Finding Julia

Thank you for rating this movie!

Finding Julia Movie Poster

3.68 / 5

User rating: 3.68

Based on 990 votes and 83 reviews


  • User rating: 3.68 60.92%
  • User rating: 3.68 2.46%
  • User rating: 3.68 4.93%
  • User rating: 3.68 7.04%
  • User rating: 3.68 24.65%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 83

User review rating: 1 June 04, 2019

Horrible movie ! She wasted her husband’s money .

User review rating: 1 May 29, 2019

This website is full of fake reviews. Gross! The movie was horrible. Piece of shit!

User review rating: 5 May 03, 2019

Good from start to finish… The leading lady can really act. I didn’t want the movie to end

User review rating: 1 May 02, 2019

Horrible movie. This movie could be better if they have a different lead actress. It is a shame for Vietnamese community. It is a wrong investment for Ha Phuong.

User review rating: 2 April 30, 2019

Love Chamberlain, McCarthy ,Devicq and Kieu Chinh in this movie. The lead actress overacts. The script is bad.

User review rating: 3 April 29, 2019

Couldn't figure if I shld give it a 1 or 5 stars 1 if it's meant to be a serious film but a 5 if taken as a comedy. It's obviously a vanity project by the star/producer/writer/addanyothertitletothishyphenate. I don't blame any of the rest of cast and crew (heck, I will more so give them all props for keeping it all together as much as they possibly could), it's a stellar lineup of talent in front and behind the camera for such a small film. The main story and actor fail so miserably that it's rather entertaining seeing it as an extended SNL skit. Move over Wiseau, this town isn't big enough for the both of you!!

User review rating: 5 April 29, 2019

All the actors really shine in this film, a film which is buoyed along but a strong script that helps them. We watch as intensity bristles onscreen. Go see it!

User review rating: 5 April 29, 2019

A true ride from start to finish. Yes, these characters a dealing with difficult subjects, but the film handles it deftly. There is so much to enjoy here, so much that makes you think. Definitely go see this film.

User review rating: 2 April 28, 2019

As I believe I still live in a free country with freedom of speech, I shall go forward with giving my review. I agree that the movie could have been a lot better if the casting had been different, and if the lead star had more acting skill and proficiency in English. There were a few bright spots from some of the other actors, but these were blotted out by the overdrawn performance of the main character. The entire point of a movie review website is to allow people to rate and critique the things they have spent their time on, and I'm not sure why this website is allowing reviews that indicate we are not allowed to share our honest opinion. In addition these reviews have nothing to do with the movie, so there is no point for them to be on the website. If a person feels they have wasted their money on a movie that is marred by overacting and sensationalism, that person has a right to say so in a forum such as this. It is degrading to everyone involved with the movie to hear the positive reviewers talk about the "enemies" of the cast, and not relevant to the fact that the movie ended up being terrible. TERRIBLE.

User review rating: 1 April 28, 2019

Save your money. Horrible movie.

User review rating: 2 April 28, 2019

Since when is a movie review website meant to be used as a way to garner sympathy for someone because their husband's family does not like them? The review should be about the movie, which is actually rather bad because of the main actress, if she can be so labeled due to her lack of acting ability. Regardless of the actress's relationships with anyone in her personal life, her professional skills are still obviously lacking. The other stars did fairly well, and this could have been an interesting movie about Asian culture, except that it was ruined as I mentioned by the main star. Why don't we try to focus the reviews on the actual movie, and not on useless peripheral information that has nothing to do with movie critiquing. The lack of professionalism is astounding, both in the her performance and in the subsequent reviews.

User review rating: 1 April 28, 2019

Holy crap! Worst movie we've seen in a long, long time. A candidate for the Golden Turkey Awards. Zero stars if that was possible. Mind blown as to how it could be so thoroughly bad.

User review rating: 5 April 28, 2019

A film everyone who wants their views challenged and their view of humanity affirmed should see. A true portrait of difficult times, and how women can overcome them. Bravo!

User review rating: 3 April 28, 2019

Have Mixed feelings on this movie among friends .Some liked it ,some really hated it.

User review rating: 5 April 28, 2019

Good from start to finish… The leading lady can really act. I didn’t want the movie to end

User review rating: 5 April 28, 2019

Finding Julia is a film that has it all--a smart script, driving psychological thriller energy, memorable characters and something to say about the world we live in. It's the kind of movie that will leave you with lasting impressions, and will possibly change your view of the world.

User review rating: 5 April 28, 2019

Very entertaining and interesting.

User review rating: 5 April 28, 2019

Great movie.

User review rating: 5 April 27, 2019

All the actors here knock it out of the park. Gripping from start to finish. If you want to have a good time at the movies, but also think a bit about your life and those around you, Finding Julia is the movie for you.

User review rating: 5 April 27, 2019

Love this spot I'm in Los Angeles but I have heard some friends talk about a new Asian actress. I was curious and decided to see the film in Orange County. The film made me think alot and i decided to write this review. I am glad to see Richard Chamberlain and Andrew McCarthy are back on screen, i love them. After reading other reviews, i agree Ha Phuong is pretty and good at acting. She is definitely the new Asian actress in American industry.. Let’s all welcome her. THE MOST IMPORTANT IS WHEN WE WRITE A REVIEW ,IT IS IMPORTANT TO BE OBJECTIVE, HONEST & FAIR. DON'T BE JEALOUS. MeryStreep , Beyoncé, Barbara Streisand and others actresses won’t laugh at Ha Phuong, but they will laugh at those who wrote those EVIL reviews. Have a healthy life! LET 'S ALL WELLCOME HER.

User review rating: 1 April 27, 2019

This is a horrible movie period. No one in their right mind is jealous or would want to be in the bad actress's shoes. Reality check. This is a horrible movie. Period.

User review rating: 5 April 27, 2019

Finding Julia is as visually arresting as it is challenging, confounding, and ultimately rewarding - which is to say it's everything film fans expect from actress Ha Phuong Chu Tran.

User review rating: 1 April 27, 2019

I cannot believe I spent 2 hours of my life watching a movie that turned out to be so horrendous. It is a shame for the Vietnamese community that this is a representation of their talent. Reading other reviews online, it appears the main actress has a career in music, and maybe she should have stuck with that. Unbelievably awful movie. Almost unwatchable, and as I said I'm not sure how I got through it. Maybe it could have been something better if it were not for the choice of the leading actress.

User review rating: 5 April 27, 2019

Finding Julia is terrific on its face as a psychological thriller, kinetic and totally watchable. But if you want to pay a bit more attention, there's so much more happening under the surface.

User review rating: 2 April 27, 2019

Could have been a good movie,with another lead actress who can act!

User review rating: 5 April 26, 2019

I'm in Los Angeles but I have heard some friends talk about a new Asian actress. I was curious and decided to see the film in Orange County. The film made me think alot and i decided to write this review. I am glad to see Richard Chamberlain and Andrew McCarthy are back on screen, i love them. After reading other reviews, i agree Ha Phuong is pretty and good at acting. She is definitely the new Asian actress in American industry.. Let’s all welcome her. THE MOST IMPORTANT IS WHEN WE WRITE A REVIEW ,IT IS IMPORTANT TO BE OBJECTIVE, HONEST & FAIR. DON'T BE JEALOUS. MeryStreep , Beyoncé, Barbara Streisand and others actresses won’t laugh at Ha Phuong, but they will laugh at those who wrote those EVIL reviews. Have a healthy life! LET 'S ALL WELLCOME HER.

User review rating: 1 April 26, 2019

A complete piece of crap. We went out to support a new Asian American movie and came away thoroughly embarrassed. A tragedy in over acting and grotesquely obvious vanity project. All the fake reviews are either disingenuous or the writers who were paid to white knight it never even saw the movie otherwise they would not say such utterly ridiculous shills. A black eye on serious Asian American actors.

User review rating: 5 April 26, 2019

So bad,it’s good

User review rating: 5 April 26, 2019

This movie fills its scenes with the absorbing story of an incredible life of a woman who is torn between moving on and holding on. Kieu Chinh delivers a scene stealing performance, one of the best in her long career. Looking forward to seeing more of both her and Ha Phuong in the future.

User review rating: 5 April 26, 2019

Ha Phuong is beautiful. Her fist motion picture so she will only get better. Looking forward to seeing more movies from her!

User review rating: 5 April 26, 2019

Finding Julia is a film that has it all--a smart script, driving psychological thriller energy, memorable characters and something to say about the world we live in. It's the kind of movie that will leave you with lasting impressions, and will possibly change your view of the world.

User review rating: 5 April 26, 2019

Amazing movie lol. Incredible acting lol. Meryl Streep should feel ashamed and overshadowed lol. A cinematic master piece of the decade lol. Hollywood to be rename Hachuongville. Lol.

User review rating: 1 April 26, 2019

The FAKE REVIEWS need to stop. This is a terrible movie. Period.

User review rating: 5 April 26, 2019

An interesting film. You have to have an open mind to like it. Give it a chance and go to see it

User review rating: 1 April 26, 2019

She needs to practice on her English.. Why didnt she do in Vietnamese and have subtitled in English? She needs to put her money somewhere else rather in movies.. Go back to singing!!

User review rating: 1 April 25, 2019

Bad. Bad all around. All of these 5 stars reviews are fake. If this is a blockbuster how could it be showing only in 5 theaters in the entire United States. If the movie is so great it would have been all over the news and professional reviews all over the place.

User review rating: 1 April 25, 2019

This movie was so bad on every level. I can't believe we watched the whole thing. We just kept hoping it would get better but it never did. All these 5 star reviews have to be fake.

User review rating: 4 April 25, 2019

Chamberlain, McCarthy, Kieu Chinh and the rest of the cast do a great job in the movie. It’s bothersome that grandma Van ,who is native Vietnamese in the film ,played by Kieu Chinh, speaks better English than the Eurasian Julia, who was raised by an American father. Julia’s heavy Vietnamese accent cannot be explained away , though the film tries very hard, if not successfully . After all Julia’s mom died when she was young, she was raised by an American father .She had a world class top education since kindergarten . Yet she does not speak proper English ? They should dub her dialogue , using a native speaker,preferably Angelina Jolie, if she is available. Even the supporting actresses are more professional and more natural than Julia, who tends to overact. The fashion shows, while entertaining,seem to overwhelm,especially in certain scenes.

User review rating: 5 April 25, 2019

I just saw the movie again. It is a wonderful movie and great actors. I love the music sound track, it added more feeling when I saw the movie. Ha Phuong has an expressive eyes. Expressive eyes,expressive eyes ( great performance HA PHUONG)

User review rating: 1 April 25, 2019

Worst movie of the decade candidate. Please save your time and money. Couldn't say how it ended since my wife and I walked out, but the amateur hour video and sound quality was like a very bad high school film project.

User review rating: 4 April 25, 2019

I am a long time big fan of Ha Phuong. She is a wonderful person in our Vietnamese Community. Wow!, the film is thorny. Viewers need to focus and deep thinking. I am so proud of her, Ha Phuong is my idol. A thousand of people at my gala in Los Angeles want to watch her movie. Hopefully her film will be shown in Los Angeles. I love you Ha Phuong

User review rating: 5 April 25, 2019

I'm in Los Angeles but I have heard some friends talk about a new Asian actress. I was curious and decided to see the film in Orange County. The film made me think alot and i decided to write this review. I am glad to see Richard Chamberlain and Andrew McCarthy are back on screen, i love them. After reading other reviews, i agree Ha Phuong is pretty and good at acting. She is definitely the new Asian actress in American industry.. Let’s all welcome her. THE MOST IMPORTANT IS WHEN WE WRITE A REVIEW ,IT IS IMPORTANT TO BE OBJECTIVE, HONEST & FAIR. DON'T BE JEALOUS. MeryStreep , Beyoncé, Barbara Streisand and others actresses won’t laugh at Ha Phuong, but they will laugh at those who wrote those EVIL reviews. Have a healthy life! LET 'S ALL WELLCOME HER.

User review rating: 5 April 25, 2019

I have seen lots of Ha Phuong music videos but never seen her acting in a movie. So just curiosity, I went to watch Finding Julia last night. It turned out Ha Phuong acting was good. I think she is a new Asian movie star In America. I hope she will continue making movie and helping other Asian movie stars entering American movie market.

User review rating: 5 April 25, 2019

'Finding Julia' Movie is an Edge-of-Your Seat Psychological Thriller Driven by a mesmerizing performance by lead actress Ha Phuong, this thriller finds fresh perspective by exploring difficult themes. Ha Phuong more than holds her own alongside seasoned co-stars Andrew McCarthy and Richard Chamberlain playing Julie Chamonix, a young Eurasian aspiring actress in New York City who is caught in a desperate clash between two cultures and her own inner demons. A slow burning narrative builds toward a thundering climax, one that I found extremely satisfying. This film may be dark at times, but the tone is tempered by great music, some of it sung by Ha Phuong herself, and scenes that smolder with titillating intensity. This film solidifies itself as one of the best sensual/psychological thrillers in recent memory. Now playing in movie theaters across the country.

User review rating: 5 April 25, 2019

Very interesting story to say the least. It was fun seeing the divide between East and West traditions displayed on the big screen. The cast did a very good job acting out the plot.

User review rating: 4 April 25, 2019

Beautifully done. The acting was so authentic in emotion, there were many moments I had to fight back my tears! This is a story everyone needs to see.

User review rating: 5 April 25, 2019

4 stars Interesting drama action combined with charm and shock of culture love it .

User review rating: 5 April 25, 2019

Stunning! Unforgettable ! Shocking ! Insane!

User review rating: 3 April 25, 2019

First time watching her movie, i am little disappointing.

User review rating: 5 April 25, 2019

Her sex appeal overshadows Marilyn Monroe, Jayne Mansfield, Brigitte Bardot, and Scarlet Johansson combined

Change Location