McFarland

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.40 / 5

User rating: 4.40

Based on 126 votes and 52 reviews


  • User rating: 4.40 51.61%
  • User rating: 4.40 37.10%
  • User rating: 4.40 11.29%
  • User rating: 4.40 0.00%
  • User rating: 4.40 0.00%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 52

User review rating: 5 July 19, 2015

If you are looking for a feel good movie with lots of happy smiles because of good feelings then this is a great movie for you. I loved it, so much family involved it just felt good.

User review rating: 5 July 02, 2015

Good movie hands down

User review rating: 5 May 31, 2015

Fantastic feel good movie! Quite inspiring and I will definitely watch this many more times!

User review rating: 5 May 17, 2015

Loved this movie bassed on real life. Needed Kleenex on more than 1 occasion! Will watch it again for sure.

User review rating: 5 April 25, 2015

Excellent movie for the family oriented!! Encouraging!

User review rating: 0 April 17, 2015

An awesome feel good movie. No violence or swearing, a must see. My husband and I even stopped in the town of McFarland

User review rating: 5 March 28, 2015

so amazing loved every moment of the trailer.

User review rating: 5 February 28, 2015

Every so often a TRUE story comes along that brings out the best in everyone involved. This is an inspiring film showing the realities of Latino minorities lifestyle and the laborious work they need to endure to survive in an American culture that is loathe to recognize their rights to become citizens of a 'free' society. The depiction of the team and their struggle and rise to championships not only lifted them to a higher class and achievement in their lives but also the whole community. Amazing film, great acting and production. Kudos to Costner and Disney for bringing this story to life.

User review rating: 4 February 26, 2015

really a great movie, it is a big thumbs up, enjoyed every minute of it, sad when it ended, could have watched more.

User review rating: 5 February 26, 2015

A feel-good movie that is based on a true story that happened in a small town with a big heart. Way to go!

User review rating: 5 February 25, 2015

Loved this movie. Very moving story. Impressive that this actually happened. I really liked the very end where they referred to the real life characters

User review rating: 5 February 25, 2015

Great movie. My wife and I both loved it . Looks like a "formula" movie but turns out to be much more.

User review rating: 5 February 25, 2015

Excellent story line, kept my attention and even made me cry. Five stars from me. I want to buy this movie.

User review rating: 4 February 24, 2015

As expected, feel good, team rises from very humble circumstance to win in the end. Acting was good.

User review rating: 5 February 22, 2015

Wonderfully inspirational! Such a touching and fun movie. We left the theater feeling so good. The coach and the kids were amazing!

User review rating: 5 February 20, 2015

Excellent!!!!! One hundred and twenty minutes never flew by so quickly! An excellent family film.

User review rating: 4 February 16, 2015

A very enjoyable movie about overcoming racial and cultural barriers.

User review rating: 4 February 14, 2015

McFarland being based on a true story was played out well. Enjoyed the movie.

User review rating: 0 February 14, 2015

Liked the movie very much.Great humor.

User review rating: 4 February 13, 2015

Very uplifting!

User review rating: 5 February 13, 2015

This is the best Disney film I have seen in a long time. Great story, humour, and fine acting by a bunch of young Latino actors made this film a memorable one.

User review rating: 4 February 13, 2015

Inspirational, uplifting, feel good movie. Very enjoyable and highly recommended.

User review rating: 5 February 13, 2015

This was a very good Movie. I found it entertaining and thought provoking. There was the right amount of drama, emotion and action.

User review rating: 4 February 13, 2015

I really enjoyed the movie and was surprized that it was quite good. All of the actors were great including Costner. It had a great story line and the fact that it was based on a true story made it even better. I've already recomended it to others.

User review rating: 5 February 13, 2015

Fantastic movie !! Kept me on the edge of my seat. I would definitely recommend, great for all ages.

User review rating: 5 February 13, 2015

A great movie I highly recommend it good for the whole family

User review rating: 5 February 13, 2015

What a heartfelt movie. The underlying tones of determination, hard work and faith in the underdog, were beautiful. Excellent performances by Kevin Costner and the cast of Hispanic young people. I especially liked the end of the film where they showed the real men of the film and how their lives were changed because of coach White and the cross country team. Bravo!

User review rating: 4 February 13, 2015

My wife and I both ended up loving this movie. We went in expecting to see another cookie cutter underdog movie and we both got swept away into the story along with a large majority of our fellow moviegoers. I can't remember the last movie I watched where people clapped, cheered and reacted to scenes throughout the story. And the end brought heartfelt spontaneous applause and deservedly so. This little gem had the perfect balance of heart drama and humour and quickly became one of my inspirational favourites. And the reality aspect just added so much more. Simply outstanding!

User review rating: 3 February 13, 2015

Excellent movie, would recommend.

User review rating: 0 February 13, 2015

The fact that this is based on a true story does not make it a game-changer in terms of the inspirational, economically-challenged, overcoming-all-odds, ethnic subculture movie genre. It's basically the movie you expect to see from Costner - he owns these movies, and rightly so - he's good at them. I go to see them because of that. It was a good night out and a great story.

User review rating: 4 February 13, 2015

Great family movie

User review rating: 5 February 13, 2015

I loved this movie , it was so inspiring and show if people care enough anything can be accomplished. The ending was great to know what had become of them in the future was fantastic. This is a must see family movie

User review rating: 5 February 13, 2015

What an amazing movie!!! I can't remember the last time I was that caught up when watching a movie that I clapped during the movie or laughed and cried at the same time. I was so caught up in the movie that I felt like I had a personal stake in their success. Definitely will see again!!!

User review rating: 4 February 13, 2015

When I read the initial information about McFarland, I was not sure if I would like the film. I knew it was a Disney production and as such I knew that the film would adhere to some higher standards. All I knew going into the theatre was that this was a true story that had to do with cross country running. Kevin Costner is the lead and he is well known for portraying sports related figures. It seems to be an area where he is comfortable and it shows in this movie too. His acting was solid and believable. The cast was mostly unknowns in the Western culture. The only other main character was Maria Bello of Coyote Ugly fame. This is what actually made the movie for me. The characters were all

User review rating: 5 February 11, 2015

My husband and myself found the movie to be very moving and inspirational. It was nice to get a glimpse into the Hispanic lifestyle. To see how they all came together to help each other and how they accepted Coach "Blanco" and his family. We all have problems but they gave us a glimpse into the hard working lifestyle of the "pickers" and how with dedication, determination and guidance there is always hope. We are all the same despite what nationality we are. Even Kevin Costner himself and his family had issues to overcome. I really enjoyed meeting and learning what the real life people that the movie was about are doing today. I would recommend and see the movie again. Thanks for the ch

User review rating: 5 February 10, 2015

McFarland was a wonderful family movie. I wasn't sure if I would enjoy this film but it really got to me. The characters came across as real, with their own flaws. I understand it was based on a true story which made it even more enjoyable - to understand these kids had to overcome such odds. It was an excellent film that both myself and 10 year old son enjoyed and will see again with rest of my family.

User review rating: 3 February 10, 2015

cute and inspiring. All round good movie.

User review rating: 4 February 09, 2015

McFarland was an inspirational movie and brought to light the true meaning of perseverance. Would definitely see again and have already recommended to others to see.

User review rating: 4 February 09, 2015

This was a great show. Very motivating and well acted.

User review rating: 4 February 09, 2015

very inspirational film

User review rating: 3 February 09, 2015

I really enjoyed the movie although it did seem slow in a couple places. It was refreshing to see the Mexican people portrayed as the hard working, family first kind of people they are. As for the real life coach...nice work Blanco

User review rating: 4 February 09, 2015

McFarland was a tribute to the Hispanic experience, which doesn't get much coverage in mainstream cinema. So often the journeys of our neighbors seem like they are occurring in a "far land", when they are not. Even more so, the movie reflected the common values of essentially all families and individuals, especially when the physical and mental confinements are not the "collars of their clothing". The acting was credible. The directing was amiably focused. The cinematography was realistically descriptive. Some might say that the script was a little too "gentle", but the movie was meant to look more at the stars and less at the dark clouds. Speaking of stars, I would give the movie between 4

User review rating: 4 February 09, 2015

pretty decent feel good disney flick. a tad formulaic but enjoyable nonetheless. good performance from Costner.

User review rating: 0 February 09, 2015

Was inspiring !!! The end with the actual documentation of the young men involved was AWESOME! Could not help the tears pouring out. Thanks so much for the tickets was certainly one of those feely, touchy types. Enjoyed it immensely.

User review rating: 5 February 09, 2015

really enjoyed this movie!!! I would definitely recommend this movie to all my friends and whoever else I come in contact with. it was so nice to be at a movie that didn't have to use the f word . it seems to be the only word they use or know in a lot of the movies today. thank you for the tickets and an enjoyable evening.

User review rating: 5 February 09, 2015

Great show.. really enjoyed this movie, made you laugh, made you feel sad.. then made you smile and laugh again..got at your true feelings about how life is for other people...an how hard they really worked at getting what they wanted..a family movie for all to see. I would recommend this to my friends

User review rating: 4 February 09, 2015

Very enjoyable and inspirational movie

User review rating: 5 February 09, 2015

McFarland... I wasn't a huge Kevin Costner fan until a few years ago, so after watching most of his movies, I decided that this one is probably at the top of my list. He seems to come across as a Jerk, but he has a heart. He cares so much for his family's happiness, but he also wants to make a difference with the kids he takes on. I think the storyline, was very well done. He made the character believable. He made you like him, laugh with him, and for me, cry with him. I never heard of this man and his story, but after watching the movie, I went home and googled him. I love the kids and their families and how they took "Blanco" in and made them feel welcome. How hard

User review rating: 4 February 09, 2015

I really enjoyed this movie. You can't go wrong with Kevin Costner in a sports movie, any kind of sport. It was definitely a reminder to all of us not to judge a book by its cover.

User review rating: 4 February 09, 2015

It was a lot better than I expected. It was pretty good.

Change Location