Finding Julia

Thank you for rating this movie!

Finding Julia Movie Poster

3.61 / 5

User rating: 3.61

Based on 1016 votes and 93 reviews


  • User rating: 3.61 59.32%
  • User rating: 3.61 2.37%
  • User rating: 3.61 4.75%
  • User rating: 3.61 6.78%
  • User rating: 3.61 26.78%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 93

User review rating: 2 October 04, 2019

I took time out of my NYC trip to watch this and there’s so much I could say about the whole expirence but this is like a classic with its unsynced audio and iMovie video effects

User review rating: 1 October 04, 2019

Scientifically speaking, this is the worst movie ever made. In every single facet of everything, this movie is atrocious. This is a movie, shown in cinemas across the country, that has de-synced audio/video, filmed on what must be a 720p camcorder, and even uses in-camera audio. I cannot possibly begin to describe how unbelievable it is that this movie exists. It's some obscene vanity project by a millionaire who wants everyone to know how amazing she is so she paid, probably out of pocket, to have it receive a wide release, with no regard for how absurdly incompetent it is, on even the most basic of levels. Please god if you somehow see this review and Avengers isn't out yet go see it before it gets pulled, no one even knows this masterpiece of pure awful exists.

User review rating: 5 October 02, 2019

This film has Vietnamese subtitle. I love it.

User review rating: 5 October 02, 2019

I cried a lot when I saw this movie. Good movie.

User review rating: 1 September 18, 2019

- [ ] Finding Julia' is story about incest , with very terrible directing , cinematography and overacting by lead actress Ha Phuong. - [ ] Ha Phuong looks out of place playing alongside Andrew McCarthy and Richard Chamberlain. She plays Julia , an Eurasian raised by a single American billionaire American father in New York. City .Yet she speaks bad English with a heavy Chinese accent. The tone is hampered by lousy music, some of it sung by Ha Phuong herself. This film is one of the worst movie in recent memory.

User review rating: 1 September 18, 2019

Terrible incest story. Horrendously bad directing,cinematography and acting.

User review rating: 1 September 12, 2019

Worst movie of the decade candidate. Please save your time and money. Couldn't say how it ended since my wife and I walked out, but the amateur hour video and sound quality was like a very bad high school film project

User review rating: 1 September 12, 2019

worst movie of 2019..Can she act?..NO .But first of all the movie had the worst script and PLOT ..the worst.Plus their lips didnt even match the words!! how ANNOYING!! and lastly the film was shot on POOR quality film..Is She THAT cheap??..what the heck did she do with all his money??>>well she sure as heck didnt spend it on THIS film..

User review rating: 1 September 12, 2019

Horrendously bad idiotic directing of the decade. Amateurishly lousy low quality cinematography with very uneven light and sound. Cameras seem operated by morons. Very stupid script . Incompetently bad acting by the lead actress. Horrible movie. !

User review rating: 1 September 11, 2019

Don't bother "finding Julia" We could not find any reviews online for this movie. Maybe that should have been a forewarning. We were the only two in the whole theater for this show which would have been fantastic if only the movie wasn't so very very bad. It was like the main actress who can't act, had her super rich and powerful daddy funding the movie and everyone involved was afraid to say no stop the madness, this does not work. My wife wanted to get up and walk out of the movie many times but I made her stay as I hoped it would get better but it only got worse, much worse. It just seemed poorly executed on every level, sound volume was all over the place, weird camera angles and bad directing.This movie could have been so much more with a better actress playing the lead character. We felt bad for Andrew McCarthy and Richard Chamberlain ending their careers with this movie. This was our first review. We signed up to hopefully save some people their valuable time and money and avoid this movie. All the other reviewers are first timers too. Seems like a bunch of FAKE Reviews to us...be interesting if anyone who has actually posted more that once writes an honest review of this thing.

User review rating: 1 June 04, 2019

Horrible movie ! She wasted her husband’s money .

User review rating: 1 May 29, 2019

This website is full of fake reviews. Gross! The movie was horrible. Piece of shit!

User review rating: 5 May 03, 2019

Good from start to finish… The leading lady can really act. I didn’t want the movie to end

User review rating: 1 May 02, 2019

Horrible movie. This movie could be better if they have a different lead actress. It is a shame for Vietnamese community. It is a wrong investment for Ha Phuong.

User review rating: 2 April 30, 2019

Love Chamberlain, McCarthy ,Devicq and Kieu Chinh in this movie. The lead actress overacts. The script is bad.

User review rating: 3 April 29, 2019

Couldn't figure if I shld give it a 1 or 5 stars 1 if it's meant to be a serious film but a 5 if taken as a comedy. It's obviously a vanity project by the star/producer/writer/addanyothertitletothishyphenate. I don't blame any of the rest of cast and crew (heck, I will more so give them all props for keeping it all together as much as they possibly could), it's a stellar lineup of talent in front and behind the camera for such a small film. The main story and actor fail so miserably that it's rather entertaining seeing it as an extended SNL skit. Move over Wiseau, this town isn't big enough for the both of you!!

User review rating: 5 April 29, 2019

All the actors really shine in this film, a film which is buoyed along but a strong script that helps them. We watch as intensity bristles onscreen. Go see it!

User review rating: 5 April 29, 2019

A true ride from start to finish. Yes, these characters a dealing with difficult subjects, but the film handles it deftly. There is so much to enjoy here, so much that makes you think. Definitely go see this film.

User review rating: 2 April 28, 2019

As I believe I still live in a free country with freedom of speech, I shall go forward with giving my review. I agree that the movie could have been a lot better if the casting had been different, and if the lead star had more acting skill and proficiency in English. There were a few bright spots from some of the other actors, but these were blotted out by the overdrawn performance of the main character. The entire point of a movie review website is to allow people to rate and critique the things they have spent their time on, and I'm not sure why this website is allowing reviews that indicate we are not allowed to share our honest opinion. In addition these reviews have nothing to do with the movie, so there is no point for them to be on the website. If a person feels they have wasted their money on a movie that is marred by overacting and sensationalism, that person has a right to say so in a forum such as this. It is degrading to everyone involved with the movie to hear the positive reviewers talk about the "enemies" of the cast, and not relevant to the fact that the movie ended up being terrible. TERRIBLE.

User review rating: 1 April 28, 2019

Save your money. Horrible movie.

User review rating: 2 April 28, 2019

Since when is a movie review website meant to be used as a way to garner sympathy for someone because their husband's family does not like them? The review should be about the movie, which is actually rather bad because of the main actress, if she can be so labeled due to her lack of acting ability. Regardless of the actress's relationships with anyone in her personal life, her professional skills are still obviously lacking. The other stars did fairly well, and this could have been an interesting movie about Asian culture, except that it was ruined as I mentioned by the main star. Why don't we try to focus the reviews on the actual movie, and not on useless peripheral information that has nothing to do with movie critiquing. The lack of professionalism is astounding, both in the her performance and in the subsequent reviews.

User review rating: 1 April 28, 2019

Holy crap! Worst movie we've seen in a long, long time. A candidate for the Golden Turkey Awards. Zero stars if that was possible. Mind blown as to how it could be so thoroughly bad.

User review rating: 5 April 28, 2019

A film everyone who wants their views challenged and their view of humanity affirmed should see. A true portrait of difficult times, and how women can overcome them. Bravo!

User review rating: 3 April 28, 2019

Have Mixed feelings on this movie among friends .Some liked it ,some really hated it.

User review rating: 5 April 28, 2019

Good from start to finish… The leading lady can really act. I didn’t want the movie to end

User review rating: 5 April 28, 2019

Finding Julia is a film that has it all--a smart script, driving psychological thriller energy, memorable characters and something to say about the world we live in. It's the kind of movie that will leave you with lasting impressions, and will possibly change your view of the world.

User review rating: 5 April 28, 2019

Very entertaining and interesting.

User review rating: 5 April 28, 2019

Great movie.

User review rating: 5 April 27, 2019

All the actors here knock it out of the park. Gripping from start to finish. If you want to have a good time at the movies, but also think a bit about your life and those around you, Finding Julia is the movie for you.

User review rating: 5 April 27, 2019

Love this spot I'm in Los Angeles but I have heard some friends talk about a new Asian actress. I was curious and decided to see the film in Orange County. The film made me think alot and i decided to write this review. I am glad to see Richard Chamberlain and Andrew McCarthy are back on screen, i love them. After reading other reviews, i agree Ha Phuong is pretty and good at acting. She is definitely the new Asian actress in American industry.. Let’s all welcome her. THE MOST IMPORTANT IS WHEN WE WRITE A REVIEW ,IT IS IMPORTANT TO BE OBJECTIVE, HONEST & FAIR. DON'T BE JEALOUS. MeryStreep , Beyoncé, Barbara Streisand and others actresses won’t laugh at Ha Phuong, but they will laugh at those who wrote those EVIL reviews. Have a healthy life! LET 'S ALL WELLCOME HER.

User review rating: 1 April 27, 2019

This is a horrible movie period. No one in their right mind is jealous or would want to be in the bad actress's shoes. Reality check. This is a horrible movie. Period.

User review rating: 5 April 27, 2019

Finding Julia is as visually arresting as it is challenging, confounding, and ultimately rewarding - which is to say it's everything film fans expect from actress Ha Phuong Chu Tran.

User review rating: 1 April 27, 2019

I cannot believe I spent 2 hours of my life watching a movie that turned out to be so horrendous. It is a shame for the Vietnamese community that this is a representation of their talent. Reading other reviews online, it appears the main actress has a career in music, and maybe she should have stuck with that. Unbelievably awful movie. Almost unwatchable, and as I said I'm not sure how I got through it. Maybe it could have been something better if it were not for the choice of the leading actress.

User review rating: 5 April 27, 2019

Finding Julia is terrific on its face as a psychological thriller, kinetic and totally watchable. But if you want to pay a bit more attention, there's so much more happening under the surface.

User review rating: 2 April 27, 2019

Could have been a good movie,with another lead actress who can act!

User review rating: 5 April 26, 2019

I'm in Los Angeles but I have heard some friends talk about a new Asian actress. I was curious and decided to see the film in Orange County. The film made me think alot and i decided to write this review. I am glad to see Richard Chamberlain and Andrew McCarthy are back on screen, i love them. After reading other reviews, i agree Ha Phuong is pretty and good at acting. She is definitely the new Asian actress in American industry.. Let’s all welcome her. THE MOST IMPORTANT IS WHEN WE WRITE A REVIEW ,IT IS IMPORTANT TO BE OBJECTIVE, HONEST & FAIR. DON'T BE JEALOUS. MeryStreep , Beyoncé, Barbara Streisand and others actresses won’t laugh at Ha Phuong, but they will laugh at those who wrote those EVIL reviews. Have a healthy life! LET 'S ALL WELLCOME HER.

User review rating: 1 April 26, 2019

A complete piece of crap. We went out to support a new Asian American movie and came away thoroughly embarrassed. A tragedy in over acting and grotesquely obvious vanity project. All the fake reviews are either disingenuous or the writers who were paid to white knight it never even saw the movie otherwise they would not say such utterly ridiculous shills. A black eye on serious Asian American actors.

User review rating: 5 April 26, 2019

So bad,it’s good

User review rating: 5 April 26, 2019

This movie fills its scenes with the absorbing story of an incredible life of a woman who is torn between moving on and holding on. Kieu Chinh delivers a scene stealing performance, one of the best in her long career. Looking forward to seeing more of both her and Ha Phuong in the future.

User review rating: 5 April 26, 2019

Ha Phuong is beautiful. Her fist motion picture so she will only get better. Looking forward to seeing more movies from her!

User review rating: 5 April 26, 2019

Finding Julia is a film that has it all--a smart script, driving psychological thriller energy, memorable characters and something to say about the world we live in. It's the kind of movie that will leave you with lasting impressions, and will possibly change your view of the world.

User review rating: 5 April 26, 2019

Amazing movie lol. Incredible acting lol. Meryl Streep should feel ashamed and overshadowed lol. A cinematic master piece of the decade lol. Hollywood to be rename Hachuongville. Lol.

User review rating: 1 April 26, 2019

The FAKE REVIEWS need to stop. This is a terrible movie. Period.

User review rating: 5 April 26, 2019

An interesting film. You have to have an open mind to like it. Give it a chance and go to see it

User review rating: 1 April 26, 2019

She needs to practice on her English.. Why didnt she do in Vietnamese and have subtitled in English? She needs to put her money somewhere else rather in movies.. Go back to singing!!

User review rating: 1 April 25, 2019

Bad. Bad all around. All of these 5 stars reviews are fake. If this is a blockbuster how could it be showing only in 5 theaters in the entire United States. If the movie is so great it would have been all over the news and professional reviews all over the place.

User review rating: 1 April 25, 2019

This movie was so bad on every level. I can't believe we watched the whole thing. We just kept hoping it would get better but it never did. All these 5 star reviews have to be fake.

User review rating: 4 April 25, 2019

Chamberlain, McCarthy, Kieu Chinh and the rest of the cast do a great job in the movie. It’s bothersome that grandma Van ,who is native Vietnamese in the film ,played by Kieu Chinh, speaks better English than the Eurasian Julia, who was raised by an American father. Julia’s heavy Vietnamese accent cannot be explained away , though the film tries very hard, if not successfully . After all Julia’s mom died when she was young, she was raised by an American father .She had a world class top education since kindergarten . Yet she does not speak proper English ? They should dub her dialogue , using a native speaker,preferably Angelina Jolie, if she is available. Even the supporting actresses are more professional and more natural than Julia, who tends to overact. The fashion shows, while entertaining,seem to overwhelm,especially in certain scenes.

User review rating: 5 April 25, 2019

I just saw the movie again. It is a wonderful movie and great actors. I love the music sound track, it added more feeling when I saw the movie. Ha Phuong has an expressive eyes. Expressive eyes,expressive eyes ( great performance HA PHUONG)

User review rating: 1 April 25, 2019

Worst movie of the decade candidate. Please save your time and money. Couldn't say how it ended since my wife and I walked out, but the amateur hour video and sound quality was like a very bad high school film project.

Change Location