Christmas With The Chosen: The Messengers

Thank you for rating this movie!

Christmas With The Chosen: The Messengers Movie Poster

2.95 / 5

User rating: 2.95

Based on 424 votes and 126 reviews


  • User rating: 2.95 41.98%
  • User rating: 2.95 2.47%
  • User rating: 2.95 6.79%
  • User rating: 2.95 6.17%
  • User rating: 2.95 42.59%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?




Type the code:


 

Showing 1 to 50 of 126

User review rating: 1 April 01, 2022

To many music performances and the dialog of the actual episode came across as stilted and fake

User review rating: 1 February 15, 2022

Horrible 400-year low-quailty music video. Unending crap. Moronic monologs by unknown "artists". This may be a sign of the demise of the chosen.

User review rating: 2 January 07, 2022

The movie was marketed as a special about the birth of Christ. Instead, we suffered through a poor musical that overshadowed the short movie.

User review rating: 5 December 26, 2021

Wonderful Christmas music. Just loved it. People must not know how to read anymore. This was a Christmas music special.

User review rating: 5 December 26, 2021

Lovely CHRISTMAS MUSICAL!! It was never a MOVIE for those who can't read.

User review rating: 1 December 24, 2021

Since when is Joseph black?! He came from the line of David, so how is this a factual telling? This isn’t about race, it’s about an accurate telling of the Bible. Also, the performers at the beginning just turned my stomach. Dallas took the humble birth of Christ and combined it with self-aggrandizing performers.

User review rating: 1 December 24, 2021

Was expecting an actual movie, and ended up paying for a bunch of feel-good Christian music videos. Wanted to leave the theater after about 20 minutes.

User review rating: 1 December 24, 2021

When you know the real Jesus, this is just gross. To be fair, I hate CCM music. LOVE The Chosen series but seeing how many people actually paid to see this in theaters multiple times has me questioning the sanity of its fanbase. I was ready for different. This was so Christmas cliche it made me physically ill.

User review rating: 1 December 24, 2021

I was confused. There was such a long string of modern musicians in modern cloths with lots of make up and modern instruments. The SHORT story of Jesus birth was fabulous but I wasn't ready for the concert. I was uncomfortable with the Christian artists in this setting. Please stick with the Bible Stories. Thank you.

User review rating: 5 December 23, 2021

It is upsetting to see so many people's poor reviews of this. It seems that people are more into watching people and performance than experiencing the music and message. I really enjoyed all of it. The music and intro really helped lift my spirits at a time when I needed it!

User review rating: 5 December 23, 2021

Loved every second of it, yet it starts slowly with very cool and powerful Christmas music by great musicians and then grows on you with powerful Biblical expositions of amazing insight and relevance and grows better yet with the story of the birth of the baby Jesus paralleled by a great interaction between the mother Mary 40 years later with Mary Magdalen. High recommend just be patient and open your heart to understand the term 'incarnation' of God on the earth.

User review rating: 1 December 21, 2021

I'm an hour into the music videos and interviews, feeling completely frustrated that they would put out a product like this. It's torture and wished people could get a refund. Nothing like taking advantage of Christians. This is not close to being an actual movie.

User review rating: 5 December 21, 2021

I really enjoyed the music and felt the Holy Sprit. I have seen it twice, first time in the theater and second time on the app.

User review rating: 5 December 21, 2021

I really enjoyed the music and felt the Holy Sprit. I have seen it twice, first time in the theater and second time on the app.

User review rating: 5 December 20, 2021

This was an experience that brought together our favorite story producers and our favorite artists to create a beautiful tribute masterpiece.

User review rating: 1 December 19, 2021

Our church rented a theater and invited guests to come and see this presentation, believing it would be just as great as the episodes of the Chosen we all know and love. This was a torturous string of music videos that were so terrible that people actually got up and left. Way too much music, way too self aggrandizing for the performers, and not enough of the message that matters.

User review rating: 1 December 19, 2021

It was a bunch of songs by nobody singers! It was a ripoff

User review rating: 4 December 19, 2021

I liked it, but not as great as last year's Christmas special.

User review rating: 5 December 19, 2021

Watching this movie was an amazing experience! I didn't expect the musical performances to be so many, but they were profoundly moving and a joy to watch and hear! Each one was so inspiring, memorable, and perfect for expressing adoration to God and His Son Jesus. The way the nativity story was portrayed was believable and very touching. I LOVED this movie and so did others I went with -- so much that some of us saw it a second time! Go see this movie for yourself and be blessed by the reminder of the true meaning of Christmas it will bring!

User review rating: 1 December 18, 2021

I’m sorry…I wanted to like this as I love the chosen series. But, NOOOO WAYYYYY. Ugh…it was torture sitting there watching one music video after another, and another, and another…I couldn’t believe it! It was SO. LONG… I love music, but this was way off balance and seemed very self- promoting by the artists. Terrible lip-sync action, fake emotion and just plain boring! It felt like something you’d see on the 700 club. The actual movie part was about 28 minutes. Somebody messed up. Do not recommend.

User review rating: 1 December 16, 2021

I've watched last year's Christmas with the Chosen twenty times at least. I can't get enough of it. Not this one -- once was enough, maybe too much. It was one boring song after another, and the monologues were too much of a cut and paste from last year (even the voice inflections were the same). I did think the Children's Choir was fabulous though. Sorry Dallas!

User review rating: 1 December 16, 2021

I WOULD GIVE THIS MOVIE 0 STARS IF IT WAS AN OPTION. THERE WAS SUCH A DISCONNECT BETWEEN THE STORY OF CHRIST BEING BORN IN UTTER POVERTY AND OBSCURITY VS THE SELF GRANDISEMENT OF THE PERFORMERS. IT WAS A TRUE TESTAMENT OF SELF LOVE OVER LOVE OF GOD. IF YOU'RE NOT A FAN OF CONTEMPORARY CHRISTIAN MUSIC, DONT SEE THIS MOVIE. IT SEEMED LIKE SOMETHING YOU MIGHT SEE ON THE 700 CLUB. ALT RIGHT/WHITE. NAUSEATING. IN THIS MOVIE MARY APPARENTLY TELLS SAINT LUKE WHAT TO WRITE IN HIS GOSPEL. ISN'T COMMON KNOWLEDGE, THAT THE WRITERS OF SACRED SCRIPTURE WERE GUIDED BY THE HOLY SPIRIT ULTIMATELY?

User review rating: 1 December 16, 2021

This is a series of music videos with a short film clip near the end. I would have been mortified to bring a guest to this “movie”. Definitely not recommending to friends as I had hoped to do. Love the series but don’t love this.

User review rating: 5 December 14, 2021

Well done. It was explained weeks ahead of time that the music would be the main thing and that the episode would be short. Numerous announcements about that.

User review rating: 1 December 14, 2021

Disappointed!! I thought it would be a movie not YouTube videos. Joseph was miscast too old Mary too, bad wigs. Adding to scripture. I love the Chosen but this was bad!

User review rating: 5 December 14, 2021

This Christmas special was such an encouragement to my soul. Although different than what I thought, I so enjoyed the songs lifting up my Savior and bringing me to worship Him. I have been singing them all week! The monologues about the names of Jesus was so interesting and I learned from them. The part about the birth of Jesus was so well done. I am grateful to Tinseltown for showing it and for the creators of The Chosen for creating a TV show and a movie that is such a balm right now. The only thing I am disappointed about is how negative some of the reviews are. I saw nothing bad in this movie that deserves such a lack of grace, kindness, and compassion from my fellow believers.

User review rating: 5 December 13, 2021

What a great mix. The Chosen is the story and the Christmas movie is the celebration of Gods goodness and another way of evangelism. It is not about us but about others that need to hear about Jesus and the great gift He is.

User review rating: 1 December 13, 2021

I was disappointed that the movie was so short and the music section so long. It was marketed as a movie. It's actually mostly music.

User review rating: 5 December 13, 2021

Thank you for showing this. Helped me to focus on the reason for the season - Jesus!

User review rating: 1 December 13, 2021

This was very misleading... came expecting a chosen episode with maybe some commentary. Almost left the theater. Would’ve been MUCH better if you even kept the music but had scenes in the episode instead of just zooming in and out on artists. Totally not worth coming to the theater for.

User review rating: 5 December 13, 2021

The varied artists were a delight. The monologues were full of depth of meaning. The movie was a realistisic depiction and spirit filled. It seems that people stewing in their minds instead of worshiping God and complaining of boredom maybe should not enter heaven

User review rating: 5 December 13, 2021

After reading the reviews before I saw this movie, I almost didn't go and expected the worst. However, I think they helped manage my expectations. This is a Christmas Special, not an entire full length movie, and with that in mind, I really enjoyed watching this. The music was enjoyable (it's nice putting faces to your favorite artists) and the episode was very well done. It's also great that by seeing the movie and buying a ticket, we are funding the next season of The Chosen.

User review rating: 5 December 13, 2021

Christmas with The Chosen, the Messengers...magnificent music that goes right to your soul! Also the Bible inserts told, that i never really put it all together, and yet the Bible info is there, plus the nativity of our Lord! It was hard not too stand up, raise your hands up to your Lord and sing along. I am going to see it again since theatres have extended movie viewing time.

User review rating: 5 December 13, 2021

I loved the music and I'm not a big fan of Christian pop artists. The children's choir was especially moving for me. I like how they had music and story and the talks about the name attributes of God. I love the sets, the clothing styles and the authentic stories. The best way to show the true Christmas story, then and presently. I'd love to take my whole family.

User review rating: 5 December 12, 2021

No better movie to get truly into the CHRISTmas spirit!!

User review rating: 1 December 12, 2021

Horrible. Absolutely horrible. The worst Christian thing I've ever seen/heard. I actually don't believe it is a Christian movie since it is produced by LDS. Maybe that's why Jesus is not even in it. I feel like asking for my money back. I've been tricked. Bait and switch. It's horrible

User review rating: 1 December 12, 2021

I really would have preferred the movie itself to have been presented not as a musical. I love Christmas music however I did not realize the music was what I paid to go see so I was very disappointed

User review rating: 1 December 12, 2021

I went into this movie very excited and with high expectations. I knew from reading the description that there would be some music. I wasn't looking forward to this because I wanted a movie, which The Chosen could do, I was sure, like no other. So when music video came on, over and over and over and OVER, endlessly, it was not only frustrating, it was upsetting too! How could an hour and a half of music videos and commentary, then a twenty minute movie, followed by even more music videos, be something worthy of The Chosen? I was so ready to bolt out of there after a half-hour of it, to be honest, but I was with my husband and so I sat there, feeling almost trapped. I do need to be open also about the good parts--the actors playing Mary and Joseph were phenomenal and very real! I loved their wonderful skills in bring Jesus's birth to life. I will also admit that my husband is a huge contemporary Christian music fan and he loved the whole thing. He was shocked when I told him later how many negative reviews there were. So if you're looking for a contemporary Christian music concert, with a very short episode of The Chosen, you'll love it. If, like me, you were expecting an actual movie, then don't waste your money or your time.

User review rating: 3 December 11, 2021

I enjoyed some the music but do feel it was a bit lengthy and too focused on the artists themselves. However, the promotions were honest, so I expected it to be exactly what it was. I enjoyed it knowing my money was contributing to overall The Chosen series project itself. The last half hour was worth the wait. What a fantastic insight into Mary and Joseph and their relationship and experience in the birth of Christ, along with the tender relationship of Mary Magdalene and Mother Mary. It was inspiring to see the two story’s connectivity. I’m sorry for anyone who is overly critical and can’t see the forest through the trees in this project.

User review rating: 5 December 11, 2021

Music and story

User review rating: 1 December 11, 2021

We are enthusiastic supporters of The Chosen… didn’t expect to watch a bunch of music videos that we could have found the equivalent on YouTube ?? Sadly, I would never bring a non-believer as they would be “turned off” big time! Appropriate for a church service at a church- not a movie theater competing with Hollywood.

User review rating: 5 December 11, 2021

Awesome music accompanies the true story of Christmas shown in a real authentic way! Whether you've seen the series or not this movie is one that will inspire and move you to tears!! The quality of The Chosen series is remarkable and this extra episode does not disappoint. You won't be sorry.

User review rating: 1 December 11, 2021

Contemporary music concert, not a movie

User review rating: 1 December 10, 2021

Too much made-for-TV music, too much narrative, and too little "movie. "

User review rating: 1 December 10, 2021

The contrast could not be greater between the over-polished, performers from Nashville in the Christmas special and the real, authentic, believable characters in the show. Major disconnect.

User review rating: 1 December 10, 2021

Pure awfulness.

User review rating: 1 December 10, 2021

An hour & a half of torture. The singing was endless and felt like it was self promoting. The actual “movie” barely told the full story and was under 30mins. The music should’ve been saved at the end, so you can leave if you didn’t want to hear it. This was poorly done. It’s basically for the artists and not the story of Jesus. A group of people walked out during the music portion and I almost did too. The “movie” should have been at least just as long as a normal episode. How is it the shortest episode and it’s the one in theatre?? I think Dallas is forgetting the purpose of this show and is loving the popularity he and the show is now receiving. This movie did not spread the good news.

User review rating: 3 December 10, 2021

My husband and I have been enthusiastic supporters of The Chosen from the first episode. It's ironical that the director references the objective and goal of authenticity in telling this story. We found the music video portion of this movie anything but authentic. There must be several dozen Christian musicians who could have authentically shared their brilliant artistry -- without the very "appearance oriented" superficiality.

User review rating: 1 December 10, 2021

An hour & a half of torture. The singing was endless and felt like it was self promoting. The actual “movie” barely told the full story and was under 30mins. The music should’ve been saved at the end, so you can leave if you didn’t want to hear it. This was poorly done. It’s basically for the artists and not the story of Jesus. A group of people walked out during the music portion and I almost did too. The “movie” should have been at least just as long as a normal episode. How is it the shortest episode and it’s the one in theatre?? I think Dallas is forgetting the purpose of this show and is loving the popularity he and the show is now receiving. This movie did not spread the good news.

User review rating: 1 December 10, 2021

Trailer was misleading, distracting hair-styles, need better make-up crew. Liked the tennis shoes....

Change Location