Won't Back Down

Thank you for rating this movie!

Won't Back Down Movie Poster

3.94 / 5

User rating: 3.94

Based on 282 votes and 121 reviews


  • User rating: 3.94 14.39%
  • User rating: 3.94 67.63%
  • User rating: 3.94 15.83%
  • User rating: 3.94 1.44%
  • User rating: 3.94 0.72%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 121

User review rating: 0 October 01, 2012

One of the best movies I have seen recently. Loved it

User review rating: 3 September 26, 2012

pretty good movie

User review rating: 4 September 26, 2012

This was a good movie! It hits you just the way you want it and you learn a thing or two from it.

User review rating: 4 September 26, 2012

A must see.

User review rating: 4 September 26, 2012

Viola Davis was fabulous! A bit deceived by Holly Hunter. A great movie! Thank you tribute

User review rating: 4 September 26, 2012

Inspiring moving about fighting for what's right, even in the face of "the man". The last line says it best: HOPE! Great acting and writing, but most importantly leaves you wanting to get out of your seat to go do something meaningful.

User review rating: 5 September 25, 2012

A very good movie that I enjoyed from beginning to end. You laugh and also tears come to your eyes.It sends a good message: Never give up. Viola Davis and Maggie Gyllenhaal were so great in their acting.

User review rating: 3 September 25, 2012

Good movie, touching story. Great lead role...wonderfully done.

User review rating: 5 September 25, 2012

Very good movie. Makes us think about our own children's education and what they are learning. It tells us that we should not take school education for granted and that as parents, we are responsible in assuring that our children get the education they deserve. I really love Viola Davis in this movie, and I feel she deserves a Golden Globe nomination for her role, if not an Oscar. I would like to see more of this kind of movie in the future.

User review rating: 4 September 25, 2012

The goal of the movie is to show that perseverence pays off. It was a good movie to relate our real issues at school. We can relate to the characters because of their flaws.

User review rating: 5 September 25, 2012

Loved it! More people need to fight for these kind of things

User review rating: 5 September 25, 2012

Great Movie. Very motivational for those who want a better educational environment to help their kids. Sometimes, parents have to fight for their kids to succeed. There are teachers who are really good at their job and show lots of interest in the students. Here, you see sme teachers failing kids. It is about time that people know what is going on in the public schools, whereby this mother and teacher want to create a better system for the children.

User review rating: 5 September 25, 2012

A fantastic drama that anyone can enjoy. This movie resonated with me as a teacher,and gives hope to all who want to believe in the passion of those in the teaching profession. Great performances all around.

User review rating: 4 September 25, 2012

Nice feel good movie

User review rating: 3 September 25, 2012

I went to watch "Won't back down" last night with my best friend. We were both impressed by the performance of the actors. Having worked with children with learning disabilities, I understood the mother's desire to have the best support system for her dyslexic daughter. The passionate battle towards a better education, and the priority given to the children from start to end was inspiring, and extremely well-portrayed by Viola and Maggie! I highly recommend this movie -- even if it is just to challenge your own opinions about the educational systems in North America!

User review rating: 4 September 25, 2012

It was very enjoyable. I did find it to be very political, which isn't really surprising considering it's premise. :-) Well acted and very well done.

User review rating: 4 September 25, 2012

Maggie Gyllenthal and Viola Davis star in this film inspired by a true story. It is a heart tugging tale of rising to the occasion and fighting for what you believe in. Everyone should see it!

User review rating: 4 September 25, 2012

Won't back down was tremoundously inspiring, found myself laughing and crying throughout it. The acting from Maggie, Viola and Helen was spectacular. As a mom of a son with a language impairment, I found myself truly connecting with the mothers of the film. Truly remarkable film.

User review rating: 4 September 25, 2012

very uplifting film and truly encapsulates how women will do anything for their children.

User review rating: 4 September 25, 2012

a very just movie with a very good casting. it gives us has to think. the actors did a superb job of drawing you into the movie.

User review rating: 4 September 25, 2012

very inspirational and touching!

User review rating: 4 September 25, 2012

both maggie gyllenhaal and viola davis give great performances. overall a very solid movie with a great emotional story and solid acting performances all around.

User review rating: 3 September 25, 2012

the story is very inspiring, but i found the film a little slow. viola stole the screen, but i didn't love maggie in this role.

User review rating: 4 September 25, 2012

as a teacher i live the dilemnas exposed in this film daily. i am in agreement with the problems exposed but i find the solutions dogmatic and entrenched in the republican view that teachers are the bearers of all evils in the system... the acting is good and there are a lot of poignant moments, especially surrounding the mother/daughter relationship which, by the way, are very well played. good viewing

User review rating: 5 September 25, 2012

i really enjoyed the movie, i thought it was cast perfectly, and it touched my heart!

User review rating: 3 September 25, 2012

i think maggie gyllenhal is a fantastic actress and i thought the same of her in this role. i'm a big fan of movies based around actual events and found this one quite engaging. i'm also passionate about the quality of our school systems and think anyone who feels the same should check it out!

User review rating: 4 September 25, 2012

heartfelt and uplifting movie that really touched the soul. although it erred on the side of corniness often, the movie truly shows how people can take action to fight for their children

User review rating: 4 September 25, 2012

great movie about how determined women can motivate and change their community, despite opposition.

User review rating: 4 September 25, 2012

although the storyline was predictable (and based on the fact that the movie is based on actual events, that was unavoidable), the performances were stellar! i also liked how the romance storyline was tastefully done and did not get cheesy lol

User review rating: 4 September 25, 2012

excellent film. it felt very real and the acting was outstanding by the entire cast. it was great to see rosie perez.

User review rating: 4 September 25, 2012

this was an inspirational movie with great acting by viola davis and maggie gyllenhaal. it certainly has some feel good moments. it reminds us that we should remember when it comes to our kids, we are willing to do anything for them! especially what is right!

User review rating: 4 September 25, 2012

great movie with great acting. if you are looking for a feel good, inspirational movie then this is a must see.

User review rating: 3 September 25, 2012

this movie is exactly as the trailer suggests - a feel-good story about the power of individuals (two strong women, no less) to make a meaningful social difference. it requires some suspension of belief and doesn't do justice to the gray zones between extreme opposing positions, but it is ultimately a watchable, enjoyable story with likeable characters.

User review rating: 5 September 25, 2012

was a fantastic movie! everyone should see it!!! 5 stars!!!

User review rating: 4 September 25, 2012

awesome inspirational story. great acting by viola davis and maggy gyllenhal! the movie had a nice pace to it (it wasn't long at all) unlike most "true story" films.

User review rating: 3 September 25, 2012

the movie was a little too long and draggy in some parts. it probably could have been a full half hour shorter!

User review rating: 5 September 25, 2012

the movie it's about hope and that we could do everything we want if we work hard and with the help of others. a must see movies with the childreens. sorry we english is not very good. ginette

User review rating: 3 September 25, 2012

i thought the movie was pretty good, but watching maggie gyllenhaal for 2 hours is painful

User review rating: 5 September 25, 2012

i enjoyed this movie alot i found it to be a very powerful movie.

User review rating: 4 September 25, 2012

viola davis was brilliant in this film. it was inspiring and creates a relatable atmosphere for viewers.

User review rating: 5 September 25, 2012

great movie, so motivational. this movie is a sure oscar winner.

User review rating: 3 September 25, 2012

inspirational but fairly predictable.

User review rating: 3 September 25, 2012

overall i was happy to see the movie, but felt it was a bit long and at times the plot and script felt somewhat contrived.

User review rating: 3 September 25, 2012

although the acting was great and the theme was timely and relevant, i see this more as a tv movie (or movie-of-the-week) than a theatrical film, in its style and delivery. all of the labour negotiations and such would prove too boring to make it a movie for the whole family and the lack of true drama or tragedy stop it from being a provocative film. but it's always a pleasure to see these two actresses on the screen and fighting for a good cause at that.

User review rating: 4 September 19, 2012

i was quite impress by the quality of this movie. it put a smile on my face for the rest of the evening.

User review rating: 4 September 17, 2012

this movie "won't back down" was based on a true story and from the trailer it had my utter most interest. maggie gyllenhaal and viola davis did amazing acting the roles that they did--personally,as someone who has helped work in a school,i have seen not only the successes of the system as a whole, its staff and students but also the many challenges and failures--this movie was quite a motivational one with it's meaningful plot for those of us who continue to want to create an environment in education where we all learn, grow and thrive!i rate this 4 out of 5 stars and give the two main actresses a standing ovation for their believable acting and great job in fulfilling the roles of their c

User review rating: 4 September 17, 2012

this movie "won't back down" was based on a true story and from the trailer it had my utter most interest. maggie gyllenhaal and viola davis did amazing acting the roles that they did--personally,as someone who has helped work in a school,i have seen not only the successes of the system as a whole, its staff and students but also the many challenges and failures--this movie was quite a motivational one with it's meaningful plot for those of us who continue to want to create an environment in education where we all learn, grow and thrive!i rate this 4 out of 5 stars and give the two main actresses a standing ovation for their believable acting and great job in fulfilling the roles of their c

User review rating: 3 September 17, 2012

i would give it three stars. it was a sweet (heartfelt) movie. well done, although slow at times. it is based on a true story which is always fun, but this type of plot/subject/situation felt somewhat recycled (seen "it" before). it was worth going. i would have paid for the tickets. :-)

User review rating: 4 September 17, 2012

strong casts, very inspiring to watch!touchy issues, politics in school.

User review rating: 4 September 16, 2012

viola davis pushes you to like this film.just sat there waiting for it to end.then gyllenhaal throws a curve.holly hunter good as usual doing her best to be a mean ass.. overall good performances. relevant story line for today. good family movie for parents to see with their children for inspiration. overall not a bad film at all.

Change Location