Straight Outta Compton

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.16 / 5

User rating: 3.16

Based on 334 votes and 55 reviews


  • User rating: 3.16 48.94%
  • User rating: 3.16 3.55%
  • User rating: 3.16 3.55%
  • User rating: 3.16 2.13%
  • User rating: 3.16 41.84%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 55

User review rating: 5 January 21, 2016

don't read all the stupid 1 and 2 star comments, bunch of trolls, you can clearly tell by their comments about this movie being a musical and how it would have been better without certain scenes. this is an ADAPTION of real events, some may be changed/exaggerated or what have you. Watch it and enjoy it and leave your prejudice and ignorance at the door.

User review rating: 5 January 02, 2016

loved it

User review rating: 5 January 02, 2016

wicked home

User review rating: 5 December 30, 2015

A must see for all ages !!!

User review rating: 5 October 06, 2015

this movie was dope!

User review rating: 5 October 01, 2015

The one review... Can't understand when they speak American?!?! What? Some advise stop writing reviews! This movie as expected is violent and like in most songs has swearing....shocker. It's great well done and tells the story of how NWA came to be. If you don't like rap.... Stay Home!!!

User review rating: 5 September 26, 2015

Watched it 10 times and counting

User review rating: 1 September 20, 2015

Needs english subtitles in some parts. Some parts are hard to understand when the characters are speaking american.

User review rating: 5 September 19, 2015

Amazing

User review rating: 5 September 18, 2015

I'm going to see this movie again. This will be my 4th time.

User review rating: 5 September 13, 2015

5 stars . Most def the best movie of the year. It was a little long but it didnt matter. Ice cubes son did a good job acting out his father. I laughed at the actor playing snoop dogg he looks nothing like him lol.

User review rating: 5 September 11, 2015

Great script, great actors, non-stop drama and comedy!

User review rating: 5 September 07, 2015

One of the best movies I've seen in a long time. It's a movie that everybody should see. Very well done.

User review rating: 5 September 06, 2015

Never realized what they went through at the time. How culturally racist people are in some areas of the world. Dictates how the power of one versus the power of many proves to be stronger willed. Hats off to these young men for standing up against authorities wrong doings and proving themselves worthy like any other.

User review rating: 5 September 05, 2015

excellent movie!

User review rating: 0 September 04, 2015

My,my, aren't we all so politically correct. Why do some people feel the need to idolize gangsters?

User review rating: 5 September 03, 2015

Wow, I never thought I would like this movie because I'm a senior and I don't listen to tht kind of music. It's well executed with a good storyline, even if you have no idea this is base on a true story. I would watch a second time .

User review rating: 5 September 03, 2015

Amazing! I do not listen to rap, never did and I truly enjoyed this movie. It was well made and the actors were great.

User review rating: 0 September 02, 2015

Given all the violence and degradation of women it's easy to see why this is so popular.

User review rating: 5 September 02, 2015

I love this movie so much. I am so happy they showed us their story, but of course there's always gotta be people who hate. If its not your style then why go see it in the first place? Like they said any publicity is good publicity :)

User review rating: 5 September 01, 2015

LOVEDD IT!! Felt so liberated afterwards!!??

User review rating: 5 September 01, 2015

Great movie, one of the best for the year! Just shows you with hard work no matter where you come from you can make it, follow your dreams.

User review rating: 5 August 28, 2015

Sheer Brilliance! i personally had the same smug attitude as Tom Brokaw, NBC News Anchor, towards NWA's artistic lyrics and expression. After watching Straight Outta Compton, i now recognize NWA as creative geniuses reflecting the darkness of a margenalized and stereotyped group.

User review rating: 0 August 28, 2015

Violent - too much crappy rap - women degraded - this movie STINKS.

User review rating: 5 August 28, 2015

Fantastic movie! I don't like profanity; however, it was not gratuitous but simply reflects the way people on the streets and in these neighbourhoods speak. I'm not sure why some individuals keep referring to the movie as a musical which it clearly is not. Although familiar with a lot of the music, I was not that familiar with NWA and I still got a lot from the movie. It speaks of social and economical injustice as it relates to power, racism, breaking stereo types and is so much more than just a movie that you watch and leave the theatre thinking that "it was entertaining." I strongly recommend seeing this movie and keep an open mind as well as comparing many of the themes to what is still happening in society today.

User review rating: 5 August 25, 2015

great movie, got watch!!!

User review rating: 5 August 23, 2015

Best song: A B*tch Iz a B*tch.

User review rating: 1 August 23, 2015

Made me pine for Grease 2. :(

User review rating: 5 August 22, 2015

Very good you saw everything how they started to how they finished very powerful and hits hard with a punch a great movie about music history make sure you see this one

User review rating: 5 August 22, 2015

Very talented group of men.

User review rating: 5 August 20, 2015

Amazing movie

User review rating: 5 August 19, 2015

This movie should be shown in every classroom in America.

User review rating: 4 August 19, 2015

I actually enjoyed this one, wasn't expecting much going into it, but I came away very suprised! Well worth it!

User review rating: 5 August 19, 2015

I normally don't post reviews but I thought this movie deserved 5 stars. I didn't have high expectations going in to it but I was pleasantly surprised. The actors did a great job and the story line was captivating. I'm glad I went. I would recommend it!

User review rating: 4 August 18, 2015

This movie was great...shows the rise of these stars and great background information about an important group of young men...

User review rating: 1 August 18, 2015

the actors should have been singing all of their lines, that would have made this more believable as a musical.I was very disappointed with the historical inaccuracies of this film ,mc gusto wasn't in this film at all!very poor screen adaptation!

User review rating: 1 August 18, 2015

This is the worst movie ever made, Cb4 is way better !( I'm black y'all!)

User review rating: 0 August 18, 2015

Hopefully the success of this movie will lead to a bio of Vanilla Ice, arguably the greatest rapper of them all.

User review rating: 0 August 17, 2015

Why are there No Women Allowed?

User review rating: 2 August 17, 2015

Could have done without the coarse language and gang violence, not to mention the degradation of women.

User review rating: 0 August 16, 2015

Had such a good time at this! These guys have influenced everyone from 2 Live Crew to Justin Bieber! Everyone in the theater was singing along word for word!

User review rating: 1 August 16, 2015

Dreamgirls has it all over this needlessly violent and noisy musical; better songs, better cast, better movie.

User review rating: 5 August 16, 2015

Don't watch this movie unless you know the background of the film. People giving this one star because they think this is a musical or family movie are pretty dumb. Do your research before watching the movie. This is based on the true story of the pioneers of gangster rap. So you should know where this is going. These guys are legends in the hip hop scene, and if that's not your cup of tea don't watch it. Nwa does not stand for No Women Allowed. It stands for N****S With Attitude. Anyone under 35 probably don't know who they are but, they will know members of the group like Dr. DRE, and Ice Cube. These guys came before Tupac and Biggie and inspired those legends.

User review rating: 0 August 16, 2015

Worth the price of admission if only to see the "Jem and the Holograms" teaser.

User review rating: 5 August 15, 2015

I really liked this movie. ITS NOT a MUSICAL people...it s a biopic of NWA. If you don't know who they are or listen to hip hop then don't watch this movie.

User review rating: 0 August 15, 2015

I am gonna say this in all honesty to the ones who rated this movie 1 star. this is not a kids movie and if you are not familiar with NWA and their body of work chances are you won't dig this movie. this movie is for the true diehard fans of both NWA and hip hop music in general. this movie depicts the rise and fall (and everything in between) of a group that changed the rules of what a hip hop group could be. it's a shame that they never really got the chance to do more because in my honest opinion had the reunion became reality they would left an even bigger mark than they did.then again 2 albums from this group and he we are still talking about them almost 30 years later not to mention the camps that came out of the split of NWA (ice cube,eazy-e and dr.dre, mc ren had a decent career as well.) this movie solidifies that legacy that NWA left and will never be forgotten.

User review rating: 3 August 14, 2015

CAN'T STOP THE MUSIC for a new generation.

User review rating: 0 August 14, 2015

Zero stars! The people who made this movie have no idea how to make a musical. I suggest the producers watch Singin' in the Rain before they embarrass themselves even more with their next feature...

User review rating: 5 August 14, 2015

No person of color could ever rate this film under 5 stars unless ofcourse your a conservative. So historic. Political. Immersing. Real. Touching, funny. Characters were spot on you would swear you were in Compton. The greats came to life Easy-E, Dre, Pac, Snoop and yes Suge Knight representing in quadruple OG status lol too much! Best movie of the summer for realness. A must see for any true hiphop fan #wasthereanydoubt

User review rating: 1 August 14, 2015

Why do all the "songs" sound the same???

Change Location