The Commitments

Thank you for rating this movie!

The Commitments Movie Poster

2.50 / 5

User rating: 2.50

Based on 1036 votes and 93 reviews


  • User rating: 2.50 23.12%
  • User rating: 2.50 16.39%
  • User rating: 2.50 3.61%
  • User rating: 2.50 0.68%
  • User rating: 2.50 56.20%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 93

User review rating: 0 May 07, 2007

Truly a great film and the best of the Barrytown Trilogy films. I saw it time and again in the theatres until it was finally released on tape. By the time it wore out, it was on DVD. Even after all this time, it is a fresh experience with every viewing.

User review rating: 0 April 09, 2006

If you like soul music and have a sense of humor you`ll love this movie! Its "Rapid" as they would say in dublin!

User review rating: 0 October 27, 2005

Excellent movie, fantastic music played with great passion, very funny

User review rating: 0 October 24, 2005

Excellent movie. Very realistic! In my opinion, the best musical I`ve seen. Have watched it more than 15 times and never tire of it!

User review rating: 0 April 29, 2005

wicked

User review rating: 0 February 21, 2005

very important for the general developmen of the rithm and blues and the rest of the musics.

User review rating: 0 October 03, 2004

I very much enjoyed the movie

User review rating: 0 April 12, 2004

Great fun, wonderful music.

User review rating: 0 April 12, 2004

It was a very important story to tell.

User review rating: 0 April 11, 2004

An interesting story with some great music.

User review rating: 0 April 11, 2004

Really enjoyed...Would love to get to Ireland again!

User review rating: 0 April 10, 2004

I found the scenes amusing, the plot weak, the acting strong, the egos of the characters very interesting. However, what possible excuse could be given for such a proliferation of such foul language in virtually every dialogue? Is that language so commonplace in real Ireland? I often thought I wanted to visit it, but my travels haven`t taken me there yet to see Great Grandfather`s homeland! 2stars

User review rating: 0 April 10, 2004

i liked it,

User review rating: 0 April 10, 2004

as real as it gets, you feel the music.

User review rating: 0 April 09, 2004

a different movie than the typical formula style of movies where you can predict the whole movie - worth it

User review rating: 0 April 09, 2004

wonderful,kept my interest, very well written

User review rating: 0 April 09, 2004

Excellent music and story line.

User review rating: 0 April 08, 2004

Great movie and soundtrack. Andrew Strong probably COULD sing anything. Predictable, yet gives viewers insight to Dublin life. Characters and their growth well-acted and depicted!

User review rating: 0 April 07, 2004

The movie and music was highly enjoyable. It lest yearning for a sequel....The Commitments ..10 Years After.

User review rating: 0 April 07, 2004

Enjoyed it very much!

User review rating: 0 April 07, 2004

Very fun movie

User review rating: 0 April 07, 2004

I would say it definately had some moments, however, overall average at best.And that is being a little generous.

User review rating: 0 April 06, 2004

enjoyed alot

User review rating: 0 April 06, 2004

A really good movie

User review rating: 0 April 06, 2004

I think we are due for some awesome comedy and The Commitments definitely givs us that

User review rating: 0 April 05, 2004

Kept me wanting more!

User review rating: 0 April 04, 2004

awsome

User review rating: 0 April 04, 2004

I loved the movie. The music was amazing and the actors were great.

User review rating: 0 April 04, 2004

the first time i saw this movie was in 1991.the next time was on t.v. 2004.13yrs later,this movie has still go it.it aint a sleeper

User review rating: 0 April 04, 2004

great movie,great music and above all very fanny.

User review rating: 0 April 03, 2004

I haven`t watch this movie yet, but from reading the infos. This movie is a true reality of what is life,career commitments is all about. I believe it is not what the music is about but it is about the character and the building of the character. It is not what one does but how one does it that matters. Before we achieve something, we all struggles, I believe this movie will give the message to people about struggles, determination, united and true friendships, that trying to face our struggles and working to achieve our dreams is a true accomplishment. Overall to describe this movie, it is a simple true meaning of life and dreams.

User review rating: 0 April 02, 2004

Great movie, we play in a band for fun so can relate to the musicians struggles, personality conflicts etc. Love the movie and the music!

User review rating: 0 April 02, 2004

I really enjoy this movie, everytime I feel down I can throw this in the DVD player and in no time at all I have a smile on my face.

User review rating: 0 April 01, 2004

Great. Very funny and great direction

User review rating: 0 March 31, 2004

As they would say in Dublin, Bleedin Deadly!

User review rating: 0 March 30, 2004

It was a very good movie, with excellent movie. We have the soundtrack.

User review rating: 0 March 30, 2004

Great music, extremely funny and true to human nature.

User review rating: 0 March 29, 2004

Very very funny and great music

User review rating: 0 March 28, 2004

I loved it

User review rating: 0 March 28, 2004

Loved the brazen attitude of the band members and the honesty of the depiction of their characters. Brit humour rocks. I`ve seen the Committments in concert in Ottawa, Canada and thuroughly enjoyed the show, it brought back hilarious moments of the movie. I think they should curse more on stage during their concerts and banter back and forth a bit, maybe a gaint screen with some movie scenes. The rock n` roll is super.

User review rating: 0 March 27, 2004

I thought it was a great movie! i was so "committed" I bought the soundtrack!

User review rating: 0 March 26, 2004

I thoroughly enjoyed this film, and lost myself in their energetic, fun music. This is one to keep & enjoy again & again.

User review rating: 0 March 26, 2004

I enjoyed the movie as well as the music. It was one movie I would love to see again.

User review rating: 0 March 25, 2004

I loved it. I thought the music was great!

User review rating: 0 March 24, 2004

Quite irish and I really loved it

User review rating: 0 March 24, 2004

Loved every minute of it every one of the 15 times that I have seen it!

User review rating: 0 March 24, 2004

A rollicking good laugh, love the CD.

User review rating: 0 March 24, 2004

fabulous movie, the true spirit of Ireland

User review rating: 0 March 23, 2004

I loved the pure joyfulness of the forming of the Commitments-the singing and songs were awesome-it was a bit nostalgic & lots of fun

User review rating: 0 March 22, 2004

I enjoyed the movie at the show and bought a copy of the VHS tape

Change Location