2019

Not as funny as we thought it would be.

User review rating: 4 August 29, 2019

Raunchy bit hilarious.

User review rating: 4 August 28, 2019

Funny but the film would have been better with different casting. Tremblay was good but the two other kids on screen ruined the film. The bad language was overdone and should have been used as a comic element to get laughs but when done over and over again it wasen't funny any more than telling the same joke over and over. Thematic elements could have been better and more comical. Still, I had to give the film 4 stars as it was something new and reminded me of the comic years of being 7th grade divided between living in a world of adults as a little angel and being pretty bad when just with my friends. This film is screaming for a sequel- hopefully with Tremblay without his second rates.

User review rating: 3 August 28, 2019

The movie was a comedy more than a back to memory lane. R rated, due to the cursing. I believe it would have been a pg-13 if cursing was toned back some. I felt too old for the movie but kids of the same age as the actors would feel too young for this movie due to the adult content presented. That being said had several outbursts of laughter and one "Oh s*&t" by some of the parenting language.

User review rating: 2 August 28, 2019

So, I would not recommend it...especially don't bring your children. If any of the makers and producers are having problems with kids who are wise ass loudmouths I think I could give them some parenting ideas as in watch your movie.

User review rating: 5 August 27, 2019

funniest movie this year

User review rating: 1 August 27, 2019

Worst movie I have seen in a long time. Don’t waste your time or money... unless you enjoy boys using the F word non stop and god dammit! Stupid movie ...

User review rating: 2 August 27, 2019

I see this movie is #2 and sadly or gladly it could have made $millions more if it were not for somebody thinking we would all be ecstatic to see pre teen boys with foul mouths. Somebody in production should be reprimanded because they lost a lot of money for whatever their point was.Some people will cringe at parts of this movie.Not cool.

User review rating: 1 August 26, 2019

Had some potential but could not handle the language from such young kids. May be alright from hard core uneducated labours but to allow you kid in the was discussing. The tremblay's in particular must not have read the script or willing to do anything with their kids to be accepted in Holywood

User review rating: 2 August 24, 2019

I have to admit, I am a South Park fan, even at my age ( 69 ). I get the humour. This movie had some funny moments, but I think they were a little slow in coming. Also, I found the parts that were suppose to be touching, a little weird, because I didn't think any kid who could swear like a sailor could also be sensitive. This is not " Gone With The Wind ", but if you are 14 years old or like me, still feel 14 years old, you might like this movie, but don't take your Grandmother. I wish the kids had a little more interaction with the adults, because when they did, it was funny. It is hard for 3 young boys to carry a whole movie, but If you leave your brains at the door and just go to have a crude laugh, then I guess this is the movie for you.

User review rating: 1 August 24, 2019

I am so outdated as I foolishly thought there were some standards or rules that would preclude young children from cursing on the movie set for public filming. Keep your kids home if you don't want them being cool and cute throwing the f... bombs to act "adult."

User review rating: 3 August 24, 2019

Boring

User review rating: 1 August 23, 2019

Movie was HORRIBLE! FOUL LANGUAGE! Humor wasn't good at all. Waste of money! Don't go!

User review rating: 4 August 23, 2019

I went with a group of my girl friends from Page to go see this film. WE were kind of divided about this film but pretty much thought it was either a three star film or a four star so I gave it the generous benefit of the doubt as a four star film. Over all I found it kind of funny as I have a 12 yr old younger brother and he and his friends kind of reminded me the comic stuff to expect. What was missing was any real warmth of feeling. I saw Stand By Me on Netflix two years ago and I was hoping for a bit more warmth and more of a message but I found it a bit crude. Also, most kids this age don't use language this bad - I know my brother and his friends don't but the beer scene was pretty accurate as are some of the other funny elements about the kids not understanding the deal about girls. I will admit it it was cute and funny but giving this film four stars is being generous.

User review rating: 1 August 23, 2019

Vulgar language — This movie had such potential to be really cute and funny but the use of vulgarity was soooooo over the top. I’m no prude but the use of the “F” word still makes me cringe!!!!! I left before it was over

User review rating: 1 August 23, 2019

Probably the reason they couldn't get any other kids with experience who could act to star alongside Jacob Tremblay is that hopefully the parents of other child stars have some sense and don't let their kids star in a disgusting movie like this. Once you're a star, you don't have to degrade yourself in vulgar trash movies. So the parents of the other kids just thought, well, whatever we have to do to get my kid famous and get some money. For Jacob Tremblay's parents, there's no excuse for this. He will be affected by having appeared in this crap. I hope they pay for the psychological bills he will incur for many years thanks to their stupidity and greed.

User review rating: 3 August 23, 2019

I loved this movie reminded me of me a little bit when I was a kid wanting to sneak booze and get into trouble very funny

User review rating: 2 August 22, 2019

So, you will probably either love it or hate it. The fact that I am "old school" probably greatly influenced my opinion...but my upbringing was very different as well as the fact dad ran away from home at age 13, went to war later and had no childhood is soooo different.

User review rating: 3 August 22, 2019

Silly coming of age films seem like they have been around for about 40 years. I recall back in 1980 seeing Little Darlings in High School and we have gotten a few such comedy drama films every few years with perhaps the best one with a more serious theme coming out a few years ago called Boyhood. Here, however this film fails to come up to steam as it never seems to take on any serious theme and seems to have no real message other than trying to set up one comic scene after another. This would work if the film was for a young audience but this film isn't and it appears to be aimed at an audience over 13 which leaves one a bit confused about the comic attempt. Jacob Tremblay does an ok job but the kids cast with him are so bad that one thinks one is seeing the sad cast of kids from the Robin Williams film Hook. Yet, despite the film having no messages or any substance one can sense there is something kind of unique about this film - almost a younger version of the 2007 film Superbad. What is missing here is the warmth of a film like stand by me or the inspiration of a film like Saint Ralph. So all and all the film is so so. Something like this film is a great idea but not like this. Drug themes and bad language are not needed to create the comic situation of ones tween years. The tween years can be comic with a more honest and funny depiction that boys this age are interested in Legos and sex on equal levels and can be incredibly confused about life in general. I can't recommend this film as it lacks any real heart and soul.

User review rating: 1 August 22, 2019

not funny-left after 45 minutes

User review rating: 4 August 22, 2019

If the title for the series haden't been already taken, this film could have been called Stranger Things. Of course, the film is suppose to be set in present day but strangely enough it feels almost like something out of the 1990's if it weren't for the toy drone. The humor of the film is kind of low brow and crude and the film was hurt I think when the drug themes were brought into the story line. You can tell this film had the potential to be a great film but it failed to get there by a certain lack of creativity. It's genius is it provides an eye on the strange world of boys wanting to become men and failing miserably at it. This film is ok for people over 13 but I would not recommend parents taking young people under 13 to see it.

User review rating: 4 August 22, 2019

Jacob Tremblay was great in this film but his performance was ruined by the two other unknowns shackled to him. It would be a bit like the three stooges with curly where Larry and Moe were now being played by unskilled comedians trying to be funny- It just was too much weight for Jacob Tremblay to carry alone. This film is very funny in a crude way that can be disturbing to adults. Yes, boys this age do talk and think this way but they don't around adults and by high school they don't talk and think like this even outside the adult world. When I first saw this it reminded me of a novel from the 1990's called The Dangerous lives of Altar Boys. Though the storyline was completely different the feel of the story was the same. The problem with a film like this and why they usually don't get made is they are polarizing films. It is like making a film about Antifa or Trump - you are going to see mostly 1 star or 5 star ratings which tells one less about the film than those seeing it. Sure, much of this humor is crude but it can be very funny as well. Could the writers have done a better job with scrip sure. Actually, the funniest part of such films can be the play on ignorance which the film never seemed to grab hold of fully. The film was at it's best about the boys misconceptions about sex but got rather dark when it involved drugs. One thing is for sure, you will probably hate this film or laugh yourself silly. Four stars for a flawed brave attempt at a cute coming of age film.

User review rating: 1 August 22, 2019

Over done. Ridiculously stupid characters and stupid story line.

User review rating: 1 August 21, 2019

Gratuitous foul language ridiculous plot line.

User review rating: 1 August 21, 2019

...Anyone who has a kid, probably isn’t going to find this movie all that amusing, and you don’t have to have morals from the 1800s to find it kind of sad and inappropriate. Better if they were older.

User review rating: 2 August 21, 2019

Drugs and endless foul language. If these boys were older it might have worked for me. But I left the movie feeling sad and hoping that in 'the real world' it isn't like this with this age group. I loved hearing the song, "I want to know what Love is" because I do... want to know what love is.

User review rating: 5 August 21, 2019

Was funny as hell. Not sure why there are too many negative reviewers.

User review rating: 1 August 20, 2019

Well, I heard the uncensored f**k throughout the whole movie...it would be f**ked up for them to f**king censor me...and I am over 12 yrs. old.

User review rating: 2 August 20, 2019

Wow, have standards slipped...the "story" of three 6th graders who are on a quest as to who has the foulest mouth and related adventures. They are not even teens yet but hey, its all about what sells the tickets.

User review rating: 1 August 20, 2019

Everyone loves Jacob Tremblay. That is what drew everyone to the theatre opening weekend (following The Room, Wonder). How disappointing this role was offered to him and not turned down because of money ....

Change Location