A Man Called Otto

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.59 / 5

User rating: 4.59

Based on 112 votes and 47 reviews


  • User rating: 4.59 82.14%
  • User rating: 4.59 3.57%
  • User rating: 4.59 8.93%
  • User rating: 4.59 1.79%
  • User rating: 4.59 3.57%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?




Type the code:


 

Showing 1 to 47 of 47

User review rating: 5 January 26, 2023

Made me laugh and made me cry. It was kind of a single version of Grumpy Old Men. Tom Hanks of course, is superb. Truman and Mariana were also great. Enjoyed this immensely.

User review rating: 5 January 25, 2023

The film funny and yet has a deep meaning about community and not isolating oneself from others. I am not a big movie goer, but this film is worth seeing!!!

User review rating: 5 January 24, 2023

A great American adaptation of the Swedish book??

User review rating: 2 January 24, 2023

The 2nd half of the movie is partially about a transgender & Otto’s relationship with one. Otto also tries to commit suicide several times, but finds his neighbors, people need him & he has a purpose.

User review rating: 5 January 22, 2023

Was a wonderful movie! Went to a Saturday matinee so the price was great. The theater was cold because there was no heat. We were told beforehand and we were already there decide to stay . We just kept our coats on. The show was well worth watching Management couldn’t have been more apologetic about the heat not working.

User review rating: 5 January 22, 2023

I loved it and Tom Hanks is such a great actor!! It made me laugh and made me cry.

User review rating: 5 January 22, 2023

this movie is excellent, we really enjoyed it, its so good to actually see a rrreally good movie, very happy, would watch it again,

User review rating: 5 January 21, 2023

The movie is excellent. However the prices are outrageous and my daughter and I were freezing in the theater. My advice would not go during this cold weather. We went at 3 o'clock on Saturday and there were only a handful of people there, I suggest that they turn the heat up, if they want return business. We did love the movie though.

User review rating: 5 January 20, 2023

I went to the movie today; “ A Man Called Otto” the cast was Tom Hanks, Mariana Trevino, and several others. I laughed until tears ran down my face and cried like a baby in other parts. The movie was a bag of mixed emotions. As always, Tom Hanks was a superb actor as was Mariana Trevino. Would I watch it again, most definitely. It was a movie most of us at one time or other in our life will encounter.

User review rating: 5 January 20, 2023

Great movie will see again.

User review rating: 5 January 20, 2023

Best movie for me in a long time. I liked even better than the latest Top Gun.

User review rating: 3 January 20, 2023

Bring tissues, great acting, funny too. Otto deals with grief, yet he helps all his neighbors while being a grumpy senior. Not award winning. Has a good heart.

User review rating: 5 January 19, 2023

I read the book when it first came out and loved it! The movie was excellent. You laughed and you cried! Tom Hanks, as usual, was excellent. There are only "pros", no "cons".!

User review rating: 5 January 19, 2023

Excellent movie. The Hanks family did a great job. Tom Hanks, Truman Hanks and Rita Wilson.

User review rating: 5 January 19, 2023

I loved the book a man called Ove, and this is a very good representation of it. Excellent movie.

User review rating: 5 January 19, 2023

What a heart warming and heart touching movie! Tom Hanks again at his best. Wonderful to watch too is Truman Hanks, great talent too. We saw it with friends and all were excited. The cinema has been almost full on a Wednesday, finally a movie for the audience over 40.

User review rating: 5 January 19, 2023

It was so touching every body need to see it

User review rating: 4 January 17, 2023

Good movie. Funny and sad at the same time. Worth seeing it.

User review rating: 3 January 17, 2023

Have been so excited about this movie coming out! The only funny parts were in the preview! Very disappointed. Mentally exhausting movie about a lonely man bent on committing suicide. Sure I laughed a handfull of giggles. The acting was good...was not at all what iI expected! Watch enough of this darkness in everyday life! Would not recommend...unless you like to be depressed.

User review rating: 5 January 17, 2023

Actors were well chosen ,MO one better than Tom Hanks

User review rating: 5 January 17, 2023

I would give it an 8 out of 10 but the trailer definitely doesn’t show stuff that could trigger people with mental illness.

User review rating: 3 January 17, 2023

M'eh.

User review rating: 5 January 16, 2023

A mix of comedy and heart-wrenching.

User review rating: 5 January 16, 2023

I read and enjoyed the book and loved the movie. A happy sad movie - laughed and cried. Acting was superb.

User review rating: 5 January 16, 2023

It made me laugh and cry both.

User review rating: 5 January 16, 2023

Deep and moving.. Loved it!

User review rating: 5 January 16, 2023

Good laughs and tears

User review rating: 5 January 15, 2023

I loved the book, I loved the original in subtitles and I loved this adaptation as well. Beautiful story and message. Gives you a different perspective for when you encounter those grumpy people in your life.

User review rating: 5 January 15, 2023

Thoroughly enjoyed the storyline, the characters and the acting. Tom Hanks is superb, so is his son,Truman, playing the younger Tom Hanks’ character; so is the Mexican female neighbour. Frankly all actors were superb. This movie was taken from a novel which friends tell me was superb as well.

User review rating: 5 January 15, 2023

Wasn't sure what to expect, but found a very good, heart felt movie! It will make you laugh and cry! As always, Tom Hanks is the bets at what he does!! Loved it!!

User review rating: 4 January 15, 2023

Loved this movie, lots of solid acting, no special effects but so well done!!! Be prepared to laugh and cry!

User review rating: 5 January 15, 2023

A movie that explores deep grief and struggles and how a community can lift up others. You will laugh, of course with Hanks, and feel deep empathy. Well-rounded characters. I've read the book and seen the other film based on the book. I recommend this film if you like comedy/drama genre.

User review rating: 5 January 15, 2023

A movie that explores deep grief and struggles and how a community can lift up others. You will laugh, of course with Hanks, and feel deep empathy. Well-rounded characters. I've read the book and seen the other film based on the book. I recommend this film if you like comedy/drama genre.

User review rating: 5 January 14, 2023

An Absolutely Terrific Movie Based on an Absolutely Terrific Novel, according to A Man Called Joshua.

User review rating: 5 January 14, 2023

An excellent movie. I can't underdstand the negative reviews. Would highly recommend people watch this one.

User review rating: 5 January 14, 2023

Well acted movie a little sad at the end but a lot of truth in this movie because in the end when we get old all we can wish for is happiness and that we have our memories. Well done.

User review rating: 3 January 14, 2023

Correction! TOM HANKS! Sorry for spelling he deserves better.

User review rating: 3 January 14, 2023

Gotta love Tom Banks good acting. Grumpy old man helping all his neighbors. Funny, but not so much and mostly deals with greif. Tom banks very best movies Sully & Forest Gump.

User review rating: 5 January 13, 2023

If you’re looking for a heartwarming movie that tells a story with humour snd grace, A Man Called Otto will fit the bill. Kudos to Tom Hanks and Mariana Trevino for delightful chemistry!

User review rating: 1 January 13, 2023

The previews had me expecting a light hearted grumpy old man comedy, not a suicidal man that had me flashing back to several real life tragic memories. In the movie Hanks' character "Otto" disowns a good friend because he has the audacity to not buy an "American made" automobile (his friend bought a Toyota and Otto was a Chevy man). But then the writers had to add a "progressive social agenda theme," so a transgender character shows up and low and behold cranky old Otto has no problem with her/him.

User review rating: 5 January 11, 2023

Hanks and his celebrated "Everyman" persona return in the appropriately titled A Man Called Otto. A great movie, to be sure, and Sam Worthington is the only thing standing between Hanks and a third Best Actor Oscar. Bravo!

User review rating: 5 January 09, 2023

5 stars isn't enough.

User review rating: 5 January 08, 2023

First time I've seen a movie this good in months - Bravo to the brilliant acting of Hanks. He's always brilliant. Good movie from start to finish

User review rating: 5 January 08, 2023

One of the best Movies I’ve seen in years Tom Hanks was Marvellous.

User review rating: 5 January 08, 2023

Elvis, Pinocchio, and now Otto; Hanks is unstoppable.

User review rating: 5 January 06, 2023

This was one of the best movies I've ever seen . Tom Hanks was fantastic in this .

User review rating: 1 January 02, 2023

Hanks hasn't been this good since he played Col. Parker.

Change Location