Cairo Time

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.90 / 5

User rating: 3.90

Based on 132 votes and 50 reviews


  • User rating: 3.90 63.89%
  • User rating: 3.90 6.94%
  • User rating: 3.90 1.39%
  • User rating: 3.90 11.11%
  • User rating: 3.90 16.67%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 50

User review rating: 5 August 20, 2016

Beautiful movie with a lovely story line. Those who think it moves too slow did not appreciate the movie's theme. My desire to visit Cairo has grown even more now. The chemistry between Patricia Clarkson and Alexander Siddig was intense and sensual. Hope Juliette and Tareq will meet again!

User review rating: 5 November 26, 2012

Sensual movie, and if there had been a sex scene or any indication that they had had sex it would have ruined it for me. I thought the fact that she honored her marriage enough to not go to bed was delightful, yet at the same time she broke a promise (as far as she would go)to go to the pyramids with her husband, and instead goes with Tariq. This was her method of telling Tariq that she loves him, and that going to the pyramids was an experience that only they would share. Part of the charm was that this woman could not believe that she was still attractive as an older sophisticated woman. The bond between both characters was not mere sexual mystique, but it was an emotional intellectual bon

User review rating: 5 October 17, 2012

Simply a beautiful romance. Would appreciate maybe 1-2 more hug or stroke to make it even more burning. Both of them excellent performance. Amazing scenes from Cairo. Hey part 2 in Istanbul? Reunion of Julliete and Tareq after her husband died or smth :)))

User review rating: 4 December 13, 2011

I liked how long it took them to fall in love. In movies these days they meet and after five minutes say "let's go to bed." So I waited patiently as their passions gradually built up, but I don't think they ever "dit it." If their had been even the suggestion of a sex scene, I would have given the movie 5 stars.

User review rating: 5 January 31, 2011

Great love story and great acting. Siddig did an outstanding job in his role. Would love to see a "Cairo Time" follow up movie. That would really put the icing on the cake.

User review rating: 5 November 25, 2010

I loved this movie

User review rating: 4 September 11, 2010

Travelogue with a romantic twist. I wish I could interest her in my novel: "My Yankee Family Lost and Found" that could be an ideal for a screenplay. Jerzy

User review rating: 5 July 12, 2010

Juliette was very naive for a middle aged, UN workers long-time wife, but I found her character charming. Gracious and highly watchable. I loved the film from beginning to end. I visit Cairo a great deal and this film took me there. Everything very authentic. Sorry for all those out there who probably only appreciate unrealistic "action" "special effects" movies. But this was a story - subtle and believable. Well directed, well acted.

User review rating: 1 June 28, 2010

a perfect movie for self-absorbed silly canadians who enjoy self-absorbed silly movies....also a perfect opportunity to drag out the "subtle defence" think they understand the meaning of subtlety there is not a person on the planet who has not had a more profound moment in the vegetable isle in any grocery store in any city on any day than "the subtle experience expressed in this movie".

User review rating: 2 May 11, 2010

This was a very slow moving movie with nothing much happening, perhaps the star was trying to give a feeling of extreme heat, fatigue and boredom,

User review rating: 1 April 04, 2010

Horrible movie. Clarkson was posing all through it. The whole thing was BORING!!!!!!!!

User review rating: 5 April 02, 2010

Excellent movie..subtle and understated. It is what is not expressed, but felt, that draws the viewer in. Cairo is gorgeous ( I have been there ) I can't wait to go back. Thank you for this film...will there be a sequel?

User review rating: 1 April 01, 2010

While the scenery was beautiful, the film lacked momentum and plot. Boring and dull, unfortunately.

User review rating: 1 April 01, 2010

While the scenery was beautiful, the film lacked momentum and plot. Boring and dull, unfortunately.

User review rating: 5 March 02, 2010

This movie was spectacular and subtle in all the best ways. I certainly agree that it is not a film to be loved by everyone. It could definitly be argued that nothing much happens. I would disagree. The acting was miraculous, the script divine. It is one of those movies that will sty with you in the days after you see it.

User review rating: 1 February 23, 2010

One of the most boring movies I have ever watched. Insipid story.

User review rating: 2 February 19, 2010

Despite the great acting, adn breathtaking scenery, the movie was pretty lame and boring. I wish we could have seen more of Cairo, which is the real gem in teh movie. Otherwise, I found the characters disinteresitng and boring.

User review rating: 5 February 18, 2010

I have never submitted a review for anything, but I have to say something about this movie. I was taken with the music score immediately. The beauty of Egypt (having no idea you could see the pyramids so easily), the beauty of the timing of the lines, the emotions and actors/actresses. I thought the acting was superb. It is not for everyone. I am not a movie watcher, and this love story caused me to be moved, provoked and inspired. If there is not a sound track, I will buy the songs individually. I felt like I have personally visited Cairo and felt the energy, would love to smoke the pipe, walk the streets and listen to the worship sounds.

User review rating: 5 February 04, 2010

I never give 100% but this movie just got to me. I can understand the mixed reviews, but for me, I was just reliving Cairo. I have lived there for a while a few years back and this movie just got me wishing I was still there. Liked Alexander in ST, loved him in this picture. Thank you Ruba, Patricia and Alexander.

User review rating: 5 February 02, 2010

awesome

User review rating: 1 January 31, 2010

Cairo looked gorgeous and romantic, but not at all like the highly congested, polluted, and economically impoverished Cairo I just returned from a few weeks ago -- hardly romantic. Beyond this, Juliette isn't your common "tourist" coming to satisfy a lifelong desire to visit the pyramids -- she's the middle-aged wife of a UN diplomat. Presumably during her years of marriage she would have visited a few other places (if not Cairo), seen considerable variation in how people from different parts of the world live, and learned how to navigate cultural differences to some degree. Yet this beautiful white blond seems oblivious to these differences, prances around on her own in colourful, open d

User review rating: 2 January 26, 2010

I agree there's nothing happening in this movie other than beautiful scenery of Cairo. I felt no chemistry between the actors.

User review rating: 5 January 23, 2010

Loved the gradual development of feeling and chemistry between the two characters. As others have said, Clarkson was wonderful, but so was Siddiq. The way his face and body language at the end expressed his heartbreak...it's not letting me go.

User review rating: 0 January 22, 2010

Beautiful shots of Cairo, but I would have liked a little more of a story line other than arriving in Cairo, a hotel room and then the husband. The ending was lacking

User review rating: 5 January 20, 2010

I escaped to Cairo for about 11/2 hours of pure bliss. I loved every moment of it. It certainly isn't for the "rockem sockem" crowd.

User review rating: 5 December 31, 2009

such an evocative film. Patricia Clarkson is overwhelming although her wardrobe could have less less provocative to the environment.

User review rating: 5 November 28, 2009

Don't believe any of these people who say this is a boring movie that has nothing to it except for beautiful shots of Cairo. They don't appreciate sublety, and I would find them boring. My daughter is in Cairo right now, and is having the time of her life. I envy her, and seeing this movie made me want to go too.

User review rating: 0 November 22, 2009

awesome movie, i like it

User review rating: 0 November 05, 2009

Wonderful movie. Breathtaking view of Cairo and wonderful chemistry between the lead characters.

User review rating: 0 November 03, 2009

With better editing(scenes way too long) and directing there is a good story here.Cairo by default is the real star of this movie.

User review rating: 0 November 01, 2009

Nothing happening in this movie...except for Cairo itself.

User review rating: 0 October 28, 2009

The best film I have watch in a long time.

User review rating: 0 October 24, 2009

Directing escellent, long silences suited the scenes very well. Sensuously acted & directed. Ms Clarkson's evey motion seemed natural & character-matching. Denzil in Ottawa

User review rating: 0 October 23, 2009

This movie is not for viewers with "good taste", especially those who can use the words "character" and "special" properly in a sentence!

User review rating: 0 October 23, 2009

absolutely delightful

User review rating: 0 October 20, 2009

The star of the movie is Cairo, beautifully photographed but unreal. The rest is insignificant.

User review rating: 0 October 20, 2009

I absolutely love it. I felt that I was the caracter myself. This movie is for a very especial selected crowd (the good taste one)

User review rating: 0 October 19, 2009

The concept of "cairo time" of living in the moment failed, there was no love story, no triangle. Cairo appears to be the patriarchal society where women are uneducated and female american tourists are perceived as wanton airheads

User review rating: 0 October 19, 2009

Totally boring movie. It went nowhere. There was no emotion, no passion, no connection. Save your money, and go see a Cairo travelogue.

User review rating: 0 October 19, 2009

By far the worst movie I have ever seen. Slow, boring and bland, had great potential but .....

User review rating: 0 October 18, 2009

Horrendous...slow, plodding pace/trivialized, boring dialogue/ beautiful scenery shots made excruciatingly gratuitous by being ten times too long in duration! I was hoping for a mature love theme in an exotic setting (à la "Out of Africa"). This was "Out of Touch" with everyone in the audience!

User review rating: 0 October 18, 2009

Very nice film indeed. Wonderful performances all around and this film should garner both Patricia and Alexander an Oscar nom. The slow pace suits the theme of the film and the shots of Cairo and the pyramids are beautiful.

User review rating: 0 October 18, 2009

Good acting but very slow moving esp. first half of the film. Becomes more interesting towards the end.

User review rating: 0 October 18, 2009

a must see!

User review rating: 0 October 18, 2009

excellent film! It is a hidden gem in the foray of mindless and artless garbage dominating our theatres. bravo!

User review rating: 0 October 16, 2009

AMAZING Patrica should get a oscar for this movie Truly Beautiful

User review rating: 0 October 15, 2009

I just loved this movie. Fleeting love, unrequited, gorgeous Cairo. One of the best movies I have seen in a long time!

User review rating: 0 October 12, 2009

Wonderful performances, artfully directed, stunning cinematography and moving music. A subtle and simple slice of life film but well worth viewing. Very European in its presentation, and that's a good thing.

User review rating: 0 October 12, 2009

Wonderful performances, artfully directed, stunning cinematography and moving music. A subtle and simple slice of life film but well worth viewing. Very European in its presentation, and that's a good thing.

User review rating: 0 October 10, 2009

B O R I N G - If your are in need of a good sleep, then go. Location shots were interesting, but I won't be going to Cairo anytime soon.

Change Location