True Grit

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.19 / 5

User rating: 4.19

Based on 1272 votes and 456 reviews


  • User rating: 4.19 40.40%
  • User rating: 4.19 43.77%
  • User rating: 4.19 11.62%
  • User rating: 4.19 2.69%
  • User rating: 4.19 1.52%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 456

User review rating: 4 July 14, 2011

Very good movie!!

User review rating: 5 June 15, 2011

Another classic by the Cohen brothers. Much better than the dated original.

User review rating: 3 June 13, 2011

I love Bridges & Damon and I love a good western - this was Bridges at his elf indulgent worse and Damon mis-cast. If I could have understood half of the southern drawl I might have enjoyed it a little more. Very disappointing.

User review rating: 1 June 09, 2011

I hate this movie, not that great and it is boring!

User review rating: 4 June 09, 2011

Great movie..on par with the original. Matt Damon gives the best performance of his carreer.

User review rating: 4 April 14, 2011

A classic that deserves to be mentioned as a great western, next to the original classic. Amazing performances!!

User review rating: 0 April 06, 2011

AWESOMELY PLEASANT SURPRISE. WENT AS A FAVOUR AND TOTALLY LOVED IT. GREAT STORY, EVEN BETTER CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT. INTELLIGENT HUMOUR TO LESSEN TENSION.

User review rating: 5 April 05, 2011

Phenomenal in every way. I strongly recommend this movie.

User review rating: 4 April 04, 2011

Best western in a long time! Great performances by all. Bridges is witty with words and very humourous.

User review rating: 4 April 04, 2011

not my kind of movie I generally see but the acting was very good

User review rating: 5 April 03, 2011

Don't be turned off because this is a 'Western' a wonderful version by the Cohen brothers. A terrific cast, story and brilliantly filmed! Go see it!

User review rating: 4 April 01, 2011

Sometimes hard to understand the slurs and mumbles.

User review rating: 5 March 31, 2011

Great movie! It did justice to the book, and the original movie with John Wayne.

User review rating: 4 March 28, 2011

Very smart, well crafted movie - the Cohenm brothers are the best out there right now!

User review rating: 5 March 28, 2011

Excellent acting, great casting, great movie.

User review rating: 4 March 24, 2011

Enjoyed this movie, interesting story and good acting.

User review rating: 5 March 22, 2011

WOW My husband and I loved this movie an dwould recommend it to family and friends ......

User review rating: 4 March 21, 2011

AWESOME MOVIE - Cohen borthers do it again!!

User review rating: 4 March 21, 2011

Good movie, different from the original.

User review rating: 4 March 20, 2011

Jeff Bridges does a pretty good job at filled John Wayne's boots. The story is fast-paced and definitely has true grit with the photography and the characters fitting the bill. The only downside I have is that quite a bit of Bridges' dialogue came across as being mumbled and therefore hard to understand.

User review rating: 5 March 11, 2011

i have seen the original but this version kicks its ass. hailee and jeff steal the show fantastic performances

User review rating: 4 March 11, 2011

It make the original movie with John Wayne still the best one.This newer version was well acted with pride and excellence performance by Jeff Bridges was amazing in his role he played.I loved it and recommend that you go and see it.

User review rating: 5 March 10, 2011

Great acting, I remembered "THE DUKE".

User review rating: 3 March 10, 2011

good movie would have been better if i could understand the language :(

User review rating: 4 March 09, 2011

I liked it, very good! Great cast!

User review rating: 5 March 09, 2011

awesome movie, better than the original

User review rating: 5 March 08, 2011

This movie MUST be seen on the big screen. The scenes are so beautiful! The Coen brothers are the masters of the stark landscape.

User review rating: 5 March 05, 2011

Hailee does walk away with this movie and is some one to look out for in the future

User review rating: 5 March 05, 2011

Intelligent with excellent acting.

User review rating: 4 March 05, 2011

this movie is very good

User review rating: 4 March 04, 2011

Thge acting was great.

User review rating: 4 March 04, 2011

The actress playing the little girl stole the movie...formidable cast.

User review rating: 4 March 04, 2011

This movie was very well done. Jeff Bridges did an amazing job. The story is a bit depressing but I guess its supposed to be ; )

User review rating: 4 March 03, 2011

Very skeptical going into the theater, not totally convinced that Jeff Bridges could replace "the Duke". I was pleasently surprised how enjoyable this version was. Bridges played the role very well. It was different enough from the John Wayne interpretation that you could not do a fair comparison. His performance stood well on its own. The Texas Ranger (Matt Damon)outshone the Glen Campbell charactor compleatly. Hailee Steinfeld was the perfect Maddie Ross. This talented young lady played the refined and yet determined Maddie very convincingly.

User review rating: 4 March 02, 2011

Rarely are remakes better than the original, but this one does it

User review rating: 4 February 28, 2011

great movie - lots of fun and entertaining!! much funnier than expected.

User review rating: 5 February 28, 2011

This movie was GREAT!! It kept true to the original.

User review rating: 3 February 27, 2011

Although truer to the book jsut not as good as the original. The only highlight is Hailee Steinfeld whom actually deserves a leading role nomination. Not impressed by Bridges or Brolin.

User review rating: 5 February 27, 2011

One of the best movies of the year

User review rating: 5 February 27, 2011

Great movie

User review rating: 4 February 27, 2011

it's as good as the original also

User review rating: 4 February 26, 2011

The acting was great

User review rating: 4 February 26, 2011

Loved it!!!! Amazing acting and writing.

User review rating: 5 February 24, 2011

Having seen both the Coens version and the original I thought the retelling was awesome best of the year so far

User review rating: 4 February 24, 2011

Jeff Bridges is a Genius on screen when it comes to the meaning of the words "True Grit"

User review rating: 3 February 24, 2011

TYPICAL WESTERN

User review rating: 3 February 23, 2011

Really good adaptation from the original. Josh Brolin is a great villian and as usual Jeff Bridges does a superb job acting. Really gritty western with some laugh out loud parts. Overall the plot was great. Would recommend it to everyone. Is been a while since a good western has come out.

User review rating: 4 February 23, 2011

There were a lot of noticable differences to a True Grit fan, But overall was a spectacular remake!

User review rating: 5 February 23, 2011

A true western..well acted

User review rating: 5 February 23, 2011

Worth seeing just for Hailee's performance

Change Location