A Nightmare on Elm Street

Thank you for rating this movie!

2.98 / 5

User rating: 2.98

Based on 551 votes and 158 reviews


  • User rating: 2.98 31.07%
  • User rating: 2.98 12.14%
  • User rating: 2.98 12.14%
  • User rating: 2.98 13.21%
  • User rating: 2.98 31.43%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 158

User review rating: 1 April 21, 2013

An improvement on the original, but still pretty bad.

User review rating: 1 July 08, 2012

even funnier than the original! if you love bad movies, you can't go wrong with this character!

User review rating: 5 May 16, 2012

i thought it was amazing! and scary

User review rating: 5 October 06, 2011

Freddy Krueger Was My Fave Character!

User review rating: 2 February 10, 2011

i prefer the original. JACKIE EARLE HALEY is not a good Freddy at all. He is to small, was'nt scary, some of the things he said was so out of place, his voice sounded forced. The original Freddy (Robert) was funny & scary at the same time & he looked the part, played it perfectly

User review rating: 5 January 12, 2011

pretty good! Freddy Krueger's back and better than ever!

User review rating: 3 October 30, 2010

This movie was decent. the storyline was good, and the acting was good. The problem that I had with it though, was the fact that Freddy did not even look like the original Freddy. The looks of him were so dissapointing that I had to give a lower rating because I was not happy with this. If you are a Nightmare on Elm Street fan, and a big fan of Freddy like I am, then you'll have to get over the fact that Freddy looks nothing like the original freddy :(

User review rating: 3 October 30, 2010

Not as good as the original. Too much emphasis on creating backstory and explanations, at the expense of the actual horror. Some talented actors are wasted in this film, although Jackie Earl Haley does bring a new take on the iconic Freddy.

User review rating: 5 September 15, 2010

I was 10 when i saw the original and for sure it scared the hell out of me. Still one of my faves today. But this remake is very good and they couldn't have done much else with it to make it any better. Perhaps all the morons who gave this movie one star should have at least a clue (or an i.q point) about horror movies before being allowed to vote on a public website! It's like what the hell would they expect when seeing a horror remake?! A frame by frame remake of the original like they did with Psycho?!

User review rating: 5 July 28, 2010

I loved this movie. I saw it at Midnight on thursday (natch), and then I went right back to see it the next day. It's great. i think that they did everything right. You can tell that it's made by horror nerds that really love the original series, and I know that because I'M a horror nerd that loves ANOES. I was originally really lukewarm about the fact that they were remaking this movie rather than making a sequal, and when I learned they were recasting Robert Englund, I was almost outraged. When I heard that they had gotten Jackie Earl Halye though, it put my mind at ease. If anyone could be a worth replacement, it would be him. He did not disappoint in the least. They revamped the stor

User review rating: 3 July 23, 2010

This not the freddy movies from the 80's not worth the money

User review rating: 3 July 21, 2010

Great remake...Freddy looked great. It was a great insight into the story. Really good movie.

User review rating: 2 July 17, 2010

same ol Freddy. I have outgrown this type of movies.

User review rating: 2 July 17, 2010

scary but not enough , movie is old now, they have to find a new story line

User review rating: 1 July 16, 2010

ust rent the original movie...again. That's remake enough.

User review rating: 4 July 16, 2010

Great Remake of the Original, it was scary and interesting. A Must see if you;re a fan of horror flicks.

User review rating: 3 July 16, 2010

not my kind of movie but it`s not that bad

User review rating: 3 July 15, 2010

Not enough scare factor.

User review rating: 3 July 15, 2010

As a fan of the original, I have to say that I wasn't impressed with this movie. It was boring and uninspiring. I understand what they were trying to do, however it lacked the intensity of the original.

User review rating: 3 July 15, 2010

I enjoyed the trailer more than the actual movie.

User review rating: 2 July 14, 2010

Uses weak scare tactic, "person walks into quiet setting, Freddy jumps out". Rent on DVD if you're in the mood.

User review rating: 5 July 12, 2010

Great movie!

User review rating: 3 July 12, 2010

the movie doesn't take itself seriously, allowing for some excellent laughs and some atmospheric moments without all the trouble of a logical plot

User review rating: 3 July 11, 2010

A cool remake of the original, a spin of a different type of nightmare. Freddie is back for a round of fun and mayham.

User review rating: 2 July 11, 2010

Not my cup of tea, but some viewers may enjoy it.

User review rating: 4 July 09, 2010

Very interesting story.

User review rating: 2 July 09, 2010

Doesn't live up to the original at all! There is little to no character development which made me not feel for any of the victims…not even Nancy. I thought Nancy seemed more like a side part than one of the main parts. Freddy's new look is disapointing however I suppose more realistic. Overall, if you are a horror buff like me and love the original, check it out just for the sake of checking it out and giving it your own thoughts.

User review rating: 2 July 09, 2010

It was kind of boring not something I would see again.

User review rating: 2 July 08, 2010

don't mess with a classic!

User review rating: 3 July 08, 2010

Not bad. Much better than the original in my opinion, what with how it was actually able to make me jump a few times. The one-liners Freddy has are hilarious. It had some gory bits, and a few moments that didnt really make sense - but thats quite common in any horror movie these days. Its your traditional horror movie cast. And overall it wasnt amazing or anything, but it was good enough to watch (maybe even more than once) What did this movie teach me? Apparently, your brain is still awake and functioning for up to 7 minutes after your heart stops. I wonder if thats true.

User review rating: 3 July 08, 2010

it was ok.. the actor played a good part. the rest was kinda weak

User review rating: 1 July 06, 2010

I was not impressed by this movie at all. It was too predictable, we've seen this same scenario way too many times before. My personal opinion is that they should have stopped with the Nightmare on Elm Street sequels a long time ago.

User review rating: 4 July 05, 2010

Not actually scary (but many horror movies these days aren't), but enjoyable. They brought the original back to the screen in a brand new way that feels fresh and exciting, with a great, hot young cast. Really enjoyable.

User review rating: 3 July 04, 2010

Well i can say the facial makeup is WAY better and more realistic than it was original sort of first rounds of this movie. this time they really made it work. good work.

User review rating: 1 July 04, 2010

Not scary and was very weird at some points.. Only thing i learned was why Freddy was evil.. but that only opened up more questions. Confusing and boring.

User review rating: 1 July 04, 2010

I wasn't expecting much and I was right.

User review rating: 1 July 04, 2010

Come on ...Freddie again!!! Let's get some fresher movie ideas.

User review rating: 3 July 04, 2010

not my favorite,not scary at all.

User review rating: 1 July 03, 2010

This movie was not as scary as the first, but then I was not very old when the first movie was made.

User review rating: 2 July 03, 2010

this movie is a great disappoint

User review rating: 0 July 02, 2010

Definitely a must see.

User review rating: 1 July 02, 2010

I remember the original as being much better and scarier.

User review rating: 2 July 02, 2010

Awful.

User review rating: 3 July 02, 2010

A good remake that had incredibly better makeup this time around. A really good telling of the story that went into more detail than the original did.

User review rating: 1 July 01, 2010

save your money, worst movie of the year

User review rating: 2 July 01, 2010

Remaking the classic Nightmare on Elm Street, Freddy Krueger’s past is revealed and for a group of teenagers, staying awake is more important now than ever before. This was a typical teenage slasher flick with very little suspense at all. There was one scene that was a little disturbing involving one of the teenager’s desperate pleas using a webcam, as well and the part involving the song “All I have to do is dream” that was playing in the drugstore where both characters seemed to be in a alternate comatose states of mind. Otherwise, I felt that this movie really lacked in its delivery. I still very much prefer the original Nightmare on Elm Street series which had moments where my heart w

User review rating: 3 July 01, 2010

i think they are losing their touch,needed more scare factor

User review rating: 5 June 30, 2010

I thought the cast was nicely chosen, there was the right amount of gore and scary scenes, and i liked how there was a story behind it (and it was not only about gore). Great horror movie!

User review rating: 5 June 30, 2010

I really enjoyed this movie. It wasnt like the original but I did enjoy it overall. I was very pleased to see Kellan Lutz in here! :)

User review rating: 1 June 29, 2010

Pointless remake. If they insisted on going there, then they should have done a re-imagining rather than a recreation. See the original and save your money.

Change Location