Thank You For Smoking

Thank you for rating this movie!

Thank You For Smoking Movie Poster

3.96 / 5

User rating: 3.96

Based on 764 votes and 76 reviews


  • User rating: 3.96 36.11%
  • User rating: 3.96 42.06%
  • User rating: 3.96 11.31%
  • User rating: 3.96 2.78%
  • User rating: 3.96 7.74%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 76

User review rating: 4 June 09, 2010

I finally got around to seeing this movie and thought it was fantastic. It's one of the smartest, funniest movies I've seen in years.

User review rating: 0 November 17, 2006

A terrific film with a great cast and a great script,

User review rating: 0 October 17, 2006

Political satire about the American Lobbyist/Big Corp/ vs Government/media control of the American population. The MOD squad (Messangers Of Death) lunch meetings are funny and the alternate ending makes the movie controversial. Gets ****`s.

User review rating: 0 October 03, 2006

Extremely well done, smart, slick and crafty...Oh, did I mention the amazing cast. I hope it does well.

User review rating: 0 September 21, 2006

So funny, in the fact that the main character`s thinking is so illogical... like a moral story gone wrong.

User review rating: 0 September 20, 2006

I watched this movie on the plane. If I had a choice, I would have swiched it off- but I had to sit through the whole movie- nothing else to do. I expected it to come out with a stronger message, but was very disappointed.

User review rating: 0 September 06, 2006

amazing

User review rating: 0 August 31, 2006

A movie about smoking? What`s next?

User review rating: 0 August 28, 2006

It was a pretty good movie, well acted. I enjoyed the story plot it was original and the movie also makes you think how people are manipulated into doing things.

User review rating: 0 August 11, 2006

Thank You For Smoking was a great movie for the $4.75 that I paid. Today was the last day for it at the cheap theatre, so my BF and I decided to watch it as we`ve heard rave reviews from friends. I good rental and purchase(when it`s cheaper).

User review rating: 0 August 10, 2006

Excellent

User review rating: 0 July 27, 2006

Wait to rent this one.

User review rating: 0 July 19, 2006

A great satire!

User review rating: 0 July 12, 2006

I guess I did not get the movie but apparently it is a great movie just not for me

User review rating: 0 July 09, 2006

Good parody movie. Thought provoking. Good for Teens to see.

User review rating: 0 July 07, 2006

A thought-provoking film.

User review rating: 0 July 05, 2006

Good entering movie.Excellent acting especially by the lead actor,who could sell snow to eskimos. An oscar caliber preformance that will not be noticed by the academy.

User review rating: 0 June 30, 2006

Slick, intelligent and breezy. Reitman did a great job!

User review rating: 0 June 28, 2006

It was fun to watch and pretty humorous. Best of all, it didn`t have a predictable ending.

User review rating: 0 June 25, 2006

Excellent cast well directed sink their teeth into a fantastic script. While the humour is wry and the statistics to-the-gut the most incredible detail is that it`s based on the actual memoirs of a former Big Tobacco lobbyist. Why isn`t that detail more central in the marketing? It gives the film even more edge - as if it needed it. A smart, funny night out.

User review rating: 0 June 23, 2006

Hilarious and cynic!

User review rating: 0 June 23, 2006

Intelligent, witty, well acted and playing in my local theatre. The way it should be.

User review rating: 0 June 22, 2006

Very well done! Witty and quite funny!! A nice intelluctual change to the stale routine that comedy in film has become. 5 Stars!

User review rating: 0 June 21, 2006

Very smart,very witty,very funny. I would watch it again

User review rating: 0 June 20, 2006

A really funny movie. This one should be on top of the "gotta see it" list!

User review rating: 0 June 19, 2006

I thought this movie was superb. Excellent script and wonderful characters. two thumbs up!

User review rating: 0 June 17, 2006

A great Satire! Love Aaron in this one, funny and witty.

User review rating: 0 June 17, 2006

Hilarious, funny, smart, well-written. Rob Lowe almost steals the show in his kimono.

User review rating: 0 June 16, 2006

funny and very witty - GREAT

User review rating: 0 June 16, 2006

great movie and very witty. i was pleasantly surprised; it is much better than the trailer lets on.

User review rating: 0 June 16, 2006

Very interesting views into the world of tobacco, a definite must see!

User review rating: 0 June 16, 2006

"Thank You for Smoking," a satire about a D.C. lobbyist for Big Tobacco, takes pot shots at just about everything and everybody -- tobacco, guns, liquor, liberals, red-necks, anti- and pro-smoking advocates and self-serving politicians. It`s really about the Age of Spin, where with the right TV spokesperson even Adolph Hitler might come off as a misunderstood individual. If there is a problem with the feature debut of Jason Reitman, it`s that the tone and tenor of the movie is far removed from the real world of a D.C. lobbyist. Put it this way: How many times do you suppose MPAA`s Jack Valenti got kidnapped during his tenure in Washington

User review rating: 0 June 14, 2006

funny with great insights into the morality of the smoking industry

User review rating: 0 June 12, 2006

Excellent movie

User review rating: 0 June 11, 2006

Thought provoking- I hope they show this in school!

User review rating: 0 June 11, 2006

Excellent, really enjoyed it. Very funny but made you think - the sign of a really good movie. Great cast too.

User review rating: 0 June 10, 2006

One of the funniest movies I`ve seen in years!

User review rating: 0 June 09, 2006

Thought provoking without being too "heavy."

User review rating: 0 June 09, 2006

Funny, smart, clever written script with some great acting to back it up.

User review rating: 0 June 09, 2006

fantastic satire-hilarious

User review rating: 0 June 09, 2006

Excellent movie, loved it!

User review rating: 0 June 09, 2006

It`s Hot!

User review rating: 0 June 09, 2006

It had that wry humor and sensibility to it.

User review rating: 0 June 09, 2006

Our whole family really enjoyed this movie!

User review rating: 0 June 09, 2006

Really down to earth

User review rating: 0 June 09, 2006

Wonderfully engaging and smart moving! Terrific cast performances!

User review rating: 0 June 08, 2006

Well done movie which was very intriguing and nice......

User review rating: 0 June 06, 2006

A pleasant surprise, Thank you for not Smoking offers a tongue in cheek look at the personality of a fictional big tobaco lobbyist.

User review rating: 0 June 06, 2006

4 stars

User review rating: 0 June 05, 2006

Excellent movie, however, it is not accessible to the general population because they are mostly dumb - there has to be a reason why Reality TV flourishes!!!

Change Location