The Master

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.44 / 5

User rating: 3.44

Based on 132 votes and 42 reviews


  • User rating: 3.44 40.32%
  • User rating: 3.44 16.13%
  • User rating: 3.44 12.90%
  • User rating: 3.44 8.06%
  • User rating: 3.44 22.58%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 42 of 42

User review rating: 5 March 22, 2013

Good movie!

User review rating: 4 March 02, 2013

Dustin Hoffman has done it again.

User review rating: 2 March 01, 2013

We already knew Seymour Philip Hoffman and Joaquin Phoenix could act. Movie doesn't make much sense. Sometimes one could not understand what Phoenix was saying because he mumbled. Phoenix looks too old for the part, even allowing for the dissipation his character's being a perpetual drunkard would have caused. Things don't hang together, aren't explained. Phoenix either has severe scoliosis or his character does, but this is never alluded to, and though he llooks as if always in pain, and frequently holds his back just to stand upright--it made my back sore just to watch him--even so his character is always brawling and doing well at it. The scoliosis is never alluded to. Why the othe

User review rating: 3 February 17, 2013

Just surburb acting all round from this cast. Movie itself was a little wierd to say the least

User review rating: 5 November 27, 2012

Hoffman has done it again! His best since MEET THE FOCKERS!

User review rating: 5 November 25, 2012

Easily the best movie of the year. Doesn't spoon feed the audience. Use your brain.

User review rating: 0 October 27, 2012

My wife walked out ....I was bored to death. Exceptional acting but still a bad movie.

User review rating: 3 October 26, 2012

was an ok movie. given the topic is very cultic in nature, w/ manipulation of vulnerable minds as the theme. audience is put through a kind of 'endurance' test experiment to see how one falls into the same trap as the subjects being watched, fall to psychological querying environment of a manipulative charismatic leader. it does, however, interestingly make you rethink how to think of your future life though.

User review rating: 1 October 23, 2012

Incredibly boring ! The story line is lame. I am a fan of JP. He should have won best actor for "Walk the Line". As for this movie it seemed like it was shot as an "independent movie" but made for the masses. It just doesn't work. Unfortunate waste of talent.

User review rating: 1 October 23, 2012

What a waste of two great talents! Even they couldn't save this piece of trash. An insomniac's dream movie.

User review rating: 5 October 16, 2012

pretty good one

User review rating: 5 October 16, 2012

Hoffman's best since Rain Man.

User review rating: 5 October 14, 2012

I only come to the theater to watch exceptional acting and directing of a movie.And I was not disappointed. I knew JP would be this good

User review rating: 5 October 13, 2012

Wonderful movie!

User review rating: 5 October 13, 2012

The movie -- the masterpiece of a genius!

User review rating: 5 October 11, 2012

Simply the best movie of the year!

User review rating: 1 October 10, 2012

Absolutely one of the worst movies I have ever seen BUT the acting was "brilliant"....

User review rating: 0 October 09, 2012

Fine performances in a disgusting film with a puzzling story line. The studios have chosen to market an art house film for the mass audience. I wonder how they pitched this offal to their investors. Appropriately doing poorly at the box office. I cant wait for it to meet its deserved oblivion

User review rating: 5 October 09, 2012

The Master is agreat movie, the best of the year so far!Phoenix gives the performance of his carier! A new American clessic.

User review rating: 1 October 09, 2012

The ratings must have been manipulated - this movie is nonsense - tradh!

User review rating: 0 October 08, 2012

Awful, a load of rubbish.

User review rating: 1 October 08, 2012

absolute drivel..waste of time..rather clean out a dumpster with a toothbrush

User review rating: 0 October 07, 2012

Dustin Hoffman continues to amaze.

User review rating: 4 October 05, 2012

Funny, all the bad reviews are probably from Scientologists since they think this film is losely based on L. Ron Hubbard starting their "religion" because he was bored.

User review rating: 4 October 03, 2012

PSH is inspired with his performance, but Joaquin is outstanding and seemed truly mad! Interesting film and thought process. If you're a thinker of social mores, you've got to see this one!

User review rating: 1 October 03, 2012

The most boring movie I have seen in the Theatre. I fell sleep on and off and wondered when it was going to be over.

User review rating: 3 October 01, 2012

What??? Brilliant and 'out there' all at once.

User review rating: 1 September 30, 2012

My wife and I walked out. We've never done that before. Horrendous!

User review rating: 5 September 30, 2012

Great acting

User review rating: 2 September 30, 2012

I was greatly disappointed with this movie, very long, dragged out and seemed parts kept repeating over and over. Surprised at Joaquin Phoenix to take a part like this but happy to see him back acting again.

User review rating: 1 September 30, 2012

Terrible movie. Seemed like it was never going to end.

User review rating: 4 September 30, 2012

Philip Seymour Hoffman & Joaquin Phoenix were great in this movie (father/sonish). They played off each other exceptionally well. Go see it with an open mind.

User review rating: 4 September 29, 2012

Philip Seymour Hoffman is an exceptional actor as are Joaquin Phoenix and Amy Adams. He was not in either Rain Man or The Fockers. That was Dustin Hoffman.The Master is very well done

User review rating: 1 September 29, 2012

While the movie certainly had it's merits, a strong story line was not among them. It was overly long and a tad dull.

User review rating: 2 September 29, 2012

Movie itself was absolutely atrocious! There's 2.5hrs of my life i will never get back but excellent accting by Phoenix!

User review rating: 2 September 28, 2012

Hoffman ? Tootsie ? You have a brain the size of a pea ! It's Seymor Hoffman ! Get a mitt and get in the game !

User review rating: 5 September 28, 2012

Hoffman hasn't been this good since Tootsie!

User review rating: 0 September 28, 2012

Dustin Hoffman is still the best actor on the planet.

User review rating: 2 September 28, 2012

Bored to tears but having said that, Phoenix and Hoffman were fabulous

User review rating: 2 September 28, 2012

Hoffman, phoenix incredible. The movie itself, boring.

User review rating: 3 September 26, 2012

brilliant acting, but it could have been a lot better.

User review rating: 1 September 25, 2012

Worst movie EVER!

Change Location