We Were Soldiers

Thank you for rating this movie!

We Were Soldiers Movie Poster

4.14 / 5

User rating: 4.14

Based on 1848 votes and 71 reviews


  • User rating: 4.14 71.55%
  • User rating: 4.14 7.08%
  • User rating: 4.14 3.11%
  • User rating: 4.14 0.76%
  • User rating: 4.14 17.49%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 71

User review rating: 0 October 23, 2009

1 st rate story line and action as well

User review rating: 0 July 31, 2006

...i love the movie very much...it really gives the viewers a clear picture of the situation in Vietnam. It is very helpful to us students, especially that our major is History. Very good movie!

User review rating: 0 March 20, 2006

GREAT MOVIE beast of its kind

User review rating: 0 February 20, 2006

This is the Best movie of them all about the War. Having served two tours in-country myself, this film captures what I remember and what I experienced in 1965-67 while serving in the US Army.

User review rating: 0 November 11, 2005

It`s may be the best movie about the vietnam war since apocalysme now

User review rating: 0 March 27, 2005

Pretty real and factually described. G-Unit

User review rating: 0 March 15, 2004

Based on a real event and the story was taken from a novel written by people who were actually at the battle. The story is told by the Colonel and the reporter who were at the battle. For once a movie that not only does the book, the characters, and their opponents justice. The Vietnamese were not just a faceless enemy like in other films, they were a thinking breathing entity. True the Americans lost the war, but they did win that particular battle. The movie earns its *****!

User review rating: 0 February 09, 2004

we were soldiers is a really good film and it gives you a good point of veiw of what the film is about is is absolutely fantastic

User review rating: 0 December 08, 2003

It was a great movie that realy showed ground Infantry Battle.

User review rating: 0 January 10, 2003

the best

User review rating: 0 August 26, 2002

It was a very good movie. One of the best I`ve ever seen. But I wonder. Will this movie be good enough to win an Oscar? Lets hope so!

User review rating: 0 August 21, 2002

THe movie had a very good grafical afect and it rellated to realety Mel Gib played the seen very well. it was a very grabing movie

User review rating: 0 May 16, 2002

Out of all the new war movies that are coming out right now this one is the best

User review rating: 0 May 04, 2002

Great movie!!! ITs a have to see. I would see it again if i had time. IT was great!!!!!

User review rating: 0 April 26, 2002

A good attempt at bring the book to the big screen. An excellent depiction of war, but the `charge` at the end was too similar to the charge in "The Patriot". Read the book.

User review rating: 0 April 17, 2002

We were soldiers, I think, is one of the best war movies out there. It was a powerful and moving story. It showed the horrors of war, but also the brotherhood of soldiers. This was a great movie!

User review rating: 0 April 13, 2002

Average Movie. Weak plot by the people who brought us Braveheart. Now that was a movie. Nice speeches by Mel Gibson, but nevertheless a weak plot. Tried to copy the realism of Black Hawk Down but cam short

User review rating: 0 April 07, 2002

War movies are my prefered genre - thus, I have watched hundreds of them. This movie, We Were Soldiers, affected me to a point where I had to step out of the theatre for a few moments. This has never happened to me before and I do not expect to see another movie as griping for a long time yet. VERY POWERFUL!

User review rating: 0 April 05, 2002

Absolutely incredible. Regardless of how the Americans did in the Viet Nam war, this battle happened and the story really brings that home, not only on the battle field but with the wives back home. Excellent! Will definitely get this one on DVD!

User review rating: 0 April 01, 2002

This movie was a very graphic portrayl of war. Not only of the vilonece and killing, but the planning, straticgic thinking and the human side on how human society is affected. It showed the real pro`s and con`s. I was aprehensive about Mel Gibson in this type of role but he was fantastic. Very real and an important film to see.

User review rating: 0 March 26, 2002

I think that this movie is a powerful movie.

User review rating: 0 March 24, 2002

I think that this movie is a powerfull display of what war was really like and leaving the thearte you just have to sit back and take note

User review rating: 0 March 24, 2002

This movie is the very thing the American public has needed to see since the end of the war. I thing it should be required for every high school student. These men did not want to be in a hostile country but, their government sent them over there and they tried to do the job. When they came home, to be spat uppon and ridiculed by their own countymen is totaly unexcuseable. These men were brave and should be shown as much respect as the men who fought in WWII. Anything less is a sin. At least they went in harms way which is less than what can be said of some other men that have been in the public eyes.

User review rating: 0 March 22, 2002

Ok movie, pace was alittle off, I don`t know where they filmed the movie but it was not Southeast Asia.

User review rating: 0 March 17, 2002

funny how every americian movie is made.. alwayz showing them as heroes.. it was not there war ... and they were defeated everyone knows that.

User review rating: 0 March 17, 2002

The movie was very powerfull, the emotion is even more powerfull than the action. This movie give you a real taste of how war could be live by soldier and the impact it could have on your live. We really like that movie.

User review rating: 0 March 17, 2002

This was without a doubt one of the best movies I`ve ever seen. Pay close attention to the part of the movie where Mel Gibson is saying a prayer of some dead soldiers...one of them is breathing!

User review rating: 0 March 17, 2002

I went to a Catholic School during the 1960`s, I remember every so often the Nuns would tell us about former students who were killed in Viet Naum. I was also registered for the draft later, but never called. I have a lot of friends who served and have shared their stories with me. This is a powerful movie. I seen it more than once.

User review rating: 0 March 16, 2002

Stunning! This is the best depiction of war I have ever seen. Like Braveheart, this movie shows the brutality of battle. Unlike Braveheart, the enemy is not simply "the bad guys". The characters are not the usual cliches. They are simply men fighting for their lives.

User review rating: 0 March 16, 2002

A heart-wrenching, thrilling and terrifying movie. Doesn`t get much better

User review rating: 0 March 15, 2002

realy good. i would like to know the musical score.

User review rating: 0 March 15, 2002

A good war movie - I thought the director/writer did a great job in ullustrating both the US strategies and the Vienamese strategies - by doing such he was able to show the both sides as heroic.

User review rating: 0 March 15, 2002

so cool

User review rating: 0 March 14, 2002

One of the best real Life war movies made. It was relistic, brutal but human. A great movie. Great Story and great cast.

User review rating: 0 March 14, 2002

Wow! What intensity! I would like to see the directors cut. The movie seemed to be over so fast.

User review rating: 0 March 14, 2002

It was the one of the BEST war-time movies I`ve ever seen. It can compare to Saving Privte Ryan without a doubt in my mind.

User review rating: 0 March 13, 2002

ONE OF THE BEST MOVIES I HAVE EVER SEEN BEFORE!

User review rating: 0 March 13, 2002

Fine move. However, I think both S.P.R. and Braveheart were much better movies. I found that, as in most war movies, the script here does not explain to the audiance how a war is fought. As a result all we see is incoherent shooting, fighting and Vietnamese soliders running into loaded guns. Despite that fact I enjoyed this film. My Rating: ****/5

User review rating: 0 March 12, 2002

one word aswsome

User review rating: 0 March 10, 2002

Went to see it last night, and sorry to the other comments, THIS movie can not be compaired to Braveheart or Saving Private Ryan. If anybody watches A&E they will know this is a TRUE STORY. 50 mins into the movie & I had tears swelling up... choked down the emotions MANY times through the rest of the movie. This is not meant to be a movie like Pearl Harbour. Both my wife & I gave it 5 stars. The emotion can leave you drained.

User review rating: 0 March 09, 2002

The movie was superb; the battle scenes realistic and horrific. Except for the commanders standing up during the battles, it was an excellent movie.

User review rating: 0 March 08, 2002

an enjoyable film overall however Mel Gibsons character came off as far too heroic. Soldiers that behaved like him on the battlefield would have an extremely short life span.

User review rating: 0 March 08, 2002

this was a awsome movie and all must see it, especially if you like action and war movie flicks. however, Braveheart is still my favourite. I would say that this movie is close to as good as Saving private ryan and braveheart.

User review rating: 0 March 08, 2002

It is a good movie, but is it as good as Saving Private Ryan or Braveheart? I don`t think so.

User review rating: 0 March 06, 2002

IT`S a shame that the book "We Were Soldiers Once . . . And Young" fell into the hands of writer-director Randall Wallace ("Braveheart"), a filmmaker who wouldn`t recognize subtlety and understatement if they were to attack him in the street. The book, by Gen. Harold Moore and war correspondent Joseph Galloway, is a superb, moving firsthand account of the bloody Ia Drang battles in 1965 that heralded the beginning of major U.S. involvement in Vietnam.

User review rating: 0 March 06, 2002

A suspenseful, intense, and exhausting cinematic experience...has the ability to keep viewers on the edges of their seats and to wring tears from their eyes. It`s an amazing experience

User review rating: 0 March 06, 2002

This movie is over the top when it comes to being corny and cheap gimmicks to exhume emotion from the viewer. The worst of its kind. Avoid at all costs.

User review rating: 0 March 05, 2002

A true depiction of what war really is. Nuff said

User review rating: 0 March 05, 2002

crappy movie

User review rating: 0 March 05, 2002

This was a great movie with very realistic detail of burder of command!!!

Change Location