Fences

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.58 / 5

User rating: 3.58

Based on 224 votes and 56 reviews


  • User rating: 3.58 43.24%
  • User rating: 3.58 17.57%
  • User rating: 3.58 6.76%
  • User rating: 3.58 18.92%
  • User rating: 3.58 13.51%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 56

User review rating: 2 January 19, 2017

Good dialog and great acting performances, but visually unimpressive and non-existent message.

User review rating: 1 January 14, 2017

Sadly just a story of a mean old man. Struggled to think of the key point it was trying to share.

User review rating: 5 January 14, 2017

Fantastic acting, writing, directing.

User review rating: 5 January 13, 2017

Denzel's acting and directing are stellar, but Viola Davis is a revelation. Definitely deserving of some Oscar gold! Nice to finally see a film adaptation of August Wilson's stage masterpiece. This is to African American drama what Death of a Salesman is to middle class 1950s American tragedy. Not to be missed.

User review rating: 1 January 12, 2017

Boring, to much dialog.

User review rating: 4 January 12, 2017

Amazing story- acting was better than Oscar nominations. Probably the most. Amazing acting by Denzel. All his movies havbeen phenomenal but this one was up there for his best !!! Had every emotion one could possibly experience. See it &. Enjoy!!!

User review rating: 5 January 11, 2017

This movie was a perfect depiction of the relationship between a frustrated husband and a relatively obedient wife in the 1950's. It also depicted how this frustrated father did not allow his son to succeed in sports because he did not succeed in sports and he did not want his son to best him. In order for the son to succeed in life, he joined the military, which was the only avenue that he saw to get out from his fathers control. In the meantime, the wife was directed to raise the illegitimate daughter of her husbands deceased mistress. What a tangled web we weave.

User review rating: 5 January 10, 2017

Great movie

User review rating: 5 January 10, 2017

The way this story was told, it allowed us to enter the lives of Troy and Rose which enabled us to feel the emotions both of these characters' felt during their life together. Outstanding performances by both of these actors.

User review rating: 4 January 08, 2017

This was a a powerful movie that remained true to August Wilson's vision and story-telling. Both Denzel and Violet were at their zenith professionally. Some people have said it moved too slow. I disagree. The slowness allows you to enter the mundane reality of these people's lives; to see them for who they really are. We have become so action-oriented that we cannot just be still long enough to invest in people or events. Fences is outstanding!

User review rating: 5 January 08, 2017

Superb acting.

User review rating: 4 January 08, 2017

It was a great joy to see Fences. The acting, from even the minor characters, was both believable and touching. The movie was an insight into a black family some 50 years ago, something I do not recall being done often before and thus we found it very interesting. The movie was maybe 20 minutes too long and there was a slow part near the middle that did not seem to add much to the movie but on the whole it was well worth watching. I did cry at the ending, a bit hokey perhaps but I enjoyed it. Thanks for the opportunity to see Fences.

User review rating: 2 January 08, 2017

Of course, great acting. The acting was amazing. However, it was very slow and hard to sit through. I think it is more of a play than a film/movie.

User review rating: 1 January 07, 2017

It was way over rated. I didn't like it . The actors were great but the movie wasn't that great at all it should've went straight to red box in my opinion.

User review rating: 4 January 07, 2017

It was a very good movie. Denzel Washington was excellent as always, as an actor and as a director. Also Viola Davis was also excellent. It is important to keep in mind those events, it is part of history. Thank you again for the opportunity!

User review rating: 4 January 07, 2017

Lots of depth and displays of the human struggle.

User review rating: 2 January 07, 2017

Acting in initial scenes was definitely ACTING, unconvincing. Main character was so self absorbed, mean and abusive that not even a miniscule amount of sympathy for him was impossible. Even when he shared his story of his childhood, it came across as self-pity with no redeeming grace. Maybe that was intentional, but nonetheless it left us unimpressed.

User review rating: 3 January 07, 2017

Pretty far fetched. I found many of the scenes hard to believe. For example, if she was such a genesis, why was she dismissed from the team? And the scene where all of the women walked over to the computer room and took over was ridiculous.

User review rating: 5 January 06, 2017

I loved the movie Fences. The cast was great and they all did justice to their roles. My friend felt it was more of a play than a movie as 90% of the movie took place in one house. Whichever way you see it, it is still a great, emotional and heartfelt movie. You will smile laugh and cry in this movie.

User review rating: 5 January 06, 2017

While a bit slow to start, the movie was one that left me reflecting hours after I left the theatre. Denzel Washington and Viola Davis demonstrated great range and skill in bringing their characters to life. While the movie was set in the fifties, the theme of a man just trying to make an honest living, is timeless. A must-see movie!

User review rating: 4 January 06, 2017

This movie was adapted from a stage play starring Denzel Washington and I thought this was quite apparent through the film. The acting was wonderful...very intense and so was the storyline, which mixed issues of race, fidelity, friendship, family, struggling to survive, pride and devotion to work. But limiting the locations as they would be in a stage play, and having so much dialogue made it drag at times..I just found the movie too long.

User review rating: 0 January 06, 2017

Denzel Washington gives a remarkably powerful performance in this movie. The film itself was very accurate for the time period that the story takes place in. I like the fact that it didn't necessarily focus on racial issues, but everyday issues that people who are married struggle with.

User review rating: 4 January 06, 2017

Excellent movie that covers this time in history. Denzel Washington is superb as usual.

User review rating: 2 January 06, 2017

I'm sorry. My husband & I did not like this movie. The movie started out very boring. The story-line was too common. The acting though was fantastic...I guess we just found it too slow-moving.

User review rating: 0 January 06, 2017

hi it was a hard moovie to understand but hats up to denzel washinton whom i did not recognize him and viola davis amazing enough to win supporting actress it was cruel rascost and harsh wanted to straightwn his son to play sports as he the father couldnt play basquetball he went crazy and couldnt appreciate his family he was a bitterman who couldnt live with his fmily just kept overworking his life away i had tearsd in my eyes it touched close to home

User review rating: 4 January 06, 2017

I was not sure how I would like this film as it is from a screenplay, however I did! The subject, acting and amazing dialogue kept me glued to the screen. Denzel Washington and Viola Davis were wonderful however, I was drawn to his best friend Bono. He did not say much but, his expressions, and gentle wisdom left me thinking acting is not all about words.. I enjoyed this film very much and will go see it again.. Thank you so much!

User review rating: 4 January 06, 2017

We really enjoyed this movie with its portrayal of the struggles of a black family in the mid 50'S through, to the late 1960's. The commitment of the spousal relationship amid selfishness and the value of great forgiveness, both in life and in death, demonstrates the power of human relationships. We found the range of emotions to be passionate, intense and understanding. The movie ends with the power of the triumph of unconditional love.

User review rating: 3 January 06, 2017

I found the movie slightly boring and long, boring because the whole movie is pretty much is in the same scene all over again. But actors did a wonderful job!

User review rating: 2 January 06, 2017

The acting was great but the plot was not what I expected. Way too many monotonous rants. It was quite long and did not engage me at all.

User review rating: 1 January 06, 2017

Boring. Too much monologue. Depressing. Acting good, but that was it.

User review rating: 5 January 05, 2017

great acting by all cast members, especially Viola Davis...For first thirty minutes, I felt as if I were watching a play, then everything started to mesh in a good way....Found out afterwards, it was a play first...interesting...

User review rating: 1 January 04, 2017

Movie was horrible. Acting was good but the movie was horrible

User review rating: 3 January 04, 2017

This was more a play than a movie however the acting was great!

User review rating: 2 January 03, 2017

I had no idea it would be a monologue, absolutely soooo boring, kept trying to make me feel something for the characters, but I felt nothing. Obviously, it was a play...really the longest 2 hrs 15 min .. many people walked out.. sorry wanted to like it

User review rating: 0 January 02, 2017

I am speechless The movie Fences. Denzel and the other actors are superb. A 5+ STAR.

User review rating: 4 January 01, 2017

The acting was wonderful,they paired good together, the message was clear,my only issues, was the use of the N,word and that we didn't get to see his daughters mother.

User review rating: 5 December 30, 2016

Denzel's performance is mesmerizing. Viola Davis is out of this world. This has Oscar written all over it.

User review rating: 2 December 30, 2016

Acting was superb!! But, it came across as a play. If you want to see a movie, don't go because this is a play, not a movie. The setting was predominately their backyard, with a few scenes inside their house. Again, the acting was phenomenal but it was not what I was expecting. I was expecting to see a movie.

User review rating: 4 December 30, 2016

Loved it, acting was fabulous by the whole cast. A must see.

User review rating: 1 December 29, 2016

If I want to see a play, I'll go to a play. If you're going to put a play on film, make it a film. It was still a play. Use some different scenery for crying out loud! So boring and Denzel was even more annoying than usual.

User review rating: 2 December 29, 2016

Not at all what I was anticipating. I didn't realize it was in "play" format which was annoying and boring for me. The first scene lasted an eternity on the same set with only 3 characters and all Denzel. I LOVE these actors and found their ability riveting but wasn't sucked into the story at all. I couldn't wait for it to end.

User review rating: 5 December 29, 2016

His pants are too big in the start of the film. But it was clear what he wanted to say. What I liked was that the violence was inside or between the characters..not outside in racing cars and shooting guns like in the superficial trailers that were shown before. It was amazing that the whole movie took place in a house and the backyard..

User review rating: 1 December 28, 2016

More of a play...a very long play with little or no budget

User review rating: 1 December 28, 2016

I was expecting something to happen. And it never did. Filmed almost exclusively in their backyard or inside their Pittsburgh home. I dont know what the budget was but it didn't cost much. Viola Davis played a good part but other than that it was way too long of a movie that really didnt go anywhere. Disappoint...,glad i only paid matinee price but I wouldn't sit through it for free.

User review rating: 5 December 28, 2016

What I love about this movie is the author kept it real from beginning to end. Denzel and Viola were awesome in their roles, as well as the entire cast. This movie took me back to a time that I had almost forgotten, it was refreshing to see the simple yet powerful manner in which the author told the story. Other movies I've seen lately have been about the living dead or creatures from out of space. I can't say enough about how delighted I was to watch a good movie dealing with real life issues, great story line and fantastic actors. Kudos to the author and cast for an unforgettable performance. Hope you receive an academy award for this one.

User review rating: 5 December 28, 2016

This movie is WONDERFUL!!

User review rating: 5 December 27, 2016

First of all, this film is cinematic realization of a great play by August Wilson which has received world wide praise as a dramatic play. This film is an almost perfect rendering of this great play. Both Denzel Washington and Viola Davis give pitch perfect performances as the lead actors. Criticisms of the script and artistic merit of this film are very questionable. If you want to see a great dramatic film, go see this film. If you want special effects and mediocre acting, go see the new Star Wars film or the 50 shades sequel. I loved this movie! Academy awards are deserved by the director, the actors, the script, and the screenplay. Wow! Great film making! Washington chews up the screen!

User review rating: 1 December 27, 2016

Incredibly boring. The whole movie was pretty much in one setting and all talking. Very low budget. Terrible. Waste of time and money. I wish I could get those 2 hours back! It was a play not a movie... I expected more from Denzel.

User review rating: 2 December 27, 2016

I had such high hopes for this movie and had been looking forward to seeing it. I was sorely disappointed. While the acting was OK, even though Denzel's performance was over the top, it wasn't enough to hold my interest. I was hoping for a film, as in a movie, not a film as it following the format of a play. I fell asleep with a massive headache after an hour of sitting there. On the flip side, my husband liked it.

User review rating: 5 December 27, 2016

If August Wilson's intention was to have The Fence grow like a vine within and without the house and in-between each member of the family until it choked out the ghosts, leaving a single seed (Raynell) to give Troy his second chance, Denzel has nailed it. If not, it's a man coming to terms with how his fear poisons even those he aims to protect--either way a poignant story told in its cultural norm.

Change Location