August: Osage County

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.42 / 5

User rating: 3.42

Based on 80 votes and 37 reviews

  • User rating: 3.42 37.50%
  • User rating: 3.42 15.00%
  • User rating: 3.42 17.50%
  • User rating: 3.42 12.50%
  • User rating: 3.42 17.50%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 37 of 37

User review rating: 3 May 24, 2014

Would give it a 5 just because of Benedict Cumberbatch but I felt the actual movie was kinda dumb.

User review rating: 1 May 16, 2014

Surprisingly terrible movie considering the actors that starred in this film. Huge waste of 2 hours watching it.

User review rating: 2 April 08, 2014

Other than the dinner scene - the movie is a bit boring

User review rating: 5 March 13, 2014

Excellent film, with brilliant cast!

User review rating: 1 March 07, 2014

This is probably the worst movie I have seen in a long while. The plot is a real detriment to our society. Just crap!

User review rating: 5 March 02, 2014

Undoubtedly the funniest before-meal grace ever filmed, Meryl was riviting, the entire cast was outstanding, extraordinary depth of psychological and philosophical intrigue. And, yes, there are families that are that "messed up".

User review rating: 5 February 26, 2014

Riveting performances all across the board. If you're tired of shallow action or comedy films that skim the surface then be prepared to be engaged in this emotional and bittersweet portrayal of one messed up family.

User review rating: 2 February 06, 2014

not the best

User review rating: 3 February 01, 2014

Acting by Streep and Roberts was superb, but the family was a bit too dysfunctional.

User review rating: 4 January 31, 2014

This is not a feel-good movie. It is, as described, a dark comedy about a less than normal family as they confront the realities of what life is for some people. The acting and story life is superb. As usual, Streep delivers an Oscar performance. My only reason in not giving this movie 5 stars is that it was a bit too long.

User review rating: 5 January 31, 2014

I have seen about 20,000 movies in my lifetime so far, this is in my top 10, a masterpiece, a thesis for the mature mind. A reckless portrayal of kaleidoscopic selfishness, ultimately leading to it's logical conclusion. Emotionally riveting, draining, lessons for everyone if you speak this language.

User review rating: 3 January 25, 2014

Great acting but a very depressing story. Didn't quite get the point of the movie.

User review rating: 3 January 25, 2014

Acting was superb. I thought it might be more humours.

User review rating: 2 January 25, 2014

Very good acting in a depressing movie about a dysfunctional family....why oh why did i go?

User review rating: 3 January 22, 2014

While I enjoyed many parts of the movie, I found that, after awhile, the arguing and bickering got on my nerves. It seemed a tad over the top. It was a good movie but not great, in my opinion.

User review rating: 5 January 22, 2014

Absolutely stunning film! A must see. Five stars ++ The acting was extraordinary. Thought provoking and insightful. Leaves one humbled and wondering.

User review rating: 1 January 18, 2014

I did not enjoy this movie at all and was very disappointed to see such great actresses as Meryl Streep and Julia Roberts, play in such a demeening movie, I never saw that side of their acting before. I don't recommend this movie to any one.

User review rating: 1 January 18, 2014

Can't figure out what the point to this movie. Was it to show how dysfunctional families can be. Was very depressing, but Merle Streep was excellent....would not recommend this movie to anyone who was breathing.

User review rating: 1 January 16, 2014

This is the most depressing movie I have ever seen. Very slow. Still trying to figure what the point of the movie was.

User review rating: 2 January 16, 2014

Did not care for this one and expected the acting to be stronger based on all the hype

User review rating: 0 January 16, 2014

Dysfunctional family, addictions, deception, strong personalities, great flawed characters, fighting, hope, exposing truths, and swearing. A lot of swearing.

User review rating: 4 January 15, 2014

Great acting by a solid cast. The story is a hard one to watch: highly dysfunctional family and how the actions / life philosophies affect everyone who surround us. I was quite surprised by this movie. From the trailers and previews I thought this would be more of a comedy. Althoughit did have some comedic moments where many in the room were LOL'ing, I found the movie a bit disturbing and quite sobering. DON'T GO SEE THIS MOVIE IF YOU'RE DEPRESSED.

User review rating: 5 January 14, 2014

Awesome acting. Knew it was dark but wow. You will never think your family is dysfunctional again.

User review rating: 3 January 13, 2014

Wasn't what I expected, disappointed in the story line.Meryl Streep was over the top. A good cast of actors, but a downer.I almost fell asleep.

User review rating: 1 January 12, 2014

There is nothing funny about this dark comedy. Save your money.

User review rating: 5 January 12, 2014

Excellent movie and very well acted by everyone especially Meryl Streep and Julie Roberts. Oscar!

User review rating: 5 January 12, 2014

Brilliant script, brilliant acting by all. Wow what an experience

User review rating: 3 January 12, 2014

Great acting, great story line. But the movie felt lacking. You can certainly tell it was adapted from a play as it had a play feel to it. I was slightly disappointed. I didn't walk out thinking it was a great movie. Use your coupon or gift card for this one.

User review rating: 1 January 11, 2014

Great acting by Julia Roberts but the movie was very dark and depressing. When you think it cannot get any worse, it does. Save your money

User review rating: 4 January 11, 2014

Strong group of actors,I expected more from it. Found myself looking at my watch . But a good movie

User review rating: 4 January 11, 2014

Went to see "August :Osage County". This Movie is adapted from a play. It was 2 hours. A little slow going but with a very good story line, that is true to life and deals with serious family issues. It has A VERY surprising family secret that comes out near to the end of the show that made the whole audience GASP with disbelief and GRASP for realization. It has a bit of a raw edge ending. Once again, Meryl Streep left me amazed at her capabilities of becoming one with her character. Julia Roberts is a strong and gentle giant in this movie. Worth seeing, in my opinion.

User review rating: 0 January 11, 2014

I'm going to see it tonight..Can't wait

User review rating: 0 January 11, 2014


User review rating: 0 January 11, 2014

Haven't seen the movie but will tonight and seriously...The hillbilly who can't spell also has no grasp of film.....probably gave Anchorman a 10 out of 5

User review rating: 5 January 11, 2014

The play is three and a half hours long and is astoundingly good. It's been compared to the works of Tennessee Williams in impact and depth. The movie does not quite match the impact of the live play but, it's close. To the person below who called this play "discusting" please learn to spell. This is an adult play adapted for film. Thankfully the screen play doesn't stray from the incredible dialog in the play. Had they done so they would have lost a lot of the multi dimensional layers of each character. I'm not a fan of Julia Roberts finding her acting flat and without nuance at all. However, here she does a good job. Streep of course is amazing. I had read and seen the play previous to thi

User review rating: 5 January 10, 2014

very intense movie - all actors bring it together to make this a film to remember and perhaps also Oscar winning roles..... Meryl streep - is awesome,, excellent film...

User review rating: 0 January 10, 2014

I have never seen a movie so discusting as this one My friends and i walked out and had our money retuned All the respect i had for the actors has now totally gone The language was not omly unacceptable but totally discusting

Change Location