Ghost in the Shell

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.40 / 5

User rating: 3.40

Based on 204 votes and 58 reviews


  • User rating: 3.40 48.84%
  • User rating: 3.40 10.47%
  • User rating: 3.40 2.33%
  • User rating: 3.40 8.14%
  • User rating: 3.40 30.23%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 58

User review rating: 2 May 25, 2017

This movie is the special effects and not about the characters. Ghost in the shell is as two dimensional as Scarlett's' botoxed upper lip.

User review rating: 5 May 14, 2017

Great effects and showing. I can see why westerners don't understand it. But its a great SciFi Movie.

User review rating: 5 April 26, 2017

Absolutely amazing...the first scene alone was spectacular! Unfortunately I missed the run of the non-3D version and was forced to watch in the 3D scourge...so I could only watch first 1/2 hour and my eyes just can't get used to 3D so I left for a refund. I really hope this movie goes to the cheap theatres so I can see it in non-3D on the big screen. But first half hour was amazing sci-fi...

User review rating: 4 April 25, 2017

excellent movie. depending on which versions of ghost in the shell anime you've seen major was caucasian (lots of versions/mystery of her back story) so I'd ignore the trolls and just enjoy it.

User review rating: 5 April 21, 2017

Still in Awe, a Masterpiece !!! Went back and saw it 3 more times, going to watch it again today !!!

User review rating: 5 April 20, 2017

Loved it! Visually stunning. Went back twice.

User review rating: 1 April 20, 2017

Miscast ??? Just because they cast a white woman to play Japanese ??? I love that Reverse Mullet too, Business in the back, Party in the front !

User review rating: 1 April 19, 2017

Johanssen in this is miscast. Where was the director? MIA? Horrible.

User review rating: 4 April 18, 2017

don't understand the bad reviews. easy to follow story and quite well done

User review rating: 5 April 14, 2017

Saw it for the 8th time today !!! I cannot believe this movie is so good, it is Great !!! Watching again and so should you !!!

User review rating: 5 April 12, 2017

Best Movie ever !!!! Watched it 5 times and so should you !!!!

User review rating: 5 April 12, 2017

The CGI is amazing and worth seeing just for that, but the acting and story are very good and there wasn't one part of this movie that was boring or dull. I never read the book so my mind was not fixed on how the movie should look or feel. For me it was just as good as a similar movie Johnny Nmemonic. I would definitely see this movie again and so should you.

User review rating: 1 April 11, 2017

Unfortunately, she has gone into proselytizing her politics and I cannot enjoy her movies any more. I'm looking for an escape not a reminder. Crappy remake in any event.

User review rating: 5 April 11, 2017

Saw it for a 2nd time! Still mesmerized! Masterpiece of anime! So hard to bring to real life the comics ... utterly stunned by the production and look into the future!! Xoxo

User review rating: 5 April 11, 2017

This movie blew me away !!!!! I will watch it again and again until the next in the series comes out, well done !!! very well done !!!

User review rating: 2 April 10, 2017

I liked Scar-Jo's wardrobe and some well done action scenes. But ultimately I couldn't get into the story. I can't even remember what it's really about. Started yawning after a while.

User review rating: 5 April 10, 2017

WOW, WOW, WOW, this movie is so great it should get all the academy awards, every last one !!! Best movie I ever saw, best movie ever made !!!!

User review rating: 5 April 10, 2017

Blown away by this movie - walked in not knowing anything about the series or character, so from that perspective, I found it to be an excellent experience to watch and munch on popcorn! I'm excited to see the next one in the series! well done, well done

User review rating: 5 April 10, 2017

One of the best movies I've seen this year! Wow... Academy Award level!

User review rating: 5 April 10, 2017

Killer movie! Can't wait to see it again

User review rating: 2 April 09, 2017

This was a real sleeper - I mean you will fall asleep its so boring and predictable. Not worth $5.00 in my opinion.

User review rating: 5 April 08, 2017

For those interested in seeing it, This movie absolutely ROCKS! Fantastic eye candy and science fiction. Great story line - Loved it!

User review rating: 5 April 08, 2017

Cinematically beautiful. Visually spectacular. Very true to the spirit of the original series. DO NOT listen to the naysayers and detractors. Ignore all the controversy, and just go see it.

User review rating: 3 April 08, 2017

Intresting because the anime the movie is based of is where the Matrix gets its inspiration from. However the movie didn't bring anything new to ghost in the shell series but is rather a recreation of the 90s animated version. If you want to see this movie but don't mind watching an anime, watch the 90s version. Overall the movie is a good representation of what the series as a whole represents

User review rating: 1 April 08, 2017

Left in the middle. I love sci fi, superhero movies, and action. This was like watching Denzel in Flight 97 or whatever that thing was. I wait for the next remake to finish watching.

User review rating: 2 April 08, 2017

It's like watching matrix

User review rating: 5 April 08, 2017

i really enjoyed the movie. dazzling special effects!

User review rating: 5 April 08, 2017

Visually gorgeous

User review rating: 5 April 07, 2017

Beautiful futuristic action packed masterpiece, fantastic story line and plot, leading one (such as I, that is not familiar with the character or comics) along one neat surprise after another and onward toward building to the end with a surprising twist near the culmination of the move - I found the CG, colors and visuals amazingly stimulating, human to AI interface, fiction, and futuristic peak into a technologically advanced culture, highways, buildings sustained stimulation! I've been thinking about this movie for days and have told many to go see it... Mixture of Oblivion, The Matrix and a bit of 5th Element and... Of course, there’s the stunningly beautiful Scarlet Johansson, but she is not the main reason why I went to see the movie. If you love science fiction, futuristic technologically advanced culture and an amazing plot, this movie is well worth seeing! Don’t be dissuaded by reviews – keep an open mind, go see it and enjoy!

User review rating: 5 April 06, 2017

Good action thriller

User review rating: 3 April 05, 2017

Much better than I expected based on other reviews. This new 'whitewashing' thing is getting stupid, didn't realize this was a documentary... Scarlett is popular, so yeah they used her. 'Sorry'. Sheesh. Anyway, CGI was pretty good as was the story although nothing that we have not seen before. You have to be in the mood for this movie. There was some clapping at the end, assume some fan boys in the the theatre.

User review rating: 5 April 05, 2017

Fantastic special effects and futuristic concept action adventure psych film. Enjoyed it!

User review rating: 5 April 04, 2017

This movie is great, not on par with the anime it's based on but a great first attempt. Open your mind and maybe you will find what the story is really about.

User review rating: 2 April 04, 2017

This movies is OK NOT GREAT. Lots of special effects and basic story line of revenge. Some parts were slow. Kind of movie you see once then forget about it.

User review rating: 5 April 03, 2017

I really wanted to give this movie 4 stars but seeing how many people gave it 1 star I figured I owed it to the film to balance it out a bit. If my brother would want to go see this movie I would go with him again. I don't know where all the high expectations for this movie is coming from but this move has a lot to offer to sci-fi movies. Loved the cinematic and cool characters. Go see it. Its not as bad as others say it is. Its actually good old sci-if.

User review rating: 2 April 02, 2017

Boring movie, don't waste your time and money.

User review rating: 5 April 02, 2017

At some point in the movie I figured Hanka - the robotics company - is actually a Scandinavian name, that's why the company reps AND the cyborgs have Western European faces so there is NO whitewashing here. This also explains why Aramaki and Hairi, the mother of Motoko are among the few Asian characters. This is a ruthless western company which exploits weaknesses in an Asian country's laws and a bunch of vulnerable people to turn them into value added products for an elite market. Johansson takes her role very seriously to every details and the one that struck me the most is the stance she takes when standing up and looking down at a sleeping Dr. Ouelet. The gait she uses to walk in various circumstances is also striking - this is not a women's elegant steps at all, it's a machine on a mission. Even if the "ghost" keeps the humanity in the "shell", the tenderness, softness and mostly the need to exchange love appears to have been eradicated. Impressive play.

User review rating: 1 April 02, 2017

All special effects and absolutely no plot!

User review rating: 4 April 02, 2017

I liked it.

User review rating: 4 April 02, 2017

It was good entertainment for a raining day. Whitewash? Who cares! If I believe all critics I wouldn't see anything beside movies like La La Land and Train wreck which BOTH stunk. Just entertain me is all I ask.

User review rating: 1 April 02, 2017

Funny how anyone who gives an honest review, and did not like this Movie is a "troll" LOL. How about people have different opinions and that is what this page is for. I found this movie to be poorly done and would not recommend watching it. Btw does anyone know what "we,re" means ? I have heard of we're as a contraction of we are.

User review rating: 5 April 02, 2017

Excellent movie, sci fi was excellent and futuristically dazzling

User review rating: 0 April 01, 2017

A worthless pile of cow dung!

User review rating: 1 April 01, 2017

*anime characters are fluid...they do not have to be a certain race in the adaptation and the anime character female does not even look a hundred percent Asian* Do some research it called the Default Human Being Effect

User review rating: 1 April 01, 2017

*All you clowns out there who rate the movie without seeing it, give us a break! We,re not interested in your speculations or opinions! * How about all the 5 star ratings with comments of looking forward to seeing the movie? or comments of.. Well she was alright in Avengers....

User review rating: 1 April 01, 2017

Another Box Office Failure for Hollywood and their pathetic Live Action versions of Anime and Manga... Maybe they should hire directors and writers who are fans of the original source material.... and maybe they shouldn't whitewash the hiring of cast..

User review rating: 1 April 01, 2017

A movie that had been out for 3 weeks sold 2x more tickets then Ghost In The Shell On its opening night.... As a matter of fact 3 movies all out sold it opening night b 2x or more....

User review rating: 1 March 31, 2017

This movie was absolutely terrible, I'm usually ok with bad rated movies but this was literally the worst movie I have ever seen in my entire life. I walked out not even halfway. Please for the love of god do not waste your money on this movie.

User review rating: 4 March 31, 2017

Great special effects. I soon got absorbed in the story....Lots of action. I would see this movie again.

User review rating: 1 March 31, 2017

They hire a Caucasian to play a Japanese, and she can't act....If this was the 1950's I would expect this. Their are many much better looking Japanese women who can actually act. Shameful

Change Location