A Dog's Purpose

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.69 / 5

User rating: 3.69

Based on 428 votes and 158 reviews


  • User rating: 3.69 54.64%
  • User rating: 3.69 11.86%
  • User rating: 3.69 6.19%
  • User rating: 3.69 2.58%
  • User rating: 3.69 24.74%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 101 to 150 of 158

User review rating: 5 January 27, 2017

Wonderful meaning of life movie. If you are a dog lover you will & cry & totally understand !

User review rating: 5 January 26, 2017

I took my 14 year old daughter to the advanced screening of A Dogs Purpose and we both loved it. This movie drew on all of our emotions with lots of highs and laughs throughout and also a few tears from the whole audience. This was based on a novel and I would love to read the book now!

User review rating: 5 January 26, 2017

Heart warming. You have to watch to the very end, which is the best part. Criticisms recently are unfounded. Sad moments, but the storyline keeps it coming and helps cheer things up very quickly. For those of us who love dogs, whose dogs are the center of our life, this movie is a must see. Funny, touching and meaningful. The storyline follows through different existences in dog's lives. Acting is good, filming is good and it is not overdone with silly cartoonish stuff.

User review rating: 3 January 26, 2017

Great story about the life of a dog and a tearjerker for sure.

User review rating: 5 January 26, 2017

This movie is so wonderful and bring some kleenex, I'm so glad I had the chance to win tickets. It will move you within, acknowledged the animals and people and has a lot of heart.

User review rating: 1 January 26, 2017

Animal abuse no matter how you try to justify what happened to that German Shepard during filming...

User review rating: 5 January 26, 2017

Excellent Movie, we were impressed with the spectacular quality of cinematography. Wonderful story suitable for all ages. Thank you for the opportunity to see the screening and to offer a review.

User review rating: 5 January 26, 2017

Cute and sad

User review rating: 5 January 26, 2017

The movie A Dog's Purpose is a wonderful, family friendly, heartwarming story. We especially loved the script & narration of Bailey's thoughts... it truly made us laugh & cry! Thank you!

User review rating: 5 January 26, 2017

I really enjoyed the movie, it was warm, funny and touching, just like our furry friends. It's for present and past dog owners.

User review rating: 4 January 26, 2017

It was a heartwarming family movie that reminds you why dogs make our lives better.

User review rating: 0 January 26, 2017

Unfortunately because of the recent controversy regarding the movie and animal cruelty my 22 year old daughter who buys only from companies who do no animal testing and is vegetarian did not want to go see this movie and as a consequence nor did I

User review rating: 5 January 26, 2017

I loved this movie from start to finish! I will definitely be seeing it again just to catch anything I might have missed the first time round. I do truly believe that each and every dog does indeed have a purpose and I love the way each dog was portrayed as to what their true calling was. You see, I myself lost my first dog just a short time ago. Shortly after I first adopted her I discovered she had the amazing skill of detecting when my blood sugar was low (although I did not know it until she woke me up the first time and many times after) The cast (dogs as well!) were all exceptionally well cast. The "passing" of each dog and "returning" as another was very tastefully done. I believe this movie would be enjoyed by all family members. Wouldn't it be wonderful if we could indeed have our best friends return to us time and time again-Bravo on a wonderful movie!

User review rating: 1 January 26, 2017

Reading comments ...ok ...here is mine...probably a good movie. Do not like the abuse part but hey...I can see a couple of comments here are movie folk as in those who profit from this. anyhow see it if you are into dog abuse ...it's already done

User review rating: 4 January 26, 2017

The movie was heart warming coming from a dogs point of view it gives us a look in a different perspective and makes us think a little differently. Make sure to bring lots of tissues!

User review rating: 1 January 26, 2017

only saw bits and pieces on the net, did see the abuse thing. Total upset. How did some see it at the theater and go home to their dog. It's not released in theaters till 2 morrow

User review rating: 4 January 26, 2017

I loved this movie! It was funny, exciting, sad and very touching. It made me cry and I could hear other people in the audience sniffling around me. Even though it had these sad moments, it made me thankful for all the love I've received from all my dogs, over the years. After the movie, I couldn't wait to get home and snuggle with my beautiful friend and companion, Maggie. See the movie - you'll love it!

User review rating: 5 January 26, 2017

This film was made from the best seller book A Dog's Purpose and yes the film is like a best seller. The movie focus on life from a dog's perspective. It was heart felt and entertaining, making you think at the same time.The dog has many lives and all of them show love never ends.True friends are always with us, even when they leave. I truly enjoyed seeing this film. Thank you!

User review rating: 2 January 26, 2017

It was not as great as the book.

User review rating: 5 January 26, 2017

Get ready to laugh out loud and cry like a baby! This movie has it all. I took my daughters, ages 11 &13 to it and we couldn't stop talking about it. We loved the idea of "The Dog's Purpose"- being huge animal lovers it gave us peace thinking about our pets that have passed on. We are already planning on seeing it again- not something we usually do but it was fantastic!

User review rating: 5 January 26, 2017

Despite the controversy about the film, I I know people in the industry and could not imagine that what we were hearing had any truth. It was touching and so true and very emotional. Thank you!

User review rating: 4 January 26, 2017

It was a fun and sweet movie. Recommend it for all dog lovers. Take a box of tissues with you.

User review rating: 5 January 26, 2017

It was awesomeness! It was a very touching and funny movie! I loved it from start to finish! They made it feel like it was so real and true! I cried a lot and laughed more! I will definitely be buying the movie and the book!

User review rating: 4 January 26, 2017

I loved it!! I love animals and thought this was a nice tribute to dogs and how they never really leave us but continue on in our lives through other dogs. I loved how it was made through the eyes of the dog Bailey to give us a bit of insight as to how they may see us humans and think. Wonderfully made and was fun, sad and thoughtful !!!

User review rating: 1 January 26, 2017

Spoiler alert... This is a Lassie movie for Buddists. Frankly, after the passing of the 3rd incarnation of the dog; the gender female German Shepherd, I really did not care what the Dog's Purpose was. Incarnation 4, little dog with short legs, was a g-rated snorefest. And only children raised without electronics and the gullible would accept the trashed-football carrying #5 pooch as the original "Bailey". Movie ended not soon enough.

User review rating: 0 January 26, 2017

My son and I truly enjoyed this heartfelt movie. We are purchasing the book and bringing the whole family to see it again tears and all.

User review rating: 3 January 26, 2017

This is a touching story of one loveable dog's search for his purpose over the course of many lives. It would be nice to think we could all get another chance.

User review rating: 2 January 26, 2017

As much as I wanted to like this movie, and it did have some good moments, it seemed to grim for a dog lover to see (spoiler) the dogs die again and again. Additionally, the USP is the dog's perspective. But too much focus is given to 'human' part of the story. Lastly, did not really appreciate the voice actor for the dog (just didn't resonate). One time watch!

User review rating: 4 January 26, 2017

it was entertaining

User review rating: 4 January 26, 2017

This was a very touching movie with many humorous scenes and good life lessons. The dogs as puppies are very cute, and their talking very good and funny. All dog lovers will love this movie. The movie was much better than I expected.

User review rating: 4 January 26, 2017

Very cute movie. I enjoyed it :)

User review rating: 5 January 26, 2017

BEAUTIFUL MOVING SUCH A WELL TOLD STORY CAN'T WAIT TO SEE IT AGAIN!

User review rating: 4 January 26, 2017

Awesome feel-good story with moments of comedy. Not rated highly enough by critics.

User review rating: 1 January 25, 2017

This is likely a heart warming make me cry movie and I don't believe Dennis Quaid believes there was no abuse. BUT ! the fact remains a dog had to be terrified to make this movie. When all is said and done and Millions of dollars are spent filming and promoting this movie with the hopes of making money...who involved would say there was abuse...$ talks ...dogs cannot.

User review rating: 5 January 24, 2017

Watch the interview with Dennis Quaid - the star of the movie who was there the whole time. he states there was no animal abuse. They sold the footage right before the film opened - I guess they really cared about those animals, waiting a year and a half to show the footage to anyone, hey?

User review rating: 5 January 24, 2017

Animal abuse? Have you never given a dog a bath? Many of them scramble around and it looks dramatic. Would you want to be judged on a 10 second clip of you doing something that may look bad, without any additional info? Do you personally know this man? Have you talked to him? Does he love his dog? Oh, you don't know? Don't be so quick to hate without the whole story

User review rating: 1 January 24, 2017

It's probably a cute movie, but the fact is, that dog wasn't treated right. Even the producers admit that. If this sheds a light on how Hollywood treats animals, then this is a good thing. Maybe they could just use CGI from now on, like The Jungle Book did.

User review rating: 1 January 24, 2017

Those of you who are blaming PETA for the video, please do your research. TMZ leaked it, PETA has nothing to do with it other than to react to the video. And you can't deny what's on the video. The dog is terrified of going into the water. And at the end, he disappears under the water. Whatever other "facts" you want to offer (for which there is no video and just peoples words who are financially dependent on the success of the movie), those are facts that are visible in the video. So what if there were divers who pushed him to the surface later? That doesn't change what happened that is visible (and heartbreaking) in the video. Why would you want to protect people who terrified a dog just to make a movie? Are you dog lovers? Or studio execs?

User review rating: 5 January 24, 2017

Do your homework and get the actual facts on what happened. Among many other things, the video is edited and why would it take 15 months for someone to bring this forward if indeed they were so concerned about animals. A lot more behind this than first mentioned. Can't wait to see the movie.

User review rating: 5 January 24, 2017

Don't believe the PETA propaganda, they have an agenda behind the so called 'leaked' video. Looks like a great movie, can't wait.

User review rating: 5 January 23, 2017

For the people claiming animal abuse played a large factor in this movie.. The news and photos reported by TMZ are completely inaccurate and forged to look as if animal abuse was taking place. Do your research before believing everything you read online. There are laws in place and guidelines that must be followed whenever a movie involves an animal to prevent animal cruelty from taking place.

User review rating: 1 January 22, 2017

Is animal abuse necessary to make a movie...?

User review rating: 1 January 22, 2017

Should have pushed the Director in the water powered by 8 outboard motors first to test the water...just saying...Who is the idiot responsible?

User review rating: 1 January 22, 2017

Avoid, my collie, shepherd and a few other things agrees with me ...avoid

User review rating: 1 January 22, 2017

People who call this movie beautiful and heart warming obviously have no idea of the perils these animals go through. I am sure the movie is presented as heart warming but check out what this German Shepherd has gone through for box office $

User review rating: 1 January 22, 2017

It's about all animals...Making money on animal abuse must stop...

User review rating: 1 January 22, 2017

I agree with the comments about dog abuse but it is more than that, so many animals are abused for hollywood and the money hollywood pays...send a message and avoid this film.

User review rating: 1 January 22, 2017

If you are a dog lover, you should skip this movie. It's been reported that during the filming a terrified German shepherd-type dog was forced to enter turbulent water. The incident was caught on film and can be viewed on YouTube: https://youtu.be/csLiYr5OGbg

User review rating: 1 January 21, 2017

This terrible incident and video may come as a gut-wrenching surprise to well-meaning moviegoers who care about dogs. But those who are aware of the chronic neglect uncovered at a facility operated by Birds & Animals Unlimited (BAU)—the company that, according to a facility manager, supplied the dogs used in the film—know that this incident is, unfortunately, just one example of a widespread problem. BAU, operated by Hollywood animal trainer Gary Gero, provides animals for use in film, television, and advertisements. It has rented out animals to hundreds of other productions, including The Hangover, Marley & Me, Game of Thrones, and Pirates of the Caribbean. An eyewitness who worked at BAU documented chronic neglect: Sick and injured animals were denied adequate veterinary care, the enclosures were filthy, and animals were denied food so that they would be hungry while trained to do tricks. Sadly, such abuse appears to be the norm, not the exception, in the entertainment industry, where animal suffering is just “business as usual” for humans trying to make a buck. Pledge to avoid contributing to this cruel practice by not buying tickets to A Dog’s Purpose or any other movies that use live animals.

User review rating: 1 January 21, 2017

I was extremely upset after viewing the video of Hercules being forced into the rushing water. Obviously he was terrified and after he was pushed in and nearly drowned is animal abuse. That Amblin stated nothing went wrong was pure arrogance from the company. Surely Spielberg did not watch the video. I was looking forward to the movie but now I will not see it. People should boycott this movie.

Change Location