The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.23 / 5

User rating: 4.23

Based on 276 votes and 51 reviews


  • User rating: 4.23 65.69%
  • User rating: 4.23 12.75%
  • User rating: 4.23 6.86%
  • User rating: 4.23 7.84%
  • User rating: 4.23 6.86%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 51

User review rating: 5 October 25, 2014

THE BIGGEST MOVIE IN THE WORLD!

User review rating: 5 October 04, 2014

AWESOME, POWERFUL AND TRULEY EXTRAORDINARY, ONE OF THE BIGGEST MOVIES IN THE WORLD, PREPARE TO BE AMAZED, YOU WILL BE BLOWN AWAY!!

User review rating: 5 September 21, 2014

EXTRAODINARY MOVIE MAGIC!

User review rating: 2 June 09, 2014

Fifth film in New Line's Tolkien trilogy lacks focus. Ian Holm's Bilbo is fine as usual, but Benedict Cumberbatch's dragon is a disappointment.

User review rating: 5 April 03, 2014

Amazing!!! Great action and story line that matches the book.

User review rating: 5 March 29, 2014

Amazing, Peter Jackson has wowed us once more with the second part of the Hobbit trilogy.

User review rating: 1 March 29, 2014

Booooorriiing

User review rating: 5 March 22, 2014

I loved it... and would definitely recommend it.... of course I like the Lord of the Rings Trilogy.... so I loved it... Plus I am an Orlando Bloom Fan... and glad he was BACK!!!!

User review rating: 3 March 11, 2014

A bit sad that they've given in to the notion that plagues most CGI-involved series sooner or later - that the CGI is an end in itself. Even the most amazing CGI, when piled on for too long, gets boring. Worse, it becomes cartoonish. This movie also lost the humour that was such a part of the LOTR movies. And lots of plotlines fresh from TV, with cliched dialogue to match. Sad. Won't bother with the 3rd one.

User review rating: 5 February 16, 2014

Better than the first. I've seen it in theatres multiple times. Richard Armitage's performance is amazing.

User review rating: 3 February 14, 2014

I liked the first one better. Wasn't too bad though.

User review rating: 1 January 26, 2014

bad, bad, bad!!! Slow moving - not as bad as the 1rst but overly long for the amount of story. Fight scenes were very unbelievable even for a fantasy movie. Won't be wasting my money on the 3rd movie that is a given.

User review rating: 1 January 26, 2014

overly long and drawn out. Fights scenes were too contrived and beyond belief even for a fantasy world. Wasn't overly impressed with the first movie, no better with this one, won't waste my money on the third.

User review rating: 1 January 14, 2014

At least BULLET TO THE HEAD had a story...

User review rating: 2 January 14, 2014

The dragon just wasn't convincing.

User review rating: 4 January 13, 2014

ladies and gents don't listen to the people that give this movie a low rating specially the one that compared lord of the rings to the hobbit trilogy( apple and oranges ) for myself i like lord of the rings better but this film THE DESOLATION OF SMAUG as different tone to it self as it should not trading after other films as i saw this film not just once but twice, see it for yourself and judge don't listen to folks that compare apples and oranges, and except the same level to lord of the rings films to the hobbit movies

User review rating: 2 January 10, 2014

Disappointed. Lacked originality, many scenes reminded me of other movies. The ending will not bring me back.

User review rating: 0 January 05, 2014

2nd in a trilogy.

User review rating: 2 January 02, 2014

I'm a big fan of the LOTR trilogy but I'm finding myself indifferent to the Hobbit movies. The story feels uninspired and bloated and the characterization lacking. I also didn't care for the decision to end the movie on a cliffhanger rather than let the movie stand as a complete chapter of the trilogy.

User review rating: 5 January 02, 2014

Excellent movie......can't wait for the next one.

User review rating: 2 January 01, 2014

No comparison to the "Lord of the Rings" Some of the special effects dated the movie I think. Smaug should have stayed in the deep of his darkness. The storyline lacked depth. The thing the irked me the most was the fact they ended the movie at the climax of the storyline. What was that? Mmmmmm.....cheap money grab. Won't be back for the final sequel.

User review rating: 5 January 01, 2014

Although different from the book, it was entertaining from beginning to end. I enjoyed smaug the most. Could not stop smiling.

User review rating: 5 January 01, 2014

People who complain about the ending don't realize that it is not the end of the story. The third one will finish it.

User review rating: 4 January 01, 2014

All things considered this is a decent movie. I'll admit when I found out they stretched the Hobbit into 3 movies I was angry at the money greedy Hollywood executives but now after seeing the movie they have done a great job on extending the story line. Also well done on the Computer Graphics. There are a few drawbacks but an enjoyable ride.

User review rating: 1 December 31, 2013

Slickly done unrelenting violence from beginning to end. Must have been sponsored by the American Military to teach our children that killing is okay. Because of the sick message of this film, I won't be seeing ANY movie any time soon.

User review rating: 5 December 30, 2013

Fantastic, best of the best - I think it was very creative to deviate from the book in this part of the journey to keep up with time. Very well thought of - brought life, fun, much more excitement to enhanced the story.

User review rating: 5 December 30, 2013

I felt like we were back in the swing of it....it reeked lord of the rings and I loved it!

User review rating: 5 December 30, 2013

Best movie of the year I think!!

User review rating: 5 December 29, 2013

10 times better than any other 3 movies combined. The level of detail and creation that went into it is wow, wow, wow. I can't spell words long enough to describe it.

User review rating: 5 December 27, 2013

It was a great movie. I loved it!

User review rating: 3 December 26, 2013

I watched the second installation of the Hobbit series tonight, thought it was just okay. Didn't hold up to the standard set by the Lord of the Rings series or even the fist of the Hobbit series. I particularly wanted to comment on the 3D AVX presentation and say that it really cheapened the cinematic experience. It lacked depth and in many instances just looked fake.

User review rating: 3 December 25, 2013

This movie is pretty good although not as great as Lord of the Rings. Totally felt ripped off by ending??

User review rating: 3 December 23, 2013

Enjoyed the first movie. It stayed fairly true to the book. The second movie they changed Tolkien's story line a lot. The scene in the Lonely Mountain should have stayed strictly between an invisible Bilbo and Smaug. By adding the horribly done fight between the dwarves and Smaug it ruined the movie for me. Really hope the third movie improves on this for the final battle.

User review rating: 5 December 20, 2013

Very entertaining!! Fantastic movie with an excellent plot.

User review rating: 5 December 18, 2013

not a thing wrong with the film. brilliantly played out. also, watch out for the director Peter Jackson. he makes an appearance as somone eating a carrot in the first minute of the film. hitchcock throw back :)

User review rating: 3 December 18, 2013

Great movie for Middle Earth eye candy but the story line is most suitable for an eight year old

User review rating: 5 December 17, 2013

Very very well done. I can't figure out how the barrel scene was shot. Peter Jackson is a genius. I hate when I see comments that say too much was added. People complain when there's not enough added to a movie from the book and now you complain about the opposite too. Lol stop complaining and enjoy the damn movie. The way I see it this is Peter Jackson's take on the story and adding stuff was his own creativity and to be honest it made the movie that much more interesting. It's not very often that a 3 hour movie feels like it flew by making me want more already.. enough of my rambles WATCH THIS MOVIE

User review rating: 4 December 16, 2013

Fantastic movie! I wouldn't expect anything less from Peter Jackson. Was a little long with lots of extra stuff added, but still great.

User review rating: 4 December 16, 2013

Of course, everything that happens is always at the last possible fraction of a second and of course main starts don't get hurt but they can flip and jump off and through things with ease. But the white water barrel scene looked like a fun video game.

User review rating: 5 December 15, 2013

Loved all of the action. Very well done and a bonus for all of us dragon lovers. Nice to see Orlando Bloom back as an elf.

User review rating: 2 December 15, 2013

The movie is way too long to start with. Pretty much the whole story line has been completely rewritten from scratch with only the major settings being used (Last homely house, Elven forest, Laketown and the Lonely Mountain). Save your money and watch the Lord of the Rings again, since this is pretty much the same movie... I definitely suggest this if you have read the book before.

User review rating: 4 December 15, 2013

lots and lots of action, but they added way to much to the story, still a great movie.a most see for the holidays

User review rating: 5 December 14, 2013

great movie ,loved it

User review rating: 4 December 14, 2013

Write a letter to scotiabank if it bothers you that much, I would delete your comment since it has nothing to do with the movie. Dumbass getting headaches in a movie theatre...get your eyes checked quick!

User review rating: 5 December 14, 2013

Great movie lives up to its expectations

User review rating: 4 December 13, 2013

After 45 horrendous minutes of nausea inducing ad after ad, with a break halfway, for a Scene points game, the previews started then finally the movie. I did not enjoy the movie due to the headache I had. I will never go back to that Scotiabank theatre ever again.

User review rating: 4 December 13, 2013

The first one was pretty slow moving. This 2nd installment sprints along nicely for the most part. Good bits of action if not overly fantastic. The dragon is well done! My biggest peeve is the elves are a bit too superhero compared to the LOTR counterparts.

User review rating: 4 December 13, 2013

still too long a movie

User review rating: 5 May 16, 2013

Ah so you "like" little people do you? Perv. On another note, anything with dragons is worth a see.

User review rating: 5 December 28, 2012

The first hobbit was pretty good my favorite character is Gollum

Change Location