A Dog's Purpose

Thank you for rating this movie!

2.30 / 5

User rating: 2.30

Based on 68 votes and 18 reviews


  • User rating: 2.30 30.43%
  • User rating: 2.30 0.00%
  • User rating: 2.30 4.35%
  • User rating: 2.30 0.00%
  • User rating: 2.30 65.22%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 18 of 18

User review rating: 5 January 24, 2017

Don't believe the PETA propaganda, they have an agenda behind the so called 'leaked' video. Looks like a great movie, can't wait.

User review rating: 5 January 23, 2017

For the people claiming animal abuse played a large factor in this movie.. The news and photos reported by TMZ are completely inaccurate and forged to look as if animal abuse was taking place. Do your research before believing everything you read online. There are laws in place and guidelines that must be followed whenever a movie involves an animal to prevent animal cruelty from taking place.

User review rating: 1 January 22, 2017

Is animal abuse necessary to make a movie...?

User review rating: 1 January 22, 2017

Should have pushed the Director in the water powered by 8 outboard motors first to test the water...just saying...Who is the idiot responsible?

User review rating: 1 January 22, 2017

Avoid, my collie, shepherd and a few other things agrees with me ...avoid

User review rating: 1 January 22, 2017

People who call this movie beautiful and heart warming obviously have no idea of the perils these animals go through. I am sure the movie is presented as heart warming but check out what this German Shepherd has gone through for box office $

User review rating: 1 January 22, 2017

It's about all animals...Making money on animal abuse must stop...

User review rating: 1 January 22, 2017

I agree with the comments about dog abuse but it is more than that, so many animals are abused for hollywood and the money hollywood pays...send a message and avoid this film.

User review rating: 1 January 22, 2017

If you are a dog lover, you should skip this movie. It's been reported that during the filming a terrified German shepherd-type dog was forced to enter turbulent water. The incident was caught on film and can be viewed on YouTube: https://youtu.be/csLiYr5OGbg

User review rating: 1 January 21, 2017

This terrible incident and video may come as a gut-wrenching surprise to well-meaning moviegoers who care about dogs. But those who are aware of the chronic neglect uncovered at a facility operated by Birds & Animals Unlimited (BAU)—the company that, according to a facility manager, supplied the dogs used in the film—know that this incident is, unfortunately, just one example of a widespread problem. BAU, operated by Hollywood animal trainer Gary Gero, provides animals for use in film, television, and advertisements. It has rented out animals to hundreds of other productions, including The Hangover, Marley & Me, Game of Thrones, and Pirates of the Caribbean. An eyewitness who worked at BAU documented chronic neglect: Sick and injured animals were denied adequate veterinary care, the enclosures were filthy, and animals were denied food so that they would be hungry while trained to do tricks. Sadly, such abuse appears to be the norm, not the exception, in the entertainment industry, where animal suffering is just “business as usual” for humans trying to make a buck. Pledge to avoid contributing to this cruel practice by not buying tickets to A Dog’s Purpose or any other movies that use live animals.

User review rating: 1 January 21, 2017

I was extremely upset after viewing the video of Hercules being forced into the rushing water. Obviously he was terrified and after he was pushed in and nearly drowned is animal abuse. That Amblin stated nothing went wrong was pure arrogance from the company. Surely Spielberg did not watch the video. I was looking forward to the movie but now I will not see it. People should boycott this movie.

User review rating: 0 January 19, 2017

This video is disturbing the german sheppard was clearing in distress and terrified it my book this is animal abuse everyone should stay clear of this movie ,and they should be charged with animal abuse.

User review rating: 1 January 19, 2017

the abuse in this movie is sickening...Animals should not be abused like this...stay clear of this spectacle

User review rating: 1 January 19, 2017

This is animal abuse...I was shocked at the u tube viewing of a German Shepherd being abused ...clearly terrified...avoid if you care at all about animals..!

User review rating: 1 January 18, 2017

This movie is hypocritical Hollywood at its worse. Near drown a terrified German Shephard ( assuming it survived) in order to make a soppy movie about dogs. The purpose of a dog to Hollywood - to make money my any means. I hope anyone who has known the love of a dog will not watch this movie. These people do not deserve success.

User review rating: 1 January 18, 2017

I will never go see this movie after seeing photos of the cruel treatment that the German Shepherd (one of at least 5 dogs used in the production as stated by TMZ - with photos included) was forced into frothing cold water and wanting no part of it was repeatedly clawing at the pools edge. Sources connected to the production said that 8 outboard motors were used to churn the water to recreate a rushing river. The dog was forced in and submerged. I think that this is definitely cruel and unusual punishment to a defenseless animal. In Winnipeg we have freezing cold temperatures in November, being submerged into freezing cold water with outboard motors scaring the poor animal. Please everyone boycott this movie. I live in Winnipeg and am disgusted. I had to rate this movie a one star only to voice my opinion. I have no intention to see a movie that treats it's animals so inhumanely in real life.

User review rating: 5 January 12, 2017

The book and movie are both amazing! I love it!

User review rating: 5 December 31, 2016

Saw most of this movie on line...Terrificmovie...heart warming

User review rating: 5 September 09, 2016

THIS IS AMAZING!!!!!!!<3

Change Location