Melancholia (2011)

Thank you for rating this movie!

2.25 / 5

User rating: 2.25

Based on 162 votes and 38 reviews


  • User rating: 2.25 13.75%
  • User rating: 2.25 12.50%
  • User rating: 2.25 12.50%
  • User rating: 2.25 7.50%
  • User rating: 2.25 53.75%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 38 of 38

User review rating: 1 May 08, 2012

horrible!!

User review rating: 1 April 02, 2012

watching the first 30 minutes was painfully slow and depressing. thank god for the hotness of alexander skarsgard!

User review rating: 5 February 05, 2012

only a great film like this can garnish reviews from two opposite sides of the spectrum, which makes it a brilliant film.. its obviously only appealing to a specific type of mind. its not for everyone.. which makes me conclude that in mankind .. there are retards and thinkers.

User review rating: 2 January 08, 2012

Very sad and tragic. Not bad but I would wait for tv.

User review rating: 4 January 06, 2012

Not for everyone... it's not an action movie and it's slow but it's really sad and beautiful at the same time. I love it.

User review rating: 2 January 06, 2012

A bit cheesy.

User review rating: 1 January 04, 2012

HATED this BORING film - a true waste of time!!

User review rating: 1 January 03, 2012

Worst movie of the year!!!

User review rating: 1 January 02, 2012

not worth the gas or the cab ride there

User review rating: 1 December 27, 2011

worst movie of all time!

User review rating: 3 December 24, 2011

a bit disappointing but overall worth seeing.

User review rating: 5 December 22, 2011

One of the years best films. People that hate on this film don't understand good film making. Enough said.

User review rating: 1 December 20, 2011

AWFUL

User review rating: 4 December 16, 2011

One the best depictions of depression I've seen, actual and metaphorical.

User review rating: 5 December 12, 2011

Watch it. Not an enjoyable viewing experience but it will creep up on you. Haunt you till you realize it actually had something to say. How many movies can do that nowadays? Or ever?

User review rating: 1 December 11, 2011

Not even Kirsten Dunst being naked could save this movie!

User review rating: 4 December 10, 2011

great movie!

User review rating: 5 December 06, 2011

Stunning; great direction, great acting.

User review rating: 3 December 05, 2011

Sounded good in the magazine but it was slow and interesting in a sense, but I wouldn't call it a good movie. The way the sisters change regarding the approaching planet and how the wedding played out were aspects that made it watchable.

User review rating: 1 December 03, 2011

Best part of the movie was the end - not the ending - but the fact that it was over! Sad...

User review rating: 2 December 03, 2011

dark & depressing. I had hope for this aswell but left feeling dissatisfied

User review rating: 5 December 02, 2011

The best movie of the year.

User review rating: 1 November 29, 2011

awful film!

User review rating: 3 November 25, 2011

Beautifully Shot and very well acted. It moved along too slowly for my liking.

User review rating: 3 November 24, 2011

I was not overly exited with this movie. The plot could be better developed.

User review rating: 1 November 22, 2011

Very passable

User review rating: 1 November 21, 2011

Not very good at all, despite a strong performance by Durnst.

User review rating: 1 November 21, 2011

horrible!

User review rating: 4 November 19, 2011

One of the most depressing and darkest movies I have ever seen. Kristen Dunst gives a spectacular performances, diggs deep into how depression can take over ones self. She deserves an Oscar for her role in this movie. I recommend it to everyone just to see once.

User review rating: 4 November 19, 2011

This movie was terrific, the opening scenes were magnificent. The acting superb ! I had no idea what was going to happen - that suspense is rarely seen these days, always so apparent ... this movie is great

User review rating: 1 November 19, 2011

the movie made me physically ill....dumb

User review rating: 3 November 18, 2011

still not sure if I liked it or not

User review rating: 4 November 17, 2011

Dunst gives a performance of a lifetime.

User review rating: 3 November 17, 2011

Fascinating surrealism, but it dragged on and on and was terribly depressing. Few people showed up for this free screening, and many, many people walked out as the movie progressed. No clapping at the end, just comments from people that they wasted their time, etc.

User review rating: 1 November 15, 2011

Not good - went to a screening of it and only about 30 ppl showed up (must have known what it was like beforehand!)

User review rating: 3 November 15, 2011

You need to be in the right mood to enjoy movie

User review rating: 4 November 15, 2011

not sure I liked this movie but I was facinated at times

User review rating: 4 November 13, 2011

Was fortunate enough to catch this at TIFF earlier this year. Beautiful but slow. Sometimes uncomfortable (as most von Trier films can be) but overall, pretty amazing.

Change Location