Brokeback Mountain

Thank you for rating this movie!

Brokeback Mountain Movie Poster

3.92 / 5

User rating: 3.92

Based on 15113 votes and 423 reviews

  • User rating: 3.92 65.71%
  • User rating: 3.92 6.95%
  • User rating: 3.92 3.33%
  • User rating: 3.92 1.57%
  • User rating: 3.92 22.44%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 50 of 423

User review rating: 0 September 08, 2013

A lot better than COLD MOUNTAIN, that's for sure.

User review rating: 5 September 07, 2013

Brokeback Mountain is certainly one of the very best movies I have ever seen. It's a heart-wrenching story, brilliantly acted and directed that left a deep and lasting impression. BBM was one of the most decorated movies in the history of film and deservedly so. Unforgettable! A true Masterpiece!

User review rating: 5 April 17, 2010

im 75 and i was very realize that gay men or woman felt love so deeply is something i never thought about as exsisting.. very eye and heart opening movie.

User review rating: 0 June 19, 2009

This is one of the best movies I have ever seen. These characters stay in your mind long after the movie ends. It's been called a "gay cowboy movie", but it is far from that. It is truly a love story, and my heart aches for these characters. I never cry at movies, but this one brings tears to my eyes every time I see it.

User review rating: 0 September 08, 2008

Two years on and it's still got a hold of me. I love it. Can't wait for the Special Edition with more behind the scenes stuff.

User review rating: 0 January 27, 2008

i think its a good movie says what love means

User review rating: 0 October 02, 2007

ahh...yeah a guy (normal aka-straight) was sad movie,but i donno...I'm not a gay,...uhh....good movie toh maybe better for women i donno lol...I can see where its sad and all...but,I just dont go for that thing...!! lol Cant give it any stars...Well,it was good,but, im not gay,so yeah w/e

User review rating: 0 October 20, 2006

je me retrouve sur ce site par hasard ; je m`appelle Alain je suis Français et j`habite à Marseille (dans le sud-est); je veux simplement dire que le film est excellent et la prestation des acteurs splendide ! Jack est très beau et très attachant ; bravo à tous les autres acteurs et actrices sans oublié bien sur Ennis ! Le bonjour à toutes et tous de la France Vendredi 20 octobre 2006

User review rating: 0 October 11, 2006

I can see why some people would be a little scared about going into this movie, but if the couple were male and female, people would of thought it has one of the best love stories I`ve ever seen. I thought the cast was great although Heath Ledger annoyed me at times.

User review rating: 0 September 19, 2006

I thought the gay issue would not be an issue but in reality I could not see two men be intimate. That was really difficult to watch.

User review rating: 0 July 31, 2006

In all honesty, I think this movie was superb. It has nothing to do with my sexual orientation or opinions on such, but as a pop cultural student I would implore any viewer to look past its controversial exterior and see it for the remarkable love story this is. Brokeback...has a Romeo and Juliet undertone an enduring and enexpected loving union that was tragic because of its brevity, truly I am in no way acclaiming this film to the exceptional heights of Shakespear`s classic, but the enthralling theme is identical. This was a splendid film, I hope to see more original filming like this in the future. Thank you Ang Lee, the cast, produc

User review rating: 0 June 27, 2006

Five out of five stars - no question! This was (is) my favorite movie of all time and for those of you who do not agree, it is too bad that you missed all of the subtleties this movie holds. I am proud to be part of the minority that "gets" this movie! It is a story - an unfolding, slow moving story, which is what movie watching is about. People are so into the big "blockbuster" blow `em up-type movies they cannot appreciate an unveiling account of humanity. The acting was suberb and I think it should have won Best Picture. There is comfort in knowing that this film will go down in history as one of the top ten love stories of all time.

User review rating: 0 May 24, 2006

it is a wonderful and touching film, so realistic and with a heart

User review rating: 0 May 17, 2006

This had to be the most boring movie I`ve had the misfortune of watching in a long, long time: It was dull, it was slow, it was unoriginal, it was almost completely plotless, it had no particularely interesting or lovable personages, it didn`t even have any especially good dialogues. The only character I ended up feeling any amount of sympathy for was Ennis` wife. Well, and maybe a bit for Jack too, but feeling sorry for a couple of characters is hardly enough to make for an enjoyable movie.

User review rating: 0 May 13, 2006

it was amazing, i was expecting alot worse with how critics built it up with its sexuality. the acting was great, loved the music, defenitly oscar winner material.

User review rating: 0 May 09, 2006

I am so touched and moved, and upset by this movie. I am upset because it has had a profound affect on me and I can`t stop thinking about a love so sweet and yet, so hurting. Watching these characters go through all that they did for nearly 20 years just to have a little time together whenever they could has touched me deeply. My only do I turn this emotional upheaval off that it has caused me to experience?

User review rating: 0 May 05, 2006

I thought that too much was made of this movie before it was released, and I ended up disappointed with the result. It was a good story, and I felt compassion for the main characters but they didn`t pull me in the way I expected them to.

User review rating: 0 April 29, 2006

realy great

User review rating: 0 April 28, 2006

I liked the movie. Beautiful scenery and beautiful music. Acting was good in it. Jake was hot! :P It was a nice movie but sad at times. A great love story! 5/5

User review rating: 0 April 22, 2006

It`s fine. Not bad, not great... just fine. I don`t think I need to talk about it any more than it already has been talked about. (If anything, it was very well directed.)

User review rating: 0 April 19, 2006

I loved it.

User review rating: 0 April 18, 2006

A very hard movie to watch. It affected me on many levels. I think it will be with me for awhile.

User review rating: 0 April 14, 2006

Very well done but a bit too long. The scenery shots were beautiful but could have been cut way down....boring. Good story though, tastefully done. I`m glad Crash won the Oscar cuz I feel it was the better movie

User review rating: 0 April 13, 2006

awesome movie....saw it 4 times in the theatre!!! amazing emotion, cry everytime!!

User review rating: 0 April 11, 2006

it was a very, very great movie. it was set to be an outstanding, controversial film, but it wasnt. That doesnt mean it wasnt good. It was a great movie, excellent acting and everything, but it was set up to be amazing and it was just really good.

User review rating: 0 April 11, 2006


User review rating: 0 April 11, 2006

I really didn`t enjoy this movie as much as everyone else seemed to. The settings of where the movie took place was gorgeous but that is all I enjoyed about this movie. If anything, it was disturbing. I heard there was a kissing scene which, to me, was still gross but I had no clue, until it was happening that there was an actual love scene. I was very disturbed by it. My Mom and I went and we both agreed that this movie wasn`t at all hyped up to what it was supposed to be.

User review rating: 0 April 09, 2006

I love that voicing a negative opinion of this film immediately labels you as homophobic in some people`s eyes. I have news for you. I (heterosexual male) hated it, my bisexual friends hated it, and even my gay friends hated it. It is a boring film about an abusive and self destructive relationship. If it weren`t for the lead couple being gay, this film would never have earned all the hype.

User review rating: 0 April 08, 2006

I believe this movie ONLY received all the hype because it is the first movie highly publicized with well-known actor`s dealing with a controversial issue.

User review rating: 0 April 07, 2006

It was a very compelling movie that should have won for best picture, but we all know who makes up the Academy Board. Ang Lees Adaptation of Annie Proulix short story was well done unlike others in the past like the Shipping News, more input was needed by the author to make it more thorough. Jake and Michelle put on performances that were captivating and well acted; Heath showed his luminosity in his work and it was a very thought-provoking performance. The only down-side of his acting was understanding some of his dialogue at times. Willie Nelson`s song was haunting and a perfect match for the outcome of the movie. There is so much adver

User review rating: 0 April 07, 2006

I thought it was a wonderful movie. Wasn`t sure what to expect but was thoroughly caught up in the moving love affair which was handled so well. Jake is my new `crush`.

User review rating: 0 April 07, 2006

Great movie. Shows how you can become attached when there is only you two in the wild.

User review rating: 0 April 04, 2006

This film was not "intense" and all the other hyperboles that were attributed to it. It was flat, dull, too long and extremely lacking in character development. If anyone in this film deserved an Oscar nod, it was the female characters, not the men. Granted, they`re cute, but anyone can read a cue card. I think this film received far too much hype, probably due to the fact that some people in the gay community finally got their place in the sun vicariously through a mainstream film (and I`m even a fag).

User review rating: 0 April 04, 2006

I checked my watch after realizing that nothing had happened so far and I was starting to get bored. That was 25 minutes into it. It never got any better. No chemistry between the two leads. I just never felt anything for the people involved. Hallmark commercials make me care more about the story than this movie did. I can`t understand the hype, it was all for nothing.

User review rating: 0 April 03, 2006

Love this movie. Words can`t express my feeling towards this movie. Great job done by the actors.

User review rating: 0 April 03, 2006

When you take a short story and turn it into a movie, you need to fill it somehow, but instead this was drawn out pointlessly. Nothing really happens in this movie. The story would`ve fit into an hour. I looked at my watch and amazed that only 25 minutes had passed, I thought for sure I`d been watching for at least an hour. I thought it would never end.

User review rating: 0 April 03, 2006

Long, drawn out. Not much of a story, and since there was no chemistry between the two leads, I couldn`t have cared less what happened to either of them. Jake Gyllenhaal showed a tiny bit of emotion and attraction to Heath, but there was nothing coming from Heath at all. If this had been about a man and a woman, I probably would`ve stopped watching, but because of all the hype, I felt duty bound to watch to the end. Very disappointing.

User review rating: 0 April 02, 2006

It was a blah movie - nothing special about it.

User review rating: 0 April 02, 2006

It was so sweet and so sad.

User review rating: 0 March 31, 2006

They should call it Bareback Mountain. The sheep were really convincing. Bring lots of kleenex because you`ll cry after spending $10 on this piece of crap.

User review rating: 0 March 31, 2006

Leave it to Hollywood to put gay men on horses on the open range. I`ve been cowboyin` all my life (38 years) and have yet to even hear of, never mind meet, a gay cowboy. Hmm. I guess Hollywood won`t be knocking on my door anytime soon.

User review rating: 0 March 30, 2006

I saw this movie and I cried multiple times, some people believe it`s unusual and a disgusting movie, but if you actually pay attention to the story line, and accept it, it`s a truly beautiful love story

User review rating: 0 March 29, 2006

Very Intence, a wonderful movie that makes you realise the love in a relationship is a powerful thing that can not be ignored.

User review rating: 0 March 29, 2006


User review rating: 0 March 27, 2006

Interesting storyline, but a little slow and monotonous at times.

User review rating: 0 March 27, 2006


User review rating: 0 March 26, 2006

It was indeed a great movie. They loved each other, but they were not able to consume their love. MAYBE, IF THEY WERE ABLE TO BE TOGETHER 24/7, THAN MAYBE THE WOULD NOT LOVE EACH OTHER AS THEY DID IN THIS MOVIE. Sometimes you wish to have something only because u can not have it.....But all in all, great movie... for all ages and all sexual orientations.

User review rating: 0 March 26, 2006

good movie but the acting in Capote truly deserved the oscar

User review rating: 0 March 25, 2006

This had to of been one of the most boring movies I have ever seen. I get the whole "shocking" gay love story, but jesus there could of been a little more excitment. I can sum up the movie for you so you don`t waste your money.......have sex with your wife, have sex with your gay lover, have sex with your wife, have sex with your gay lover, divorce your wife, stop having sex with your gay lover......

User review rating: 0 March 25, 2006

Boring film! We had to leave the theatre 3/4 through the film owing to a fire alarm . . . and I have no interest in seeing the rest of the film (neither did any of the 6 people I was with). Instead I am using the reimbursment coupon the theatre gave me to see `inside man.` I am surprised how much attention this film got because it really isn`t that interesting (let along good).

Change Location