Open Water

Thank you for rating this movie!

Open Water Movie Poster

2.71 / 5

User rating: 2.71

Based on 2394 votes and 192 reviews


  • User rating: 2.71 33.68%
  • User rating: 2.71 7.54%
  • User rating: 2.71 4.97%
  • User rating: 2.71 3.62%
  • User rating: 2.71 50.19%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 192

User review rating: 0 February 21, 2006

great movie ! A1

User review rating: 0 January 07, 2006

it was alright; don`t waste your money getting it though; just glad i got it via the library for free instead of paying $5 at the movie place

User review rating: 0 December 02, 2005

TERRIBLE MOVIE EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!

User review rating: 0 July 13, 2005

WHY?.....Did I go see this movie.

User review rating: 0 June 14, 2005

most horrible movie ive seen...honestly did they make it in three hours..give me the camera and i`ll show ya a movie

User review rating: 0 May 15, 2005

good movie..makes you think twice about doing things on vaction

User review rating: 0 May 07, 2005

people who must have enjoyed this movie , probably most likely never saw what water looked like before, thats what most likely the reason why they enjoyed this dump, other than that i cant understand why anybody enjoys this movie, its horrible, its so bad it almost makes spy kids 3D look good. dont bother renting it, - review by doofer

User review rating: 0 April 18, 2005

BOOOOOOOOOORING

User review rating: 0 April 15, 2005

IT REALLY MAKES YOU THINK, MY HUSBAND & i HAVE BEEN ON BOAT TRIPS SUCH AS THIS FOR THE DAY, AND WE NEVER REALLY THOUGHT OF SOMETHING LIKE THIS HAPPENING, SURE MAKES YOU THINK!

User review rating: 0 April 14, 2005

This movie was very well done and a nice change from the hollywood norm. It was completely haunting and actully kept me from sleeping on a work night...not good! But I was impressed at how real the actors seemed. You could feel just what they were feeling. Their emotions going from calm and optimistic to denial, anger and sheer terror.

User review rating: 0 March 29, 2005

Very poorly done

User review rating: 0 March 12, 2005

At first I thought the movie was going to be a bomb, then as it went on, It became very interesting. I thought the ending was great. Not what I expected at all.

User review rating: 0 March 06, 2005

This year`s Blair Witch Project. Made on a budget of about $10. A good effort, but they`re making about 1000 times more than they should. When the movie ended, abruptly, I felt like I was just mugged. With the quality of film, I`d expect this shown on TV as a docudrama, certainly not in a theatre paying $12 a head. Okay film, but not worth the price of admission. And I`ll never be fooled by `based on true events` again.

User review rating: 0 February 26, 2005

I am a 36 year old man and consider myself "mature". This movie was horrible. The plot? Two people are stranded in water where there are sharks. That`s it, i goes on and on but that`s it. No twists, no turns, nothing. Time passes. Same thing, 2 people, stranded in water where there are sharks. Then the end comes - mercifully. By this time, you don`t care what happens. If you liked the Blair Witch Project, you would probably still hate this movie but not as much as if you thought Blair Witch was bad - like I did. This is much worse. Save your money and rent Casablanca. That`s a great movie, even if you`ve seen it, and so much more

User review rating: 0 February 20, 2005

Disturbing, with an intensely claustrophobic feel eventhough the couple is out on the open ocean. Shark scenes though were more limited than I had anticipated. This though tends to lend to the `authentic` feel of the film.

User review rating: 0 February 11, 2005

i didn`t like it the whole movie they were in the water the movie was the most boring movie i`v ever seen!

User review rating: 0 February 07, 2005

I loved it!!! Very interesting and it really made concentrate at the actors and the sharks

User review rating: 0 February 03, 2005

A very involving movie, with two leading characters you actually care about as they try to have a weekend of romantic pleasure and end up facing deep, dark terror as they face their likely mortality, lost in the middle of the ocean.

User review rating: 0 February 01, 2005

I found the film to be very powerful and certainly the opposite of a typical Hollywood film where the love scene would have been marvelous (and not "I am too tired," and the couple would have been rescued at the last moment by a deus ex machina.

User review rating: 0 January 31, 2005

If there was a setting for "NO STARS" it`d be getting that one.

User review rating: 0 January 31, 2005

Lame movie. Totally lacked plot, screen play, action, interesting dialogue.. pretty much everything that makes a good movie. Save your money and rent something else.

User review rating: 0 January 30, 2005

Well written, riveting. Mostly believable, especially when showing the reactions of the couple to their predicament. Does not sell out with Hollywood ending. Actual situation may not be very likely to occur, but that`s beside the point. This film is about how people respond to being placed in a nightmare situation, as they gradually realize that there is no hope of escape. Effectively shows them going through the stages of grief (denial, bargaining, rage, acceptance, etc.).

User review rating: 0 January 30, 2005

This is one of the worst movies I have ever seen. I want my money back!

User review rating: 0 January 30, 2005

It was alright, worth seeing due to its uniqueness. The lead chick is a babe for sure. Pic sure makes ya think.......

User review rating: 0 January 30, 2005

Overall, I felt that the movie was well-done. It was similar to the Blair Witch Project in that suspense was slowly created without the viewer being subjected to the gory details. The most worthwhile portion of this film was the focus on human interactions in the face of tragedy. One could speculate about the propriety of the ending. For those critics who mourn the lack of Hollywood Action flick tactics, go see Alien vs. Predator. I certainly won`t.

User review rating: 0 January 20, 2005

I really enjoyed this movie. It kept me on my seat. I was cluching my husbands shirt the entire time. I especially like the non-"hollywood" ending. You just don`t see that in movies very much, but reality is that it doesn`t always end with a happy note!

User review rating: 0 January 18, 2005

It was the most pathetic waste of time and money I`ve ever spent. Thank goodness I rented it to view at home. PITIFUL!

User review rating: 0 January 18, 2005

PATHETIC MOVIE!!! WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY. BAD ACTING AND NO STORY TO IT. WHAT A HORRIBLE ENDING.

User review rating: 0 January 16, 2005

This movie was incredibly well done and i thoroughly enjoyed it. I did not expect much from it and was very surprised. I would recommend it to people who enjoy movies with not a lot of "action" or "scenery changes" and who prefer movies with human interactions, feelings, thoughts and what if kind of questions.

User review rating: 0 January 15, 2005

Obviously low-budget, but still some suspenseful moments.

User review rating: 0 January 14, 2005

This movie was not meant to be action-packed, only suspensful and disturbing. And it did a fine job of doing so. I enjoyed this movie, and I recommend this to anyone who has patience and can enjoy a good drama.

User review rating: 0 January 13, 2005

It`s one of those movies that leaves you thinking days afterward... haunting! And this happens more often than we think.

User review rating: 0 January 10, 2005

More details on how the makers of the movie came to conclude the happenings of the couple while in the water. For instance, how was it known that they ran into a shool of jellyfish?

User review rating: 0 January 10, 2005

Very scary.it could happens to anyone

User review rating: 0 January 07, 2005

Just finished watching it and thought it was boring. I kept waiting for it to get good.

User review rating: 0 January 06, 2005

Great, for an indie!!!

User review rating: 0 January 06, 2005

Suspense all the way, quite scary!! Excellent film. You can actually feel what the characters are feeling!! I mean they are helplessand also great job the way they portray the different stages of the couple like first being kind of optimistic, then there blaming game! excellent movie

User review rating: 0 January 06, 2005

Suspense all the way, quite scary!! Excellent film.

User review rating: 0 January 05, 2005

Low budget, but quite entertaining. Silly ending.

User review rating: 0 January 04, 2005

This movie has bad acting,no dialog, and makes you want to get sea sick with it`s relentless waves. So if you really want to run an unwanted admirer off...go rent this badly directed piece of garbage.

User review rating: 0 January 04, 2005

HORRIBLE!!!! enough said, save your money!!!

User review rating: 0 January 03, 2005

the way this movie was made could be considered cheep and an inexperienced method of creation was used, this was the only interesting part of the movie. the actors were bad, script was bad and the story could have been told in a minute trailor. in fact, the trailor is the entire movie. this may have been one of the worst movies i have ever seen.

User review rating: 0 January 03, 2005

It was the high seas version of "Blare Witch" with alot less dialogue plus some extremely boring shots of wave after wave. Only positive note is a stunning Blanchard Ryan. I do believe that the director tried to capture real life in all it`s boring detail rather than a flashy hollywood script that is usually too far fetched for anyone to swallow. Bottom line, should have been a documentary rather than a movie. Stuart from Ontario

User review rating: 0 January 03, 2005

I understand this movie is based on true events. It would be interesting to find out about the real story where to find it and what has happened to the couple. Judging from the movie, it must have been sheer terror for the real couple. I loved that movie. Very fine acting, the actors were so convincing that I could feel their emotions expressed on their face throughout the movie. You could sense their emotions progressing from hope to anger and to despair. It was very suspenseful and realistic. Job very well done Mr. Travis!

User review rating: 0 January 03, 2005

this moviee wass soooooooooo BORINGG..my friends boyfriend rented it..and all four of the ppl watching it..including myself fell asleep..i kept thinkin okay it has to get better..but it got WORSE..the quality looked like a cheap porno film and the whole movie is a couple yellin at each other while floating in the sea..puree GARBAGE..dun`t go see this movie..its HORRIBLEE!!

User review rating: 0 January 03, 2005

I just finished watching the movie and I am very upset with the ending. The ending definately destroyed all the good in the movie. The suspense in the movie was what made it good. If only it would have had a different ending. I would not recommend it to anyone.

User review rating: 0 January 02, 2005

This movie was OK....I`ve seen better shark movies, BUT, other than that it wasn`t that bad!!! It was kinda cool how they used real sharks!!! Even though they weren`t dangerous....but i wouldn`t want to be in water with dangerous sharks anyways!!! it was really brave of them even if the sharks weren`t dangerous..it would still be kinda scary!!!!! Especially if one bumped into you!!!!! :O

User review rating: 0 January 02, 2005

I would really like my money back. This was the worst movie I have ever watched.

User review rating: 0 January 02, 2005

I was scared - having just bought my fiancé diving cert. courses for Christmas. I liked the way it was shot - which had a similar effect as Blair Witch. I also liked the way that the movie dragged in places, I think that it adds to the believability of the movie; almost as if we were watching a video of actual events. The different stages of emotions experienced by the characters also lends to the believability. Very well done... for the budget!

User review rating: 0 January 02, 2005

Ending was too abrupt.

Change Location