The Captive

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.15 / 5

User rating: 3.15

Based on 58 votes and 22 reviews


  • User rating: 3.15 14.81%
  • User rating: 3.15 40.74%
  • User rating: 3.15 14.81%
  • User rating: 3.15 3.70%
  • User rating: 3.15 25.93%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 22 of 22

User review rating: 3 April 23, 2015

Was an a good rental.

User review rating: 5 September 26, 2014

I thought it was great. Sometimes I got confused when it flashed to the past and back to the present. You can feel the frustration in Ryan's character when the police think he's behind the kidnapping. It's true to life acting so sure it seems slow at times. I'm glad they don't get graphic about what they're doing with the kids they kidnap. It shows how easily this could happen to unsuspecting kids.

User review rating: 1 September 20, 2014

Two of these reviews are word for word the same as for a previous canadian film the great deception. I smell a rat here

User review rating: 4 September 17, 2014

Finally a really good movie made in Canada. Time we promote our own films and actors. Loved the ending.

User review rating: 4 September 15, 2014

THOUGHT THE MOVIE WAS EXCELLENT HAD TO PAY ATTENTION TO FOLLOW THE SCRIPT ACTING WAS WELL DONE AND ENJOYED NIAGARA SCENES GREAT ENDING WOULD RECOMMEND THIS FILM AND DONT BE TALKING TO YOUR FRIENDS OR YOU WILL MISS THE PLOT

User review rating: 4 September 13, 2014

I enjoyed this movie a lot. It's a story on a slow boil... but it never feels stretched or overly-long. I was riveted to my seat for the entire film... and I kept wondering (throughout the movie) if I was watching the same film that got panned in Cannes and has earned so many poor or bad reviews.

User review rating: 4 September 12, 2014

Canadian's seem to think that if a film is Canadian it has to be bad. I asked people if they want to go and they said no because the film is Canadian and it must be bad. Where they wrong? Yes! Really wrong! Keep up the good work Canada and I will keep coming. It is the best Canadian film since Snow Walker!

User review rating: 5 September 12, 2014

Excellent film. I am going again with some friends.

User review rating: 5 September 12, 2014

If you have children you will love this movie! They should watch it too.

User review rating: 5 September 12, 2014

Great movie. Like real life, not a typical Hollywood film.

User review rating: 5 September 12, 2014

This is one of the best films I have seen in years. It is also very Canadian...shot in the winter in Niagara Falls and Sudbury. It is about time we got some great Canadian films (or at least shot in Canada). Intense!!!!

User review rating: 1 September 10, 2014

This was one horrible,ridiculous and disjointed canadian movie I have ever ever seen!There is only one thing that came to mind over and over as I watched this piece of trash and that was you the F..K paid for this waste of my time??? Save your Time and money!!!

User review rating: 1 September 10, 2014

That was a horrible,disjointed,confusing excuse for a movie.If that's the best Canada has to offer then give up the ship and stick to hockey.

User review rating: 2 September 09, 2014

sooooooooo...slow......! This movie was TWICE as long as it needed to be

User review rating: 1 September 07, 2014

Save your money. Choppy story line and poor acting

User review rating: 1 September 07, 2014

Just bout got up and left. Great story line, bad acting, just a real low budget feel.

User review rating: 1 September 06, 2014

This was the worst movie I've ever seen! Weak plot and terrible acting. Do not waste your time and money!

User review rating: 4 September 06, 2014

I had read some not so great reviews about this film but I really enjoyed it. Very interesting story, multi layered and captivating. Not the best film ever, some plot holes and weak characters, but never the less pretty good.

User review rating: 1 September 06, 2014

The acting in this movie is good, not great, but good. But the rest of this movie is so disjointed and jumpy. You never know whether you are at the present time, at the time that the kidnapping took place or somewhere inbetween. I had been feeling that Canadian movies were improving in the last few years, but this one says not a chance. Don't bother!!

User review rating: 4 September 05, 2014

Good, realistic storyline. Similar to a 20/20 episode!

User review rating: 4 September 05, 2014

This was a great suspense thriller filmed in Canada with a lot of Canadian actors. I just wish there was more of an explanation about why the captors did what they did.

User review rating: 3 September 05, 2014

Was okay, I wasn't sure what to expect but Reynolds was okay

Change Location