The Book of Eli

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.44 / 5

User rating: 3.44

Based on 503 votes and 110 reviews


  • User rating: 3.44 45.34%
  • User rating: 3.44 14.57%
  • User rating: 3.44 5.67%
  • User rating: 3.44 7.69%
  • User rating: 3.44 26.72%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 110

User review rating: 5 August 29, 2016

Wha?? I can't even believe anyone would hate this movies. This is a great post apocalyptic movie!

User review rating: 1 January 04, 2011

I must agree with, as far as the realism is a concern, bad..... He kills everyone behind his invisible shield of can't touch this and drops everyone like they were two feet away. All I liked was the fallout aspect which was cool, meh I watch it again.

User review rating: 1 November 24, 2010

I was angry at myself for sitting through the whole thing! 30 years to walk across the USA! This film starts off bad from here and only gets worse. I would rate much lower than 1 star but that is the lowest the scale would go. Bad bad bad!!!

User review rating: 1 November 24, 2010

horrific!! Don't waste your time. It's really that bad!!

User review rating: 4 November 08, 2010

glad i watched it nice twist at the end

User review rating: 5 August 15, 2010

Well Done

User review rating: 5 July 18, 2010

A movie that entertained me from beginging to end.

User review rating: 3 July 16, 2010

not great, just ok to watch.movie got a bit boring.

User review rating: 2 July 02, 2010

after watching this movie, I couldn't decide if I liked it or not - which tells me that I likely didn't, although I am a big fan of Denzel. Unfortunately this movie has too many holes to make a good film (or a franchise which it obviously wants to become). Kulis and Oldman provide good performances. But, the movie is a bit too weak to keep everything together.

User review rating: 1 June 29, 2010

One of the most cringe-inducing movies I've ever seen. I'm a big fan of Denzel's, but this movie is total crap. Credibility is stretched beyond belief (10 people behind barriers shooting at one person in the open, and the person in the open kills all the others without getting hit once). I managed to stick it through to the end, but only 'cause I had nothing better to do. If you want a much better movie of a similar genre, check out 'The Road'.

User review rating: 4 June 18, 2010

excellent movie, will watch again

User review rating: 5 June 07, 2010

loved it from the start till the end

User review rating: 5 June 05, 2010

Best movie I have watched in a long time.

User review rating: 1 May 16, 2010

wrost movie ever waste of time and movie

User review rating: 5 March 18, 2010

Definitely an interesting one...I sure liked it! :D

User review rating: 3 March 17, 2010

The Story is somewhat original, but basically a Mad Max redux type movie with below average suspense and action, without Denzel this movie would have been a B or even a C class, I think Vin Diesel would have fit the role better. RgF

User review rating: 5 March 12, 2010

Eli comes from the greek word Eloi witch means "my God" in the bible its found in Mark chapter 15:34

User review rating: 5 March 11, 2010

I think that it was a great movie that can catch a lot of people's attention. I also think it was very well planned and i loved how they did the plot.

User review rating: 1 February 18, 2010

boring, confusing and a piece of crap movie. I don't think Denzel can make a good movie. He's certainly lost my attention. I was surprised that Gary Oldman was in this movie, cause he is usually a great actor. I would've walked out except my husband wanted to see the ending. But both of us agreed this was one movie to warn people not to waste their money ... in either the theatre or on video.

User review rating: 1 February 16, 2010

Will Denzel ever make anything good again, another piece of &^%$.

User review rating: 5 February 15, 2010

Not what I expected, well written

User review rating: 3 February 14, 2010

Okay a little long with not a lot of substance...Denzel is violent...okay but I'd save for video

User review rating: 2 February 14, 2010

story would have been good except for the girl at the end...see it to find out what I mean. to cheasy and would have been epic if they left it at the twist.

User review rating: 1 February 14, 2010

Not bad, but who cares.

User review rating: 1 February 14, 2010

Terrible. Period.

User review rating: 1 February 14, 2010

Kill me now! At least I got to catch up on some zzzz's.

User review rating: 5 February 10, 2010

great storyline and very compelling

User review rating: 4 February 09, 2010

thought provoking -willsee it again

User review rating: 5 February 09, 2010

what can I say, protector of the greatest book ever!!! excellent movie, great plot.

User review rating: 0 February 08, 2010

Good movie. I'm not religous but I liked the movie and the ending. And I love Mila!!!

User review rating: 1 February 08, 2010

YIKES! this one really didn't do it for mwe. So slow and painful to watch.It's a good film for people who like action and no real story...OR DUMB story anyway. Sorry Denzel...and I usually like your stuff.

User review rating: 4 February 07, 2010

A little ify going in, but it turned out to a pretty good movie! the ending was a little crap, left it open for a sequel in a way. But other than that good movie!

User review rating: 1 February 07, 2010

Are you kidding me???!!! This movie was terrible! Very disappointing considering Denzel Washington is in this...but the story is weak, slow, plodding and though you're led to believe it's leading to something 'good', the big reveal is a huge bust and we were left thinking "That's it, seriously??!!" Save your money.

User review rating: 2 February 05, 2010

We were really disappointed. We assumed it would be good, given the star actor, but at the end of the movie, we felt it was 2 hours wasted from our life. Perhaps if you are a religious type of person, this movie might be for you. It is hard to say we disliked it so much without giving the movie away for others, but perhaps by saying we didn't find it had much of a story line, and we felt betrayed as viewers at the end when it didn't pull everything together into something we felt we could swallow.

User review rating: 3 January 31, 2010

A decent film , especially in a genre that tends to be more action-driven . Not an " instant classic " , by any means , but at least worth a watch.

User review rating: 5 January 31, 2010

Excellent Movie

User review rating: 4 January 30, 2010

I liked it, but the plot moved slow. Otherwise very good movie

User review rating: 5 January 30, 2010

Excellent mvoie, and very original. Surprised this hasn't gotten higher ratings.

User review rating: 5 January 30, 2010

Enjoyed it from beginning to end.

User review rating: 2 January 30, 2010

Good overall, but the cynical idea that humanity can't survive without Christian insight is totally ridiculous. I suppose all other forms of faith are meaningless?

User review rating: 4 January 29, 2010

Great movie, has a good storyline. I found it slow in some areas, but overall very thought provoking. I would see it again.

User review rating: 5 January 27, 2010

Excellent! Excellent! I will definitely go and see it again in the theatre. I can not get it out of my head. I'm a 42 year old woman and I saw it with my 15 and 20 year old sons who also thought it was great. It was my 20 year old son's 2nd time watching the movie; he recommend it. My 15 year old son starting reading the Bible when he got home. Awesome movie!

User review rating: 1 January 27, 2010

sweet movie

User review rating: 4 January 26, 2010

pretty good story, unique, havnt seen a movie like it.

User review rating: 5 January 24, 2010

this movie summons to contest the intelligence, the abilty to cope with the understanding of faith. those who dont understand or didnt like for some reason. may not know deity of our Lord Jesus and his holy word;the bible. i pray that once you finish the movie you walk away thirsty for the divine truth. read your bible, learn and act on it. dont lets others deviced you nor discourage you. God Bless you all.

User review rating: 5 January 24, 2010

saw it twice. All you need is an open mind and you're set. if you are undecided as to what you want to watch, this is the choice to make. Its not like "hey you're a christian go see this movie." its more on the side of how the government uses christianity against people, and how staying true to yourself and others. Just watch it. Soak in its message and live with the morals it teaches. :P

User review rating: 5 January 24, 2010

Great movie. I think this is pretty close to becoming reality, the planet has been here billions of years before mankind and will be here that much longer after every one is gone. I think if there is a spark of life left the earth will comepletely renew itself no matter how foolish mankind is. 5*

User review rating: 5 January 23, 2010

Very good movie!!!

User review rating: 5 January 23, 2010

one of the best i've seen in while

User review rating: 5 January 23, 2010

Beyond anything I expected, Go see this movie. For those of you who need flashing lights and loud noises to keep your attention, this movie is not for you. The depth of this movie is just mind blowing.

Change Location