Lion

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.44 / 5

User rating: 4.44

Based on 94 votes and 36 reviews


  • User rating: 4.44 73.33%
  • User rating: 4.44 11.11%
  • User rating: 4.44 8.89%
  • User rating: 4.44 0.00%
  • User rating: 4.44 6.67%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 36 of 36

User review rating: 5 January 23, 2017

An astounding delivery of what it means to be caring and what family means. A vivid portrayal of India and Australia. And the plight of children and poverty. It shows how family is close-knit and cares for one another even in extreme poverty and it shows the indomitable spirit that pushes us to search. It also shows the beauty of adopting parents who strive to make a difference in the world and in the lives of needy children. Altogether a gem of a movie. There are also striking scenes that show how Spirit is with us and communicates to us if we heed and pay attention. All actors are formidable including the lead Dev Patel. They also show the real people the characters are based on at the end of the movie. Some are very much alike , Nicole Kidman transforms herself remarkably and even the young Saroo looks like the actor child. A movie based on real events. At the end of the movie, it is poignantly stated how 800,000 children go missing per year in India. An epic movie worth very much going to see. Well made.

User review rating: 5 January 22, 2017

It was a worthwhile story, beautifully told.

User review rating: 5 January 22, 2017

An amazing story, acting, good quality cinema. Well worth watching.

User review rating: 3 January 20, 2017

Yes it was slow up til the last hour. Acting was great. Story was touching. I enjoyed seeing his real Mom and the real stuff at the end. I am glad I saw it.

User review rating: 5 January 19, 2017

There was NO profanity! Wow, how super-refreshing!! I loved this movie because it was SUCH a good story without all of the offensive language, gratuitous sex, and bawdy, toilet humor.

User review rating: 5 January 18, 2017

Awesome acting... touching true fact story ... worth the watch!

User review rating: 5 January 16, 2017

Wonderful story, great acting, well worth watching.

User review rating: 0 January 16, 2017

Excellent movie! Great acting! Where did they find 'Sunny Pawar'? Such a sweet guy and his acting was incredible.

User review rating: 5 January 13, 2017

Not ultimately an unhappy ending, it is nonetheless tearful. Performances are outstanding and direction is touching. While it makes you want to visit Australia can't say it makes me itch to go to India. Well worth seeing and one of the best movies of the year. Dev Patel has matured into a leading man and Nicole Kidman makes the most a small supporting role.

User review rating: 3 January 09, 2017

Opening credits are accompanied by a piano piece strangely reminiscent of Beethoven's "Moonlight Sonata"..... in fact, wait! nearly every note is EXACTLY the same! Could the composer be ripping Beethoven off?

User review rating: 4 January 08, 2017

Excellent story telling. From start to finish you sense the strong bond the child and the young man feels towards his family. His search for his brother starts of his horrific journey from his town's railway to Calcutta and then his search for mother in his hometown. The characters played their role to a tee especially the young Pawar.

User review rating: 5 January 05, 2017

Very good movie, just a really well done story. Scenes of India very sad. It looks like a war zone, but they haven't been in a war since king Asoka, the buildings and living conditions are appalling. The railway is unbelievable, thousands upon thousands of people streaming all around in a whirling mass, no wonder the kid got lost. The orphanage is appalling. A nightmare out of Charles Dickens. The worst part is realizing the kid was trying to say Gnesh, and no one understood his baby talk. Being adopted was a good experience for him and he was able to find his birth mother. Acting wise, I thought Rooneys role didn't really amount to anything and the whole relationship could have been cut, the role of his adoptive mother, was well portrayed, the kid was in for a shock when he first encounters that gigantic mass of red curls. All's well that ends well.

User review rating: 5 January 04, 2017

Best movie that I saw in 2016. It is a little slow in some parts but an absolutely wonderful movie

User review rating: 5 January 03, 2017

Beautiful told story of a young man connecting with his mother with 15 tears in-between and two continents apart. it is touching, emotional, inspiring, a must see! The acting is superb. I highly recommend this being one of the season's movies to catch.

User review rating: 5 January 03, 2017

One of the best movies I have seen in a long time

User review rating: 5 January 02, 2017

An amazing sad story. Such a different life He got such a privileged life and so aware that he did. All parents were amazing. Such squalor and horrible happenings in Calcutta

User review rating: 5 January 01, 2017

Awesome and timely movie especially with current immigration in the US. I chose this movie because I wanted it to touch my heart deeply. It did just that. Great first hand look at what orphans, children without birth parents in their formative years, immigrants and adult children needing to find themselves and their cultural roots. This movie gave me more com(passion) for all people.

User review rating: 5 January 01, 2017

Amazing movie! A must see! Don't miss this movie!

User review rating: 5 December 31, 2016

Great movie to see for brothers

User review rating: 5 December 31, 2016

Great movie!

User review rating: 5 December 31, 2016

Outstanding movie. Heart breaking at times but well worth your time. One of the best movies in a very long time.

User review rating: 5 December 30, 2016

This was a great movie. The acting was superbly done, you could really feel for the main character. Dev Patel was excellent and Nicole Kidman shone in her role. A warm-hearted and true story!

User review rating: 3 December 30, 2016

Worth seeing. True story about being lost and then found. A real tribute to family love and the good people in the world who adapt children for the right reasons. A bit slow in the middle so couldn't give it 4 stars. Otherwise great casting, photography and music.Bring Kleenex for the finale.

User review rating: 5 December 29, 2016

fantastic movie. the best I've seen in a long time.

User review rating: 5 December 28, 2016

Phenomenal journey. A must see.

User review rating: 5 December 28, 2016

I thought this was the most amazing movie I have seen in years. So sensitive and enduring. The men in the theater were even crying. Very inspiring story. A must see.

User review rating: 5 December 25, 2016

One of the best movies I've seen this year! A must see!

User review rating: 5 December 23, 2016

This is one of the most moving films that I've seen in such a long time. I highly recommend it.

User review rating: 4 December 23, 2016

Slow moving at times but really had to be so audiences could 'spend time' with the characters to become invested in them and caring about the outcome by the end of the story, which is very emotionally intense and worth the wait, even though most people, like myself, probably already knew before seeing it. The little boy Saroo was captivating, and Dev Patel's adult Saroo likeable. Nicole Kidman's role was understated to say the least and she was positively dreary at times, but she wasn't the 'star' of the film anyway. My eyes were opened by the honest depiction of the vulnerable, sad lives of India's lost children and my heart breaks for them. If you like action in your movies then don't go see this one, but if you want believable characters you can invest in, and a study in quiet, steady human emotion then this is for you.

User review rating: 1 December 17, 2016

Very slow moving with a simplistic story. Felt very loosely related to actual facts.

User review rating: 5 December 16, 2016

An astounding delivery of what it means to be caring and what family means. A vivid portrayal of India and Australia. And the plight of children and poverty. It shows how family is close-knit and cares for one another even in extreme poverty and it shows the indomitable spirit that pushes us to search. It also shows the beauty of adopting parents who strive to make a difference in the world and in the lives of needy children. Altogether a gem of a movie. There are also striking scenes that show how Spirit is with us and communicates to us if we heed and pay attention. All actors are formidable including the lead Dev Patel. They also show the real people the characters are based on at the end of the movie. Some are very much alike , Nicole Kidman transforms herself remarkably and even the young Saroo looks like the actor child. A movie based on real events . At the end of the movie, it is poignantly stated how 800.000 children go missing per year in India. An epic movie worth very much going to see. Well made.

User review rating: 5 December 13, 2016

I felt like breaking out in applause at the end, absolutely mesmerizing, grown men were crying it will pull at your heart strings, yet still leave you with such gratitude and love. I just wish it was was in wide release in all theaters. There's a lesson for everyone. Dev Patel and little Saroo are spectacular, Nicole Kidman wears your heart. An absolute MUST... if you don't get what you want from the this movie... watch it again.. you missed the message.

User review rating: 5 November 29, 2016

Powerful

User review rating: 4 November 25, 2016

Saw it at TIFF, good movie, should win awards.

User review rating: 5 November 20, 2016

great Performance by all cast, very natural

User review rating: 3 August 31, 2016

Good movie to watch

Change Location