Where the Wild Things Are

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.23 / 5

User rating: 3.23

Based on 217 votes and 41 reviews


  • User rating: 3.23 43.93%
  • User rating: 3.23 10.28%
  • User rating: 3.23 5.61%
  • User rating: 3.23 5.61%
  • User rating: 3.23 34.58%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 41 of 41

User review rating: 1 February 18, 2014

HORRIBLE!...... stupid movie stupid storyline i hated it the end was rediculuse and not very well thought out.

User review rating: 3 March 16, 2010

Nothing Like The Book not a good film

User review rating: 2 March 13, 2010

to boring

User review rating: 5 February 05, 2010

GREAT MOVIE! I got a perfect name for it: a fantasy comedy-drama! Please let adults know that it's not a movie for kids; it's a movie about "psychology"! There is a lot of important lessons in the movie and it's a lot better than the book! Even adults will enjoy!

User review rating: 1 January 24, 2010

Good to see a bad movie sometimes so you know what to compare to lol. Bad Bad Bad... However if I was 4 to 10 years old, I might have given it a 3 star

User review rating: 0 November 20, 2009

If you missed the plot in this movie, perhaps you should go back to reading 11 page stories. It is not a Walt Disney film. The plot is rich and complex--an epic expansion of the themes merely suggested in the original. But, these themes are explored primarily through metaphor, so if metaphor is not your forte, again, perhaps going back to a simpler version would be best. I give this movie two enthusiastic thumbs up.

User review rating: 0 November 20, 2009

Dark, imaginative, and inspiring--just the way a story about childhood monsters should be.

User review rating: 0 November 20, 2009

I can usually get into any kind of movie but this one was so boring.

User review rating: 0 November 18, 2009

Nice to look at, but that's about it. Perhaps creating a plot would have helped. Hopefully the next children’s book turned movie will embellish on the storyline a little bit more, and not just stick to the 12 lines of text it has to work with.

User review rating: 0 November 10, 2009

cool it was epic.................

User review rating: 0 November 09, 2009

exllent

User review rating: 0 November 08, 2009

it's okay funny at some parts but ok

User review rating: 0 November 01, 2009

Loved this movie. Made me feel like a child again. My 6 year old son also connected with the main character and the story right through the whole movie. It is not a waste of money at all...it is a beautiful masterpiece

User review rating: 0 October 31, 2009

Very cute show

User review rating: 0 October 30, 2009

It's like Beatrix Potter on LSD!!!

User review rating: 0 October 29, 2009

Totally weird and confusing.

User review rating: 0 October 28, 2009

As someone who READ the book, I very much enjoyed the movie... I think all the negative feedback is due to lack of intellegence and imagination.

User review rating: 0 October 26, 2009

It was alright. It was fairly slow and a little more dark than I remember the book being. Good casting for the voices and the costume design was bang on. Maybe wait for it to come to dvd?

User review rating: 0 October 25, 2009

fabulous!

User review rating: 0 October 25, 2009

i thought this movie was amazingg.. not meant for small children for sure because its dark and pretty deep. the imagery is amazing and the boy is an amazing actor

User review rating: 0 October 25, 2009

Best film of the year.

User review rating: 0 October 24, 2009

i LOVED IT IT WAS SO GOOD

User review rating: 0 October 24, 2009

AMAZING!!! <33

User review rating: 0 October 23, 2009

if you didn't getit, feel it, or understand it..you probably didnt enjoy it ..... and lack imagination, empathy, compassion, or all of the above. Great movie!

User review rating: 0 October 23, 2009

I read all the reviews which were mostly bad then decided to go see the movie anyways. I am really glad I saw. It was Not boring it was great. I think it got bad reviews because it brings out sad emotions in people I almost cried and I never cry. I give the movie 4 stars because I was not crazy about the ending. Anyway I think anyone who has an imagination should go see this movie.

User review rating: 0 October 23, 2009

One of the best movies of the year! Max Records gives one of the best performances of a child actor ever, and all the voice work is amazing. This film is not really for young kids, but it is very good. All of the performances are great, the directing is superb, and the soundtrack boosts the film to another level. Awesome.

User review rating: 0 October 21, 2009

My kids thought it was boring.6 and 4 year old boys.Kept asking why the monsters were angry and arguing all the time,and I could'nt tell them.A little too deep for kids.Too much internal conflict.Not even close to being as entertaining and fun as the 3d meatball movie.

User review rating: 0 October 21, 2009

This is a definate rental movie if ever in need of a mind numbing Friday night.

User review rating: 0 October 21, 2009

This movie is not appropriate for children and not interesting for adults. I'd estimate the target audience to be boys aged 13-15. If you don't fall into that category don't bother seeing it (in theatre or DVD!). The only theme throughout is pointless bickering and fighting. Typically, I take reviews with a grain of salt and will go see a movie if I like the preview/idea even if it has a string of bad reviews. I wish I had trusted the reviews this time!!!

User review rating: 0 October 21, 2009

A great movie about a boy and his struggles with fitting in. Where the Wild Thing Are captures what it is to be a child with a strong imagination. The charachters are very believable and your drawn in the minute you enter their world. I would assume people who didnt care for this film have lost a sense of imagination or ability to apprecraite the story whether it be "Dark" or not children do experience these kind of social issues. Creating a movie from a short childrens book can be difficult but Where the Wild Things Are captured everything it needed and more. Look at movies like "Labrynth" and imagine a young child watching that..im sure they would be a little scared but it is considered a

User review rating: 0 October 20, 2009

Suuuch an amazing movie. Watching it made me feel like a kid all over again. It's definately a must see, no matter what your age is.

User review rating: 0 October 20, 2009

strange movie

User review rating: 0 October 19, 2009

It was dark, but my son and I enjoyed it. I did not find the monsters scary. In fact, by the end I found myself forgetting they weren't real creatures.

User review rating: 0 October 19, 2009

In my opinion this movie in not suitable for small children. Completely gratuitous violence through-out. Terrible message. The book is cute and I am a fan of it and its message that teaches a young boy to try to vent his anger positively through fantasy. The movie, although well done in some ways, is completely wrong for small children. Spike Jones (director) simply was not careful enough in how he portrayed the story on-screen. He has turned the story into a rather morbid depiction of an unhappy boy and a bunch of even more unhappy monsters who partake in violence and frustration through-out the movie. Nowhere do we get the sense that the boy has learned anything by the end of it. Rather, b

User review rating: 0 October 18, 2009

Fantastic! Beautiful imagery, lovable characters. Eggers and Jonze did A LOT with a very short book.

User review rating: 0 October 18, 2009

This movie was in many ways the sort that makes you think. Less entertainment, more meditation. I enjoyed it in a very serene way.

User review rating: 0 October 17, 2009

Good Movie!!!!

User review rating: 0 October 17, 2009

it's great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

User review rating: 0 October 17, 2009

this movie is coool

User review rating: 0 October 17, 2009

This movie was not what I had expected.

User review rating: 0 October 16, 2009

ACTION, FANTASY, DRAMA, ADVENTURE, and a DARKER TONE! Just what WHERE THE WILD THINGS ARE needs to entertain everybody, including ADULTS!

Change Location