Spanglish

Thank you for rating this movie!

Spanglish Movie Poster

2.93 / 5

User rating: 2.93

Based on 2861 votes and 92 reviews


  • User rating: 2.93 42.74%
  • User rating: 2.93 4.83%
  • User rating: 2.93 3.12%
  • User rating: 2.93 1.35%
  • User rating: 2.93 47.96%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 92

User review rating: 0 August 06, 2006

Every person in this movie has their feelings hurt or heart broken and somehow James Brooks tries to turn it into a comedy...it`s beyond me!

User review rating: 0 August 02, 2006

Come on everyone, it`s a love story!

User review rating: 0 July 27, 2006

Why stay with an unfaithful woman who loves you for your money or go to the one who loves you for who you are...and has morals...what to do, what to do??

User review rating: 0 July 26, 2006

James Brooks has created a film that is far to subtle and beautiful for the average american movie goer. To really apreciate this film one has to watch it a dozen times...as I have.

User review rating: 0 July 20, 2006

I loved this movie and hated it at the same time. I hated the time warps. To name one, it seems as if they have just moved into the summer house and then, a few arguments later...there`s a scene of Flor and her daughter getting off the bus back in town. The family moved back home without even a word that summer is over! I loved, Flor - it would have been great if she had learned english early on. It was close to the end of the movie before she started speaking english and that was when she was at her sexiest. They could`ve made a whole movie of her speaking like that and believe me it would have been a hit! She is the sexiest latino aro

User review rating: 0 July 20, 2006

Poor John, dumped twice in one night. All they did in this movie was fight...no wonder it flopped.

User review rating: 0 July 19, 2006

The better version of this movie was probably edited out. I`m sure most people left this movie mumbling why?? Why the flimsy little romance between John and Flor? Why have Flor break John`s heart -what purpose did that serve? Why have Deb screw around for three months, be a total B. and not have to sufer the consequences?? People want to be entertained at the movies not get a lesson in ethics 101. Jeez brooks at least let John Have the fantasy or don`t go there at all. I can do that myself and not go to the movies.

User review rating: 0 July 16, 2006

I simply fell in love with Paz Vega and her character Flor. She was perfecto!

User review rating: 0 April 30, 2006

The movie was outstanding!!! It shows the real life of people. It also shows the love between a mother and doughter-whitch is very entertaining!

User review rating: 0 December 05, 2005

Deaply moving performances by all the cast members. They showed a pg rated view of the dynamic between Mexican and Anglo-Saxon culture with in the United States using the posh part of Los Angeles as a back drop.

User review rating: 0 October 09, 2005

Beautiful movie. Deeply emotional but does not get dark.

User review rating: 0 October 03, 2005

it was borin and stupid

User review rating: 0 September 24, 2005

Excellent movie. Great acts by all memebrs of teh cast. Great job by the director. Characters are properly places with great performance. Audiance get involved in the movie immediately and follow the act with love and passion. I wish there were more movies of the kind.

User review rating: 0 June 13, 2005

i enjoyed the movie - but there was a lot going on..perhaps too much...It was obvious that each character had a lifetime of issues..(Dad/daughter, Mom/daughter, Alcoholic Has-Been Mom, etc.) and the dialogue eluded to it, but then left us trying to fill the gaps. Lots of loose ends.Superb acting - these characters - as complex and real as they were, could only appear that way because of the great actors.

User review rating: 0 June 13, 2005

Finally, someone has made a movie about doing the "right thing" for your child and it was funny, touching, and edgy. I wanted "them" to make love, but it would have spoiled the integrity of good parenting. In today`s world we need to see people doing the right thing even though it is hard. I am a teacher and I see the results of soooo many children marred by parents making decisions without thinking long term about their children. The white lies, the inconsistant rules, stretching rules, no rules, no guidance, wrong guidance is an epidemic in America. They seem too busy to really connect with their child, too busy trying to dominate their

User review rating: 0 April 27, 2005

Adam Sandler has the potential to be a worthy dramatic actor. Adam Sandler could follow in the foot steps of his fellow comedians actors Robin Williams and Jamie Foxx [both Oscar award-winning ;)] His performance in this movie was spectacular and one could feel (and possibly empathise?)what his character was going through.

User review rating: 0 April 27, 2005

The movie was great and could of been a great family movie except for the sex scene. It really wasn`t necessary and we had to bums rush my nephew to get him out of the living room. Other than that the movie was great. The actors were exceptional. At no time did not believe the actors not being their role. Just great jobs. Says a lot about the director.

User review rating: 0 April 16, 2005

The movie did a brilliant job at showing the struggle of an immigrant woman and her child here in America. It truly captured the point of view of this character...so much so that it`s doubtful that Mel Brooks thought all this up himself. I`m sure he had help from someone who really lived it. Where was this unknown woman / women in the credits??? Also what was unbelievable was the family in this movie: there was SOOOOO much crying and rambling passionate dialog--Americans aren`t like this at all.

User review rating: 0 April 12, 2005

This story is typical of how many white Americans view our Hispanic friends. We want them to learn English and our culture but don`t give a hoot about theirs. Paz Vega is a beautiful Hispanic woman and I can`t wait to see more of her.

User review rating: 0 April 10, 2005

It was truly lovely. How refreshing to see a character driven film. The love story was handled in such a beautiful, sensitive manner.The movie was perfectly cast, Paz Vega is wonderful

User review rating: 0 April 07, 2005

VERY ENTERTAINING!!!

User review rating: 0 March 08, 2005

Not much in way of an interesting story line. I was waiting for something to happen in this movie and I am still waiting.

User review rating: 0 March 05, 2005

This movie was okay. Not as good as I thought it would be but all right. ***

User review rating: 0 March 04, 2005

This was the best movie of the year! Brookes is a truly great director (As good as it gets) who gets "it" when it comes to touching comedic performances and great human stories.

User review rating: 0 February 28, 2005

It was a very disappointing and horribly boring movie. Which might otherwise be ok, if not for its pool of pointless scenes and misdirection from intro to end. zzzzZZZZZzzzzZZZZzzzzz. (IS THIS AN ADULT MOVIE??? Or is this an attempt to recreate Legally Blonde`s style in a SERIOUS BORING version?---a total mismatch.) Otherwise movie COULD have been a Nice story about values and roots.

User review rating: 0 February 26, 2005

Spanglish is one of those rare movies that pull into the story and let you enjoy the ride.

User review rating: 0 February 22, 2005

Such a nice movie. It`s so rare to find a movie where you ar enthralled for the entire show.

User review rating: 0 February 19, 2005

I think more of an adult movie...it wasn`t great and deffinately not a family movie i think its supposed to be a family PROBLEM movie and wasn`t happy and I think that mom is a B*TCH and it was kinda inapropriate anyway 2**

User review rating: 0 February 14, 2005

A good feel good movie, especially for those who grew up as a minority. Adam Sandler does a good job, with some Sandleresk moments!

User review rating: 0 February 09, 2005

It was awesome.

User review rating: 0 February 03, 2005

Great movie!

User review rating: 0 February 01, 2005

It sucked!!!!! I was so disappointed in it. Tea leoni`s character was so annoying and ridiculous that I couldn`t believe he chose to stay with her. she made me want to punch her, there were no redeeming qualities in her at all. The story was all over the place. I DO NOT recommend this movie to anyone.

User review rating: 0 January 25, 2005

I feel Adam Sandler did a fine job and is under rated in this movie. And Paz Vega is stunning and refreshing in her role. Also I feel that Tea Lenoni did an excellent job as well. Very good casting here!!!

User review rating: 0 January 22, 2005

Don`t usually like Adam Sandler but in this movie... he is GREAT! Paz Vega is Fantastic, as well as actress playing her daughter`s part.

User review rating: 0 January 16, 2005

WOW... Awesome movie for sure a must see!!!! I have no idea how James Brooks got the story of my life over the last 3 years but here it is on the big screen. The way it ended sure leaves it open to a Sequel movie. Trust me I know....I hope Mr. Brooks has a sequel in the works to complete this love story.

User review rating: 0 January 14, 2005

Adam Sandler is awesome! is there any movie he ever stared in that didn`t rock???

User review rating: 0 January 14, 2005

I had no expectations when I sat down to watch the film, but was presently surprised buy Adam Sandler and the role that he played. Good movie, would see it again!

User review rating: 0 January 13, 2005

Not the best movie I`ve ever seen. Quite a disappointing ending.

User review rating: 0 January 11, 2005

AMAZING MOVIE!! This movie is a MUST see! Everyone did a great job acting and it was actually a meaningful movie rather than just some movie filled with naked women and meaningless action. GO SEE IT!

User review rating: 0 January 10, 2005

It was truly lovely. How refreshing to see a character driven film. The love story was handled in such a beautiful, sensitive manner.The movie was perfectly cast, Paz Vega is wonderful.

User review rating: 0 January 09, 2005

I`m not normall a big fan of this genre, but I must say this was a plesant surprised. The characters depicted were done brilliantly. From Tea leoni`s obession of portraying the perfect image/money buys all, to Adam Sandler`s down to earth Character, to flor`s appreciation of own`s on identity. Sure they were taking jabs at rich people, but money brings short term thrills but doesn`t provide long term happiness.

User review rating: 0 January 09, 2005

A wonderful film. Finally a movie where big stars didn`t get in the way of the story.

User review rating: 0 January 08, 2005

WOW - I just came from this movie, and quickly perused some of the reviews. To each his/her own I guess. I (and my 2 friends) thought this movie was sooo good. It was funny, sweet, real, Adam Sandler was awesome in a role that is such a departure for him from his usual goofy role, and Vega, Leoni, and the 2 girls that played the daughters were sooo good. I can`t believe anyone took offense at the `elitist` private school business. Get the chip off your shoulder. I thought it was a believable love story ...I only wish...I could complete that sentence - but those of you who saw it will perhaps know what i mean. Also, anyone who goes to

User review rating: 0 January 07, 2005

I am usually pretty critical of many of the movies that are released, but I have to say that I thoroughly enjoyed this one! I`m not a huge Adam Sandler fan, but I found his performance as well as the others to be very good! This movie was a pleasant surprise!

User review rating: 0 January 07, 2005

I love Adam Sandler as an actor, funny, but this is not one of his best

User review rating: 0 January 07, 2005

Normally, I can`t stand Adam Sandler but I think he did a great job in this straight role. The movie`s theme was wonderful!

User review rating: 0 January 07, 2005

I LOVED THIS MOVIE! Incredible characters portrayed excellently by a talented team of actors. Loveable but flawed humans tossed together in a salad spinner -- another Brooks masterpiece on humanity.

User review rating: 0 January 05, 2005

Terrible movie...Not worth much of a review!

User review rating: 0 January 05, 2005

This movie is HORRIBLE!! I thought the ease with which the writer/ producers critcized Americans was disgusting, but I guess it is not PC for me to bring that up. Also, those evil kids at a, gulp, PRIVATE school are to apparently be avoided at all cost, unless you want your kids to "become like THEM". Spare me the racist, elitist droll. I want my money and time back!

User review rating: 0 January 04, 2005

The characters were very good, but severely ruined by the story line. Very little happened in the middle hour and a half. The other 45 minutes, the beginning and the end, were okay. Note to those anti-Sandler- very clean, non-humourous chararacter in this one. Overall, though, needs some serious pickups in the plot line.

Change Location