Joy

Thank you for rating this movie!

Joy Movie Poster

2.55 / 5

User rating: 2.55

Based on 232 votes and 51 reviews


  • User rating: 2.55 23.96%
  • User rating: 2.55 13.54%
  • User rating: 2.55 7.29%
  • User rating: 2.55 4.17%
  • User rating: 2.55 51.04%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 51

User review rating: 3 May 28, 2016

A very slow beginning and only becomes somewhat worth watching 2/3 of the way in. I'm glad I only rented it and hadn't wasted my time or money by seeing it in the theatres!!

User review rating: 5 May 10, 2016

excellent movie , highly recommend

User review rating: 3 May 08, 2016

It's an ok movie and good as a rental.

User review rating: 5 March 13, 2016

Awesome

User review rating: 5 March 12, 2016

Yes, if you are an entrepreneur... You will enjoy this movie .... But even if you are not .... you will still enjoy it !

User review rating: 4 February 12, 2016

Worth a rating between 3 and 4 stars as this film was better than i expected. Those who rated it 2 stars likely are fans of movies with crude content such as filthy language and sex scenes or excessive violence. Nice to see this movie had none and made for a nice, touching story. I thought Jennifer Lawrence was very good, better than in American Hustle .

User review rating: 0 January 21, 2016

Probably Lawrence's most annoying, most unlikable performance yet. Nothing rings true here -- nothing.

User review rating: 5 January 21, 2016

This movies shows just how some families keep their children from expecting to accomplish anything. I thought it was very inspiring and I'll never look at mops the same way again (or skinny, velvet hangers which she also invented). I guess it's not raunchy enough for most people. I don't want to know what kind of movies you 1 star raters watch.

User review rating: 5 January 21, 2016

My daughter and I enjoyed it because we both are entrepreneurs and we could see how close she came to losing everything for her dream. And DeNiro does a good job playing her horrible, negative father.

User review rating: 5 January 21, 2016

It's an inspirational movie. She went through a lot and never gave up. It totally isn't a comedy so don't expect to be entertained.

User review rating: 1 January 20, 2016

Based on a real story....please, the only real thing about this movie is that there was a lady who invented a mopping system and sold it on qvc....other than that it is totally made up. None of the "obstacles" that she overcame were real.... including events and persons....now that I know it's all false I understand why it's listed as a comedy.

User review rating: 1 January 12, 2016

Painfully Boring, bad slow acting, unbelievable,

User review rating: 5 January 10, 2016

Excellent! A story of struggle, extreme adversity and determination. After seeing the awful Silver Linings Playbook, I gave up on J. Law. Couldn't stand her. But her awesome performance in Joy turned my opinion around. Truly a stellar performance!

User review rating: 3 January 09, 2016

Started off pretty humorous....then dragged a bit after the climax (or what I though was it)...an attempt at a plot and characters that audience would connect to, but fails....though the main antagonist does manage to get your sympathy and you root for her, you fail to connect fully....

User review rating: 1 January 09, 2016

Boring as hell and flat as a pancake. Jennifer Lawrence acts like she has had a lobotomy - robotic and emotionless. Should have been called SAD.

User review rating: 4 January 08, 2016

Slow but a good story. Well written and decent acting to boot.

User review rating: 5 January 08, 2016

Great flick, happy ending. I can't understand the rating of 2 stars. I figure people are tasteless, comic book movie going, pop music listening, simpletons.

User review rating: 2 January 07, 2016

This is NOT a comedy. It's a heavy drama... Some ok acting, very slow moving, at times, and not necessarily a movie that garners my recommendation to even my worse enemy. I would NEVER watch it again and, to me, it's not even worth the DVD rental when THAT becomes available. Too bad SO many GREAT actors in a dark, slow, depressing, movie. It could've been SO much better :-(

User review rating: 5 January 07, 2016

Excellent movie. Must see for anyone going into there own business (especially women), in fact anyone that needs motivation in life it is a great movie!!

User review rating: 2 January 06, 2016

I wanted to leave the theatre as I felt I was wasting my time. There was no climax to the movie, no humor. I want to be entertained. I already live an ordinary life, I don't need to see it on the big screen.

User review rating: 1 January 05, 2016

Painful, from the beginning to the Godfather-recreation end.

User review rating: 2 January 03, 2016

The trailer was better than the movie itself. very disappointing.

User review rating: 5 January 02, 2016

This is the reality of life ... Thank you for putting this pain out there, so everyone will see what we go through ...

User review rating: 5 January 02, 2016

Amazing story and production with all the details ... This is what every teenage should watch and see what real life is about ... Loved the absence of sexual content which reflect that life is not about sex and fun, this is the real deal. Life is all about failing and succeeding .... Thank you all for an amazing Story ... This will live forever.

User review rating: 5 January 02, 2016

If you just want entertainment go and see Star Wars or the Hateful 8. If you want to see an inspirational film and actually learn something, this is the one.

User review rating: 5 January 02, 2016

One of the best movies of 2015. Oh how real. What is it like looking after a bunch of losers and trying to accomplish something with little or no support. This is it.

User review rating: 2 January 02, 2016

Great performance by Jennifer Lawrence in a TERRIBLE movie. Her family members are cast as quirky and presumably humorous. But De Niro and Rossellini are just plain imbecilic, one dimensional, and unbelievable. Jennifer Lawrence is a talented actress who needs to choose her movies more carefully.

User review rating: 1 January 01, 2016

DeNiro's always great, but he's stuck in a terrible movie with an unappealing lead. 1/5

User review rating: 5 January 01, 2016

My wife went with another couple to see this movie. We all thoroughly enjoyed the movie and I was surprised to see the low ratings. I have to give it five stars.

User review rating: 5 January 01, 2016

Outstanding.

User review rating: 5 January 01, 2016

Inspirational.

User review rating: 5 January 01, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed this movie! Jennifer Lawrence should get a Golden Globe for her performance. An excellent, well thought out drama.

User review rating: 3 January 01, 2016

I was pleasantly surprised that it was much better than some of the reviews I read. Try it you might enjoy it. We all don't like the same kind of movies.

User review rating: 3 January 01, 2016

Boy there are some serious haters here. This movie wasn't spectacular, but it wasn't terrible either. My wife and I thought JL and BC did a good job.

User review rating: 0 December 31, 2015

Holy crap! That's it. Crap.

User review rating: 5 December 31, 2015

I loved this movie and Jennifer Lawrence did an amazing job. It reminded us of our own life and how we can make things turn around. Close to real life and family dynamics. I loved it!

User review rating: 1 December 31, 2015

Terrible movie. Wouldn't recommend it to anyone. A waste of Jennifer Lawrence's acting ability. Bradley Cooper was disappointing too. Four of us went together and no one would recommend it. Slow and boring. Very weak story.

User review rating: 2 December 30, 2015

Boring, slow moving--only redeeming factor was Jennifer Lawrence, though sad she wasted her superb talents on this movie!

User review rating: 1 December 29, 2015

Pure crap. I'm sorry but Jennifer cannot act. Worst movie this year.

User review rating: 1 December 29, 2015

Should be called "joyless"

User review rating: 1 December 29, 2015

Poor.

User review rating: 3 December 28, 2015

Not bad but very one sided. Joy is portrayed as the savior of her family. She is always taking care of her unappreciative family while they are very negative whenever she has challenges only supporting her when things go right. No wonder they were always suing her.

User review rating: 4 December 28, 2015

Don't believe the negative trolls. This is a good movie with a good story about inventing a product and creation of the shopping channel. We both thought it was good and JLaw is a great actress here as usual. ( The person who posted JLaw ruins an other movie is just a hater )

User review rating: 1 December 27, 2015

so over acted this was a boring movie.

User review rating: 4 December 27, 2015

rough start to the movie, but after the first ten minutes, it is a marvelous film. About real life in trying to succeed.

User review rating: 5 December 27, 2015

It takes a woman! Determination guts glamore and glory...I thought the movie had a lot to offer.

User review rating: 4 December 27, 2015

those persons who put in negative reviews don't understand what it is to be an entrepenure! I enjoyed the movie.

User review rating: 5 December 27, 2015

great show, a must see

User review rating: 4 December 27, 2015

I enjoyed the movie. For anyone who has ever tried to start up a business, it takes courage, and yes it is full of ups and downs, the movie is realistic. The story has so many messages in it...i think it is a must see. People who work in public sector would never understand the message. People who have had things handed to them on a silver platter would never understand the message. Go see it and see if you can apply it to your life. It is a good movie. Acting is very good. This woman is an actress who has a lot of talent.

User review rating: 5 December 27, 2015

Contrary to the other negative reviews, I thought this was a very good and inspirational movie for all entrepreneurs and any would-be entrepreneurs.y

Change Location