Girl With a Pearl Earring

Thank you for rating this movie!

Girl With a Pearl Earring Movie Poster

4.54 / 5

User rating: 4.54

Based on 702 votes and 22 reviews

  • User rating: 4.54 80.86%
  • User rating: 4.54 8.01%
  • User rating: 4.54 2.82%
  • User rating: 4.54 1.04%
  • User rating: 4.54 7.27%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 22 of 22

User review rating: 3 October 18, 2010

Despite being a bit slow-moving at times, it was a very enjoyable movie. Great performances make this film worth watching.

User review rating: 3 April 28, 2010

cool movie. I loved the performances by Johanson and Firth. While it is slow at times, it is very intense and sexual.

User review rating: 0 January 21, 2006

A beautiful work of art. Scarlett was just amazing in this film.

User review rating: 0 April 04, 2005

Absolutely intoxicating to watch these two actors at work . . . I wonder about the real chemistry between them. I couldn`t help feeling sorry for the wife. I think this is one performance that has been under-rated

User review rating: 0 February 27, 2005

Visually stunning movie..every frame was a painting!

User review rating: 0 December 25, 2004

I`m reading the novel right now. My mum gave it to me for christmas. I love it!

User review rating: 0 November 05, 2004

this is a beautiful movie. almost every scene is a painting by vermeer - the costumes, the scenery is so well done. there is a nice slow pace as well and interesting views of life in that era in holland.

User review rating: 0 September 03, 2004

I`d watch anything Colin Firth stars in..

User review rating: 0 June 24, 2004

award winning

User review rating: 0 May 31, 2004

Colin Firth, as always is spectacular. There is nothing that actor can`t do brilliantly.

User review rating: 0 May 25, 2004

i loved this novel, that i never read before atte CaRoH

User review rating: 0 May 19, 2004

I`m Dutch, and we were "forced" to see this movie for school... but I loved it. The music is brilliant, it perfectly matches the scenes. And sometimes the camera angle is in such a way, that it almost lets you shiver. And there`s a lot of suspense. Also, this tension between Griet and Vermeer...... it`s great. And there are these *MOMENTS* -I called them- the really great parts, the peaks. Like when she is at the windows and he says she has to stay there, when he shows her how to work with the materials and when he is determined to find back the object that the misses said was stolen by Griet, but appeared to be stolen by a daughter. It`s

User review rating: 0 May 07, 2004

I`m also writing about the Region 1 DVD. The movie: Too bad so much was edited out from the book. As it stands it was good but it would have been 1000 times better had some of the more important story lines/scenes been left intact. The DVD: As per Peter Webber`s words we were to get a lot of the deleted scenes in the DVD version; Region 1 viewers got next to nothing. As one of the fans of Vermeer`s work, the book, the actors, and especially Colin Firth, we all feel extremely disappointed and let down that nothing was included in it. The music video was the stupidest and most unrelated aspect. I doubt very much that the powers that be in North

User review rating: 0 May 06, 2004

I think I am in love with Vermeer!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

User review rating: 0 April 23, 2004

It was more than I ever expected. I had read the book and am a HUGE Colin Firth fan. He was spectacular as Vermeer. One of the cinema world`s most unappreciated actors. The scenes between him and Scarlett were power packed with repressed emotions. The movie was beautifully done. Too bad it was overlooked by what? Lord of the Rings? Master and Commander? Too bad movies like this get lost in the shuffle.

User review rating: 0 March 04, 2004

I think that the movie was very similar to the book. It was very calm and relaxing but when things heated up it made the movie even more exciting to watch. This movie is well worth the 5 stars!

User review rating: 0 February 12, 2004

Beautifully filmed. Like looking at a painting.

User review rating: 0 February 07, 2004

Wonderful film,just like the original book.Scarlet is pretty and lovely as young servantThe view of the movie is amazing,fantastic!! Colin Firth is great as Vermeer.He is so charming and sexy with full of emitional feelings.

User review rating: 0 February 04, 2004

It was a visual feast. I loved the music. The actors were excellent. Great movie.

User review rating: 0 February 04, 2004

The film was beautifully portrayed. The cinematography was a feast for the eyes. Each scene was likke a Rembrandt painting.

User review rating: 0 January 19, 2004

The movie was like the book in that it was a simple movie, without big action/sound/lights, but it was beautiful. Each scene was like a Vermeer painting.

User review rating: 0 January 16, 2004

MOVIE ROCKS !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Change Location