Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World

Thank you for rating this movie!

Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World Movie Poster

4.15 / 5

User rating: 4.15

Based on 18092 votes and 81 reviews


  • User rating: 4.15 77.73%
  • User rating: 4.15 0.91%
  • User rating: 4.15 0.53%
  • User rating: 4.15 0.61%
  • User rating: 4.15 20.22%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 81

User review rating: 0 August 08, 2006

I think Master and Commander is the best movie Russell ever did. The battle scenes were incredible. He really got into his part as Capt. "Lucky" Jack Aubrey really well.

User review rating: 0 December 16, 2005

Harry Potter is so cute in this movie, oh wrong movie

User review rating: 0 July 27, 2005

I love this movie. Russel is the best actor in this film. I like the cast and Peter Weir very much

User review rating: 0 March 25, 2005

excellent movie. enough said.

User review rating: 0 September 21, 2004

Good movie - have read all the books. Too much slack rope. The set dressers got carried away. Paul Bettany was a superb Maturin. Russell Crowe a bit too much - even though the "captain" was a bit of a dork in the books too. All in all a good read. Hope they get the title right though next time (and given there are a bunch of books there probably will be one). A Master and Commander doe not run a ship of that size. He would have to be a full captain. Watch the epaulets too - if he was a Master and Commander he would have only one I think.

User review rating: 0 April 28, 2004

Great movie....horrible ending

User review rating: 0 April 12, 2004

Brings you into a whole other world of explorations and naval battles. Vibrint!

User review rating: 0 April 08, 2004

all stupid you people want is action, hyuk hyuk that thing dun blowed up! for once they make a good inteligent interesting movie and you people say its too boring....or was it to sophisticated for you people?

User review rating: 0 April 08, 2004

AWESOME!!! if you have read the books its a little bit of a disapointment since its nuthing like them. but it was for the most part great.deffintitly a theatre movie.but it can be a little slow for people who arent interested in nautical stories

User review rating: 0 April 04, 2004

It was good but kinda boring.

User review rating: 0 March 21, 2004

Russel Crowe is an extraordinary actor, and this is an extraordinary film. Peter Weir is my favorite director, and this is the best war movie I have seen in my life.

User review rating: 0 March 19, 2004

One of the worst movies I have seen all year. The battle scenes are great but the rest is lame.

User review rating: 0 March 10, 2004

i am the master and i am the commander WHHHOOOOOO!!!!!!!

User review rating: 0 February 28, 2004

I thought it was a very goo movie......My brother-in-law was an extra in it!! (YAY)

User review rating: 0 February 12, 2004

Exellent movie! Very good acting by Russel Crowe!!

User review rating: 0 February 05, 2004

I prefer books generally, but found this movie even better than the "Far Side of the World" that is it based on.

User review rating: 0 February 04, 2004

Exceptionally well done. Those viewers who thought it dull and boring, "not enough action", are obviously addicted to instant everything, and unable to allow for the development of plot lines, characterisations and so on. Fast food/film/life junkies. Go watch something else, then!

User review rating: 0 January 20, 2004

Highly realistic to the way war was fought.

User review rating: 0 January 17, 2004

Ok but highly over rated

User review rating: 0 January 15, 2004

Boring! Very boring. It had good scenes, but the flow of the movie was just too slow. Don`t waste your money at the theatres just rent it when comes out on video!

User review rating: 0 January 10, 2004

I was really looking forward to seeing Master and Commander, however it didn`t live up to my expectations. It was too slow moving in parts and although I appreciated the art of the movie, I was expecting a little quicker ride.

User review rating: 0 January 02, 2004

I didn`t even want to go thought it would be borrrrrring, but what a pleasant surprise. A great movie that really made me feel I was part of the crew.

User review rating: 0 December 28, 2003

Well acted, great plot.

User review rating: 0 December 24, 2003

In one word.......it`s awsome movie

User review rating: 0 December 22, 2003

IT Sucked

User review rating: 0 December 19, 2003

This was a well filmed movie with appropriate levels of action without being `too Hollywood`.

User review rating: 0 December 19, 2003

is the best movieeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i love it !!

User review rating: 0 December 14, 2003

brilliant use of film to tell a ripping good yarn. The casting is brilliant - those faces! - and the acting superb. Great writing doesns`st hurt this project a bit. Zesty!

User review rating: 0 December 05, 2003

While I am not a fan of Russel Crowe, this is definetly a movie worth watching, and as realistic a peeriod piece as has been made.

User review rating: 0 December 05, 2003

Good show! Didn`t feel like an American blockbuster. Reminded me of a good PBS show with some action. I`d watch it again.

User review rating: 0 December 04, 2003

Solid story, literate dialogue, special effects never become the movie. First rate film-making the like of which is seldom seen today

User review rating: 0 December 04, 2003

How would i rate this movie..hmm..I think its worth one`s while to catch it...I am the sort who falls asleep at most movies...action or not...but surprisingly..time flew by with this one..and the VCD for this movie will be the first in my collection..but face it..being a movie how accurate can it be? For those clamouring for 100% accuracy are bound to be dissapointed....As a MOVIE..its great..not one dragging moment..Though i am not a fan of Russell Crowe, his portrayal of Aubrey deserves applause as far as i`m concerned..oh..and BTW NO movie can capture the exact atmosphere during war...

User review rating: 0 December 04, 2003

All I see in these reviews is `good action, but the rest is slow`. The whole POINT of the movie is to show what life aboard these ships was like, and it succeeded. ANd they mention Cape Horn several times - how could you NOT figure out they sailed south past Argentina?

User review rating: 0 December 02, 2003

Beautiful photography though not for the squeamish or those prone to sea sickness at times.Thoroughly enjoyed it,a tale of friendship, hardship and how different war was then .

User review rating: 0 December 01, 2003

It was just wrong, on every level. It is a carbon copy of every other hollywood film ot there. Every `twist` was expected, characters were not developed, dialogue was too simple and limited. There was no feeling for the characters... we simply didnt care if they lived or died. Plot was not developed, and a shame too, it had great potential in becoming a good film. The one thing that i found more or less desent were the sound effects and camera use. that is it Overall the film brought nothing new to the viewer, story or cinematography wise.

User review rating: 0 November 30, 2003

This movie was very poorly thought out. It is a 30 minute movie streched into over two hours. Just go get the trailer and watch that and save your money, you will enjoy it more. This is Russel Crowes worst movie ever.

User review rating: 0 November 29, 2003

It was a good movie however there were a few things that i felt were missing which could have made it a great movie. Not enough action it seemed to drag on and on

User review rating: 0 November 29, 2003

Great movie, totally worth seeing. I thought it would be a bore but it was great!

User review rating: 0 November 28, 2003

If you`re a fight-a-minute seeking, bubblegum action fan, you`ll hate this movie...and don`t come to the theatre and moan about it in our ears - this movie is art and action, a beautiful mix of conflicted ideals and the almost forgotten ancient art of war. It was beautiful to watch and thoroughly enjoyable.

User review rating: 0 November 27, 2003

A Fantastic movie, didnt quite make the expectations but non-the-less a movie worth watching.

User review rating: 0 November 27, 2003

Entertaining..great acting made this film fun to watch

User review rating: 0 November 24, 2003

Best movie I`ve seen this year. Excellent combination of drama, suspense and action. Although the story is fiction, it will appeal greatly to nautical history buffs. Attention to detail is outstanding. Probably too cerebral for younger audiences.

User review rating: 0 November 24, 2003

Dissapointing. Not the best movie I have seen. Worth seeing on the big screen if you like sea type of stories. Just interesting enough to follow, but not enough to enjoy without thinking it was a big waste of time.

User review rating: 0 November 24, 2003

Entertaining, but dissappointing after all the hype. It was only marginally better than the "Hornblower" series and they were much lower budget. Too many silly erors for this one to be a great, but must admit Russell has presence and that sells movies

User review rating: 0 November 23, 2003

What a waste of money and energy. Can someone tell me how they went from the Northeast coast of Brazil to Galapagos? I believe I saw some ice covering the ship for a few seconds...really hard to notice...Maybe that was to suggest they went all the way to Southern Argentina and Chile, then heading north in the Pacific Ocean to reach the coast of Ecuador.

User review rating: 0 November 23, 2003

It seems to drag on a little to much and you never really were able to understand the movie. Once the whole audience realized that the movie was finally over there was a deep sigh that swept over the theater. The music playing my Russell Crowe and his Doctor friend where horrible, totally lame and when they spoke it was really hard to understand them.

User review rating: 0 November 23, 2003

I hope they make more of that series.

User review rating: 0 November 23, 2003

Go rent Terminator 3 if you want action, but go see this movie if you want to immerse yourself in the life aboard a 19th century ship. Excellent movie.

User review rating: 0 November 23, 2003

Pretty good. Tries to show the troubled life of a 19th century British naval crew, with success. Very good insight into what binds a diverse group of career and conscipt sailors into a team that sticks together dispite incredible harshness and adversity.

User review rating: 0 November 23, 2003

OK, at best! The movie focused on character building and friendship between the captian and the ship`s doc. If you want to learn about evolution... pre Darwin, enjoy... but, dont say I didn`t warn you. Spend your money on movies like... actualy wait until there is a movie for you to watch.

Change Location