Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow

Thank you for rating this movie!

Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow Movie Poster

3.84 / 5

User rating: 3.84

Based on 4600 votes and 76 reviews


  • User rating: 3.84 67.58%
  • User rating: 3.84 2.98%
  • User rating: 3.84 1.83%
  • User rating: 3.84 0.94%
  • User rating: 3.84 26.68%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 76

User review rating: 5 December 09, 2012

A spectacular action-adventure! I'm picking this up the second it hits blu-ray!

User review rating: 0 June 23, 2009

If you want giant robots, SKY CAPTAIN is the one to see!!! One of the most visually spectacular movies ever made!

User review rating: 0 August 15, 2006

The graphics in this movie were very good. I thought the acting could have been better though. 3.5 stars

User review rating: 0 February 02, 2006

Personally, I enjoyed it. I will not deny that the movie was hard to follow, but it did have special effects that made the movie woth watching. Gwenneth didn`t impress me at all and her lines were very cheesy and annoying. Angelina and Jude, however, were excellent. They should of given Angelina a more dominant role because she is a better actress than Gwenneth.

User review rating: 0 June 13, 2005

It`s called SKY CAPTAIN AND THE WORLD OF TOMORROW. WHY! would you see it?

User review rating: 0 May 13, 2005

IT was retarted. It was boreing, fake, and every thing was animated but the people. It had a domb story line. One star.

User review rating: 0 February 25, 2005

I think thsi movie was great. It had some of the best action sequences I`d ever scene. Sure, it took journeys to lands from other movies, but it was still good. And acting is hard to do when it`s all done on a green screen, so give the actors some credit.

User review rating: 0 January 29, 2005

If you didn`t like this movie, you didn`t get it! It`s so NOT mainstream and it`s soooo good. I could see this movie having a cult following like "Nightmare Before Christmas." I think it will take the rest of the world years to catch up to Kerry`s vision and art. Art it is. You can`t watch this movie and just look at it like a regular movie. It`s moving art.

User review rating: 0 January 02, 2005

Fell asleep. Horrible acting, story. No screen chemistry. Computer graphics already outdated.

User review rating: 0 December 25, 2004

I THOUGHT IT WAS A PRETTY GOOD SCI FI MOVIE. THERE WAS SOME GOOD ACTING AND PRETTY SOPHISTICATED PLOT. I ENJOYED WATHCING IT.

User review rating: 0 November 20, 2004

I literally fell asleep in the theatre

User review rating: 0 October 24, 2004

"Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow" was a really enjoyable time at the movies; one of the better films I`ve seen this year. There isn`t any one thing to highlight --- it just worked.

User review rating: 0 October 17, 2004

this movie was ok. The acting was alright, and i loved the soft focus and the whole feel to the movie. the only thing was that the dialouge was awful. it was choppy, cheezy and not very good at all which made the movie sometimes hard to sit through. other than that it was ok.

User review rating: 0 October 15, 2004

OK...that`s how i would discribe it. Gwyeneth drove me NUTS! She was aweful, and her character stunk! But Jude and Angelina are true STARS...!! The fantesy was fun, and the script origional...without Gwyeneth, it would have been a 5 star movie...I give it a 3. Wait for the rental!

User review rating: 0 October 09, 2004

Gwyneth stinks and so does the dialogue. Enjoyed the rest though-worth $9.

User review rating: 0 October 09, 2004

This movie was very original. But I enjoyed it. Some parts were a little slow moving, but it had a lot of action and cool effects. It was an interesting style of movie they chose to do, it`s like the 1930`s and the future in one. There was a lot of good humor in it which i was happy to see. It was a decent movie, but I`d probably say wait for the rental.

User review rating: 0 October 09, 2004

This was the worst movie I have seen in 2004. The story line was very week and if I had wanted to see a movie filmed in the thirties I would try to rent one for $2.00 instead of pay $2I.50

User review rating: 0 October 07, 2004

This movie wasn`t that good.. the plot was like pretty lame and it just wasn`t that good.

User review rating: 0 October 06, 2004

FANTASTIC!

User review rating: 0 October 06, 2004

The most fun I`ve had at the movies in a long time. It`s fluff, but it`s incredibly imaginative and delicious fluff. If you can`t suspend disbelief don`t bother going. But if you can sit back and smile at true sci-fi camp, you`re going to smile... ...a LOT. This will be a must on my DVD list.

User review rating: 0 October 05, 2004

Not enough angelina jolie.

User review rating: 0 October 01, 2004

I think this was a great movie I especially loved the special effects. The movie has a wonderful cast. I would definitely see it again.

User review rating: 0 September 28, 2004

This Movie has new meaning to Entertainment! Excellent Idea being filmed in 30`s style! The toys and special effects are Amazing... Brillant Mind... Gwyneth & Jude have the chemisty working.. Angela Jolie looks so cool as always... Let your fall into the Adventure and take nothing more with you.. and You`ll Love it... Take a chance on Something new!!!

User review rating: 0 September 28, 2004

Great movie. Nice to see something out of the ordinary for a change.

User review rating: 0 September 28, 2004

This was a good movie, but only if you like the old Republic serials or Flash Gordon or any of the light hearted adventure serials and movies from the 30`s to 50`s. The special effects are completely state of the art, but the story is _not_ complex and the themes are neither modern nor terribly intricate. It`s a straight forward action flic that will appeal to both younger and older audiences. The acting is fair, but the acting is not the focus of the movie. The effects and "gee whizz" attitude from an earlier time are what this is all about. And in that, it delivers completely. Oh and for those reading the other comments, it _is_ sci-fi (

User review rating: 0 September 27, 2004

I thought that the movie was excellent, and any movie with Jude Law in it is amazing. He is so impressive to me with his skills. Jude Law is by far the best actor of this generation!:-)

User review rating: 0 September 26, 2004

Good special effects and bad story. This is NOT sci-fi.

User review rating: 0 September 26, 2004

Making the movie in the 30s style seemed to be more important than making a good movie. Acting was lame, and the special effects looked too fake.

User review rating: 0 September 26, 2004

Fantastic adventure flic. The kiddies should like it too, but if you`re old enough to remember the old Republic serials like Spy Smasher, you`ll really get a kick out of it. You`ll even spot nods to "King Kong", "War of the Worlds", and "Lost Horizon", amongst others. Ton o` Fun.

User review rating: 0 September 25, 2004

I just saw finished watching this movie only a half hour ago and there`s a lot I can say about it. I, personally really enjoyed the film. It had everything: action, comedy, and romance. I thought its style of film and time era made the film very unique an different from others before it (that made me enjoy the film even more, but some might think otherwise). The only thing is....if you are expecting to see a lot of Angelina Jolie you won`t get it. She`s only in about twenty minutes of the movie and her parts are split up. Happy Watching...Alex!

User review rating: 0 September 25, 2004

Childish, lacking in character, horrifically soft-filtered. An attempt by Hollywood to cheapen production costs by using ONLY CGI.

User review rating: 0 September 24, 2004

It was a herald back to the days of Flash Gordon, bringing some of the innocents of a bygone age, really enjoyable film that lets you escape the hum drum and bussle of life.

User review rating: 0 September 24, 2004

I thought it was quite terrible actually. The characters weren`t believable...i liked the soft lighting and the 1930`s era...but the whole story was just rushed..there was no development.

User review rating: 0 September 23, 2004

special effects were good................

User review rating: 0 September 23, 2004

You need to be into the 1930/40`s style of movies. If you`re not, you probably won`t like it much. If you like movies similar to Casablanca, you`ll probably enjoy it.

User review rating: 0 September 23, 2004

Really shocking.... I wanted to get out 5 minutes after the movie started....

User review rating: 0 September 23, 2004

IT was really bad, I walked out after 45 mins, it was like a B movie from the 60`s. The special effects were good, but it was so corney it was not even funny. dont waste your time or money.

User review rating: 0 September 23, 2004

Holy Cow...I couldn`t wait until the end of the movie (have no idea how I sat through it) to get up and scream my thoughts. The worst movie I have ever seen. Could not get over how this was even accepted to be in the Film Festival where it was originally going to be. Forget the actors because they made absolutely no difference in this film. Minnie and Mickey Mouse could have had the same impact. I pray that I never ever have to sit through something like that again.

User review rating: 0 September 23, 2004

something just seemed.....wrong

User review rating: 0 September 22, 2004

The reporter is really annoying. Throughout the movie I just feel like letting her die. Two thumbs down for the movie. WAY DOWN

User review rating: 0 September 22, 2004

This was a disappointing experience for both my wife and me. We thought the movie would be in color, for one. After all, the trailers on TV show everything in color. It was very reminiscent of the 1940`s and 50`s short movies that ran between the cartoon and main feature at the movie theatres of our youth.

User review rating: 0 September 21, 2004

Great film and effects. Finally a movie with an actual script!

User review rating: 0 September 21, 2004

I didnt think that I would like this movie but when I saw it, it was amazing. The way the movie was shot was amazing. The clothes were great and the acting and comedy were really good. Who knew that I would recommend this movie to my friends and actually be willing to see it again.Gwenyth Paltrow is Hot in this movie and of cousr Angelina Jolie is always hot.

User review rating: 0 September 21, 2004

Wonderful Cinemagraphics, those amazing shots reminiscent of Maxfield Parish, in Shangri la . And wow, that British technology! And of course Ms. Angelina Jolie what more can be said, but absolutely - Wonderful!

User review rating: 0 September 21, 2004

It was one of the best moovies i have ever seen

User review rating: 0 September 21, 2004

i want 2 watch it again and again top of my list

User review rating: 0 September 21, 2004

An AMAZING film!!! I`ve never seen anything like it before...the cinematic & stylish film noir of the 1930`s was stunning! I went to see this film not expecting anything (besides the fact that I have a HUGE crush on Gwyneth Paltrow) but I left the theatre satisfied...so this was how people felt when they were watching movies back in the 30`s...AWESOME!!!

User review rating: 0 September 20, 2004

i think its b.s that if u dont like this flim, u dont like movies, its just too bold a comment for this horrible movie, shaq does better acting than jude law, and i was confused to the point of leaving this movie. Kazam was a better movie. this is what it should read "if u like this flim, that u just dont like movies."

User review rating: 0 September 20, 2004

Since I`m not from the 1930`s I can`t comment on how much SkyCap is like a 30`s movie, but today and now I would expect more from this movie. It was a waste of a good cast, and the story line is pretty limp. But the few min`s of air fighting was cool, and Angelina had too short screen time. 3 stars

User review rating: 0 September 20, 2004

this is an awesome movie, and anyone who did not like it should not be going to see movies. People are ranting and raving about absolutely nothing. This movie can not get any better, and Jude Law as the hero is the nicest touch. This movie would have been great with nothing more than the most basic set behind it. Kudos to the actors and directors

Change Location