Darkest Hour

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.78 / 5

User rating: 3.78

Based on 324 votes and 102 reviews


  • User rating: 3.78 62.40%
  • User rating: 3.78 8.00%
  • User rating: 3.78 1.60%
  • User rating: 3.78 1.60%
  • User rating: 3.78 26.40%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 102

User review rating: 5 September 25, 2018

riveting and entertaining. shows the true courage that hides within all of us in our "darkest hours" bravo!!!

User review rating: 2 March 24, 2018

Mostly speeches in this BORING film. Save yourself the $$ and go to a series of grad ceremonies or watch parliament in session. SNOOZE zzzzzzzzzzz.

User review rating: 5 March 02, 2018

Expected a little boring BUT found exceptionally well done. It showed a man in history that was steadfast as well as sensitive. From other movies I've seen this year the Oscar should definitely go to Darkest Hour & Gary Oldham. England was very fortunate to have him. It's a fact I wish today our country had someone like Churchill to fully trust, support and respect.

User review rating: 5 March 01, 2018

Great movie

User review rating: 5 February 23, 2018

Realism, excellent acting, excellent production design and costuming. Very, very honest. Best movie of this year so far.

User review rating: 5 February 22, 2018

Fabulous movie. Shows Churchill's struggle with decisions that needed to be made in Britain's involvement in World War 2. Shows his human side and his greatness, NOT an easy thing to portray. The movie is beautifully shot, makes you feel as if you could be a part of that time.

User review rating: 5 February 20, 2018

Excellent movie! Loved it.

User review rating: 4 February 17, 2018

I have always considered citizens of the UK as a back-boned race of people. Winston Churchill absolutely embodied this trait. I do not agree with another reviewer who said, "...sad that the movie reduced a lion to a blathering, indecisive, sad old man." He had to appear as a lion for the sake of his people; in private, he had self-doubts as we all do. Good film!

User review rating: 5 February 16, 2018

Historically accurate except for the subway scene.

User review rating: 1 February 15, 2018

Great movie.

User review rating: 3 February 14, 2018

Oldham's performance was varied. Unfortunately his accent was inconsistent and in a number of places sounded like a cockney trying but failing to sound posh. It often felt as though the whole movie was an excuse to reproduce some of Churchill's famous quotes. Nevertheless, the setting and some of the drama make it worth watching.

User review rating: 5 February 13, 2018

Sorry. I said very well indeed and then gave only one star. I mistook the one star for being the highest rank.

User review rating: 5 February 13, 2018

Excellent movie. Gary Oldham was absolutely outstanding and should get an AA for best actor. I am not sure the subway scene actually happened but it did illustrate the British people's resolve to destroy Hitler and Naziism.

User review rating: 1 February 12, 2018

Very well done, indeed.

User review rating: 5 February 11, 2018

The former history teacher who posted below is either a tad ill informed or possessed. The portrayal of Churchill was spot on and the times, and the rapid time line did occur as revealed. Thank the stars we did no have a Lord Halifax as the PM, it would of ended very badly indeed.

User review rating: 5 February 11, 2018

I remember Churchill, sorry for revealing my age. and for a moment or two, I thought perhaps, this was actual footage of the man. Those were difficult times, and the world is beholding to the man who knew to call a spade a spade. very good movie, as the six oscar nods will tell you.

User review rating: 5 February 10, 2018

Refreshing viewpoint, outstanding acting.

User review rating: 1 February 10, 2018

Very disappointing

User review rating: 1 February 08, 2018

We were disappointed in this movie because the entire family is from the UK and we are are Churchill fans. We would not recommend this movie.

User review rating: 5 February 05, 2018

Well Done.

User review rating: 5 February 05, 2018

This is what movies are supposed to be like. Up for many academy awards. Good story, and educational. Not an Oldman fan, but he nailed the portrayal.

User review rating: 1 February 04, 2018

We went to the theater and we didn't like it. After one day we saw it on Pay Per View on Bell Fibe so please don't waste your money on this movie.

User review rating: 1 February 01, 2018

Just another bad movie, perfectly inaccurate from a history perspective. I am sorry I gave it a try.

User review rating: 5 February 01, 2018

Well done, and well told. Gary Oldman nominated for Best Actor , and darkest Hour up for Best Picture. Winston was a rascal, and this movie captured that beautifully.

User review rating: 1 January 29, 2018

Churchill didn’t need to take the subway for inspiration. Sad how they reduced a lion to a blathering indecisive sad old man. Gary Oldman is treffic, the costumes and setting were outstanding. The writing was awful.

User review rating: 5 January 28, 2018

Terrific acting by Gary Oldman. Sets looked straight out of wartime London. Riveting movie except one slow area about 2/3 through. RAN

User review rating: 5 January 27, 2018

Excellent in all areas. This is an Academy Award Winner. Reality of human spirit. Oh, that Hollywood produced more serious films rated just as this not punctuated w profanity, but strong storyline that pulls the viewer into the screen to feel they are there with actors!!!! More movies w this rating and this depth.

User review rating: 5 January 26, 2018

Excellent...a profile in courage!

User review rating: 1 January 25, 2018

As a former history teacher, I have to give it an F. As a historical fiction movie, it's at least 75% fiction. The idea that Churchill wavered and seemed to have considered a treaty with Hitler and that he jotted down the ideas for his greatest speech on a subway trip to Parliament (one which he never took) are ridiculous. Gary Oldman did a great job portraying a bumbling professor! I had to give the movie one star, because I wasn't given to option of going lower.

User review rating: 5 January 25, 2018

Except for one scene, absolutely historically correct! (So much for the fools who say otherwise. Study your history!) Superb acting and cinematography.

User review rating: 4 January 25, 2018

25% of the reviews are 1 star and most of those "reviews" seem to emanate from one small-minded, obtuse individual who has a hate one for WC. Disregard his childish bias and this movie would average 4.5 stars. I consider this movie to a dramatic enactment, not a historical movie. As a drama, it is top notch and suspenseful. with Gary Oldman giving the performance of his life. I enjoyed this movie as I did Dunkirk but for different reasons. The plot is the characters, the characters are the plot.

User review rating: 1 January 24, 2018

The worst film I have seen in a year. We do not need more films like this. Gary Oldman was horrible and I was not impressed with the entire cast. I had to drive for over an hour to see this film since our local galaxy theatre does not seem to be showing it. What a waste of time. Few more movies like this and I will start reading more books.

User review rating: 4 January 23, 2018

Excellent movie! My husband and I really enjoyed this movie......

User review rating: 1 January 23, 2018

Imaginary facts being passed as history it’s insulting to the audience

User review rating: 1 January 23, 2018

Just bad acting with a hint of unintended comedy

User review rating: 5 January 21, 2018

As a retort about the history teachers' review that Churchill never considered peace talks is incorrect since that pre war fact is still a secret in the countries historical files. What are our children being taught in school these day ?

User review rating: 5 January 21, 2018

The acting in the movie was surpurb. Given the fact there there may have been extension of reality, it provides a premise as to what could have changed history. We need the boldness in our leaders today. Those who rated it with one star should have been there.

User review rating: 5 January 21, 2018

Best movie I have seen in years!

User review rating: 5 January 19, 2018

Fantastic! I really enjoyed this movie. History fan.

User review rating: 1 January 18, 2018

Stay away

User review rating: 1 January 18, 2018

A not so good movie

User review rating: 1 January 18, 2018

Not worth the time let alone the money

User review rating: 1 January 18, 2018

As a former history teacher, I have to give it an F. As a historical fiction movie, it's at least 75% fiction. The idea that Churchill wavered and seemed to have considered a treaty with Hitler and that he jotted down the ideas for his greatest speech on a subway trip to Parliament (one which he never took) are ridiculous. Gary Oldman did a great job portraying a bumbling professor! I had to give the movie one star, because I wasn't given to option of going lower.

User review rating: 1 January 18, 2018

Pretty predictable crappy stuff. I am pretty tired of national hero typical kind of character. Getting to feel pretty much the same about Gary Oldman. Go to a matinee or wait for the rental, but don't pay full price unless you have nothing better to do.

User review rating: 1 January 18, 2018

Could have been so much more with the talented cast. Underdeveloped dialogue and characters. Waste of time and money

User review rating: 5 January 15, 2018

Is there an echo in here? No, it's one idiot repeating the same complaints over and over in multiple bad reviews. No need to repeat yourself ad nauseam. You don't like Churchill, we get it.

User review rating: 1 January 15, 2018

It should be illegal to lie to people like they do it in this movie

User review rating: 1 January 15, 2018

This guy was a mass murderer but they didn’t mention it in this movie

User review rating: 5 January 14, 2018

Excellent movie. If you saw the movie “Dunkirk” and was disappointed, like I was, you’ll love this movie. Oldman should win an Oscar. Fantastic! Excellent acting.

User review rating: 5 January 14, 2018

Good lesson in history and how close the world came to becoming Hitler's dream.

Change Location