Ladies in Lavender

Thank you for rating this movie!

Ladies in Lavender Movie Poster

4.31 / 5

User rating: 4.31

Based on 113 votes and 19 reviews


  • User rating: 4.31 63.21%
  • User rating: 4.31 19.81%
  • User rating: 4.31 7.55%
  • User rating: 4.31 3.77%
  • User rating: 4.31 5.66%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 19 of 19

User review rating: 0 August 26, 2006

excellent,story,,,,,,,brilliant acting.especially judy dench,,,,,,,gorgeous scenery of cornwall,but wish the title of the movie had been the widdington sisters instead of the irrelevent ladies in lavender,,,,,,,,,

User review rating: 0 March 27, 2006

I loved the sisters and the setting, but I was disappointed by the young man. I`m not sure how old he was supposed to be (he looked anywhere between 18 and 22, but according to his bio he was about 27 when it was filmed) but he really never appreciated anything that was done for him. It wasn`t "heartwarming" as advertised, at all. It would have been more satisfying if he`d appreciated them, after all, they saved his life and never asked for one thing in return and they didn`t look like they had money coming out of their ears.

User review rating: 0 August 19, 2005

A beautiful story, actors were very good. A movie without violence. Located in a picturesque area. I will by the book written by William J. Locke

User review rating: 0 August 13, 2005

loved the show - best I have seen in a long time

User review rating: 0 August 02, 2005

Exquisite movie.

User review rating: 0 August 01, 2005

I waited a very long time to see this movie and wasn`t disappointed. Truly a work of art, the two fine actresses are so worth watching. A truly remarkable film.

User review rating: 0 July 20, 2005

This movie was inviting... it allowed ones imagination to take hold. The two Dames could not be better. I hope to see more of them together and more films like this concerning positive relations then not.

User review rating: 0 July 19, 2005

What an exquisite film from a simple, true-to-life story! No Hollywood violence, no Hollywood NOISE substituting for plot and characters. Now where do I buy the short story?

User review rating: 0 July 15, 2005

Very heartwarming! I loved it. How could it not be wonderful with those very excellent performers?!

User review rating: 0 July 14, 2005

Artistic style. The characters are the story. Judy and Maggie develop their roles to show romance isn`t dead in the hearts of older women and they show grace and dignity in defining their relationship with the young man plucked from the sea. They set the appropriate boundaries and accept the heartache that is inevitable. The enduring relationship between the sisters conquers all in the end. Two great actresses carry the entire film with aplomb.

User review rating: 0 July 12, 2005

I went to see Maggie Smith and Judy Dench work. What really fine actresses they are. But they obviously spent the money on the stars and had none left over for the script. There were times when I would have bet cash money that the clock was moving backward. Everyone in the audience pretty much had the movie figured out within the first ten minutes. We just wondered why it took the writer so long to catch up to us.

User review rating: 0 June 30, 2005

This movie is fantastic!

User review rating: 0 June 29, 2005

I enjoyed the movie and the music but I`m curious.........I never saw them wearing lavender.

User review rating: 0 June 29, 2005

The story is a bit improbable, but these two acting vets handle it with grace and dignity. If the plot had involved two older brothers picking up a young girl on a beach, there would have been a public outcry. With this cast, it works.

User review rating: 0 June 28, 2005

Such a lovely movie...my 13 year old daughter remarked how the woman at the end of our row just couldn`t stop crying.

User review rating: 0 June 10, 2005

great if you like the Dames...they carry the show

User review rating: 0 June 04, 2005

Was a nice simple story, a little slow in a couple of places but overall excellent acting. Lovely scenery.

User review rating: 0 June 03, 2005

excellent movie- film festival style, wonderful acting, great visual

User review rating: 0 May 29, 2005

Five stars Excellent acting Good story

Change Location