Hail, Caesar!

Thank you for rating this movie!

2.33 / 5

User rating: 2.33

Based on 150 votes and 56 reviews


  • User rating: 2.33 26.23%
  • User rating: 2.33 4.92%
  • User rating: 2.33 3.28%
  • User rating: 2.33 6.56%
  • User rating: 2.33 59.02%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 56

User review rating: 4 June 15, 2016

I love most of the Cohen brothers films. For a fan of their work, I found the movie very entertaining. I don't understand why there is so much hate towards it. Gross out, slap stick, obvious in your face humour this movie is not. It's original (which is hard to find) and good.

User review rating: 2 June 09, 2016

Hard to follow. Watched Zoolander 2 just prior and it was head and shoulders better than that movie, but then again so was "Attack of the Giant Tomatoes"

User review rating: 1 April 30, 2016

I gave it a 1 because there is nothing lower then 1. Big disappointment with all the top billing actors. What a waste of time.

User review rating: 1 March 30, 2016

OK, maybe not the worst movie that I have ever seen but definitely one of the least entertaining. Probably about as entertaining as a dinner party at the home of some of the people that give it 5 stars and feel compelled to insult the intelligence of those who dare go to the theatre for entertainment purposes. gess itt wuz to intylectul fer mee.

User review rating: 5 March 15, 2016

Clooney and the rest of the cast are great. This is a clever inteligent comedy, but, the key word is INTELLIGENT... some of the reviewers on here are just too dumb to realize just how clever this movie is !

User review rating: 1 March 13, 2016

You need an IQ of 30 to enjoy this one. BAD!!! no intelligence in this one. How can one of the viewers rate himself so high? I guess it you want to sleep with alright music, which is the only thing on this movie, than go for it. Even the acting was not memorable. Even for free, would this movie be a lost time.

User review rating: 1 March 13, 2016

Worse than bad. Poor Clooney does he need so badly the extra money to lend himself for this? No story, poor acting especially Johansson. No smiles, no drama, no thrills.

User review rating: 1 March 13, 2016

How can anyone rate this higher than 1? Waste of money all around. Why did they produce it? Why did Clooney play in this poor movie? No idea.

User review rating: 1 March 13, 2016

We never liked Johannson and she is really bad here, so is the movie.

User review rating: 5 February 28, 2016

Smart and clever. Very well done attention to period details.

User review rating: 5 February 28, 2016

4 1/2 stars. I'm not sure why people are hating on this movie so much. This is an incredibly tightly made film. The attention to detail and clever dialogue are superb. The story is engaging and unpredictable. There are several memorable performances. Overall, I found this to be a highly entertaining movie. In fact, I think it's the Coen's most entertaining in quite awhile. I can see why people may have been disappointed if they were expecting a comedy similar to The Hangover or something like that, but calling this the worst movie ever made is bananas. Have some perspective people!!!

User review rating: 1 February 27, 2016

maybe the worst movie I have ever seen....please don't waste your money

User review rating: 1 February 24, 2016

I don't even know HOW this movie got past production..it is NOT funny, very stupid and has no depth or real good story. Avoid if you can

User review rating: 1 February 22, 2016

can you ask the theatre for your money back???? let me see...this month I have seen Room, Brooklyn, Joy, Danish Girl, Spotlight, all worthy of 3 to 5 stars....this may be the worst of all time,....no plot, a few good lines, but honestly what are Clooney, Feines, Johnannson lending their talent to this piece of junk

User review rating: 1 February 21, 2016

You will get more laughs if you stay home and watch the trailer.

User review rating: 3 February 21, 2016

By ordinary standards good, not great. By the high standards set by the Coen Bros., this is slight and just OK. Great moments as you'd expect from the Coens, but all in all, a disappointment

User review rating: 2 February 21, 2016

I fell a sleep twice in it.

User review rating: 1 February 20, 2016

I have seen a dozen movies this year....cant believe Clooney sold his soul to do this....just poor and disjointed

User review rating: 1 February 18, 2016

Nope!!!!!!

User review rating: 0 February 18, 2016

I got that it was typical Coen , I am older love the black and white oldies, I guess I just missed something , got bored after a couple of laughs. Wished I'd chosen something else!

User review rating: 5 February 18, 2016

Coens at their best... this is not for the quick cut all action no plot group however

User review rating: 5 February 18, 2016

You have to know what to expect from the Coen Brothers. The dry humour was great! It is meant for a mature audience for sure with opera music, synchronized swimming and a deep Russian song. No zombies, nudity or assault weapons killing hundreds here. Wonderful if your IQ is bigger than your shoe size. Way over the heads of the messy popcorn scattering, noisy, young men we experienced who could not stay seated or be quiet so others could enjoy.

User review rating: 5 February 17, 2016

What an educated funny movie this is, excellent .. The tongue-in-cheek dialectic critique of Hollywood is beyond belief funny . Again, you need a few cultural pointers to really enjoy the subtle humor.

User review rating: 0 February 17, 2016

Mediocre comedy that is not up to par for the Cohen Brothers.

User review rating: 1 February 16, 2016

So lame. The subtle humour doesn't save this movie. They tried to do too much and failed miserably. These guys can be funny, however they only managed a couple of funny moments. We were really disappointed.

User review rating: 1 February 16, 2016

this movie? is a piece of crap the acting (which was supposed to look bad) was so good, it looked bad. what a piece of crap. every cliché and nuance and lame line imagined in any old movie was here. still a piece of crap I couldn't get up and leave, I wanted to....... did I mention, this movie (even with the great soundbites and optical references to bygone cinema) is a piece of CRAP !

User review rating: 5 February 16, 2016

Best movie I've seen in a long time. There is a much deeper level that I guess a lot of people just aren't getting. The people who don't get this movie will probably enjoy Zoolander.

User review rating: 1 February 16, 2016

I love old movies but this was a big bore. Don't waste your money.

User review rating: 1 February 15, 2016

Worst movie ever....saw 3 couples leave an hour through the movie never to return.

User review rating: 0 February 13, 2016

worst movie I ever saw - boring to a point where we left mid-way...they only redeeming part is Tatum's song and dance number which he did perfectly.

User review rating: 1 February 13, 2016

Horrible. Don't waste your money. You might get hooked in by the casting line up, but it has NO story line, so captivation, and is over all boring to watch. I wish I could get my money back.

User review rating: 1 February 12, 2016

This was the WORST movie I have EVER seen in my life!!! I am disappointed that George Clooney, Channing Tatum and Scarlett Johansson even accepted the roles in this STUPID movie. I wish I could get my money and time wasted to watch this movie back.

User review rating: 0 February 11, 2016

This is the worst movie ever. I am an avid movie goer, I was constantly checking my watch to see when it was going to end. I can't even understand why these "movie stars" played in it, other than the almighty dollar. DO NOT waste your time....not one laugh in it. I spoke to other movie goers and they said the same thing upon leaving the theater.

User review rating: 0 February 11, 2016

I rate this movie a zero stars. As good Movie 47. That is to say stay away. The theatre contained few relatives with forced snickers. But that is all that this waste of time and talent could garner. Boring and stupid completely opposite of fast moving trailer.

User review rating: 0 February 09, 2016

God awful.. definitely an ask for your money back movie

User review rating: 5 February 09, 2016

Don't be turned off by the negative reviews; the movie sailed right over their heads! Clever and nostalgic, with the typical Cohen wry humour. If you're not well-read and aware of pop culture over the past 100 years, then you might find it boring. I suggest you go see a slapstick comedy instead, where the humour isn't subtle.

User review rating: 1 February 08, 2016

The worst movie I have seen in years. Dull. Boring. Trite and definitely not funny. Save your money. Awful. Horrible. Am I leaving anything out? Seriously, this is really, really bad!

User review rating: 0 February 08, 2016

A Coen brothers comedy. Enough said.

User review rating: 2 February 08, 2016

It has some moments but laughs were few and far between. the 50's genre was filmed well... It had potential but didn't have the laughs that the brothers have brought to their previous outings...

User review rating: 1 February 08, 2016

Terrible.... My husband and I were shocked at how bad it was. We have loved the brothers stuff in the past but this should not be listed as a comedy.. Nothing funny in this one. Best acting was from Josh Brolin .... I am giving it 1 star only

User review rating: 5 February 08, 2016

Great cast, great dialogue and the brilliance of the Coen's but their movies are not for folks that just want to be entertained for a couple of hours but can also think

User review rating: 4 February 08, 2016

The movie is clever, and saturated with nostalgia for the way things were. SIMPLE AND DIRTY. it's satirical message, as the vehicle of the seemingly investigative feel dances and weaves through a few dark moments of reality of women treated as objects and non American thought viewed as criminal. Wrapped in a easy to swallow package of a good looking film. Sorry folks it's not Broad general Ha ha. It's insider jokes, trust me you will get it years from now. Do not underestimate this movie.

User review rating: 3 February 07, 2016

Liked it. Relax and enjoy movie, kinda like Dick Tracy. 50's styles clothes, sets, sailor dance and song and communist group were all great.

User review rating: 1 February 07, 2016

What d disappointment! Pointless, humourless, total waste of time!

User review rating: 1 February 07, 2016

Epic fail. Very disappointing. Not remotely close to being funny.

User review rating: 1 February 06, 2016

What a disappointment. I had great expectations but the writing simply wasn't funny. Saw a few people sawing logs during the last 40 minutes. It could have been a great spoof but maybe it was just too 'inside Hollywood' and the humour escaped the rest of us. Save your money.

User review rating: 2 February 06, 2016

As a spoof of the Hollywood film making industry it was a clever concept. It has lots of big stars. Unfortunately, it's just not very funny.

User review rating: 1 February 06, 2016

Just horrible and I am older and still didn't get the humour, if there was any. I was so looking forward to this movie. Please don't go, see something else.

User review rating: 0 February 06, 2016

We just came home from watching this travesty. Some people actually walked out. My husband slept through half of the film. It was absolutely horrible...boring, tedious and totally without merit. George Clooney certainly won't be up for an Oscar this time. He, the writers, producers and co-stars should be thoroughly ashamed of themselves.

User review rating: 1 February 06, 2016

maybe the worst movie I have seen this year....a few chuckles from a audience who yawned for the most part....I get it Clooney is a great actor....but please...entertain me....!!!

Change Location