Jarhead

Thank you for rating this movie!

Jarhead Movie Poster

3.81 / 5

User rating: 3.81

Based on 1854 votes and 102 reviews


  • User rating: 3.81 52.10%
  • User rating: 3.81 16.71%
  • User rating: 3.81 9.23%
  • User rating: 3.81 4.32%
  • User rating: 3.81 17.64%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 102

User review rating: 0 October 11, 2006

For people that like war movies this is not the movie for you. It`s a war movie without the war. Which is what I liked most about it. Jake Gyllenhaal fans will find this his best movie yet, mainly because of his new and improved body. But it`s really not for everyone.

User review rating: 0 June 18, 2006

Lucas Black is yummy!

User review rating: 0 May 14, 2006

This movie was very boring, if you`re looking for an action-packed movie this is not the one

User review rating: 0 April 08, 2006

Most of the movie is good, until the last 20 min. It`s not an action flick so I`m not judging it based on that. It`s a drama about the camaraderie within the army and how no matter where you come from before you join the army you new common ground becomes this new environment.

User review rating: 0 March 31, 2006

Altogether, I can`t say I loved it, I just liked it and admired it. It`s actually pretty depressing, but I love the fact that this movie was so honest about military life of the U.S. We see that America is pretty messed up and some of their soldiers are too.

User review rating: 0 March 19, 2006

THIS MOVIE IS THE MOST BORING MOVIE EVER!! DON`T EVEN BOTHER RENT IT!!

User review rating: 0 March 16, 2006

The movie protrays the service men as a bunch of morons. As a Vietnam vet, I am insulted. Hollywood crap.

User review rating: 0 March 11, 2006

it was so good, a little less of the nudity in the face would have been good but in the end two thumbs up.

User review rating: 0 March 10, 2006

I liked the movie. It could have had more war in it. I am glad it wasn`t as horrific as "Saving Private Ryan". Definitly the best part of the movie is Jake Gyllenhaal.

User review rating: 0 March 10, 2006

OUTSTANDING!THE FILM IS DEAD ON ON WHAT MILITARY LIFE IS LIKE.

User review rating: 0 March 08, 2006

I must say this was the best movie of the year! I`m 15 so i saw it with a friend whos 18 and i defiently agree with the 18A rating. I read the book which was also great. Jake was so hot in this movie which made it even better :)

User review rating: 0 February 26, 2006

why make something out for more than it really is,, finally a movie that give the truth and nothign but the truth

User review rating: 0 February 17, 2006

jake is hot, but they didn`t even kill anybody!! boring :( i expected a lot more outta the film.

User review rating: 0 February 06, 2006

Found the movie a disappointment in showing the life of a marine. Nothing really happen in this movie. Dullsville.

User review rating: 0 January 30, 2006

Although this movie is based in the first Iraq war under George Bush Sr. it is, for lack of a better word, propaganda. With little to none historical accuracy. this movie is at best frisbee material.

User review rating: 0 January 27, 2006

Bad movie, should be titled "Airhead" to describe anyone that enjoyed this boring trash.

User review rating: 0 January 15, 2006

Great movie but definitely not just a war-related movie. It also had a lot to do with psychological breakdown and how war isn`t just about killing and fun. It`s also about patriotism and how crazy and judgemental people get when they`re under stress.

User review rating: 0 January 13, 2006

AWESOME MOVIE!!

User review rating: 0 January 06, 2006

This should not be considered a war movie. In fact it shouldn`t even be considered a movie. It`s both a parody and propoganda imposed by liberalist producers backed by left wing politicians. This is an almost humorous look at what a soldier does. Any real member of the military would be appalled and shamed that this is how they are portrayed. The acting in this movie is terrible and completely shatters any illusion of being in the middle east. Jamie Foxx`s oscar winning performance is nowhere to be seen. This is a snoozer and a loser.

User review rating: 0 January 05, 2006

oorah!!!!! Its a marine thing!!!

User review rating: 0 December 29, 2005

this movie is based on war, but its not pro war or anti war thats the beauty of it. everything was great in it but the best part has to be JAKE GYLLENHAAL!1 he is a Godsend!!!!

User review rating: 0 December 26, 2005

man, it was great. a bit psychological, but marines are human too. they`re not just killing machines. they`re flesh and blood like us! hey man, i wanna be in the unit!

User review rating: 0 December 23, 2005

Jake Gyllenhaal is so HOT!

User review rating: 0 December 16, 2005

It was os cool!

User review rating: 0 December 16, 2005

*-*I LOVE THE MARINES!!! AND THIS MOVIE IS THE GREATEST THING SINCE SLICE BREAD...OMG JAKE AND LUCAS AND OMG JAMIE FOXX...THERE ALL SOO SEXY!! I WOULD WATCH THIS MOVIE EVERYDAY IF I COULD*-*

User review rating: 0 December 11, 2005

lucas black is hoooooooooooooottttttttttttttttttttttttttt

User review rating: 0 November 26, 2005

At first I didn`t want to see this movie because I thought it was one of those typical war movies where people`s limbs get blown up the entire movie. You see some aspects of the war, but it is more about the psychological state of the people and how this affects their relationship with one another. I liked it because of this, my boyfriend (the one who really wanted to see the movie), didn`t really like it because it was too psychological, and there wasn`t enough fighting. I guess you can`t make everyone happy!

User review rating: 0 November 26, 2005

A Very good performance by Peter Sarsgaard. Possibly good enough to be nominated for best supporting actor. The film was average, but I was glad to see that the violence was not overly glorified. Wait for it on video.

User review rating: 0 November 25, 2005

Um, its acctually the first iraq war, called dessert storm/shield, so unless you mean George Bush Sr. your comment makes little to no sense. It is a great war movie, not pro or against, just about life in the field.

User review rating: 0 November 23, 2005

George Bush`s way of justifying the war in Iraq. horrible movie. id give it a half star if i could

User review rating: 0 November 23, 2005

this had to be the biggest propaganda movie thats come out of US since the new millenium. As historically inacurate as alice in wonderland.

User review rating: 0 November 23, 2005

well made...shows the hell of war and the huge amount of monetary waste and the human toll the military takes

User review rating: 0 November 21, 2005

so so movie. Not much action. A story of how frustrating war can be for boys who want to go over and do something. so. so.

User review rating: 0 November 21, 2005

Couldn`t believe how many children were in the theatre -- most without parents! This is a good film but really not appropriate for the younger viewing audience .... thus the 18A rating designation!

User review rating: 0 November 21, 2005

Obviously, the director has never been a marine; and, does not know what he directed. The movie is based on sheer liberal conjecture of about the United States Marines. The movie was drivle. dan roane

User review rating: 0 November 20, 2005

"Three Kings" meets "Apocalypse Now"

User review rating: 0 November 19, 2005

An excellent point of view of combat. As a soldier, and I think I am able to say this for the magority of us, that we have all experienced the boredom. The movie portrayed this so well, it`s not all guts, and glory.

User review rating: 0 November 18, 2005

this movie is awesome , freakin` good

User review rating: 0 November 18, 2005

I thought that this movie was great because it wasn`t a typical war movie and it really dug down into the psychological aspect of war or lack thereof. The acting was good and I think it`s the first time that I saw a war movie not about Vietnam or WW2. An added bonus was Jake Gyllenhaal with his shirt off for most of the movie.

User review rating: 0 November 18, 2005

this movie was incredible. it was moving, and very insightful. It was a real eye opener, and im glad they made it. It showed the flaws and the problems with war. Everyone should go see it,it was really good! You also got to laugh at parts, which was great! Jake Gyllenhaal was fantastic! I hope he gets lots more starring roles, he sure can carry a movie! Jamie Foxx was good, as always. Peter Saarsgard is a hidden gem in every movie he`s in.

User review rating: 0 November 18, 2005

awesome movie saw it first day it came out worth every penny jamie foxx was inspiring in this epic movie that shows the "true" purpose of war. I quote from George W. Bush " the war is over."

User review rating: 0 November 18, 2005

A very slow and long movie. First movie I`ve ever walked out on.

User review rating: 0 November 17, 2005

If Jake Gyllenhaal was`nt sooo damn hot, there would be no point in seeing this movie. Jamie Foxx was great................ in Ray sorry Jamie.

User review rating: 0 November 15, 2005

JAMIE FOXX WAS GREAT..........SOME GOOD PARTS IN THE MOVIE BUT OVERALL IT WAS OVERATED..JUST ANOTHER WAR MOVIE!

User review rating: 0 November 14, 2005

I really don`t think that many of you who bashed the movie got the point. This is not an action movie. If you sat though the movie and didn`t understand it then you`re not that bright to begin with. I agree that it is not the most entertaining movie action-wise, but if you want to see really good acting, and really good story-telling, then Jarhead is a must-see. This is truely one of the BEST movies this year.

User review rating: 0 November 12, 2005

Great movie...I loved it.

User review rating: 0 November 12, 2005

I love this movie, and jake he is my hero i have seen like 7 war movies in the last month adn this by far the best

User review rating: 0 November 12, 2005

An alright concept; may have well portrayed a war zone, pre conflict. All in all it was a rather deep two hour army enrolment film. Slightly racist, but hardly. Fairly entertaining, but only if you can see past the propaganda BS.

User review rating: 0 November 11, 2005

There are not many movies I walk out of, but I did for this one. Young immature males acting as what else...young immature males. It may have reflected what a war zone is like a lot of the time, but from a movie going point of view it was tedious and difficult to watch.

User review rating: 0 November 10, 2005

As someone who served in the Marines in the Gulf War, I found the move very accurate. The war WAS boring (for the most part). If you were expecting Platoon or Rambo, too bad. The movie was about how Marines went through that particular was and it wasn`t Vietnam or WWII. I give the movie 4 stars aout of 5.

Change Location