Ararat

Thank you for rating this movie!

Ararat Movie Poster

4.18 / 5

User rating: 4.18

Based on 4151 votes and 43 reviews


  • User rating: 4.18 76.81%
  • User rating: 4.18 0.85%
  • User rating: 4.18 1.45%
  • User rating: 4.18 5.32%
  • User rating: 4.18 15.58%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 43 of 43

User review rating: 0 September 10, 2009

2*5stars movie

User review rating: 0 March 22, 2009

Excellent movie....it was about time that everyone know the truth to what really happened and a genocide took place on april 24 1915.

User review rating: 0 June 10, 2007

Completely disappointing. The background settings were incredibly fake and the acting extremely mediocre. The movie had horrible transitions between scenes, and cliche plot of making a movie in a movie completely desensitized the horrors of the true Armenian Genocide. The script was also terrible.

User review rating: 0 October 21, 2006

A very good movie

User review rating: 0 June 29, 2006

Ararat is the worst movie of Egoyan, who is otherwise a smart producer. I suspect that he fall in the trap of the historical charge on the first world war Anatolia and the dismantling of the Ottoman Empire. The film is surprisingly didactic and what is worse, it tries to push in your face something else, as if it is an intellectually sophisticated film. In reality it is sophisticated looking propaganda film. Just a trash.

User review rating: 0 May 14, 2006

One of the best movies I have ever seen.I think we,Armenians have to be thankful to Atom Egoyan and All that people Who helped to make this film,by which people can know more about Armenian Genocide.Thank you. Armine Petrosyan(UK)

User review rating: 0 April 19, 2006

A must see movie. Congratulations to Atom Egoyan for an outstanding presentation of the Armenian Genocide. Yes, some Turks may have died during World War I, but what that`s got to do with the Armenian Genocide? Very few Armenians were able to protect themselves from torture, rape, mass murder, etc. What the Armenian people had to go through is extremely hard to picture without explicit evidence out there. In the current century with world wide web, people have an easy access to education. Armenian genocide is a historical truth and it`s time for the government of Turkey to stop the Denial.

User review rating: 0 March 08, 2006

hello i am aline from lebanon i am 0% armenian but i just liked the movie it probably shows the armenian side only but i guess that`s the target of the movie.it must b like that so it can touch our fellings.hope soon turkey stop deny the armenian genocide

User review rating: 0 October 24, 2004

One of the most moving Holocaust movies ever made.

User review rating: 0 October 03, 2003

Ararat, (which is a mountain in Turkey) is a good film to show the audience about the armenian incident. However, as far as I`m concerned from taking many history courses in University, I thought turks died in the war too. I mean i certainly don`t deny anything that happened, but it is true that turkish ppl were killed and slaughtered in many areas of eastern turkey as well. Therefore, this film has a biased view in my opinion. P.S--i am not a turk.! lol

User review rating: 0 October 03, 2003

--NOt even worth to rent it.

User review rating: 0 October 03, 2003

Didn`t many Turks die in the war too?? I`m confused. The film didn`t give both sides of the story of what happened during WW1.

User review rating: 0 October 03, 2003

a bag of propaganda

User review rating: 0 February 21, 2003

ALTHOUGH I`M ARMENIAN ,I WAS EXPECTING MORE FROM ARARAT,SIMPLELY,IT COULDN`T DELIVER THE OBVIOUS VEW ABOUT ARMENIAN CASE,IT WAS VERY POOR IN EXPRESSING WHAT AND WHO ARE THE ARMENIANS,THE PEOPLE WHO WATCH THE MOVIE WERE VERY SORRY FOR WHOM THEY PAY BUT NOT SO FOR PAYING TO AN ARMENIAN MOVIE.

User review rating: 0 December 31, 2002

It brings back the memmory of a genocide often ignored. I knew little about it and now I`m trying to find literature to inform myself better

User review rating: 0 December 29, 2002

opens your eyes to the hidden truth!!!

User review rating: 0 December 20, 2002

I was a little put off with "close" relationship between step brother and step sister.

User review rating: 0 December 20, 2002

very moving , makes you think ,after you watch the movie,fine actors

User review rating: 0 December 18, 2002

3 words, boring, boring, boring. I try to support the Canadian film industry, but Egoyan`s films leave me empty and sleepy.

User review rating: 0 December 13, 2002

It was very moving and touching and now the world knows the suffering of the Armenians

User review rating: 0 December 10, 2002

Excellent !! Deep, insightful, thought-provoking and multi-faceted. This film is a treat for the mind, challenging the viewer through questions about identity, the importance of history, the denial of truth, as well as the relationships between these things. It differs from other films dealing with the difficult topic of genocide (in this case, the genocide of over 1 million Armenians at the hand of Turks in 1915), in that it shields the viewer from being too emotionally involved and addresses rather his/her reason. I highly recommend it !!

User review rating: 0 December 10, 2002

Great, I love it

User review rating: 0 December 09, 2002

It`s about time the story is told, congratulations!

User review rating: 0 December 03, 2002

`Ararat` is an excellent way of telling the history that has been degenerated. And what is amazing Egoyan shows all the different prospectives available in this matter. The Turkish prospective, the Armenian prospectives and the international prospectives which all come together with an amazing and highly artistic manner. Egoyan is a great artist. Artak

User review rating: 0 December 02, 2002

Amazing...

User review rating: 0 November 30, 2002

What a great FIlm, Well done Atom Agoyan

User review rating: 0 November 25, 2002

Absolutly AMAZING!

User review rating: 0 November 25, 2002

all i can say is one thing AMAZING! MAZEL TOV

User review rating: 0 November 23, 2002

BEST MOVIE EVER MADE! EGOYAN`S ECCENTRIC WAY OF DIRECTING IS PRESENT!

User review rating: 0 November 22, 2002

One movie everyone should see. David, with no past acting experience really moves the crowd, and Egoyan does an excellent job explaining history.

User review rating: 0 November 21, 2002

"Egoyan boldly inspires viewers to deal with issues of cultural memory and responsibility, especially in moments of confusion when family issues intersect with monumental historical facts." -- Bruce Kirkland, JAM! MOVIES

User review rating: 0 November 21, 2002

"After making several adaptations of other writers` work, Armenian-Canadian director Atom Egoyan broached an original treatment of a deeply personal subject." -- Ken Fox, TV GUIDE`S MOVIE GUIDE

User review rating: 0 November 21, 2002

"Hands down the year`s most thought-provoking film. But it pays a price for its intricate intellectual gamesmanship." -- Stephen Holden, NEW YORK TIMES

User review rating: 0 November 20, 2002

what kind of computer graphics was that?

User review rating: 0 November 20, 2002

A masterpiece. A long-awaited movie about the history of the Armenian`s genocide at the hand of the Turkish Ottoman Empire. The film is directed beautifully and captures the interest of all viewers with knowledge of this past history or not. A must see for all!

User review rating: 0 November 20, 2002

Egoyan tells us that the reality behind the Armenian holocaust is often disputed as well by the ignorant. Was Turkey actually at war with Armenia? Didn`t many Turks die in the war too? Or was it really genocide? (These are all questions asked in the movie -- this is not my interpretation of the events; I certainly don`t deny them.) But history has forgotten Armenia, and Egoyan wants to remind us that something happened there -- though of course, not even he can any longer be sure precisely what. - Christopher Null (Film critic.com)

User review rating: 0 November 19, 2002

one word: PROPOGANDA

User review rating: 0 November 19, 2002

Firstly, I am not Turkish, I`m Portugese. I am a Univ. student majoring in World History in Toronto. This is the second attempt from the same director to show "the WORLD" what many ppl believe that happened during world "WAR" one which means that two sides were fighting with weapons. I believe that Armenia got weapons from Russia, which has been proven. Yes I believe many ppl died during this event. Yet, this film was strongly depicted as an Anti-Turkish film which is a soul purpose to negativeley alter the ppls perspective on Turkey and its past.

User review rating: 0 November 17, 2002

Amazing moving!! It had a great effect on me and made me relive some of grandfather`s experiences during WWI

User review rating: 0 November 16, 2002

ARARAT Movie. Is big prove of the 1st Armenian GENOCIDE has been done by Ottomans Empires in 1915th, and it`s one part of it, which happened in VAN City (of Armenia) now part of Turkey. Also happened in Moush, sis, Marash, Ourfa, Zeitoun act! Wy the Turkish govorments are hiding such a reality. All the world has to know about the reality, and we are ready to prove it. So this is one of it! About my Grate-Grandparents, The People with No Sensibility and No Morality! It was in April/1969, when I was 8 years old. My grate-grandma Khatoun Antebian was 101 years old, who was my Father`s Grandma was (borne in 1868 Marash). I use to cal

User review rating: 0 November 16, 2002

Sex, Drugs, Love Story & a Tragedy. A MUST SEE Drama!

User review rating: 0 November 16, 2002

Great movie...you learn how realities in this world can be hidden and braught back in life with a powerful movie.

User review rating: 0 November 15, 2002

It finally Put in the minds off all those people Who have no concern towards the Armenian Genocide, a visual taste to the eye of what That Nation went through. And I am a Turk

Change Location