Thank you for rating this movie!

4.02 / 5

User rating: 4.02

Based on 230 votes and 100 reviews

  • User rating: 4.02 56.64%
  • User rating: 4.02 17.70%
  • User rating: 4.02 7.96%
  • User rating: 4.02 6.19%
  • User rating: 4.02 11.50%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 50 of 100

User review rating: 5 April 14, 2013

excellent movie!

User review rating: 0 March 03, 2013

Best football movie since Any Given Sunday.

User review rating: 5 March 03, 2013

Kept me at the edge of my seat!

User review rating: 1 March 03, 2013

the movie of the true events that went on then as jimmy carter so rightfully says is called the canadian connection made years ago ben afflec was probably not even born then so he should look it up it was a far better movie than this one i walked out on

User review rating: 1 March 02, 2013

Really sad. Canadians took 90% of the risks as Jimmy Carter said. The CIA blow in for a day and a half and take the glory. Not worth seeing if your a true Canadian.

User review rating: 0 February 26, 2013

Ben did not get best director. That was Ang Lee.

User review rating: 5 February 26, 2013

So happy to see Ben awarded Best Director for such a stirring, important film. People should check out The Town if they haven't already.

User review rating: 0 February 26, 2013

Ben Affleck obviously knows a thing or two about football.

User review rating: 1 February 24, 2013

Hollywood continues to revise history, and if you re-write history for the masses it is soon seen as the truth. You might like to read how this incident took place other articles. As a Canadian I'm miffed at the lack of recognition of our people who put their lives on the line only to have a self centred ungracious Hollywood turn their backs on them. I would like to think that Americans are secure enough to attend a movie where the hero is not an American, but Hollywood must think otherwise.

User review rating: 4 February 24, 2013

excellent film!

User review rating: 3 February 22, 2013

3 stars

User review rating: 5 February 22, 2013

hands down one of the best movies of the year!

User review rating: 2 February 21, 2013

Self-indulgent tripe!! For those of us who remember the Iran hostage crisis in late 1979 the real hero was Canadian Ambassador Ken Taylor - he risked everything - and he's nothing more than a footnote in this movie.

User review rating: 2 February 18, 2013

Bad acting, bad directing, altered the real events, unprofessional actors, cheap movie, definitely NOT Oscar worthy. I think the movie doesn't have artistic value, it is being promoted just for political motivation.

User review rating: 2 February 18, 2013

It was ok, tried to make exciting movie out of an old real event. Many aspect of real event was altered. For example last scene at the airport, gun fire, never happened. Or children putting shredded documents back together; the documents were put back together by occupies of the embassy, not children. The actors had very bad Farsi accent, Iranian don't have that kind of accent, the director didn't bother to find native Farsi speaking actors. I read review of the movie by professionals, all we're saying the role CIA played was minimal, unlike what is portrayed in the movie, according to the Canadian Embassador to Iran. Overal it is a cheap movie, which could have been an excellent, if the dir

User review rating: 3 February 17, 2013

what's so special about this one?! nothing in this movie is oscar worthy. boring at times. score sucks. logical errors are pathetic.

User review rating: 4 February 17, 2013

A riveting movie!

User review rating: 0 February 15, 2013

Maaaan!!! This movie got about three BAFTAs. I bet they they paid BAFTA so they got that.

User review rating: 3 February 14, 2013

Good movie but not Oscar worthy.

User review rating: 5 February 11, 2013

Every aspect of the movie was just perfect! This film definitely left its mark on me!;)

User review rating: 5 February 10, 2013

Even though you know the ending you can't help but truly believe they aren't going to make it. Great movie

User review rating: 5 February 06, 2013

doesn't get much better than this!!

User review rating: 5 February 03, 2013

This is one of the most amazing films I've ever seen. Best picture of 2012

User review rating: 5 January 28, 2013

LOVED IT!!! Great job by Affleck

User review rating: 4 January 27, 2013

I loved it ! it was even better the second time around, wonderful movie !!!

User review rating: 3 January 25, 2013

Good, but I don't know what all the fuss is about. It's not Oscar-worthy.

User review rating: 5 January 18, 2013

Affleck has proven to be a great filmmaker - his acting sucks, but he makes very good movies!!

User review rating: 5 January 13, 2013

Argo is an excellent movie, thank-you Mr. Affleck and everyone who made this story possible. As a Canadian I say, it is the best thank-you note ever written, and congratulations to the Americans for managing the release of all the other hostages. As a movie goer, don't miss it, it is a piece of history between Canada and the U.S.A that will have you on the edge of your seat and warm your heart at the same time.

User review rating: 5 January 11, 2013

one of the best movies this year!

User review rating: 4 January 01, 2013

Wow did I ever enjoy this movie. No question, Affleck is a gifted director...I also think his acting is fine contrary to some other opinions. Supporting cast is great, especially Bryan Cranston. The story had me on the edge of my seat, even though I knew the outcome. I never knew the American inputin the rescue, believing it was totally a Canadian mission. We played a huge part of course, but the CIA was very innovative here. Well worth a look.

User review rating: 4 December 30, 2012


User review rating: 3 December 28, 2012

To begin with I'm not an Affleck fan. I find his acting dull and dry. He didn't surprise me in this movie with his acting, either. However I can tell he tried to do an honest work putting things in perspective. Another positive thing about this movie is that there isn't any unrealistic fight scenes for the mental masturbation of redneck audience. The doze of tension and drama is set for intelligent people.

User review rating: 4 December 20, 2012

very well crafted movie! Awesome cast.

User review rating: 5 December 17, 2012

One of the best movies of the year...actually, any year

User review rating: 5 December 12, 2012

a classic..simply amazing. Ben knows how to make good movies!

User review rating: 5 December 12, 2012

Fitting this gripping document should be released in the same year as the Argo's latest Grey Cup championship!

User review rating: 4 December 11, 2012

Excellent film!!!!

User review rating: 5 December 10, 2012

Definite Oscar winner, best scenes, dramatic and intense scenes , great story line , edge of your seat action and beautiful scenery

User review rating: 3 November 24, 2012

Every time the American Government wants to start yet another war, this time with Iran, which is getting royally sickening, Hollywood is right there to take another shameless cash grab of current American popular propoganda. If you can set popular propoganda aside, and all the real facts of what happened aside, it is an entertaining movie.

User review rating: 1 November 10, 2012

The CIA pretending to produce a movie to rescue US citizens in Iran!?! Didn't happend that way. So very historically inacurrate and so much gratuitous vulgarity, I left well before the movie ended. I really didn't care whether the plot worked or not. Just glad I wasted only 45 minutes and not the full 2 hours. I am one Canadian who was proud in 1979, but not with this stupid movie.

User review rating: 5 November 09, 2012


User review rating: 0 November 09, 2012

One of the very best films of the year! You don't have to be Canadian or watch football to love Argo!

User review rating: 1 November 03, 2012

do not watch a waste of time and money sucks!

User review rating: 5 November 03, 2012

Historically accurate or no, this was a very good movie.

User review rating: 2 November 03, 2012

All I have say after seeing this movie is "That's Hollywood". Bears little resemblence to the events that in fact took place at the time. It is highly likely that Taylor and Company - risked their own lives in protecting the Americans - what if they had been caught. I am "old" enough to remember this incident - the movie about it is very deficient in both detail and fact and overall was not great regardless of the original story.\

User review rating: 5 November 02, 2012

Very well cast, attention to historical detail is amazing. Go see it!!!

User review rating: 3 November 02, 2012

This movie was well directed, but it's not historically accurate. This is Hollywood-history, which means the Americans are all-heroic, the enemies (Iranians) are stupid and weak, and the allies (Canada and Britain) are helpful sidekicks. In reality the Canadians did basically everything in this rescue. The CIA were the sidekicks of this story and the Canadians were the heroes. But that isn't how Hollywood wants to tell it.

User review rating: 1 October 31, 2012

The timing of this movie's release is very suspect, especially given that there are neo-con groups in the US and Israel who are trying to stir up public support for a war against Iran. I believe Noam Chomsky called it "manufacturing consent." This is blatant pro-war propaganda.

User review rating: 1 October 30, 2012

Affeck's excuse is that he was just trying to make a movie "that is absolutely just factual" he has said. But when you have a movie that ends with a heroic patriotic mission carried out by a C.I.A. operative and the reintegration of the American family unit, complete with a waving American flag in the background, you don't have a movie that's "just factual." You have a movie that is deeply and fundamentally conservative American propaganda at its worst. The classic an American hero rescuing the good guys from the bad guys. In the trailer it says. “in 1979...only one man... could bring them home”. The CIA’s Tony Mendez wasn’t even in Tehran except for two nights in January 1980.

User review rating: 1 October 30, 2012

Sure, Affleck is depicting a moment of national crisis in Iran, when the country was gripped with an extremist Islamic fervor, but I would tell Affleck that not every single Iranian was a screaming, violent, fundamentalist, as they seem to be depicted in just about every scene of the film. We get angry Iranian mobs on the streets, in bazaars. in the airports. Really?!?

Change Location