The Island

Thank you for rating this movie!

The Island Movie Poster

3.78 / 5

User rating: 3.78

Based on 2888 votes and 141 reviews


  • User rating: 3.78 56.57%
  • User rating: 3.78 8.92%
  • User rating: 3.78 11.06%
  • User rating: 3.78 2.70%
  • User rating: 3.78 20.75%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 141

User review rating: 5 August 01, 2014

Ce film est vraiment bon!!! C à voir et à revoir!!! Pi Scarlett Johanson est vraiment sexy ;)

User review rating: 4 August 12, 2010

Scarlett Johansson hot and sexy !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

User review rating: 0 November 20, 2009

Best Action Movie I Have Ever Seen

User review rating: 0 September 20, 2009

Fantastic film. I don't usually care about car chases, but I thought the action in this film was the best.

User review rating: 0 April 29, 2008

Very well developed

User review rating: 0 December 11, 2006

Terrific movie...all i can say is BRAVO!!! Great movie, gonna watch it over and over again.

User review rating: 0 May 09, 2006

Awesome movie. So different from what I expected it to be. This movie brought a whole new perspective to the world. Have you ever imagined our world, our lives, here for another purpose? You never know if someone is always looking over you.. watching your every move, maybe even controlling how you are. Weird but cool.

User review rating: 0 January 02, 2006

BEST ACTION MOVIE OF THE YEAR

User review rating: 0 January 01, 2006

great movie, visual effects, and music

User review rating: 0 December 23, 2005

Lots of action and excitement. I watched the dvd with my 11 yr. old son and there wasn`t swearing or sex, so it was fine. He enjoyed the cars, explosions, etc. The topic gets you thinking too. The ending was very sappy and just dropped off. If the ending was better it would have been 5 stars.

User review rating: 0 December 21, 2005

Best movie ever.

User review rating: 0 December 18, 2005

not great

User review rating: 0 December 13, 2005

Movie is a 4 star movie, the sad thing about it, is that it did not get the respect it deserved at the box office, and in the press. Their should be more movies that cover this topic, and I`m glad Micheal Bay did this film. Enjoyable all the way through!

User review rating: 0 December 12, 2005

great!

User review rating: 0 December 02, 2005

Besides being a great thriller, this film raises issues which are not politically correct and infuriate film reviewers who have their own political agenda.

User review rating: 0 November 11, 2005

Scarlette is so beautiful, i would for sure want to save her life.

User review rating: 0 October 25, 2005

I Loved this movie!!! So many movies today are the same and boring. It`s great to see some fresh ideas. Definately on my list of favorites.

User review rating: 0 October 12, 2005

Brilliantly Entertaining and Creative. Michael Bay has truly solidified his reputation as a dedicated filmmaker and reliable director *****.

User review rating: 0 September 26, 2005

Excellent!!! Definitely a thriller and plenty of action.

User review rating: 0 September 24, 2005

top notch!!!!!

User review rating: 0 September 22, 2005

Brillantly Entertaining and Creative. Michael Bay has truly solidified his reputation as a dedicated filmmaker and reliable director *****.

User review rating: 0 September 22, 2005

The Island is one of the most well constructed futuristic films I have ever viewed! The 1st half of the film is intriguing and mysterious because you’re not exactly positive where the story is going to lead you. The two lead actors Ewen McGregor and Scarlett Johansson do a magnificent job in portraying their characters correctly where many actors would ultimately botch it up. Ewen & Scarlett also execute their chemistry realistically because it doesn`t feel forced or phony. The action sequences have fantastic creativity in the sense that each individual action sequence presents obstacles for the protagonists and antagonists to avoid in order

User review rating: 0 September 09, 2005

This movie should get a grammy!!! Best Sci-fi movie I have ever seen! A must see in the theatre! Enjoyable yet may not be understandable by everyone...

User review rating: 0 September 09, 2005

This was a very entertaining movie! The friend I went with did not enjoy it, but I did thoroughly! She said it was too much action for her taste, but for me? I found the action was well balanced with an interesting story and some actual "acting" unlike most action movies. She also said you wonder what happens to all the clones in the end who have no ID, no jobs, and no money...but I say suspend your disbelief!!

User review rating: 0 September 08, 2005

Awsome movie , The best one ive seen this year, just a great movie.From start to finish i was never bored .Can`t wait to buy it on dvd when it comes out.

User review rating: 0 August 28, 2005

THE BEST MOVIE! t. finnish girl

User review rating: 0 August 27, 2005

awesome movie. If you like science/action, then a definite must see. Wouldn`t say the best, bust it was okay.

User review rating: 0 August 24, 2005

i was expecting more than this... it ddnt reach any

User review rating: 0 August 20, 2005

I went to this movie not expecting much but got a big surprise! It had a very thought provoking story line with some comical innocent banter and action that knocks your socks off! I too am amazed that it has not done well at the box office. I`m telling all my friends to be sure not to miss this one!

User review rating: 0 August 19, 2005

Well not the best movie I`ve seen, it`s definitely one of the better ones I`ve seen this summer. And they wonder why no one`s going to the movies...

User review rating: 0 August 19, 2005

well done! good action. acting in line with script. nice performance by both leads

User review rating: 0 August 18, 2005

OH MY GOSH THIS MOVIE WAS FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I CANT BELIEVE ITS NOT DOIN WELL IN THA BOX OFFICE!!! WHY??!! GO OUT THERE AND WATCH IT PEOPLE!!!!! NOW!! GET OFF UR BUM AND GO C IT!! ULL LUV IT! FAB STORYLINE AND OV CORSE EWAN MCGREGOR LUKD SOOO HOT. SO CUTE AND INNOCENT!!! DONT LISTEN 2 THA CRITICS GO AND C THIS MOVIE!!!!!!!

User review rating: 0 August 18, 2005

Awesome film. Excellent storyline, great performances by all actors. I highlly recommend this movie!

User review rating: 0 August 18, 2005

I thought THE ISLAND was a good movie. It was exceptionally well filmed, and a big budget movie. The set up of the Institution, with all the white uniformed clones, was very effective. It set the sci fi `atomosphere`. This, though, soon changed. As soon as the two main characters, discovered the outer world, the movie became another action-chase-thriller. In fact, the movie seemed to have many segments of similar films integrated into the story. For all that, it is well made, if not that original. It is exciting, and does hold a lot of thrills. Especially that amazing sequence, where free rolling train wheels are being dumped of

User review rating: 0 August 17, 2005

While this movie may become the one that teachers show their student to illustrate issues of medical ethics and plato`s simlie of the cave, this so SO much more than just an excersie in philosophy. Well worth at least one watch, although the chase scenes can be a bit dull if you arent into all that. Tense, emotional, and beautifully made.

User review rating: 0 August 16, 2005

The Island Is An Amazing Movie! The Sci-Fi Detail was top notch!

User review rating: 0 August 14, 2005

This was an absolutely incredible movie. Magnificent graphics and wicked chases. This movie was great!@#$%^&*()!

User review rating: 0 August 14, 2005

This movie was fantastic....they need to promote it and re-release it because i cannot believe it is doing so poorly at the box office. More people need to enjoy this movie...it is by far the best release this summer...

User review rating: 0 August 14, 2005

Tipical summer popcorn movie. Nothing much to think about. Just close your mind and have fun. Don`t try to make sens of all the plot holes or you`ll go insane.

User review rating: 0 August 13, 2005

A good Sci-Fi movies, not too futuristic that one may think its impossible. Good storyline, something that people would never imagine of the life of a clone. The ending however might be a bit more interesting. Overall, its a great family-movie!

User review rating: 0 August 12, 2005

This was a very solid movie. It was a great mix of plot and action. It made you think, but not so hard that you didn`t enjoy yourself. It`s an excellent commentary on technology and the future that is closer than we might think. The cinamatography was also excellent. Overall the best movie I have seen this summer.

User review rating: 0 August 12, 2005

This movie was absolutly AMAZING!It was nothing like i have ever seen before, the actors were amazing, the whole idea was brilliant! Everyone must see this movie!!!!!!

User review rating: 0 August 12, 2005

The first third of this film was fantastic. I thought it was going to be another Gattaca. Alas, things went rapidly downhill and it became just another ho-hum car chase movie. So disappointing!

User review rating: 0 August 11, 2005

A great movie with lots of fun action and special effects, even if it didn`t do well in the box office. the performances were great and so was the cinematography, score and screenplay. it actually had substance which is great to see and asked questions about religion, morals and life. GO see it. War of the Worlds and The Island are the best summer film of this season.

User review rating: 0 August 11, 2005

I have to say that this movie was amazing. I didn`t think the movie would be all that great but I was really wrongt. The movie was very well put together, the actors worked very well together, and the story line was also very good. I definetly recommend this movie.

User review rating: 0 August 11, 2005

This was a great movie! Very unique! It was easy to watch, and funny at times as well. I would see it again, and recommend it to anyone.

User review rating: 0 August 10, 2005

This was a fantastic movie; the writing, acting, and directing are all superb. The producers should also be credited for raising the funds required to create a realistic depiction of the future as well as some incredible special effects. My only negative comment is that this movie would have been so much more enjoyable if the audience knew less about the story at the outset. Sadly, the movie`s trailers give away almost everything about the plot.

User review rating: 0 August 10, 2005

Great movie !! Michael Bay has done it again, but why is it doing so poorly in theater ?

User review rating: 0 August 09, 2005

This movie was INtense IMO! 5 *****

User review rating: 0 August 09, 2005

I thought this movie was a funfilled, exciting action adventure movie. Great detail and superb performances by Ewan Mcgregor and Scarlett Johannson. I say 50 thumbs up!

Change Location