1917

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.77 / 5

User rating: 3.77

Based on 134 votes and 48 reviews


  • User rating: 3.77 51.67%
  • User rating: 3.77 10.00%
  • User rating: 3.77 13.33%
  • User rating: 3.77 13.33%
  • User rating: 3.77 11.67%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 48 of 48

User review rating: 1 January 18, 2020

Unrealistic . Stupid storyline , it would never happen.

User review rating: 3 January 18, 2020

My husbands choice but was ok for a war story one mans story and I’m sure there are so many, I felt like it was an assault on my senses made me tense.

User review rating: 5 January 18, 2020

Great movie! Great acting.

User review rating: 2 January 18, 2020

Slow

User review rating: 5 January 18, 2020

Great movies and cast!!!!! I would go and see it again.

User review rating: 2 January 18, 2020

The story could have been told in 10 minutes. Long, flat and tedious.

User review rating: 5 January 17, 2020

A Very strong movie clearly depicting the insanity of war and the conditions under which very young men fought died and were wounded. It tells the story of determination in carrying out a mission, despite incredible odds, of one soldier attempt to save his fellow countrymen from death and destruction. It was a well paced [production full of surprises around every corner.

User review rating: 5 January 17, 2020

It was Great.

User review rating: 5 January 17, 2020

It was Great.

User review rating: 5 January 17, 2020

It was Great.

User review rating: 5 January 17, 2020

It was Great.

User review rating: 1 January 17, 2020

Depressing

User review rating: 2 January 17, 2020

A mediocre movie. Certainly didn't live up to its hype.

User review rating: 4 January 17, 2020

This lasted about 4 years, amazing that survivors didn’t go insane. If this is a real interpretation it’s sure depressing.

User review rating: 3 January 17, 2020

interesting story - lousy movie.

User review rating: 1 January 16, 2020

Two hours of depressing scenes.

User review rating: 5 January 16, 2020

Tremendous camera action/control

User review rating: 1 January 16, 2020

Unbelievable, explosions where the main character doesn't get hurt, German soldiers that cannot hit anyone

User review rating: 3 January 16, 2020

Two guys, seemingly unaffected by the monstrous trench warfare and slaughter, go from a to b. The only interesting part is the one twist here. The random events/scenes thrown together as a hodgepodge prevent an actual storyline; it's just a collection of short stories. Hard to stay awake after first hour of getting nowhere. Lack of heroism and honest fear did give it integrity. The problem wasn't bad acting; there was no acting.

User review rating: 1 January 15, 2020

Stupid movie. Totally artificial. Made of plaster and silicone, with no semblance of reality, in spite of the fact that it pretentiously tries to pass as authentic history. No sense of place. No sense of reality. The real soldiers in the trenches were called “les poilus” because they couldn’t shave. A far cry from the clean- shaven actor we see. The real fields were devastated and there was no sense of ‘magic realism’. The war was a devastating disaster for all involved, not a 2-day miracle!

User review rating: 1 January 15, 2020

Was not interesting. Solders looked like statues in some of the scenes.

User review rating: 5 January 15, 2020

Cinematography is Drone amazing .. almost no shot cuts. No stars makes for realiism. Exhilarating and exhausting action. No stars makes for wishing there were stars.

User review rating: 3 January 15, 2020

Oh boy, I've gotta stop reading the press reviews and all the hype. This is at best - a mediocre movie - the plot line is a little too unbelievable and the acting is far from good. Cinematography is good though. 3 stars is absolute most I'd give it, but then I thought that Mexican movie" ROMA" was such a load of rubbish....maybe it's me, maybe I have no idea what a good movie is supposed to be...maybe.....

User review rating: 3 January 15, 2020

great cinemography

User review rating: 2 January 15, 2020

very slow and boring. not very much action

User review rating: 4 January 15, 2020

Good, not great, overall movie which holds your attention. Actors give good believable performances.

User review rating: 5 January 15, 2020

Both of my grandfathers served, in the Army, during WWI. One passed away before I was born and the other wouldn't talk about it. I read reviews that slammed the movie for lack of "Fighting". But you sure saw the aftermath of the fighting. This was as much of an anti-war movie as I have seen.

User review rating: 3 January 14, 2020

Not what I expected, needed more action. The two young actors were good in their roles. Dragged and fell asleep part way through.. Yes, I understand what the movie was about but was quite dull

User review rating: 5 January 13, 2020

Excellent movie it showed things I never thought about. Those who didn't like it well tough because if you paid attention this is only partially what it was in the trenches. I had the privilege of meeting my grandmother's brother who was over there, it was hell. A hell you will never be able imagine.

User review rating: 4 January 13, 2020

Really shows the trench war fare of WW1 with all it's quagmire of mud and the malodorous smell associated with human and horse death. How insignificant life becomes in times of war whither it's the open field Gettysburg or the jungles of Vietnam. And all man is to live in peace under a tree and in the tall grass. I notice all the people in the theatre were all senior, not one young person. Did you notice that ?

User review rating: 2 January 13, 2020

It never gets where ever it’s going.

User review rating: 5 January 13, 2020

This film is amazing. Not only does it depict a day in the trenches during WWI, but it is beautifully shot and shows the basic horror of fighting for survival. I would highly recommend this movie to anyone. Please ignore the negative comments on here. Not every war movie needs to be non-stop action to convey the horrors of the actual war itself.

User review rating: 5 January 13, 2020

This movie is spectacular. Loved it.

User review rating: 5 January 12, 2020

What were people expecting from this movie? Clearly some wanted just fighting, and glorious victorious moments with the usual musical fanfare nonsense, melodramatic cloying nonsense, and a big win at the end. Grow up. This was a spectacular movie. Go see it, if you are mature enough to handle it.

User review rating: 2 January 12, 2020

Very little of actual fighting, sorry but the war scenes were lacking. Great screens of trenches and a lot of solders but not really fighting. Yes I was disappointed in this movie.

User review rating: 5 January 11, 2020

One of the very few movies which gives you the feeling a lot was invested to give you an accurate sense of what WW1 was like. This, both in human terms and in scenery. In some of the scenes, it really feels like a depiction of a man made hell.

User review rating: 3 January 11, 2020

Roger Deakin's cinematography was AMAZING! Unfortunately the characters act dopey and it throws you out of any reality there might be.

User review rating: 1 January 11, 2020

Waste of money, boring dark, Sam Mendes decided to write a movie based on a relatives war story. Absolutely stupid.

User review rating: 2 January 11, 2020

Not saving Private Ryan. No wonder Germany lost, they can't shoot!

User review rating: 4 January 11, 2020

Very artistically filmed and excellent acting by the two young actors, do I dare say I preferred just mercy which kept my interest from start to finish. Although it’s not getting the hype of 1917 it is based on a true story and I tend to prefer true stories. Both are must see movies!

User review rating: 2 January 11, 2020

Well, it's certainly NOT the caliber of a "Savings Private Ryan", that's for sure. The storyline, acting and dialog are great for the first hour, weapons and kit are realistic and well done, including the computer generated scenes. Showed the absolute horror of WWI trench warfare. I wish it would have stayed on track. Sadly it then degenerates into a plot and dialog which are totally silly. Add the pre-requisite girl with orphan baby in basement, rouge German soldiers running thru burning buildings who can't shoot straight, raging rivers with plunging waterfalls(this is France, remember?) , and idyllic country scenes within feet of a bombed out frontline(with attendant musical score of course). By that time I was squirming in my seat waiting for the lights to come on. It'll be on Netflix within 2 weeks at most.

User review rating: 5 January 10, 2020

Loved it! It kept me on the edge of my seat from beginning to end . I know it was only a Hollywood made up film , but it was very interesting to see the WW1 imagery in such High Def clarity , when most people have only seen the original choppy grainy film from back in the day .

User review rating: 5 January 10, 2020

Excellent gripping ww1 story.

User review rating: 5 January 10, 2020

This is a very riveting and suspenseful film which was artistically filmed as a continual sequence of events. It almost feels as if it was filmed without a single "cut" being shouted. The art direction, photography and direction were amazing. In my opinion, this is definitely the best film of the year. And. without a single doubt, Sam Mendes deserves The Bafta, The Ggolden Globe and Oscar for direction! A great film!!!

User review rating: 3 January 10, 2020

No way is this movie in the great movie category. Not even close. It was okay nothing more.

User review rating: 5 January 09, 2020

A M A Z I N G !

User review rating: 5 January 08, 2020

It is so intense and mesmerizing ! outstanding war movie with an amazing twist.

User review rating: 5 December 30, 2019

Not what I expected. I'd seen the trailers a number of times but didn't expect a major twist in the movie. Kept my attention throughout. A great story that, literally, keeps moving. Highly recommend this movie, as reviewed from your basic man on the street.

Change Location