The Lovely Bones

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.71 / 5

User rating: 3.71

Based on 196 votes and 68 reviews


  • User rating: 3.71 43.30%
  • User rating: 3.71 22.68%
  • User rating: 3.71 10.31%
  • User rating: 3.71 9.28%
  • User rating: 3.71 14.43%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 68

User review rating: 4 October 22, 2010

Well, I read the book first and loved it. So when I watched the movie I was surprised at how intense everything was. The movie is a lot more suspenseful than the book, but I loved it still. A great story!

User review rating: 1 July 19, 2010

I felt like I was the tenth victim for having to watch this movie. The canned film should have been put in the safe and thrown in the pit. I just didn't feel the love with the flowers, mountains, and meadows while watching a lunatic weave a basket in his backyard....are you kidding me?

User review rating: 2 June 16, 2010

Tucci and Walberg were great, but overall, teh movie was a bit too cheesy...a bit too long and boring.

User review rating: 3 June 14, 2010

The movie has a great story, but rather than being thought-provoking and insightful, it turned up being cheesy and lame. I haven't read the book, which I heard was great. I can see why the book would be good - the movie, however, was flat, dull and realyl lame, especially the ending. It just didn't work. I balme teh director and screen writer.

User review rating: 2 June 11, 2010

Really quite dull - overly stylized and simply not enough plot to keep one interested.

User review rating: 5 May 07, 2010

good movie

User review rating: 4 April 27, 2010

Very Good Film Peter Jackson Is The Man

User review rating: 5 April 24, 2010

I LOVED it so much and ROSE MCIVER was amazing she's like one of my favorite actress. Kind of tied with Emma Watson in the series Harry Potter.

User review rating: 5 April 24, 2010

It was an amazing movie. It touched my heart and brought me to tears. I loved everything about it and who doesn't like a great Mystery/Thriller movie.

User review rating: 5 April 23, 2010

Absolutely amazing movie, I loved it the whole way through.

User review rating: 5 March 30, 2010

The best movie I have seen this year the acting is superb on all counts especially Miss Ronan's, and Mr. Tucci's. The film was a drama story about moving on and excepting loss. Rachel Weisz could have had a bigger role, and Mark Wahlberg proved for the first time since Fear and The departed that he can act. Peter Jackson's images are amazing to behold the visuals he has are stunning and at times disturbing. Overall a great experience.

User review rating: 1 March 19, 2010

Worst movie ever, I'm not joking. I'd rather get stuck on the island in LOST with only one pair of underwear or pick my teeth out with a crowbar then ever watch any part of it again!! stay far away from this one!! PLEASE!! But maybe its worth watching just to see how disappointed you can be about a movie!!

User review rating: 3 March 18, 2010

I found that the story just didn't "ring true". There were too many scenes where I just don't believe it would happen that way, like when Mark Wahlberg figures out who the killer is - it just didn't make sense. That said, I thought "Susie" was well acted and was completely creeped out by the killer. I liked the idea of the "fantasy/heaven" scenes, there were just too many of them.

User review rating: 4 March 14, 2010

I walked out of this movie feeling like someone had placed a 50lb bag of potatoes on my back. There is so much in this movie, much of it a burden to emotions.

User review rating: 5 March 12, 2010

very different. it was sad, but interesting at the same time.

User review rating: 3 February 23, 2010

Not very good if compared to the book!

User review rating: 4 February 20, 2010

An absolutely gorgeous movie, if not a little too heavy on the look of the movie as opposed to the story. True to the book for the most part, although there are aspects of the book that would have made the movie move a little faster instead of getting so bogged down with cinematics, particularly in the middle (but the beginning and the end are amazing). Stanley Tucci is so creepy and fantastic! Saoirse Ronan is a little overwrought at times but she tries hard. Worth the $10.

User review rating: 5 February 14, 2010

this movie was the best movie in the world and after is the book of eli

User review rating: 4 February 12, 2010

our kids should know and recognize the way of approaching to an stranger!?It is parents job to make sure of it that kids know all the information about it.I recommend to parents to go to see this movie and know their surroundings. It is a good movie and we liked it.

User review rating: 5 February 07, 2010

This movie was really good. I loved it.

User review rating: 5 February 07, 2010

Cool movie

User review rating: 1 February 05, 2010

CRAPPY MOVIE!!! waste of my time, so disappointing...definatly read the book though!!!

User review rating: 0 February 05, 2010

this film epitomizes unmet potential, it's hugely disappointing but still captivating because you can see and feel everything it could have been. Susan Sarandon's role should have been cut out completely, added to the disconnected element that plagues the film. Some brilliant moments though (especially Susie in the bathroom with her killer ) and the cast if great, all of them, including Wahlberg and especially Tucci - didnt' even recognize him! Lead actress is mesmerizing. Oh my god, such a frustrating film.

User review rating: 2 February 02, 2010

Ive been wanting to see this movie for a long time but I just got the chance to last night with my beautiful girlfriend. Im a huge Peter Jackson fan and I have had the honour of meeting him at one point while he was in Toronto. I went into this movie with big expectations. Ive loved every single one of his movies and then I saw this crap. It was BAD!!! I think the problem may have been because of Wahlberg. I hate him. Good direction though. Horrible script. 2.5 stars for me.

User review rating: 3 February 02, 2010

It was really freaky but teaches me to not stay alone

User review rating: 1 February 01, 2010

The story is about a tragedy! 9 children murdered! Stars and buterffies are not realy appropriate for the story of movie! These should have been kept for movies about teen's love storyes! Pathetic!!!

User review rating: 1 January 30, 2010

I found this movie to be very slow.I must say that this movie ranks up in my top 3 ost boring movies I ever watchand I watch and own alot of movies.ADD

User review rating: 3 January 29, 2010

3 stars thanks only to the central character's acting. This young actress is destined for a bright future no doubt. Mark Walberg's acting is pathetic. Even his wig is too obvious. Peter Jackson made a feeble attempt at the (limbo) scenes. He could have used more advanced and believable technology. Wait for the Blue Ray to come out. Signed.........GWH.

User review rating: 5 January 29, 2010

quality movie, great cinematography. so much better than the mass produced keek that comes out of hollywood.

User review rating: 5 January 27, 2010

I love this movie so good. It made me feel special inside

User review rating: 2 January 27, 2010

I loved the book. I was so disappointed with the movie. I wish Alice Sebold had written the screenplay, because the movie felt like an overly simple summary of the book. The mother was shipped off to pick apples (?!) instead of taking the incredibly moving and difficult journey that was laid out for her in the novel. I felt the screenplay lacked any real heart, or depth that the book had. Visually, yes, it was lovely, but the script was lacking the really great plot that I was so looking forward to watching. Mrs Singh was nothing more than an extra, who appeared in the background of one scene. Ray and Ruth's relationship wasn't established at all. Two boring, hum drum scenes. I would ha

User review rating: 5 January 27, 2010

this was an awesome show, kinda creepy but not quite scary. and really really sad to, HIGHLY recomend it

User review rating: 3 January 26, 2010

Well good storyline. Better to wait for the dvd. Don't advise younger then 12 to see it.

User review rating: 1 January 26, 2010

Bad.....Just bad...

User review rating: 0 January 25, 2010

I side with the "very good to excellent" one of the nest in a few months or a year. Anyone who doesn't like it must have no feelings at all. Will buy it on DVD as well.

User review rating: 1 January 25, 2010

Lovely Bones my ass! Should have been called LOOSER BONES. BORING, STUPID, my GOD...twenty minutes to get to each scene...alot of starey watery eyes scenes...my husband and I were BOTH FALLING ASLEEP (and I NEVER fall asleep EVER). DO NOT SEE THIS STUPID BORING "Movie"! Susan Sarandon is the ONLY saving grace - her perform was hilarious!

User review rating: 5 January 23, 2010

This is a movie that caters to people of intellegence with an open mind. Not your typical Hollywood fluff with no plot. Well executed with sounds from "This Mortal Coil" (how appropriate). All the nay sayers just didn't "get it"!

User review rating: 1 January 23, 2010

Just terrible. Time I will never get back.

User review rating: 5 January 23, 2010

For sure, this movie is not for your 6-years old child. You should be not with your mind if you can't make difference what is appropriate for your children and what is not. The movie was excellent and very deep. It was a story for coping through the pain of the family. But it was shown in a different way by the director's creative mind. Because this is a movie, not a book.You are totally mistaken if you compare the movie with the book.

User review rating: 5 January 23, 2010

5-star fun!

User review rating: 5 January 22, 2010

Oscar worthy performances from Ronan and Tucci. Excellent soundtrack and visuals. Not as depressing as novel but just as beautiful.

User review rating: 4 January 21, 2010

There was a key part near the end where they screwed up and was fake...

User review rating: 5 January 21, 2010

Great Movie! Great acting and everybody that watches this movie would see how easy it is for something bad to happen.

User review rating: 2 January 21, 2010

I read the book (which was decent) and this movie was a total disappointment. This book is about a family coping with a death and the trials and struggles that occur as their daughter watches and tries to help. It is not about a girl dancing around on clouds for 3/4ths of the story just to show you know how to produce cool effects in a film. WAY too many key points left out. This movie should of been G rated considering the only compelling and somewhat controversial content (which was what MADE the book) was totally left out. Bring your 6 year olds to see it - they'll have a blast.

User review rating: 5 January 21, 2010

Stagerring and touching movie, that you should see by your soul.This is not a movie just for fun. Great acting and directing. If you like a real meaningfull movies ,go and see it.Bravo!

User review rating: 2 January 20, 2010

Bored to death - 5 of us wouldnt have wasted our money on this had we known. Read the book which was much better than this.

User review rating: 1 January 19, 2010

Should have the option of no stars...Horrible movie that lasts so long, you actually start to laugh when more nonsense comes across the screen.

User review rating: 5 January 18, 2010

Really good movie, the special effects were great and you needed them in the movie. All Peter Jackson is doing was trying to create 'limbo' and heaven. Obviously the people who didn't like effects don't understand this. So go see it and open up your imagination!

User review rating: 5 January 18, 2010

Fantastic, a must see movie.

User review rating: 1 January 18, 2010

WORST MOVIE EVER!! Peter Jackson really sucked at this movie.. It was WAY TOO FANTASYISH... I think he was still caught up in The Lord of the Rings when he did this movie

Change Location